Customer Reviews


38 Reviews
5 star:
 (27)
4 star:
 (7)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars "Prominently atmospheric, incisively humorous..."
Irish screenwriter, producer and director Neil Jordan`s seventh feature film which he wrote, premiered at the 49th Venice Film Festival in 1992, was screened at the 17th Toronto International Film Festival in 1992, was shot on location in England and Ireland and is a UK-Japan co-production which was produced by producer Stephen Woolley. It tells the story about an Irish...
Published 13 months ago by Sindri

versus
5 of 8 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars About the film
This is a delightful film about so many things: terrorism, love, sexuality and people who follow their feelings. The plot has some unusual twists that maintain interest to the end. Fergus is a member of an IRA cell that captures and kills a British solder in N.Ireland. He fulfils his victims last request by travelling to London to pass on a message to the soldier's...
Published on 30 Sep 2003


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars "Prominently atmospheric, incisively humorous...", 12 Sep 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Crying Game [DVD] [1992] (DVD)
Irish screenwriter, producer and director Neil Jordan`s seventh feature film which he wrote, premiered at the 49th Venice Film Festival in 1992, was screened at the 17th Toronto International Film Festival in 1992, was shot on location in England and Ireland and is a UK-Japan co-production which was produced by producer Stephen Woolley. It tells the story about an Irish Volunteer in the IRA named Fergus Clegg who whilst staying with a small group of other IRA terrorists in Belfast, Northern Ireland kidnaps an English soldier named Jody whom a woman named Jude has lured into a trap. Whilst guarding the soldier who believes that it is only a matter of time before he will be killed, Fergus becomes acquainted with him an learns about his girlfriend named Dil who works at a hair salon in the capital city of England, but as Fergus begins to appreciate Jody`s company and regard him as his friend he is assigned to assassinate him by his superior named Peter.

Distinctly and precisely directed by Irish filmmaker Neil Jordan, this finely paced fictional tale which is narrated mostly from the two main characters` viewpoints, draws an intriguing and multifaceted portrayal of an Irishman who travels to London, England to honor a friend`s last wish and to get away from his associations with the Irish Republican Army. While notable for its variegated and naturalistic milieu depictions, sterling cinematography by English cinematographer Ian Wilson, production design by production designer Jim Clay and use of colors and light, this character-driven and narrative-driven story about deception, attraction and overcoming one`s preconceptions where a hairdresser and singer whom has just left her boyfriend one day gets a new customer who introduces himself as a Scottish native and later shows up at the bar where she sings, depicts two interrelated and charming studies of character and contains a great score by English composer Anne Dudley.

This somewhat political, conversational and eloquently romantic psychological thriller from the early 1990s which is set in Belfast, Northern Ireland and London, England during the Troubles in Northern Ireland in the late 20th century and where a man presents himself with another name than his own to a stranger he only knows from a picture, is impelled and reinforced by its cogent narrative structure, substantial character development, subtle continuity, endearing and colorful characters, brilliant dialog, merging of themes and genres, timely use of music and remarkable acting performances by Irish actor Stephen Rea, American actor Jaye Davidson in his debut feature film role, English actress Miranda Richardson and American actor, producer and director Forest Whitaker. A prominently atmospheric, incisively humorous and memorable love-story which gained, among numerous other awards, the Alexander Korda Award for Best British Film at the 46th BAFTA Awards in 1993.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars good film, 18 Dec 2011
This review is from: The Crying Game [DVD] [1992] (DVD)
we saw Adrian Dunbar singing in Belfast with Dervish at the opening of the music festival earlier this year and were inspired to watch films that he's been in. This wasn't as violent as i had expected, so i was relieved. But it is a surprising and interesting film, Stephen Rea is lovely as always and all the performances are good. It did seem a little dated, but again that's a relief. If it had been made more recently i think it would be a lot more graphic and that would put me off
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


17 of 20 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars In the end the story matters more than the infamous surprise, 24 Feb 2005
By 
Amazon Customer (The Zenith City, Duluth, Minnesota) - See all my reviews
(HALL OF FAME REVIEWER)    (VINE VOICE)   
Unfortunately by the time I got to the theater to see "The Crying Game" I already knew about the big surprise. I had been avoiding seeing or hearing anything about the movie and was flipping channels when I paused on David Letterman long enough for him to give away the big surprise. I was no more happy with his off-the cuff revealation than I was when Charles Schulz revealed the ending to "Citizen Kane" one Sunday in "Peanuts." However, in the final analysis what makes Neil Jordan's 1992 film really memorable is not the big surprise, but rather that the writer-director comes up with a fourth act to take what has been set up in the previous three to a new level.
[I will endeavor to write this review without giving away the big secret although in the wake of Jaye Davidson's Oscar nomination and Billy Crystal's memorable song about "The Crying Game" at the Academy Awards there cannot be too many people who are not in on the surprise at this point.]
Act One has Jude (Miranda Richardson) enticing Jody (Forest Whitaker), a English soldier stationed in Northern Ireland, into an IRA trap. Jody is taken to a secluded house in the forest where he is watched over by Fergus (Stephen Rea), who seems to have more of a conscience that the rest of the group. Maguire (Adrian Dunbar), the leader of the group, plans on exchanging Jody for members of the IRA held by the British, but neither Jody nor Fergus think there is much chance of that happening. The question is whether Fergus is going to be able to shoot Jody when the inevitable moment comes, and while this could be (and has been) the subject of an entire film, it is only Jordan's opening act.
In Act Two we find that Fergus has changed his name to Jimmy and is doing construction work to hide out from both the British and the IRA. Haunted by a photograph of Jody and his girlfriend, "Jimmy" visits the salon where she works and has Dil (Jaye Davidson) do his hair. Jimmy is attracted to Dil, but his feelings include a mixture of guilt as well. Clearly this relationship is headed for the inevitable moment when Dil finds out that Jimmy was involved with what happened to Jody. Again, this is a storyline that has been the subject of entire movies, but the twist is that before Dil finds out Jimmy's big secret, Dil has a bigger surprise for Jimmy.
As we get into Act Three the focus is clearly on what will happen to the relationship between Jimmy and Dil. Jordan does a reasonable good job of playing it as being able to go either way, and although we have our suspicions given what we know about Jimmy, I think we are dealing with shades of gray rather than clearcut black & white. It is at this point that Jordan earns his fifth star by coming up with a final act where what happened in the previous acts comes back with a vengeance.
Ultimately, what makes this a very good film is the simple fact that you do not see how the end game is going to play out (including the final scene and the song selected for the fade to black). There are certainly those who saw the big surprise coming from the start (I went to the movie with one of those people), but beyond the strong feeling that things are not going to work out well in the end the ending of "The Crying Game" is not at all predictable. Besides, what matters is not what happens but what Jimmy is trying to do, against the mounting odds.
The credit for the success of this film clearly goes to Jordan, as writer and director, which is amply evidences by the "alternate ending" provided on the DVD. This was the ending first shot for the movie, at the dictate of the backers, but was jettisoned in favor of the ending originally written, which was then shot. But "The Crying Game" also has the advantage of Rea's moving performance. He makes what his character feels and does seem totally believable in the face of an entire series of truly bizarre situations, and whatever shortcomings there are in the first time performance of Davidson are more than counter-balanced by what Rae does in this film.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


17 of 20 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars the crying game, 10 July 2007
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Crying Game (2 Disc Special Edition) [DVD] (DVD)
I first saw this movie quite by accident,i orriginally rented it.
There was nothing on tv and i wanted something to watch.
This movie is gripping,and sometimes almost funny.
One of the best films i have ever seen.
Watch it once and you will watch it again and again.
Brilliant acting by all.A truly fantastic film!!!!!
It is just a shame i could only give it 5 stars,because this deserves 10
Watch it and enjoy!!!!!!!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent, 9 Oct 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Crying Game [DVD] [1992] (DVD)
I have seen this film many times and it still fascinates me. An old IRA movie, with a twist. The film is old so the acting is a bit iffy but the storyline is brilliant.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars The nature of love, 3 Jun 2013
By 
Autonome (London United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Crying Game (2 Disc Special Edition) [DVD] (DVD)
For the best part of its first third, "The Crying Game" is utterly predictable and quite boring. Plus Forest Whitaker in the part of a British soldier - I don't think so, "mate"...
And then...and then...as Fergus arrives in London and meets Dil, the movie takes a whole different, powerful meaning. "The Crying Game" then reveals its true subject: the meaning and the nature of love, as well as our complete uselessness as human beings when it hits us - even if the circumstances are absolutely incredible/impossible. It is only then that Neil Jordan's very artful directing and beautiful lightning start to hit the spot. Jaye Davidson has a big responsibility for the film taking off as it does, but Jordan's very romantic direction helps too.
I can only regret that the "gimmick" that made the film famous is still the one thing that lures people to this movie because at the end of the day it is a beautiful love story, and it throws quite a lot of questions to us rock-hard heterosexuals, and in particular this one: Can one fall in love irrespective of gender? And what does it take to live with it?
Four stars only because there are some mild execution problems (the hostage bit -way too developped, Whitaker -miscast, and Miranda Richardson -annoyingly noisy).
Bar that, a must-see.

On top of it, the bonuses are brilliant: a very thoughtful commentary by Neil Jordan and a fascinating 50mns making-of, made years later, with discussions with producers, Director Neil Jordan, actor Stephen Rea and even a former IRA prisoner. A great release indeed.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Nothing To Cry About, 22 May 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Crying Game [DVD] [1992] (DVD)
Words fail me. Excellent story and acting. Jaye Davidson is sooooooo sweet! Don't take my word for it just make sure that you see this dvd
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars classic film, 21 Dec 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Crying Game [DVD] [1992] (DVD)
Great classic, would not be everyones taste but a1 to the director for a more than unusual film.
If your straight/gay or what dont miss this one!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Great, 28 Oct 2013
By 
Mrs. S. J. Tinsley-hunt "sand_viper" (Birmingham, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Crying Game (2 Disc Special Edition) [DVD] (DVD)
A great film, interesting character dynamics and a gritty performance by international stars. Would recommend as a 'must see film'.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars loved it, 1 Mar 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Crying Game (2 Disc Special Edition) [DVD] (DVD)
have lookded for this for awhile and now found it really happy with this dvd and the soundtrack is great
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

The Crying Game (2 Disc Special Edition) [DVD]
The Crying Game (2 Disc Special Edition) [DVD] by Forest Whitaker (DVD - 2006)
£6.73
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews