Customer Reviews


58 Reviews
5 star:
 (46)
4 star:
 (8)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (3)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


18 of 18 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The Force is strong with this one........
This game is brilliant and i would recommend it highly to anyone who enjoys Star Wars or playable games or Lego!

It expands on the first game, and has improved on it's minor flaws.The levels are bigger, the graphics are better, the music is improved and there are so many extras and secrets tucked away in it to discover.

The game developers haven't...
Published on 18 Oct 2006 by Mr. S. W. Steel

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars family purchase
purchased for my son. He has played it and thinks it is very good, so much so he has a copy for at his house and mine.
Published 18 months ago by R. Mackie


‹ Previous | 1 26 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

18 of 18 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The Force is strong with this one........, 18 Oct 2006
By 
Mr. S. W. Steel "stephensteel" (England) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (REAL NAME)   
= Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: LEGO Star Wars II: The Original Trilogy (PS2) (Video Game)
This game is brilliant and i would recommend it highly to anyone who enjoys Star Wars or playable games or Lego!

It expands on the first game, and has improved on it's minor flaws.The levels are bigger, the graphics are better, the music is improved and there are so many extras and secrets tucked away in it to discover.

The game developers haven't taken out the things that made the first one such a joy to play.The humour is still great, the playability is fantastic and of course it has Lego!!!

It is one of those games you can pick up and play for a bit of fun, or can be a real geek and try and complete everything.

I enjoy the co-operative mode too.Great to play with a friend and spend time just having fun.

A modern classic!

And Amazon sell this at a great price too.

Part with your money now - you will not regret it!!!!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


21 of 22 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great Fun For All Ages, 25 Nov 2006
= Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: LEGO Star Wars II: The Original Trilogy (PS2) (Video Game)
i loved the original Lego Star Wars game. It was incredibly fun, very replayable and had a wicked sense of humor. Lego Star Wars II is just as fun, and covers Episodes IV-VI!

It's very rare to find a game that kids can play, adults can play, and everybody truly loves it. This is one of those games. I'm sure kids enjoy the game quite a lot - but pretty much every adult gamer I know loves this series as well. It's fun, it has classic scenes from the Star Wars movies done in a VERY funny style, and you can keep replaying it. You can play it with friends! You can unlock new episodes, new ships, new characters, you name it.

The first thing you notice when you enter the "Cantina" is that now you can MAKE NEW CHARACTERS!!! Yes, you can mix up Darth Vader's head, Princess Leia's torso and a stormtrooper's pants. You can mix pretty much any character you find in the game, and give them personalized names! Then you can bring 2 of your creations into the game with you on free play mode. Talk about fun!!

The game gets even better. Yes, you work through all the classic scenes - Luke buying the droids, the Death Star blowing up, and so on from the "first 3 movies" (in release order at least). The cut scenes are VERY funny. Being able to play along as the various characters is amazingly fun in story mode, and even better in "free play" when you can randomly switch between a variety of characters to find all the hidden items.

I love the stud finding system. You want more money? Just replay a mission a few times. You can get all sorts of fun "cheats" (not cheats, really, but fun add-ons), you can buy new characters to use, and much more. It really gives you incentive to keep playing.

Is a youngster in the house having trouble playing? Just have an adult pop into the game for a while to help out, then the adult can pop out again, to let the child keep playing! It is just brilliant. I love this game.

The graphics are superb, as last time, with little lego movements seeming just right. Their swaggers and sliders are incredibly funny. The sound, of course, is the real movie soundtrack and is superb. You couldn't ask for anything better.

Even the tiny touches are funny. If C-3PO starts getting hit, he loses an arm, then another arm, then a leg. You have him hopping along valiantly behind you, trying to remain with your team. Chewie rips off arms from stormtroopers.

Now of course, there are always a few things the game designers get wrong. While Chewie's arm-ripping is quite funny, it is REALLY annoying when he does it - very slowly - in the middle of a firefight when you wanted him to be blasting away. The characters automatically switch into close combat mode if they think someone is nearby, even if you really needed to fire away at someone with the blaster. Even more annoying, if you're blasting away at "destructables" (wall items, whatever) and your friend gets near you start bashing on him!

The camera is also really annoying. You get a *slight* amount of view control, but not much. When you are craning around trying to find a mini-kit on the screen and the camera keeps swooping wildly exactly where you do NOT want to look, it can get very frustrating.

Still, these are minor problems in a game that is so stellar. I highly, highly recommend this game for any gamer of any age. It's incredibly fun.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


20 of 21 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars This game is fantastic!!, 14 Sep 2006
This review is from: LEGO Star Wars II: The Original Trilogy (PS2) (Video Game)
Yeah it maybe aimed at kids but 2 adults play this, in between laughing so hard tears roll down your face!! the game has it all, running round killing and blasting (which I like) and solving puzzles (which the girl friend likes) and because of all the locked items and characters, you wont find yourself getting bored with the game.

Again, its sooo funny - just watch the movements and attitude of the characters! it's like playing with my lego stuff when i was a kid!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


19 of 20 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Something to keep everybody awake all night for weeks, 27 Feb 2007
By 
Nicholas Sales (London, England) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (REAL NAME)   
= Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: LEGO Star Wars II: The Original Trilogy (PS2) (Video Game)
This game is unusual: the genre is a "space-opera/shoot 'em up/blow 'em up/sci-fi satire using lovable plastic figures/puzzle/gotta get them all" mixture. (Although this leaves out some important aspects, you probably get the idea).

There are very few games that I love unconditionally, and this has now joined the list. (Others include "Thief I/II/III", "Civilization II", "Goldeneye", "Nethack", if you care). Many games are great, but have some irritations that make me think: "That was great but I don't think I'll play that again."

Lego Star Wars II: The Original Trilogy (LeSWIITOT) is not like that. I'll be getting it out of the attic in 5 years' time, and playing it again.

Why?

- it's so easy to play; the gameplay takes about 30 seconds to learn, but the game is still challenging

- there is enjoyable, but not brain-mangling, puzzle solving which practically forces you to replay each chapter several times, each time discovering more surprises and fun

- it's hilariously funny; cut scenes are close to the original Star Wars movies, but they all have subtle and not-so-subtle visual gags for fans to fall about laughing at

- it's cuter than kittens in knitted bootees: the Lego characters are very much like 2-year old kids. They bounce around all over the place grinning, shouting and breaking things, and enjoying every moment. (Although you don't need to change their nappies).

- it's such a great concept; normally, "concepts" wear thin pretty quickly, but this one is so well formed and thought through that it is seamless. Who can possibly have thought of combining Star Wars and Lego people, and is he/she receiving the counselling they so clearly need?

- there is so much here. I haven't finished it yet, but to play through and unlock every feature, secret, character, mini-mission, and secret level will take a couple of months of my evening play sessions.

Despite the ease of play, the comedy, and the focus on unlocking things, the game is immersive, challenging enough for gamers of many different tastes.

I recommend this game so much that you should buy a PS2 if you don't have one, just to play it.

Now, what other "concept" games can they bring out? Sticklebricks "War and Peace", Mr Potato Head "The Ipcress File", Shoe box "Americas Cup Ocean Racing"...
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Brilliant for kids and adults., 13 Sep 2006
= Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: LEGO Star Wars II: The Original Trilogy (PS2) (Video Game)
This is just such a playable game. The orginal Trilogy (Star Wars, Empire Strikes Back, Return of the Jedi) is covered and this arguably gives the game much more appeal than the Lego Star Wars I which was about Episodes I-III (ie the most recent trilogy which culminated in Revenge of the Sith)

Fantastic attention to detail throughout, brilliant characterisation, simple controls and gameplay but lots of things to collect and loads of replay value and customisation.

The vehicle sections, while fun are not quite up to the standard of the rest of the game but this doesn't detract from the game overall and does provide a welcome diversion from the main shooting and slashing sections.

I highly recommend this game. There is a massive incentive to have just one more go so as to unlock another level of the fantastic story. All the characters are brilliantly depicted.

Although this is aimed at kids and is certainly not a difficult game at all, everyone will enjoy it and it really is impossible to dislike in any way.

Highly recommended.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Funtastic!!, 25 Feb 2007
By 
TUFTY (Wiltshire, UK) - See all my reviews
= Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: LEGO Star Wars II: The Original Trilogy (PS2) (Video Game)
Genius is the only word you can describe this game. The people at LucasArts (the creators) have come up with the best Star Wars game ever, even better than the first Lego Star Wars. Not only it is fun and has loads of characters and extras to unlock, but there are new features to the game which you don't get in the original.

So what are these new features, you ask? Firstly, you get to play as vehicles in the veichle mission and when you complete a battle based mission, for example Battle of Hoth, you get a vehicle which for the Hoth battle is the snowspeeder. If you have the original Lego Star Wars trilogy on the same memory card you can transfer them on to Lego Star Wars 2. So you can play as Darth Maul in The Return of the Jedi levels in Free Play mode. The best one of the new features though is the create a character mode, where you could put Boba Fetts helmet with Leia's bikini body with Lando's cape and Vader's Lightsaber and call him Mr Ducky.

Lego Star Wars the game is still simple but harder to completeas the minikits, which are basically canisters where you create mini vehicles to see outside the cantina, are a lot harder to find and to get true jedi status is hard as there are a lot less studs. Game comletion has changed from the amount of studs to percentage and if you complete story mode you only complete 30% of the game. There are still two modes to each mission Story or Free Play, for example in the first level of a New Hope you can only play as Princess Leia or Captain Antilles in stroy mode, but on free play you can play as an ewok.

Two unfortunate areas of the game is that there is no online mode to the game. The other is that it's only up to two player since there is no multitap function, but less players mean you can play as more characters like R2-D2 if the robot isn't being used.

Overall, this has just gone one step better than it's award winning prequel. This has still loads of freshness about despite it being sequels, wwhich means it's still a lot of fun to play. Great game for all ages and this game truly makes you feel like a five year old kid again.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Nicely done, 7 Jun 2007
= Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: LEGO Star Wars II: The Original Trilogy (PS2) (Video Game)
i got this game for my 6 year old brother, and he really is enjoying it.

the game is good all round and you don't have to start again if you die, you just lose studs, which is cool.

I also enjoyed the funny parts of the game, which kept me interested.

this game was light hearted and definitly a good game to get your

little children.

i enjoyed alot too, the graphics are good, the

gameplay is great and is even challenging

to a amateur gamer like my myself.

The only quelm i have is that on the cinematics at

the start of each level cannot be skipped,

which i found annoying, but i'm sure budding

6 year old star wars fans will like.

a must.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Star Wars + Lego = Fun!, 30 Dec 2006
By 
GHV (Southampton, UK) - See all my reviews
= Fun:4.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: LEGO Star Wars II: The Original Trilogy (PS2) (Video Game)
This is a game which allows you to escape from the captive Blockade Runner, traverse the crowded streets of Mos Eisley, take on the lumbering AT-ATs in a snowspeeder and fight your way through Jabba's dusty palace- but in Lego!

You play through the original trilogy, with 6 chapters within each film. In story mode, each level has you playing alongside 2-4 other characters, allowing for cooperative play with a friend. In the first level for example, you can be playing as Leia, whilst player 2 is accompanying you as R2-D2. There are so many various characters in the game, but many of these are only playable in Free Play mode (where you can replay levels to obtain all hidden objects and can be whoever you want). As well as the obvious main stars, other unlockable characters include Greedo, Bib Fortuna, Sandtrooper, Tusken Raider, Boba Fett, IG-88 and many many more. Each character has certain abilities, which is useful in finding all hidden content in the game.

The game's levels are surprisingly lengthy and remain accurate to the Star Wars universe, yet still provide some Lego uniqueness. Within some of the levels, you can come across and use vehicles- from AT-STs and Landspeeders to Banthas and Tauntauns. Certain levels have you piloting a vehicle for the entire mission and these can sometimes be difficult. Examples of these type levels include you flying snowspeeders to defend Hoth and piloting X-Wings down the hazardous trenches of the Death Star. Personally I prefer the land missions and these include several puzzles and hidden secrets to discover. Several objects are destroyable and provide you with coins which act like money for purchasing new characters for example. You're also challenged to reach a high amount of coins in each level and collecting is enjoyable.

Overall, this is a great game with its own humourous take on the original Star Wars films. It is a game that challenges you to find, collect and unlock everything until you reach 100% and yet still you find replaying levels fun. There are lots of various characters to play as and vehicles to use, making this one of the best games of 2006 that is enjoyable for all ages.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


11 of 12 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars More of the same - fortunately as last years Lego StarWars was great, 18 Sep 2006
By 
Keith_Joseph (West Berkshire, England) - See all my reviews
(HALL OF FAME REVIEWER)    (VINE VOICE)    (TOP 50 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: LEGO Star Wars II: The Original Trilogy (PS2) (Video Game)
My son (10) saved his pennies knowing this title was to be released. He thinks it is great (and it is). The storyline is a bit different to the first Lego StarWars with a few different characters and plenty of them. There is no android General Grevious as the storyline loosely follows the first 3 films (IV to VI), so you get cuddly Ewoks and a token Wookie this time. It's pretty much more of the same though (Lego StarWars I) which is rather good as the original was great anyway. The game works very well on the PS2. Lego PC based games like RockRaiders, Island and AlpaTeam are always great but seem to crash regularly, none of that here.

You can select and now even make your characters - and you don't have to have Jedi powers to make things move/open. As before single player mode is great fun. This time you can also build, or occasionally jump into, vehicles and drive them about. Plus you can man gun emplacements. Sometimes a cheeky Lego guy nicks the one you have built before you use it. You even get to fly your fighter & destroy the Death Star - although strangely it comes after dispatching the evil Sith Emperor & the 'Stop Luke & listen, I am your father' bit. It's all not quite as believable as the superb 'real action' StarWars Battlefront II, as the characters and sets are cute Lego pieces. It does mean the fighting has a very non-violent feel for youngsters as the Lego pieces just break up when hit, rather like paintball - so that's great for little ones (I would say 4+). This Lego based nature of the characters and sets leads to great exploding brick animation. As before the two player mode is first rate (almost as good as 'Incredibles, Rise of the Underminers'). There is also the fun 'give him a slap' mode when you get close (and often you get the annoyed character slapping you back if it's a 'friend'). The clever jokey humour runs through the game, rather like the films. Yes, The Force is strong in this one. Highly recommended.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


10 of 11 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Genius!, 6 Oct 2006
By 
M. Sowden (Plymouth, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
= Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: LEGO Star Wars II: The Original Trilogy (PS2) (Video Game)
The phrase "best game ever" gets bandied around a lot, but this game really is in that sort of company. The first game was only a trailer for this one - fabulous new opportunites and angles have been effortlessly bolted into an engine that was already fantastic. The learning curve is perfect, as is the sense of fun - you always get a little bit further each time you play.

But the best bit is when you realise you have enough credits to import your characters from the first game, which opens up a whole new range of possibilities...Maul vs Vader anyone?

Yes, if you like your games to be fun, playable and not too difficult, this really COULD be the best game ever.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 26 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

LEGO Star Wars II: The Original Trilogy (PS2)
11.10
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews