Customer Reviews


25 Reviews
5 star:
 (16)
4 star:
 (3)
3 star:
 (3)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:
 (2)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


25 of 25 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A real Slick Strategy Game!
I can't compare this with the PC version as I've never played it.

I bought this game because it looked interesting and boy has it delivered in spades. This is a mammoth game and quite challenging to say the least.

First up you get a huge tutorial split into 6 parts where you play Joan of Arc and discover how to command an army, construct buildings...
Published on 15 Nov 2006 by Crafty Marie

versus
2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Good game - bad software glitches
A great strategy game which will occupy you for weeks, however if the game has gone on for a while, it tends to freeze after you try and save it with a message, "cannot write/save to card". You can't get back to the game after this so your last playing session will be lost.
Because of this it only gets 3 stars when it should be higher.
Published on 17 July 2007 by J. Morris


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

25 of 25 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A real Slick Strategy Game!, 15 Nov 2006
By 
Crafty Marie "mariej30" (Cambs) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
= Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Age Of Empires: The Age of Kings (Nintendo DS) (Video Game)
I can't compare this with the PC version as I've never played it.

I bought this game because it looked interesting and boy has it delivered in spades. This is a mammoth game and quite challenging to say the least.

First up you get a huge tutorial split into 6 parts where you play Joan of Arc and discover how to command an army, construct buildings such as mines, farms, castles, etc, learn strategies for earning an income. The tutorial is excellent and walks you through all you need to know - but don't expect to race through it because it is fairly tough (maybe if you've played the PC version it could be easier!)

You can then chose to play through the pre-set campaigns available, each that have new maps and new missions to achieve or you can simply set up your own game against the AI (computer player) and choose who you want to be (briton, franc, japanese, mongol etc) and select from a huge choice of maps/scenarios.

You earn points as you win games and these points can unlock bonus maps, scenarios and new items.

I would say this game is for the older player maybe 12 plus up to very mature (I am in my 30s) and for someone who likes a challenge and can accept that a single campaign/mission can last for several hours - plus point is you can save at any time.

The game is mammoth, controls are very slick (you can use stylus and/or buttons) and I can't see how you could get bored with it easily due to how much variety is on offer here.

Excellent.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


76 of 78 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great strategy, however, a word of warning.., 28 Feb 2007
By 
T. Dungate "Delketh" (Hampshire, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
= Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Age Of Empires: The Age of Kings (Nintendo DS) (Video Game)
This is by far the best game I've played on the DS (and indeed on any handheld). Though I only have 4 games for the DS, they are all critically acclaimed titles, however this one has provided me with the most depth, longevity, and most importantly fun!

For any lover of strategy games, the often flat and uninvolved nature of handheld games can be a disappointment, especially if one spends a lot of time using handhelds. Thankfully, Age of Empires: The Age of Kings successfully delivers an engaging (though not overwhelming), lasting experience. While it plays out differently from the PC version, of which I am a veteran fan, any players of previous AoE games should be able to make themselves at home with the units, buildings and scenarios. Nostalgia points are scored by the use of the same sound effects from the PC game (which were always excellent).

To the uninitiated in the world of AoE, this game still has plenty to deliver. 5 campaigns totalling over 25 scenarios, as well as the option of a standard skirmish game should provide hours of fun, as single scenarios can often take hours to complete. The 5 civilizations, special mercenary units and historical background (nothing long or heavy, don't worry) provide some variety and character, and the ability to save at any time or place is well suited to the nature of handheld gaming. While not ever frustratingly difficult, the AI provides an adequate challenge, and a good mind for strategy will be required if you want to achieve all the bonus goals laid out by the game.

The tutorial campaign eases you gently into playing, though doesn't bore, and in no time you'll be confidently ordering about your troops. The touch screen layout is user friendly, and while the DS buttons can be effectively used, I'd still recommend the stylus. Multiplayer is there for those who want it, though there is no Wi-fi. While slightly disappointing, this is no great loss as the nature of the gameplay would not always lend itself to extended Wi-fi play.

There are some drawbacks however. While none are game killing, they should be taken into account:

- The action can become repetitive after extended periods of gameplay

- Busy maps (multiple players with big civilizations) can cause the gameplay to get bogged down (i.e. turns will each take a long time).

- The game can be occasionally be prone to freezing, and some other minor glitches are also present, such as battle animation not playing, or 2 units occupying the same square.

None of these should stop you purchasing Age of Empires for the DS, as compared to many other titles, you really are getting value for your money. Overall it is an engaging, tactical, long-lasting game and I'd urge anyone who doesn't suffer from a critically short attention span to buy it.

One last thing:

***WARNING*** - There is a known fatal error in this game. There can be times where the game will freeze after selecting Save & Quit. DO NOT SHUT OFF THE DS. Doing so will result in fatal corruption of the card and failure to boot. Plug it in, leave it on, and do all you can (mash buttons, leave for hours) to get it to unfreeze. Advice from the developers is to MAKE SURE YOUR PROFILE NAME IS 4 OR MORE CHARACTERS LONG. It appears short names cause this problem. Most players also avoid the Save & Quit option entirely, just to be safe: Instead simply choose "Save", then once saved, turn the DS off.

This is what happened to me, and I feel others should be warned in advance and spared the pain of having to buy another card.

Now, go get this game!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars While away hours, 26 Jan 2007
= Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Age Of Empires: The Age of Kings (Nintendo DS) (Video Game)
If you have a little skill and a lot of patience this is the game for you . I sit there for hours playing yet it seems like I've only been on there a few minutes . Admittedly the Tutorial is trying in fact on the penultimate game I had done all the objectives and it would still not let me win , but you can bypass this and perhaps I'll try again later . You get quite a lot of the map on a such a small screen but you do need to be careful as I found out when walking straight into the oppositions castle - fatal !!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Briliiant!!, 11 Jan 2007
= Fun:4.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Age Of Empires: The Age of Kings (Nintendo DS) (Video Game)
Got my DS at Christmas with Mario Bros and Trauma center. Very good they are too but you can take them or leave them. Bought this on the off chance that it would deliver and it certainly did.

I can't stop playing it and it now goes with me everywhere. Travelling to work is now a joy rather than a chore. This game is so enthralling and addictive and unlike Pc or other console strategy games you don't have to sit at home in front of a monitor to play it.

Recommended!!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


15 of 16 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Great game though can be confusing at times, 13 Nov 2006
By 
= Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Age Of Empires: The Age of Kings (Nintendo DS) (Video Game)
The title expalins it all.

AOE DS is not like the PC version we all know. No longer is there the free play, but AOE DS has a turn based play, which allows the player to give a little more thinking time to the game. It still has some of the PC traits such as ageing up the empire to a different era and conducting research on loom, iron etc to improve your armies capabilities.

Best way to describe the game is a historical advanced wars duel strike. If you like AW DS then you will like this.

The down side to the game is that each of the play icons are quite intricate. When the icons are on adjacent squares then you cant make out which unit is which and end up scrolling the icons to see which square each is on. A down side yes but for me it did not effect game play and still had a great time on the game.

Overall: if you enjoyed Advanced Wars Duel Stike and want a a refreshing outlook on this. Here you are AOE DS is for you. I will be recommending it to friends so i can get a bit of multiplayer action.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Different - But Splendid, 2 Jan 2007
= Fun:4.0 out of 5 stars 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Age Of Empires: The Age of Kings (Nintendo DS) (Video Game)
Having played Age of Empires on the PC I was a little concerend on how well a port to the DS would turn out. I am delighted with the result, although the game play is different to the original.

The biggest change is from real time to turn based play. It makes the game play more like Advanced Wars, which is no bad thing. Turn based play suits a portable games machine like the DS well as you can deal with distractions without the fear of a suprise attack.

The tutorial covers all aspects of the game in a series of missions to ease you in to the game. You can then choose from the pre-set Campaigns or set up your own missions on a wide variety of maps available.

My only compaint is due to the screen size. When there are a lot of units close together, it can be difficult to see at a glance which are which. However you can cycle between each of the units you control, with each unit type being clearly displayed on the upper screen.

Overall it has kept me busy since I got it a couple of weeks ago and the game shows no sign of becoming boring any time soon. It also allows for games to be saved at any point should you want to take a break.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The best DS game I've played, 1 Jun 2007
By 
Gemma "Chocolatebox" (UK) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (TOP 1000 REVIEWER)   
= Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Age Of Empires: The Age of Kings (Nintendo DS) (Video Game)
I love Age of Empires II for the PC (III is just awful) and I got this game for the DS, whilst it's quite different to the PC version (turn based being the main difference), I quickly got used to it and find it just as addicting as the PC game!

There are the usual campaigns allowing you to play as Joan of Arc and others, as well the usual just playing a normal map game.

If you love the PC game I'd highly recommend this.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A Blast From the PC Past, 27 Dec 2006
By 
A. P. Salmond (London, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
= Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Age Of Empires: The Age of Kings (Nintendo DS) (Video Game)
I was stuck on a coach for two 6 hour stints over the Christmas period, and thought I should get myself something that I could sink my teeth into. This fit the bill perfectly; an old-fashioned turn-based strategy game that felt quite reminiscent of something I might've played on my old 486 or PII. Which may make it sound a bit rusty, but it's far from it.

As was mentioned above, the campaigns are pretty big, with the tutorial alone taking up the lion's share of my trip. What they've managed to squeeze in here is superb, with just enough options for the different aspects of the game to give it a depth beyond anything else I've played on the DS to date.

The graphics and sound are nice, with the little animated battles in the top screen adding a sense of action to proceedings. The touch screen lends itself well to turn-based strategy, and helps to give the feel of a general on the battlefield. And the AI, while nothing to give a hardcore gamer the chills, is still enough to keep a schmoe like me occupied.

All in all a very worthwhile addition to your games library if you're a fan of strategy games. I'm having a great time with it. A word of warning however: if you're a dip-in-dip-out kinda gamer, this probably isn't for you. You do have the flexibility to save at any point, but you'll still want to give it at least an hour each sitting.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Different than the PC!, 9 Jan 2007
By 
Munkstar (Bournemouth UK) - See all my reviews
= Fun:4.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Age Of Empires: The Age of Kings (Nintendo DS) (Video Game)
Unlike the PC version that runs in real time this game has a 'take in turns' gameplay. This works well most of the time but the AI slows on complexity. Also looking at the game from the the 3D perspective makes it dificult to clearly see all of the layout when several surrounding blocks are filled with differnt skill level troops. However, overall, these minor problems do not detract from a good way of killing time in waiting lounges where ever you may be. In essence a game of chess like strategy, worth the money, unlike some!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The World Is Yours, 30 Oct 2007
= Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Age Of Empires: The Age of Kings (Nintendo DS) (Video Game)
This is the first installment on a handheld console for Age of Empires and my God it's brilliant! Why? U ask. Well it's so damn addictive! Although it isn't as good as Advance Wars (due to no map designer and edit mode as well as some other things), it is still fantastic to have even if you have Advance Wars. If you didn't already know Age of Empires is a stratigical turn based game in which you control an ancient army and try to dominate the land by conquering the other armies. To this you need to build up towns, buildings, mines for money, mills for food and of course your army which can contain many different types of units which are unique in their own way. It can be very difficult at first but after you get the idea and get into the game you just can't put it down! The feeling you get when you outsmart 3 armies bigger than yours using a clever plan and then going on to completely wipe them clean is so satisfying that you would want to live it for real.

Graphics = 7
Sound = 7
Gameplay = 10
Replay Value = 10
Longitivity = 10

Overall = 8.5
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Age Of Empires: The Age of Kings (Nintendo DS)
£26.95
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews