Customer Reviews


20 Reviews
5 star:
 (12)
4 star:
 (3)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:
 (2)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


15 of 15 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Our Greatest Female Singer!
A better title for this DVD should have been Shirley Bassey - Living Legend. Why it had to be Divas Are Forever I don't know. What you are witnessing in this film is one of the most stunning and exciting performers of all time. Her ability to express the emotions of a lyric are incredible and powerful, she sings how you feel and the result is spellbinding. I can't...
Published on 9 Nov 2003 by Music Rocks

versus
14 of 16 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Not her best interpretations
Before I go into my opinion: the title of this dvd and the pictures on the front and back sleeve have NOTHING to do with the performance on the disc which was recorded at the Diamonds Awards Concert in Antwerp in 1997. It is NOT the ITV show "An Audience With Shirley Bassey", whence the cover picture was taken from.
She has horrible short red hair and a white gown,...
Published on 7 July 2008 by rickshayne


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

15 of 15 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Our Greatest Female Singer!, 9 Nov 2003
A better title for this DVD should have been Shirley Bassey - Living Legend. Why it had to be Divas Are Forever I don't know. What you are witnessing in this film is one of the most stunning and exciting performers of all time. Her ability to express the emotions of a lyric are incredible and powerful, she sings how you feel and the result is spellbinding. I can't think of another person living on this planet that can do this as well, and I've been around for a while! As for this DVD in particular, it's a pity the camera shots were not closer to her on the stage. The dinner party scene was nonsense and should have been cut, but apart from this small slip up it is a fantastic DVD to get if you are a great fan or just an admirer. It sounds superb on DVD, and I only wish there were more songs to hear. The start menu is great as you can select the songs and go straight to your favourite. I recommend anyone to purchase this and witness the incomparable Shirley Bassey, I love her!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


14 of 16 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Not her best interpretations, 7 July 2008
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Shirley Bassey - Divas are Forever [DVD] [2008] [2006] (DVD)
Before I go into my opinion: the title of this dvd and the pictures on the front and back sleeve have NOTHING to do with the performance on the disc which was recorded at the Diamonds Awards Concert in Antwerp in 1997. It is NOT the ITV show "An Audience With Shirley Bassey", whence the cover picture was taken from.
She has horrible short red hair and a white gown, a fitted top and loose see-through bits made to look like a long skirt, and for the last two bumbers she wears a cheap-looking white fur coat with a silver interior.

After seeing many many live videos on utube by our Dame, this is one of the less intriguing of them all. I found her interpretations to be not the best at all. It's like she was putting the oomph on the last or second-to-last letters/syllables of the sentences, which is personally, annoying, especially when the songs as they are meant to be sung and usually performed by her are exectuted differently. It can be a breath of fresh air if she does it to one or two songs, but she's doing it too often here. She does smile and kids around a lot which is very nice, and totally professional considering the bigger part of the front audience are puppets with no expressions and clap with a bpm of 5. Kudos to her for that.
However, it failed to entertain me as the websurfing has until now, this being my first full-length concert of hers watched on a tv screen and with hifi sound. Hopefully some better performances have been or will be released.

I was happy to see that she closed the show with I AM WHAT I AM which is not listed on the setlist on the box (but then again pretty much all of the sleeve info is wrong).

The concert itself is about an hour long and is broken into bits with some sort of making of in between a couple of songs, and interviews which are nice.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars shirley bassey divas are forever dvd, 31 May 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Shirley Bassey - Divas are Forever [DVD] [2008] [2006] (DVD)
This was based on a 1997 tour poorly put together not at all what i expected, a waste of money. these are old concert clips made to look like a recent tour.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Divas, 23 Feb 2012
This review is from: Shirley Bassey - Divas are Forever [DVD] [2008] [2006] (DVD)
A great DVD, clear pictures and sound. Shirley Bassey is amazing. Her presentation, showmanship and singing are exactly what you would expect from someone called 'Diva' to produce. This is what she did. Charlies Mum.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars History of a great artist, 23 Jun 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Shirley Bassey - Divas are Forever [DVD] [2008] [2006] (DVD)
Just love it Dame Shirley has always been able to sell a song....Recommended..its a collection that can be played over and over and comes up fresh everytime
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Shirley Bassey - Divas are Forever [DVD] [2008], 8 Feb 2012
This review is from: Shirley Bassey - Divas are Forever [DVD] [2008] [2006] (DVD)
A DVD of some of Shirley Bassey's greatest hits that proved yet again just how brilliant she is. Unfortunately, after every couple of songs the viewer is taken behind the scenes, which was totally unnecessary and completely ruined the viewing. This is one Dvd I shall donate to my favourite charity shop. Shirley Bassey deserves 5 stars this Dvd no stars. Not recommended at all, unless you like your concert viewing disrupted.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 13 July 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Shirley Bassey - Divas are Forever [DVD] [2008] [2006] (DVD)
A superb performance from a great singer and personality Ms Bassey is brilliant.

Still fab

Singing Referee
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Bassey best live., 1 Feb 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Shirley Bassey - Divas are Forever [DVD] [2008] [2006] (DVD)
Any Shirley Bassey fan should enjoy this DVD. Bassey is at her best when performing live. One small point of disappointment is that the concert is interrupted by slots of Bassey either being interviewed or preparing for the concert, and while this is very interesting it does distract from the concert. None the less very good and a bargain for any Bassey fan.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Divas are forever, 17 Feb 2013
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Shirley Bassey - Divas are Forever [DVD] [2008] [2006] (DVD)
Very enjoyable seeing and listening to Shirley Bassey. Also seeing what goes on before and after the show.
The only thing that I wasn't so keen on was the chopping backwards and forwards in time.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Shirley Bassey...., 7 Jan 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Shirley Bassey - Divas are Forever [DVD] [2008] [2006] (DVD)
I gave this to a friend has a Birthday Present and they were very pleased with it, he a great Shirley Bassey fan
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Shirley Bassey - Divas are Forever [DVD] [2008] [2006]
5.99
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews