Customer Reviews


387 Reviews
5 star:
 (287)
4 star:
 (52)
3 star:
 (25)
2 star:
 (6)
1 star:
 (17)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Vroom Vroom for Pixar's blend of excitement, nostalgia and friendship.
As pretty much noted by everyone who has seen it, Cars is visually stunning but unable to live up to the narrative standards set by previous Pixar big hitters. But mid tier Pixar is still better than most other animation offerings from other stables. Plot simply finds arrogant race car Lightning McQueen (Owen Wilson) about to hit super star status, only to suffer a...
Published on 5 May 2011 by Spike Owen

versus
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Great movie but had to skip 8 trailers before the main menu showed
I am not complaining about the movie, it is fun and a fresh kind of new Disney style with lots of humor and great animation.

Although, I do complain about loading time. It took me 2 minutes and 10 seconds of skipping a total of 8 trailers before I could even start playing the Blu ray content I paid for and wanted to see (the movie Cars).

What is the...
Published on 2 Jan. 2013 by Bartman


‹ Previous | 1 239 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Vroom Vroom for Pixar's blend of excitement, nostalgia and friendship., 5 May 2011
By 
Spike Owen "John Rouse Merriott Chard" (Birmingham, England.) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: Cars [DVD] (2006) (DVD)
As pretty much noted by everyone who has seen it, Cars is visually stunning but unable to live up to the narrative standards set by previous Pixar big hitters. But mid tier Pixar is still better than most other animation offerings from other stables. Plot simply finds arrogant race car Lightning McQueen (Owen Wilson) about to hit super star status, only to suffer a highway crash that leaves him stranded in a ghost town called Radiator Springs. A once thriving town, Radiator Springs is now only home to the loyal locals and very much a product of an era long since gone. Forced to stay due to community service, Lightning is desperate to leave the place he calls "Hillbilly Hell", but as he comes to know the people of the town he comes to find a new perspective on things.

Cars is made up of three segments, the beginning where we are introduced to Lightning and the other cars involved in the race circuit, the action rip-roaring and setting up the film nicely. The middle section in Radiator Springs where it becomes a coming of age-life lesson-friendships formed-piece. And the final section as we get back out on the track for more wonderful racing and the character development reaches the winning line. It's the middle (bulky) section that many have problems with, and not just the children anxiously awaiting more athletic car shenanigans, the adults too have found this something of a chore to get thru. I liked it, felt it was a nice move from Pixar to get "Shawshank" like with the characters, a nostalgia nod to yesteryear and we get to spend time in the company of Doc Hudson, voiced almost poignantly by legend Paul Newman.

How you find that middle section may determine how much you enjoy Cars, but rest assured that even if you find it too talky, too slow, what bookends it is pretty darn great anyway. And of course the visual treats available on every inch of the screen make it a winner as well. 7.5/10
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 9 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Visually great, 16 April 2007
By 
Eolake "eolake (.com)" (Lancashire, United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Cars [DVD] (2006) (DVD)
"Cars" is the first Pixar movie I did not buy immediately. But finally I got tired of waiting for the rental copy, and I bought it.

The delay was due to the trailer not really doing much for me. Also, I felt that cars is a dubious choice for animated characters. Unlike bugs or toys, they don't have arms or faces, so it's a little forced, methinks.

That said, I'd have to say they pulled it off. Actually, looking at real cars after having seen this movie, I half expect them to move and open their eyes.

"Cars" is not the best or funniest Pixar movie. My faves are Monsters Inc, Toy Story 2, and The Incredibles. But "Cars" was still very worthwhile, I enjoyed it. And it is visually gorgeous. The scenery especially is amazing.

If you get the DVD, be sure not to miss the extras. The two shorts included, for one thing, are falling-over funny.

I also appreciate the basic message of the movie: winning is not everything. The western world is still a bit fixated on Being Number One. And contests can be fun and they can be inspiring, but ultimately they are just games, they are not life.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


21 of 24 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars KA-CHOW, 12 Oct. 2006
This review is from: Cars [DVD] (2006) (DVD)
Brash and arrogant rookie stockcar racer Lightning McQueen (a typically laconic Owen Wilson), gets lost on route to a championship race in California and winds up in sleepy backwater town Radiator Springs. The town's residents, including a seemingly bad tempered old time racer Doc (a gruff Paul Newman), peppy Porsche Sally (Bonnie Hunt) and simple but innocent tow-truck Mater (Larry The Cable Guy), help the young charge learn `valuable life lessons' and the importance of community and friendship.

Pixar have ruled the roost on the animated movie market for the best part of a decade now, but with the likes of Monster House, Over the Hedge and Ice Age 2 jostling for a slice of this lucrative pie, is Pixar's latest number one on this years starting grid?

To set your mind at rest, Cars is great fun. It's funny, good natured and displays, in each frame, bundles of imagination that once again puts many live action movies to shame. John Lasseter sets out his stall early on, commencing with a thrilling racing sequence that introduces McQueen and his familiar neon lit world via a stunning set piece before relocating to the broken down confines of forgotten town, Radiator Springs.

Radiator Springs itself is the kind of gentile town that's often remembered with hazy nods to 60's Americana and its inhabitants are struggling to relive the glory days. When Lightning arrives in town causing a whole heap of damage along the way they see it as a reminder of better times and the young hot rod gets a glimpse of what he is missing from his pampered lifestyle. The pace slows drastically through the town sequences and the film itself stutters, suffering from the fact that a movie centred more on the racing rather than Car's well intentioned `message' would be far more exciting. Sure, Mater and McQueen have fun Tractor Tipping and the Father/Son relationship between Doc and the racer is subtle if a little threadbare. Although lovingly realised (particularly Mater and the firm kids favourite Luigi), there's no dynamism between the leads that compares to Woody/ Buzz, Marlin/Dory and Mike/Sully.

Watching Cars is like having your eyes massaged with marshmallows, put simply, it looks amazing. It's easily the most stunningly created animated feature around, giving a big toon-sized slap in the face to the motion captured likes of Polar Express or the stylised Tex Avery-like Madagascar. Just check out the reflections on the (ahem) cars bonnets, the mini-van insects, the rolling contours of the landscape surrounding Radiator Springs or indeed the sheer scale of the Motor Races themselves. It's just that the story itself is a little pedestrian, the familiar fish out of water scenario settling into an amble before culminating in the anticipated race off finale.

Cars is a magnificent technical achievement, raising the bar once more, and it does have a whole load of heart however, despite all the wax and polish, it stalls just a tad when compared to Pixar's previous output. It's still a good way better than any of its nearest rivals but is missing that little special ingredient `X' that made Toy Story, Finding Nemo and The Incredibles such a fun experience. The dewy eyed ode to Route 66 may be lost on European viewers and the attempt to anthropomorphise vehicles by making the windscreens into eyes and bumpers/grills into mouths is perhaps a risky emotional-response misfire. But if you are going to question why, if there are no people, do cars need doors? Or how do they reproduce? Or even why there is no sign of pollution then it's clear that you're taking things a little too seriously.

As always, ensure you stay for the end credit gag sequence. Trust me you'll laugh till your sides hurt.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


26 of 30 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Motors along nicely, 8 Nov. 2006
By 
Amazon Customer "Boo62" (Ilkeston Derbyshire United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: Cars [DVD] (2006) (DVD)
There has been a generally cool reception from critics for Pixar's latest.

Many felt the story stale and the characters not up to much.

The story is of a cocky young race car called lightning McQueen who needs to learn a lesson in manners and caring for others. To that end he winds up getting caught speeding through a dusty old forgotten town somewhere on route 66. His punishment is a weeks hard labour and while there he meets and learns to appreciate the locals.

The story is simple but then this is a film for little 'uns mostly so what do you expect? At first the fantastic animation captures the attention along with the fun to be had seeing cars behaving like humans,( at the racetrack the fans in the stands are all cars, using their headlights to make a mexican wave), but 15 minutes in the glitzy bright animation and novelty begin to wear off and you're left feeling that it's going to be a bit of a disappointment.

However this is not the case as once Mcqueen, (Owen Wilson doing a great job of making him a bit of a whiney & spoilt so and so ), reaches the backwater town of radiator springs things improve dramatically.

Here we are introduced to funny and likeable characters that carry the movie. Paul newman is amongst the voices of the townsfolk as an ex-racer with a seemingly grumpy attitude but the standout is the delapidated towtruck Mater,(tow-mater, geddit?), a hilarious hick whose presence makes this film so much better.

In truth the story and what happens are not of much importance, rather it's the inter-reaction of characters in this small but happy town that makes Cars worth while.

Be warned that it does run on probably a bit too long for very young children.

The extras are as solid as usual from Pixar but the standouts are the 2 extra cartoon shorts, one called 'Mater and the ghostlight' where the townsfolk get their own back on the practical joker and another totally unrelated one called ' the one man band' that is just as funny.

The picture quality is outstanding, colours are vibrant and definition flawless, it's likely to be a referrance disc in telly shops for some time to come.

The sound too is superb, effects steering is accurate and detailed with converstion clear and open too.

This is not Pixars finest but it's not the old banger that critics would have had you believe. Once it gets going it's enjoyable and gentle fun.

Make tracks for this one.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


24 of 28 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A breathtaking animation and very touching and funny story, 20 July 2007
By 
Maciej "Darth Maciek" (Darth Maciek is out there...) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: Cars [DVD] (2006) (DVD)
Both me and my 6 years old daughter we loved this movie - although of course for different reasons.

She appreciated the very idea of talking cars and then the races, Mator the "red-neck" car, etc. I was impressed by the animation - this is for the moment the most technically advanced animation movie I ever saw ("Happy Feet" did as well) - and the more adult oriented humouristic parts, like the Porsche girl who left Los Angeles to find peace in a small town; an old town doctor, called Doctor in Internal Combustion; the cars going to the toilet - guess which line is advancing faster..., a rivalry between a "Peace and Love" old van and a retired sergeant who is of course a jeep, a Japanese female journalist who is a gorgeous little Honda, etc, etc.).

The final scenes in which they show fragments of older Pixar movies (like Sully and Mike Wazowski stranded in Himalayas) played by cars (the Yeti being an enormous snow tractor) are also a delight.

I just can not uderstand some of very critical (and mean) reviews below - I loved this movie and, more important, my daughter loved it too. She insisted on sleeping on a pillow with Ligthning McQueen for months after that.... If you didn't see it - go and get it. Pixar is getting better at every next movie so I just can not wait to see "Ratatouille"....
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Great movie but had to skip 8 trailers before the main menu showed, 2 Jan. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Cars [Blu-ray] (Blu-ray)
I am not complaining about the movie, it is fun and a fresh kind of new Disney style with lots of humor and great animation.

Although, I do complain about loading time. It took me 2 minutes and 10 seconds of skipping a total of 8 trailers before I could even start playing the Blu ray content I paid for and wanted to see (the movie Cars).

What is the purpose having a fast loading Blu ray player with all these trailers wasting time to skip?

No one is interested of any to be seen on cinema soon trailers after half a year. Why is Blu ray so often misused as advertising media? Because of space, there is enough and even room for more.

Back with DVDs, there was no space for these high definition trailers and now this. Put another language version on the Blu ray instead, this would be a better use of trailer wasted space. And this is not my only Disney Blu ray I own that is doing this.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Looks wonderful!, 17 Mar. 2008
By 
P. White (Cambridge, United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Cars [Blu-ray] (Blu-ray)
Cars looks amazing in HD. From the individual (car) spectators in the stadium long shots (unseen on DVD) to the sparkling pearlescent paint of the (occasional) cars to the fabulous colour palette throughout it's all great. The plot is fun and yes it's predictable and corny but if you're 10 you'll barely have seen it before. This is still a work that adults can appreciate though, a lot of the humour is very sophisticated. The Blu-Ray transfer is from a digital master so is 100% clean and perfect. Note that the UK release has the somewhat lacking Jeremy Clarkson performance as 'Lightning McQueen's' agent. The USA release has a better performance from an American actor and that's the one that I have because the USA Blu-Ray release is not region coded.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


36 of 42 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Stunning!!!, 27 Aug. 2006
By 
Adam (United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)   
This review is from: Cars [DVD] (2006) (DVD)
Cars, the number one talked about summer blockbuster. But did it reach its full potential? Did it provide laughs and thrills like other Pixar classics such as Finding Nemo and Toy Story. For me, it did. I found the story, the scenery, the characters and even the soundtrack incredible. Although most critics gave it at least 4 stars, many said the story line was a little 'rusty'. But I found it was perfect and was a simple yet well thought out story that is funny, charming and touching in places. So although it wasn't the summer blockbuster people were expecting, for me it was one of the best films I've seen this year.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars "Ka-chow!", 7 Aug. 2014
By 
Mr. C. Gelderd "aka GelNerd" (Basingstoke, UK) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)   
This review is from: Cars [Blu-ray] (Blu-ray)
The winning combination of bright, likeable and fun characters populating and even brighter and thriving world with a sweet story and exciting animation marks another winner from the Pixar team, more-so before the partnership with Disney.

‘Cars’ is full of beautiful animation and action in the guise of the speedway races that bookend the start and end of the film. Each car, every member of the audience, all the camera snaps and the smoke, sparks and debris is so well animated and detailed that is looks at times as if you are watching an actual race on screen. It’s fast paced and very witty, as most Pixar films do so well to appeal to all generations of the audience.

Thankfully Owen Wilson is far detached from his dumb comedy movies here as the voice of Lightning McQueen and adds a perfect balance of sensitivity, likeability and passion for his career and life to be a very enjoyable character to follow on his journey. The supporting cast such as the late Paul Newman, Larry the Cable Guy, Bonnie Hunt and even John Ratzenberger also flesh out their characters, each with wonderfully unique personalities and moments to shine in the midst of the usual sentimental scenes, emotional drama and funny banter.

It spends a good amount of time developing and working on character relationships in the usual moralistic look at the real world to be enjoyable in the fact it’s not all based on car races and petrol-heads. Just like ‘Toy Story’ and ‘Finding Nemo’, it takes an everyday object or animal and turns them into something almost human that we can easily relate to, and also help provide unrestrained and escapist fun and excitement in a world that helps you forget real life troubles and get carried away in a bright and colourful world with characters far funnier and loveable than you’d expect.

It’s running at just under 2 hours but never drags along, moving well in 3 acts in a way, providing a good balance of time to shine in the racing sequences but also to focus on character driven story and building individual goals to accomplish with the sugar-coated message of friendship, family values and self-belief.

But this is what you expect from these genre of films, and it’s not a bad thing in a world as dangerous and serious as this, ‘Cars’ is an example of how escapism plays a crucial part in film to bring generations together to enjoy something so simple but so creatively and passionately produced and made.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars A near modern classic, 1 Mar. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Cars [DVD] (2006) (DVD)
There's very little wrong with this 'Pixney' collaboration. It's the story of Lightning McQueen (Owen Wilson), a young hotshot racing car who's taking the world by storm on his relentless march to win the Piston Cup (think Indy Car championship). We join the action halfway through the penultimate race as McQueen, Chick Hicks (Michael Keaton) and veteran but fading all-round good guy The King battle it out for the title.

A decision to ignore a call from his crew to come in for fresh tyres ends in disaster for McQueen and the championship comes down to the final race.

En route to the final race venue, McQueen becomes separated from his lorry, Mack (ever-present Pixar contributor John Ratzenberger), and finds himself in Radiator Springs, a decaying town off the largely-ignored Route 66, where he promptly gets arrested and sentenced to repair the road.

It turns out the judge in the town is world famous racing car, Doc Hudson (the late, great Paul Newman) and as McQueen makes a new friend in Tow Mater the tow truck (Larry The Cable Guy) and finds himself falling for both Radiator Springs and, particularly attractive Porsche lawyer Sally Carrera (Bonnie Hunt), he begins to learn at the fender of the master.

The action culminates at the final race where The King, Hicks and McQueen lock horns to decide the destiny of the Piston Cup.

This is a beautifully animated, tightly-plotted story with some wonderful characters (and voice characterisations). It delivers an ending that is poignant and guaranteed to bring a tear to the eye but, most importantly, it leaves you wanting more. And that's always the way to go out.

Under the strict guidance of Pixar chief storyteller, John Lasseter, Cars is a film that works on a number of different levels to appeal to both children and adults. It's my children's generation's equivalent to, say, The Jungle Book - and I'm not sure it's possible to commend it more highly.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 239 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Cars [DVD] (2006)
Cars [DVD] (2006) by John Lasseter (DVD - 2006)
£4.90
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews