Customer Reviews


24 Reviews
5 star:
 (19)
4 star:
 (2)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


7 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Fab series
Grow old gracefully? Not these two. Tom and Diana stil prove that growing old Disgracefully is far more fun. Diana along with her trusty sidekick Tom are still able to defeat any con job that 'The Idiot Bains' tries to pull on the residents of the Bayview Retirement home.
Published on 2 Dec 2006 by M. J. Collins

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars Fault recording
There is a problem with the second disc of series two. EPISODE 7 FROZE AT THE END OF THE EPISODE. EPISODE 8 DOES NOT PLAY AT ALL. Please note this is not only a problem to Amazon it seem to bee a problem with the original master copy. I HAVE TRIED THREE DIFFERENT BUYERS EVEN THE BBC ITSELF, ALL HAD THE SAME PROBLEM. It's a shame for a great series.
Published 20 months ago by jacko


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

7 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Fab series, 2 Dec 2006
By 
M. J. Collins "mjc121" (uk) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Waiting for God - Series 2 [DVD] (DVD)
Grow old gracefully? Not these two. Tom and Diana stil prove that growing old Disgracefully is far more fun. Diana along with her trusty sidekick Tom are still able to defeat any con job that 'The Idiot Bains' tries to pull on the residents of the Bayview Retirement home.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars great pressie, 26 April 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Waiting for God - Series 2 [DVD] (DVD)
not knowing what to get hubby for birthday I found this and because he is 21 years older than me it went down really well as it was really funny
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Series two......, 21 April 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Waiting for God - Series 2 [DVD] (DVD)
Just as funny as Series One. Although Diana and Tom are the main characters, "The Idiot Bains!" and bonkers Jane are also very funny. I have bought all Five Series and can't wait to watch Series Three.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars waiting for god series 2, 29 Mar 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Waiting for God - Series 2 [DVD] (DVD)
once again the cast of waiting for god treat us to more comedy stealing porsches and dunking Harvey baines all in good fun of course
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Intelligent and outstanding comedy, 1 Mar 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Waiting for God - Series 2 [DVD] (DVD)
Waiting for God was one of the finest shows of the sitcom genre. Wickedly funny on so many levels, the humour relies on the superbly drawn character profiles, combined with excellent realisation by the cast.

If you're new to it, the 'plot' as such centres about a highly intelligent and previously outstandingly successful international photo-journalist, Diana Trent, who finds herself in a retirement home, and her neighbour, an ex-accountant, Tom Ballard, whose son and daughter-in-law now want him out of their house. To compensate for his previously rather staid existence, he invents a form of lunacy, in which he appears to believe he's exploring the Amazon, climbing Everest or going to the moon.

This apparently bizarre setting is rescued from ignominy by superb scripting, excellent acting but, above all, by the tactic of making only one character completely normal, around whom insanity whirls. On paper, this doesn't look much, but on screen it comes alive and it's easy to see why it was Bafta nominated and still shown around the world.

To complete the scene are the home manager, Harvey Baines, the personification of sliminess, and his hapless assistant, Jane, who experiences continual on-going unrequited love for her boss. It is the battles between Baines and Diana which create the tension and humour throughout, and this is aided by appearances from Tom's son and his daughter-in-law, Marion, arguably one of the greatest comedy creations in the show.

This is intelligent humour and outstandingly funny, providing wonderful comic moments as well as the occasional touching interlude, such as when Diana's niece, Sarah, played by Lucy Ashton, the one-time spouse of Martin Clunes, becomes pregnant.

The series is doubly interesting, as it paints the older folk as comparatively well-adjusted and, in Diana's case, extremely successful high achievers, and the younger players as generally inept and naive. The entire series is well worth getting, and will provide hours of cackling amusement.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars good., 29 Nov 2013
By 
Mrs. P. S. Freeman (uk) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Waiting for God - Series 2 [DVD] (DVD)
I have been waiting for years to catch up with this as I missed it first time around. Lovely stuff and I shall buy the others when I have time to watch it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Even better than the first season, 10 Sep 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Waiting for God - Series 2 [DVD] (DVD)
My Mother's favourite comedy.

Set in a retirement home, the comments - jokes and general attitude towards these "lovely old folk" is hilarious to watch. Well acted, and with some thought given to how people who do live in these homes actually feel, and a hint as to how they may be perceived by those charged with caring for them, this is a treat to watch.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars review, 10 Aug 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Waiting for God - Series 2 [DVD] (DVD)
as this is a christmas present i have not yet watched the dvd. but i the dvd as still in it rabber i should work the dvd was sent out and deliverd at really high speed which i was really happy with
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Waiting For God 2, 14 July 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Waiting for God - Series 2 [DVD] (DVD)
Brilliant series. Brilliantly acted.
Tom and Diana can say more just by looking at one another than a modern soap actor or actress can say in half an hour.
Do not hesitate. Buy Waiting For God. You will love it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Simply the best second to Only Fools,that becouse there were more of them, 5 Jun 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Waiting for God - Series 2 [DVD] (DVD)
what more can i say if you enjoy comedys,this truly is one of the best right up there with Only Fool and horses,
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Waiting for God - Series 2 [DVD]
Waiting for God - Series 2 [DVD] by Graham Crowden (DVD - 2006)
6.12
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews