Customer Reviews


46 Reviews
5 star:
 (17)
4 star:
 (14)
3 star:
 (12)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:
 (2)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


13 of 13 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Good to be back...........
Being a long term fan of the GTA series, I bought this both on psp originally, and PS2 next. Make no mistake, this is a great game. Some people are moaning that its a little lightweight, but this shows how much expectations have risen since the original came out.

Liberty City itself is still fantastic; you can spend hours just exploring, enjoying the visual...
Published on 25 Nov. 2006 by FloridaDino

versus
19 of 21 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Lightweight, but still fun
This is a straight conversion of the first ever GTA game to appear on Playstation Portable. The first thing to say is that if you haven't yet sampled the neon excess of Vice City, or the mindbending scale of San Andreas, there is absolutely no reason to buy this as you can now easily pick up either of those games at a budget price. If, however, you're a diehard GTA vet...
Published on 10 July 2006 by R. McDonald


‹ Previous | 14 5 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

1 of 5 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars PS2 version, Frustrating camera angles, 24 Jun. 2006
By 
T. Randall (London) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
= Fun:3.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Grand Theft Auto: Liberty City Stories (PS2) (Video Game)
Been a huge fan of the GTA series right from the begining and was looking forward to getting re-aquainted with Liberty city in this new version. The overall content is as varied an awsome as ever, tons to do and months of fun. My one big gripe is that they seem to have fiddled with the camera angles. You can of course choose your chase angle, or select first person view (In vehicles). But the camera angle always seems to sit too low behind the vehicle, (more so than previous versions). You have the option to raise it using the right analogue stick, but it reverts to low again as soon as you let go. It's OK for most of the missions, but when you are chasing levels 10's and 12's on the firetruck, noodleboy, vigalante missions etc, I found it damned frustrating. So much so, I've put it back in the box gathering dust.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


13 of 36 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars GDGDGD, 23 May 2006
By 
Mr. Mohamed R. Jaffer "mohamed242" (London England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
= Fun:4.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Grand Theft Auto: Liberty City Stories (PS2) (Video Game)
Despite grumblings from some gaming quarters that a lack of truly original titles threatens to tarnish PSP's shine, it's unimaginable that owners of Sony's slab won't welcome a GTA title with anything other than itchy-fingered enthusiasm - and justifiably so.

Although this portable version of Rockstar's criminal crusader is guilty of being another quasi-console port - using GTA III as its template - the sheer quantity and quality of entertainment packed into Liberty City Stories ultimately outweighs the initial disappointment of it not being an entirely original PSP debut.

Indeed, we have become so accustomed to new titles in the GTA series evolving and upping the ante that to be catapulted back into familiar territory, and experience what could feasibly be content from a GTA III expansion pack, might deflate the gaming gusto of some players. But to disregard LCS out of hand too hastily would be foolish.

Certainly the fact that LCS is so blindingly comparable to GTA III is testimony to just how visually impressive the game is (admittedly a common observation for most PSP titles) and graphically it's pretty much on par with its source material.

In fact, on a technical level, it manages to equal the 2001 console classic throughout - the mafia-managed metropolis is always adequately populated and the game generally manages to motor along comfortably at all but the busiest of on-screen moments. Any blips - such as momentary seizures - that do occur are never enough to really dampen enjoyment.

Familiarity also reaches into the multitude of main and side missions, so GTA veterans shouldn't expect any surprises. But rather than sparking contempt, the shooting/driving formula (there's a heavy emphasis on pursuit/evasion) proves to be as fun as ever and the gameplay is as potently compelling as we've come to expect from the GTA brand.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


16 of 55 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars hmmm, 21 May 2006
By 
A. Peers "peala" (Liverpool) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
= Fun:3.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Grand Theft Auto: Liberty City Stories (PS2) (Video Game)
actually its just an exact copy of the PsP version but with a few extras and at a much cheaper cost :P
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 9 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Great On PSP, Not So Great On PS2!, 22 Dec. 2006
= Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Grand Theft Auto: Liberty City Stories (PS2) (Video Game)
This was the first game I bought with my PSP and I loved. The idea of being able to play GTA on the go was brilliant. So after it was released on PS2 I thought great. Went out and bought it. Came home and invited my mate down to have ago, put it in the disc drive and waited on it loading. When it started we just stared at the screen shocked. The graphics on it are bad since all the other GTA games had amazing graphs, the controls where a bit "wonky". The vehicles respond poorly. All in all it's a good game, but if you have a PSP then get it on that not PS2.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


17 of 68 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars read the end of the review before this one first, 20 May 2006
By 
S. Howard (ipswich, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
= Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Grand Theft Auto: Liberty City Stories (PS2) (Video Game)
right, everyone is saying 'its just gta3 with motorbikes and a different main character' and 'you can't even swim or fly a plane helicopter' BUT i am 99% sure that the game will be much improved for the ps2 e.g. the ability to swim, fly, etc and for £15 you can't complain and i have all the other gta's and my copy of liberty city stories is reserved and i can't wait for it to reach me, i hope that this has been useful to you, thanks for reading.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 29 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars brilliant - different missions on a map we know!, 30 Jun. 2006
By 
Mr. Stuart J. Mcadams "pineconeguy" (Chichester, West Sussex U.K.) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
= Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Grand Theft Auto: Liberty City Stories (PS2) (Video Game)
I HATED the GTA San Andreas game - but we're back here with the good format - the classic mafia gangster format on the exact same map as GTA 3 which is cool. Great fun, great missions and as usual there are loads of cheats available online for weapons and other mad stuff.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 14 5 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Grand Theft Auto: Liberty City Stories (PS2)
£9.29
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews