Customer Reviews


29 Reviews
5 star:
 (4)
4 star:
 (10)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:
 (3)
1 star:
 (10)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


51 of 56 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Arthouse meets graphic novel and all have a good time...
Immortal seems to evenly divide opinion. It may not be to all tastes, but it is a very watchable and enjoyable film, with a compelling message about the nature of humanity and what immortality actually is. The plot isn't exactly taxing but it is presented in a stylish and visually exciting format -- just not one which will necessarily appeal to those seeking...
Published on 6 July 2006 by Rowena Hoseason

versus
1.0 out of 5 stars 1) A mutant girl is repeatedly raped by a giant chicken 2) Ultimately she starts to like it 3) The chicken dies. 4) THE END
This... this... thing, made in France in 2004, is amongst the most obscenely pretentious, ridiculously grotesque and morbidly bad films I ever saw - and I saw a lot of bad films in my life.

I like a lot Enki Bilal comic books and also many of his other artwork (his vision of Earl Dumarest made me kneel in adoration), but after watching this... this... thing, I...
Published 3 months ago by Maciej


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

51 of 56 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Arthouse meets graphic novel and all have a good time..., 6 July 2006
By 
Rowena Hoseason "Hooligween" (Kernow, Great Britain) - See all my reviews
(HALL OF FAME REVIEWER)    (TOP 50 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: Immortal [DVD] (DVD)
Immortal seems to evenly divide opinion. It may not be to all tastes, but it is a very watchable and enjoyable film, with a compelling message about the nature of humanity and what immortality actually is. The plot isn't exactly taxing but it is presented in a stylish and visually exciting format -- just not one which will necessarily appeal to those seeking straightfoward sci-fi or action/adventure thrills.

If you enjoyed movies like Run Lola Run, Celine et Julie, Bladerunner, Final Fantasy, the Matrix anime series, or the Fifth Element... well, this is some weird kind of hybrid of the lot of them. It's at the high end of comicbook (or 'graphic novel' if you must) art, brought to life with a few carefully chosen actors and then stylised (deliberately so) animation. The use of cgi allows the director to realise things which just ain't possible in real life -- the gods Bast, Horus and Anubis are particularly interesting.
However, the art of creating green-screen films has progressed quite dramatically since Immortal was originally produced (around 2005, I think), and watching it again recently (2014) showed up its clunkier areas where the entirely-animated characters didn't quite mesh with the live-action performances. Cameron's Avatar is certainly far more sophisticated in its presentation, although Immortal takes a lot more risks and has a deliciously sordid, steam-punky feel to it. The striking visual style -- very 1920s urban American with chunky skyscrapers and vintage air-cars -- is fabulous, and there's masses of attention to tiny detail in the pleasingly scuzzy set design and costumes, even for the minor characters.

Even so, the result is most definitely a *continental* film, not a Hollywood one. It's very French in its quirky delivery. So if you want blockbuster, then try elsewhere!
8/10
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


22 of 24 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars One of the best SF films I've seen for a long time, 1 Oct 2007
By 
D. Thorpe "Doc Chaos" (UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Immortal [DVD] (DVD)
i'm a big fan of Enki Bilal's books, and this is a visually incredible adaptation of the material in Gods in Chaos... It outdoes Blade Runner and Fifth Element in its dystopian city futurescapes, and its storyline does not pander to neat Hollywood structures and endings. True, the CGI sections could have been slightly better, but there is a thematic distinction between the scenes which use real actors and those which do not. This is a multilayered story with a tragic mood that really appeals - Jill Bioskop, the beautiful heroine who cries blue tears and is cursed with special powers is a marvellous invention. The film merits several viewings both to appreciate the meaning and the design.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 7 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A 'proper' reasonably intelligent sci-fi film, at last. Not perfect, but great fun!, 26 April 2009
This review is from: Immortal [DVD] (DVD)
One of the best 'proper' sci-fi films of the 2000s. It's certainly not perfect. But it is great fun, while still requiring more intelligence than most recent ersatz sci-fi films ('Mission to Mars' and 'Sunshine' seem to be the intelligent exceptions, but they stick firmly to post-Apollo "hero astronauts" territory). Most people have criticised the complex and by no means seamless screen mix of human characters, CGI characters, and hybrid human-CGI characters. This mix was initially jarring, and it would be easy for most viewers to dismiss the film as soon as they hit that particular wall (about 12 minutes in) - but then it all forced me to "suspend my disbelief", and led to a strong immersion in the storyline and the world on the screen. And what a storyline! This is how sci-fi on the screen should be - mysterious, hugely imaginative, mildly epic, bizzare (if not bonkers), endlessly visually-inventive but still very human and posing a few human quandries. Luckily (as a kid) I'd read the Bilal graphic novel this is based on, back in the mid 1980s when it was serialised in Heavy Metal magazine. So I knew a little of what to expect, but it's been rebooted and polished here to make a satisfying and good-looking movie experience. There are a few things I would have changed, mostly the very uneven choice of music - especially the dreadful French rock music at the end. Other than that, this seems to be about as close as we're likely to get in the 2000s to seeing a bonkers 'hard' sci-fi novel on the big screen. It's just a pity that the budget couldn't have stretched to a consistent music score, and some better animation in places - I'd love to see this film revisted and "retouched" after ten years, laying the latest animation technology over the weakest bits. For those wondering how this French movie works in English, there's strong dialogue throughout and flawless English dubbing and voice-work.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1.0 out of 5 stars 1) A mutant girl is repeatedly raped by a giant chicken 2) Ultimately she starts to like it 3) The chicken dies. 4) THE END, 23 May 2014
By 
Maciej "Darth Maciek" (Darth Maciek is out there...) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: Immortal [DVD] (DVD)
This... this... thing, made in France in 2004, is amongst the most obscenely pretentious, ridiculously grotesque and morbidly bad films I ever saw - and I saw a lot of bad films in my life.

I like a lot Enki Bilal comic books and also many of his other artwork (his vision of Earl Dumarest made me kneel in adoration), but after watching this... this... thing, I say it loud and clear: "Sir, stay away from the movie making. No, seriously, put this camera down before somebody gets hurt".

After watching this film I am absolutely unable to say what it was about, but it is all right, because after like 30 minutes I didn't bother anymore - I just wanted this thing to END! The summary synopsis, for what I understood from this... this... thing, figures actually in the title of my review.

I don't think that even Enki Bilal knew what this... this... thing was about. I believe that the whole point was to find a pretext to show some skin in a soft-porn movie, featuring a former Miss France 1992 (Linda Hardy) who never played before or since and therefore can't act but still has the right kind of shapes (and was made to wear some exotic make up to make the whole thing more kinky).

It was probably also a way to get some money from some kind of subventions, because I absolutely refuse to believe that any kind of private sector producer accepted to put some funds into it. This... this... thing actually cost 22 million Euros, just to show some forcible copulation of a former Miss France with a giant chicken!

You can find almost all of this film for free on the internet so if you really want to suffer through it, at least avoid spending you hard earned cash. This... this... thing confirms once more, that every time when French make a science-fiction film, any sapient being should scream like a little girl and run away. Stupidly, I didn't do it...
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


10 of 13 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars THE CONVENTION OF GAMES, 26 July 2005
STYLE! STYLE!! STYLE!!! - if you're looking for a deck stacked with nothing but spades - then IMMORTAL is for you. Bold, brashy, painted wall to wall with ideas, effects and art IMMORTAL is one of those rare films that manages to get so much right, that any and all flaws are easily ignored, missed or left to slide.
While not a perfect film - it does deliver. As with most sci-fi / fasntasy films that deal with the future we often have only two options: CLEAN or DIRTY (or to put a more intellectual spin on it: UPTOPIA or DYSTOPIA) and IMMORTAL goes for the dirty, sometimes dank but unlike, say BLADE RUNNER - not the dark. The film leans more towards (and often ends up in bed with) THE FIFTH ELEMENT - and there perhaps lies its greatest flaw. While not a lift from the film - there are a number of similar themes and ideas that intrude on the story. Super-duper female. Average kind of guy - flying cars, superpowers, Gods and god-like problems abound right up until the end (there's even a MATRIX moment with BLUE and RED pills). There's also a strong vibe from a little seen film called UNTIL THE END OF THE WORLD - while that film does not have anything near the kind of story that IMMORTAL does - there seems to be a ghost of that tone here as well. This is not a bad thing.
The story is at once complex and yet very direct. Things move from one point to the next in a pretty linear fashion. Everything happens over the course of seven days - but the back story has been going on since time began. But not everything is explained to you. There are moments where you'll have to make up your own mind and come up with your own conclusions as to what is really going on. I hesitate to give anything away because it's a film best watched cold (and while I've compared the film to THE FIFTH ELEMENT don't let that blind you to IMMORTAL).
The film mixes and matches computer antimated characters and live actors to great effect. While you never truly forget that the animated players are anything but computer generated - they do react and act well enough to draw you into the world. It's great work both big and small.
IMMORTAL is not for everyone. But for those that have loved this style of story telling and this style of art then IMMORTAL is a must have for any collection.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Could have been great, 7 Sep 2008
By 
T. Rogers (London, England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Immortal [DVD] (DVD)
First of all, a lot of people say this film has great graphics. I would agree in places it does, but there are other bits where the characters look like they're out of San Andreas for the Playstation. The film portrays a futuristic world with a lot going on in it. Unfortunately there is too much going on and due to the film only being 99mins long I felt that many aspects of this world were not adequately explored.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


19 of 25 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Bilal, 3 Jun 2006
This review is from: Immortal [DVD] (DVD)
The film is set in a very strange kind of future New York where the lives of 3 characteres are ment to encounter eachother.

It is a very interesting film, since it is one of the few that use a graphic novelist for a director. Enki Bilal is known for his futuristic graphic novels which always get good critiques in several media. The film uses the techniques that Bilal uses in his novels, that is a mixture of "normal" people with computer generated characteres. This makes the film extra futuristic!

I realy like the film because of this. The story is also very good and interesting.

I think if you like films like "The Fifth elementh" this is one to watch!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 8 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars eye candy, 13 May 2007
By 
M. O. HAYNES "couch magpie" (UK) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Immortal [DVD] (DVD)
This film is a visual treat but I found the plot rather confusing. It is very much like reading a graphic novel but I didn't like the mix between real actors and animation - some of it looked a bit naff (like Tron). Also the mixture of animation styles for the CG characters also jarred slightly. I would have liked this a lot more if all the CG characters were of consistent design, the real actors were dropped (or used as reference for overlayed CG [like Jah Jah in Episode I]) and the plot/script was a little more solid. All told though I would definately recommend to all sci-fi fans out there.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Very watchable if you're prepared to work a little for your enjoyment, 25 May 2014
This review is from: Immortal (DVD)
A delightful mix of live action and CGI that creates a very 'steam-punk' view of a future New York inhabited by a mix of altered humans and aliens. There is very little backstory explanation and you're plunged straight into the plot, which is a bit confusing at first but once you've caught on it works well. The CGI is perhaps a little dated but fits in well to the 'steam-punk' theme so perhaps it's deliberate. Well worth a watch if you're prepared to work a little for your enjoyment.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Weird but wonderful, 23 Feb 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Immortal [DVD] (DVD)
I had never heard of this film before I cam across it on "DiscoverMovie" a film mapping app for the IPad. It is definitely weird and a little week on plot, but visually wonderful. In a world still short of good SciFi movies, this reached into someone's mind of a weird future.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Immortal [DVD]
Immortal [DVD] by Enki Bilal (DVD - 2006)
12.38
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews