Customer Reviews


42 Reviews
5 star:
 (15)
4 star:
 (12)
3 star:
 (11)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:
 (3)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


13 of 13 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Good to be back...........
Being a long term fan of the GTA series, I bought this both on psp originally, and PS2 next. Make no mistake, this is a great game. Some people are moaning that its a little lightweight, but this shows how much expectations have risen since the original came out.

Liberty City itself is still fantastic; you can spend hours just exploring, enjoying the visual...
Published on 25 Nov 2006 by Dino Amore'

versus
19 of 21 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Lightweight, but still fun
This is a straight conversion of the first ever GTA game to appear on Playstation Portable. The first thing to say is that if you haven't yet sampled the neon excess of Vice City, or the mindbending scale of San Andreas, there is absolutely no reason to buy this as you can now easily pick up either of those games at a budget price. If, however, you're a diehard GTA vet...
Published on 10 July 2006 by R. McDonald


Most Helpful First | Newest First

3 of 6 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Rockstar making a quick buck, 2 Aug 2006
By 
R. SMITH "RS" - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Grand Theft Auto: Liberty City Stories (PS2) (Video Game)
Basically this is just a PSP adaption brought out for PS2 by Rockstar just to make a few more quid. I'm not saying it's a bad game, far from it, just not quite worthy of the PS2. I'd have rather they had charged full price and added a few extra features like more shops, a bigger city, the ability to fly a plane and walk in water, more tasks etc. I was very surprised when i ended up completing this game in a week. Most GTAs take me months to complete. Apart from this and lack of features, it's still an enjoyable game with the usual exciting missions, rather much like GTA3 but the city is basic, there's no beaches and not a lot of imagination has gone into making each town look different. I also find it annoying everytime you get wasted, you automatically lose all your weapons. Why? This means to get your weapons back you have to revert back to where you last saved it which could be ages back or go to the trouble of taking a trip to the gun shop. This occurs on all GTA games though, maybe they should take note for the next release. Anyway, i suppose it's worth £17.99 but expect it not to be as good as Vice City/San Andreas. If you haven't already got the two previous games, i advise you get them as you can now probably get them even cheaper!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars SIMS, 31 Aug 2011
= Fun:4.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Grand Theft Auto: Liberty City Stories (PS2) (Video Game)
If you take away the killing side of this game, you basically have a more detailed Sims game. You can do everything from going on trains, buses and taxis to having your own job. If you like detailed Sim games, then you don't have to do the killing and other stuff. So, for the fact that you can play this game like a Sims game, I am rating this ****.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 5 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Not as good as I thought, 15 April 2007
By 
= Fun:3.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Grand Theft Auto: Liberty City Stories (PS2) (Video Game)
Whenever, Grand Theft Auto San Andreas came out, it was probably one of the best games I had ever bought! It would take a lot to beat it.

GTA Liberty City Stories tried to, but failed. The fact is, GTA Liberty City Stories was designed for the PSP, it should never have been launched in the PS2! It was too much like GTA 3 and it wasn't as good a quality as the previous GTAs. It was obvious that Rockstar just didn't put as much effort into this one. I havn't played GTA Vice City Stories and I don't intend to either. I feel that it will be a disappointment as well.

GTA IV is coming out in October and I'm sure it will be supurb! The only thing is, I will have to pay £425 for a PS3 before hand!

Graphics-4/5
Gameplay-3/5
Missions-3/5
Vehicles-3/5
Soundtrack-4/5

Overall-3/5
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 10 Aug 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Grand Theft Auto: Liberty City Stories (PS2) (Video Game)
OK
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Not a good game, 5 Aug 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Grand Theft Auto: Liberty City Stories (PS2) (Video Game)
Not suitable for u18
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 5 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars PS2 version, Frustrating camera angles, 24 Jun 2006
By 
T. Randall (London) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
= Fun:3.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Grand Theft Auto: Liberty City Stories (PS2) (Video Game)
Been a huge fan of the GTA series right from the begining and was looking forward to getting re-aquainted with Liberty city in this new version. The overall content is as varied an awsome as ever, tons to do and months of fun. My one big gripe is that they seem to have fiddled with the camera angles. You can of course choose your chase angle, or select first person view (In vehicles). But the camera angle always seems to sit too low behind the vehicle, (more so than previous versions). You have the option to raise it using the right analogue stick, but it reverts to low again as soon as you let go. It's OK for most of the missions, but when you are chasing levels 10's and 12's on the firetruck, noodleboy, vigalante missions etc, I found it damned frustrating. So much so, I've put it back in the box gathering dust.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


13 of 36 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars GDGDGD, 23 May 2006
By 
Mr. Mohamed R. Jaffer "mohamed242" (London England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
= Fun:4.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Grand Theft Auto: Liberty City Stories (PS2) (Video Game)
Despite grumblings from some gaming quarters that a lack of truly original titles threatens to tarnish PSP's shine, it's unimaginable that owners of Sony's slab won't welcome a GTA title with anything other than itchy-fingered enthusiasm - and justifiably so.

Although this portable version of Rockstar's criminal crusader is guilty of being another quasi-console port - using GTA III as its template - the sheer quantity and quality of entertainment packed into Liberty City Stories ultimately outweighs the initial disappointment of it not being an entirely original PSP debut.

Indeed, we have become so accustomed to new titles in the GTA series evolving and upping the ante that to be catapulted back into familiar territory, and experience what could feasibly be content from a GTA III expansion pack, might deflate the gaming gusto of some players. But to disregard LCS out of hand too hastily would be foolish.

Certainly the fact that LCS is so blindingly comparable to GTA III is testimony to just how visually impressive the game is (admittedly a common observation for most PSP titles) and graphically it's pretty much on par with its source material.

In fact, on a technical level, it manages to equal the 2001 console classic throughout - the mafia-managed metropolis is always adequately populated and the game generally manages to motor along comfortably at all but the busiest of on-screen moments. Any blips - such as momentary seizures - that do occur are never enough to really dampen enjoyment.

Familiarity also reaches into the multitude of main and side missions, so GTA veterans shouldn't expect any surprises. But rather than sparking contempt, the shooting/driving formula (there's a heavy emphasis on pursuit/evasion) proves to be as fun as ever and the gameplay is as potently compelling as we've come to expect from the GTA brand.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


16 of 55 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars hmmm, 21 May 2006
By 
A. Peers "peala" (Liverpool) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
= Fun:3.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Grand Theft Auto: Liberty City Stories (PS2) (Video Game)
actually its just an exact copy of the PsP version but with a few extras and at a much cheaper cost :P
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 9 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Great On PSP, Not So Great On PS2!, 22 Dec 2006
= Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Grand Theft Auto: Liberty City Stories (PS2) (Video Game)
This was the first game I bought with my PSP and I loved. The idea of being able to play GTA on the go was brilliant. So after it was released on PS2 I thought great. Went out and bought it. Came home and invited my mate down to have ago, put it in the disc drive and waited on it loading. When it started we just stared at the screen shocked. The graphics on it are bad since all the other GTA games had amazing graphs, the controls where a bit "wonky". The vehicles respond poorly. All in all it's a good game, but if you have a PSP then get it on that not PS2.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


17 of 68 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars read the end of the review before this one first, 20 May 2006
By 
S. Howard (ipswich, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
= Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Grand Theft Auto: Liberty City Stories (PS2) (Video Game)
right, everyone is saying 'its just gta3 with motorbikes and a different main character' and 'you can't even swim or fly a plane helicopter' BUT i am 99% sure that the game will be much improved for the ps2 e.g. the ability to swim, fly, etc and for £15 you can't complain and i have all the other gta's and my copy of liberty city stories is reserved and i can't wait for it to reach me, i hope that this has been useful to you, thanks for reading.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Grand Theft Auto: Liberty City Stories (PS2)
£9.63
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews