Customer Reviews


207 Reviews
5 star:
 (128)
4 star:
 (38)
3 star:
 (19)
2 star:
 (17)
1 star:
 (5)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


15 of 17 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Well... it's pretty damn good!!
Ok, well it's a double album and of course theres always going to be problems with that. Having that many tracks theres always going to be stand-out songs and songs that you don't like very much. However out of the 28 songs on the album, all of them do sound very good.. so I think they've managed to pull it off!

Having this many songs has allowed them to really...
Published on 6 May 2006 by Ricolas

versus
2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Good, but not brilliant
This is a good album. A double disc of all good songs is definitely an achievement. However, while all the songs are good, as an album, it gets a bit boring after a while. There is not much variation in this album, and while there are highlights such as Dani California and She's only 18, nothing stands out as exceptional. Also it would have been better to make a single...
Published on 30 July 2008 by Peter B


‹ Previous | 1 221 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

15 of 17 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Well... it's pretty damn good!!, 6 May 2006
By 
This review is from: Stadium Arcadium (Audio CD)
Ok, well it's a double album and of course theres always going to be problems with that. Having that many tracks theres always going to be stand-out songs and songs that you don't like very much. However out of the 28 songs on the album, all of them do sound very good.. so I think they've managed to pull it off!

Having this many songs has allowed them to really roam free with the amount of different styles of music on the album. Listen to all the songs and you'll find so many different influnces everywhere. Some songs sound like the old Chili's of the Mothers Milk era and others sound more like the modern chilis and some sound like something completely different entirely! And John has really gone to town on the guitar on this album. His more minimalistic style of guitar playing ont he last 2 albums (similar to his solo work) is still present but there is now some absolutely fantastic guitar solos!

I'll start with the 1st CD. Theres the obviously excelllent Dani California. This is then immediately followed up with the pop-tastic Snow (Hey Ho) which has a wonderful little guitar part by John and a very catchy chorus. Straight after this is the much more funky Charlie that really does sound a bit more like old chilis with a more modern poppy chorus and some more wonderful guitar work by John... and what an excellent song it is! Then theres Stadium Arcadium which is most likely going to be a new single.. very similar to the Otherside/Californication style of song. Other highlights on the 1st CD include Slow Cheetah, Especially In Michigan (wonderful guitar!) and the EXCELLENT C'Mon Girl with an excellent bassline from Flea (one of my favourites).

CD2 I would say from first impressions is better than the first.. I'd say this really only because Tell Me Baby is possibly one of the best RHCP songs I've heard.. and this is followed by my other most favourite track on the album Hard To Concentrate. This CD also has Storm in a Teacup which is EXTREMELY funky.. older fans will love this. Also worth spotting is John's 3 minute solo in Turn It Again.. which really is worth just putting on repeat!

Verdict: Amazing album, and theres probably something on this album for every chilis fan.. new and old!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars One of the Best Albums to Come Out in Recent Years, 19 July 2008
By 
This review is from: Stadium Arcadium (Audio CD)
Alright, so you've probably heard a lot about this album and this band but I think this album and the band deserve so much credit. If you haven't really listened to anything off this album yet, I'm going to convince you to. Read on.

This amazing album has two disks: Jupiter and Mars; both fantastic. Its sound is way different than previous RHCP albums but still keeps they're original style and flair. With crazy bass lines from bassist Flea and funky guitar rifts from guitarist John Frusciante, this album is packed with creativity and has something for everyone. Drums are always great too when you got Chad Smith on them; one of the few guys in rock music these days that keeps a smile on his face.

Songs like "Dani California" and "She's only 18" are a couple of the heavier tracks. "Dani California" is a rocking track with a mind blowing guitar solo. Then you have more funky dance and rap mixes like "Warlocks" and "H*** De Bump." My favourite song off the album is "Especially in Michigan." It's got an awesome chorus and lead singer Anthony Kiedis has amazing vocals on this one. Other favourites of mine are "Discretion Smile", "Wet Sand" and "Make You Feel Better." I love most songs off the album except for three or four, and it's not often you find an album where the greater majority of the tracks are that solid.

The main popular singles are "Dani California" "Snow (hey-oh)" "Tell Me Baby" and "Hump De Bump."

I immediately bought the CD after hearing "Dani California" on the radio back in June 2006.

Some songs should have definitely been made singles. I think "Make You Feel Better" would have been the perfect single. But not only is it not a single, they don't even play it at the concerts! I would have loved to hear that song played live. Oh well, I guess it's because that song requires two guitars to play and they only have one guitarist (John) on stage so they can't really do it perfectly. Still though, I would like to hear it even with one guitar.

It's crazy to think that these guys were once playing funk rap stuff back in 1983 and they climbed all the way up to this amazing collection of songs and a whack load of Grammy awards.

You have to own this album in your collection. It's got something for everybody.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Invest time in this album & you will reap the rewards, 9 Sep 2007
By 
Andy Sweeney "music was my first love" (Brighton, East Sussex) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)    (VINE VOICE)   
This review is from: Stadium Arcadium (Audio CD)
By The Way was always going to be a hard act to follow and Red Hot Chili Peppers have responded to the massive success of their previous album by releasing a huge 28-track double album which combines some of the best aspects of their three most successful albums and, although there is nothing on this album which you could pinpoint as a progression as such, it is a release of high quality and integrity - and it's very good indeed, even though it takes a number of listens to really absorb all of the songs. On the first few listens, this release lacks identity in places, but repeated plays rewards the listener by revealing Stadium Arcadium as an album with many layers and hidden charms.

The album belongs to John Frusciante - his superb guitar work dominates the whole of Stadium Arcadium which, with the exception of one or two tracks, is largely excellent, but the RHCP band dynamic is unmistakeable and delivers, on all counts, everything you'd expect from a Red Hot Chili Peppers album. A reasonable question would be to ask whether they could have released a world-beating single album instead of this rather long and varied double disc collection and the answer is probably yes... but I rather like being able to listen to this album repeatedly and to be able to get something new from it every time. It has greater longevity as a double and allows the freedom to express their perhaps less-commercial aspirations and some downright silliness, an unmistakeable, irrepressible and ever-present characteristic of the Chilis. This isn't the best album they've ever produced, but it isn't far behind it.

It's almost worth buying just for 'Wet Sand', one of their finest moments ever.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Good, but not brilliant, 30 July 2008
By 
This review is from: Stadium Arcadium (Audio CD)
This is a good album. A double disc of all good songs is definitely an achievement. However, while all the songs are good, as an album, it gets a bit boring after a while. There is not much variation in this album, and while there are highlights such as Dani California and She's only 18, nothing stands out as exceptional. Also it would have been better to make a single disc album.

Perhaps 3 stars is a little harsh, since there are no bad songs and there's a lot on here, but since the brilliant "By the way" is its predecessor, this one is a little disappointing. Also they have gone for quantity over quality.

So, all in all, I would recommend this one. But don't expect another "By the way".
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 8 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars highly consistent record, 13 May 2006
This review is from: Stadium Arcadium (Audio CD)
I have heard 25 of these tracks at least 5 times and now i feel i can place a proper judgement on this album.It is quite simply a great album.Alot of these songs are either very good or excellent with hardly any filler.

When i heard the first album the first few times i was a bit disappointed,thinking there wasn't many excellent tracks,now i feel i'm wrong.There's "dani california", "warlocks", "she's only 18" and "especially in michigan", all truly excellent songs.

But the second album is truly the best of the two.It turns up the funk and the guitar work at times is phenomal.My favoruite song is probably "readymade" with it's heavy rock riff which is outstanding,probably the heaviest track on the whole record."Desecration smile" which is basically exactly the same as "dosed" (just as "stadium ardcadium" feels like californication 2 except for the chorus) is a great opener,while other highlights includes other standouts like "she looks to me","21st century" and "hard to concentrate".

I haven't got the last 3 songs implanted in my brain yet but it wont be long i assure you of that.Forget the whole "putting it into one album" rubbish,after all some people stupidly said that about the white album.We're getting 28 solid tracks for the price of one,the more the better i say,especially as it's all so good.This beats bloodsugarsexmagick for sure but i'm not too sure when comparing it to californication and by the way,and i'm certainly gonna go for the one's i haven't got.

disc 1 - 8

disc 2 - 9
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Stadium Arcadium - Beleive the Hype!, 10 Mar 2006
By 
I've noticed people have been slated here for rating the album vefore hearing it, so i guess i'm leaving myself wide open to criticism. I've heard 7 of the tracks, albeit demos or live but they sound amazing. One of the main singles on the album, 'dani california' if just genius. The chilis website has a little preview, i urge you to listen! Its about the 'girl' in a lot of the chilis songs, remember 'dani the girl' from by the way? It's representation of all the women in Kiedis' life.
The rest of the material is shaping up to be some of the chilis finest work, and after californication/by the way, its surely some task.
While i'm ranting, get Scar Tissue, an amazing book, and get your tickets for the UK tour this July.
...as Flea said "if you don't like this, you don't like the chilis."
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars They get better and better..., 10 Oct 2006
By 
This review is from: Stadium Arcadium (Audio CD)
I've been a Chilis fan for over 10 years and I reckon this album is fantastic. It was one of those that didn't leave the CD player for weeks when I first got it. The song-writing is amazing: I think the Chilis have really matured well, and unlike some 'older' bands who should just stop now (mentioning no names), the Chilis keep finding new depths, new riffs and new styles. They put some of today's young whippersnapper bands to shame in the fact that they can still be so original.

To my mind there is only one duff track on this album, where they have strayed just a tad too far from their original territory. I think it's brilliant that the Chilis are a) still alive after all their drugs benders, b) still mates and c) still having a great time making funky music together.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


12 of 14 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Deffinatly worth the money!, 25 May 2006
By 
Meg "Funky Monk" (Hemel Hempstead, England) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Stadium Arcadium [2CD + DVD] (Audio CD)
This is an item worth the money if you are a massive chilis fan like me! this item comes in a cool Stadium Arcadium shadow box! i was so exited when i went and bought mine, i was kinda shaking!

It includes the CDs and the SA DVD which includes the brilliant Dani california video, the making of the video (which i must say is hilarious)and the album commentery which is explained by the band members them self talking about key songs on the album. Inside the box there is a wooden spining top with funky covers,marbles wich come in a blue velvet bag, little notes from the band with little doodles and a little note book thingy that says part of the lyrics on (mine says 'Slow Cheeter come before my forest' from the song slow cheeter).

i bought this box set after i bought the CD on it's own but i dont regret this as i am a massive fan! if you are a hardcore fan like me, this item is a must have!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars 28 Songs - 2 Discs - 1 Amazing Album, 9 May 2006
By 
Carl Davies "CD" (Cheltenham, England) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Stadium Arcadium (Audio CD)
I have got to admit I was expecting alot but I didnt expect this album to live up to my high expection, especially after hearing ready made and 21st century live a year ago, where I didnt feel that they were particularly strong songs played live. But this album is astonishing, really.

As the first reviewer points out the funk is back strong, on songs such as Hump de Bump for example, balanced with many melodic elements from By the Way, as well as intense rock moments, such as Frusciante's soloing. The album is heavily produced as expected and may slightly dissapoint some who are familiar with Frusciante's raw solo records, but I dont feel the band could make a record and not want it to be so polished.

Im struggling to pick stand out tracks because of the strength in depth this album has, for me all the songs are joined as one body of work. Im sure individual songs will eventually take hold and have more of an impact on me. I have been listening to the Jupiter CD primarily, and Strip my Mind has some of the most spine shivering backing vocals Ive ever heard.

I dont think Ive ever heard an album by any band with so much musical content and be so sublime. I will be astonished if anyone can manage to give this anything but a positive review. Buy as soon as possible.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


15 of 18 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars after initial euphoria..., 22 May 2006
By 
Shing Wei Ma "swmlon" (London, England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Stadium Arcadium (Audio CD)
i bought this album as soon as it came out. being an avid fan i counted down the hours till i could get, waiting patiently especially after there previous two offerings.

when i bought the album and played it. and i was hooked, the songs sounded great, flea and smith and frusciante were working there magic and keidis was keidis, with his own funkadelic style. and if i had written my review of the album then, i would have given it a 5 star easy and the review would end there.

but now, a couple of weeks on, it has been bumped down and i am playing californication and blood sex sugar magic more again. and the more i thought about it, the more i realised, yes, the songs are good, played well, sounds good and it is technically sound. but it just not unforgetable music i regret to say. all the other albums i knew the songs inside out after just a day, and would continuously sing them to myself even if i was not listening to them. but with this album, yes, when i listen to it i rock out, btu afterwards i forget it, cant recount how the songs sound. and this makes me very sad as a RHCP fan.

it is still a good album, worthy of a higher score if only it was a memorable as the others.

they are still my favourate band and july at earls court is going to be OFF THE HOOK!!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 221 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Stadium Arcadium [2CD + DVD]
Stadium Arcadium [2CD + DVD] by Red Hot Chili Peppers (Audio CD - 2006)
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews