Customer Reviews


45 Reviews
5 star:
 (16)
4 star:
 (13)
3 star:
 (12)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:
 (3)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


13 of 13 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Good to be back...........
Being a long term fan of the GTA series, I bought this both on psp originally, and PS2 next. Make no mistake, this is a great game. Some people are moaning that its a little lightweight, but this shows how much expectations have risen since the original came out.

Liberty City itself is still fantastic; you can spend hours just exploring, enjoying the visual...
Published on 25 Nov 2006 by Dino Amore'

versus
19 of 21 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Lightweight, but still fun
This is a straight conversion of the first ever GTA game to appear on Playstation Portable. The first thing to say is that if you haven't yet sampled the neon excess of Vice City, or the mindbending scale of San Andreas, there is absolutely no reason to buy this as you can now easily pick up either of those games at a budget price. If, however, you're a diehard GTA vet...
Published on 10 July 2006 by R. McDonald


‹ Previous | 1 25 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

13 of 13 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Good to be back..........., 25 Nov 2006
= Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Grand Theft Auto: Liberty City Stories (PS2) (Video Game)
Being a long term fan of the GTA series, I bought this both on psp originally, and PS2 next. Make no mistake, this is a great game. Some people are moaning that its a little lightweight, but this shows how much expectations have risen since the original came out.

Liberty City itself is still fantastic; you can spend hours just exploring, enjoying the visual gags of which there are many, and doing side missions, again of which there are many.

I don't think you can complain about lack of depth, when you take into account the free-roaming fun this game gives. It also contributes to GTA continuity, which is cool as well.

The missions are a bit shorter, but the game was developed for the PSP, so I think thats a silly complaint; at the money you pay, you cannot get a better value game.

milking a cash cow? perhaps. pleased they did it? YOU BET!!!!!!!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


19 of 21 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Lightweight, but still fun, 10 July 2006
By 
R. McDonald "rossmcdonald2" (Southampton) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (REAL NAME)   
= Fun:4.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Grand Theft Auto: Liberty City Stories (PS2) (Video Game)
This is a straight conversion of the first ever GTA game to appear on Playstation Portable. The first thing to say is that if you haven't yet sampled the neon excess of Vice City, or the mindbending scale of San Andreas, there is absolutely no reason to buy this as you can now easily pick up either of those games at a budget price. If, however, you're a diehard GTA vet looking for the next fix, this may just fit the bill, provided you don't come at it with expectations raised too high.

Surprisingly, this doesn't really feel like a scaled up hand-held game, more a scaled down console game. Everything looks and controls in more or less exactly the way that you expect. The series has always benefited from an amazing core game engine, and fundamentally it's no different here. Yes the compromises are certainly there if you go looking for them - the scale is pretty restricted, the radio stations loop more frequently, the colours are muddier, the effects more basic and the streets less populated, but actually the whole thing stands up pretty well alongside the other games in the series.

Liberty City is less interesting as an environment than Vice City or San Andreas, but it does have a certain mafioso charm. The story and missions are pretty basic, but there are plenty of them and you still get the same tingle of satisfaction as you complete them - the game is pleasantly addictive. The bottom line is, if you haven't played GTA in a while, and are just itching to cruise the streets blowing things up, stealing cars and shooting things in a familiar ironic postmodern setting, then you may just enjoy this.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


27 of 30 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Welcome to Liberty City. The Worst Place in America., 3 Aug 2006
By 
Matt (United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
= Fun:4.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Grand Theft Auto: Liberty City Stories (PS2) (Video Game)
You may remember Toni Cipriani from GTA3. He was the Mafia capo that gave Claude jobs destroying the Triads. This game is set two or so years beforehand and you are now playing as Toni. You have to help get the mob back on its feet after Forellis and Sindaccos, two other Mafia families, threaten its base in Liberty City.

The missions on Portland Island, the first of three islands, are simple and easy-to-follow, great for getting used to the game, or the GTA Franchise if you haven't played before. If you have, the Staunton Island missions (the second Island) are a good base for more experienced players. Then you have the Shoreside Vale missions, the ones which are challenging but really give the game an epic finale.

The game sees you with Mafia goons, night club owners, mayoral candidates and the Yakuza. Familiar faces include Salvatore Leone and Donald Love, with brief appearances from others. You can drive a total of 70 driveable vehicles, including gang cars, buses, trucks, sports cars and motorbikes. You can also take the ferry between Portland and Staunton islands, the EL Train around Portland and the Subway beneath the city.

But what really makes this game worth it is the odd jobs. For a PSP Title (there is little difference between the PSP and PS2 title) there is an amazing amount. Not only is there the classic R3 missions; ambulance, police, fire fighter and taxi; but there is also noodle and pizza delivery, car salesman, race tracks, RC races, assassinations, car collections and more, including a unique feature which I feel is truly superb, Avenging Angels, were you participate in a crime-fighting gangs and must, with another Avenging Angel, get rid of gang crime in the area. If you have read about the Avenging Angels glitch, that has been fixed in the PS2 Version.

I was a little bit concerned before buying this game but I certainly wasn't disappointed it upon playing it. There is a wide variety of weapons, cars and jobs, and the differences between this and GTA3 truly impressed me. Although the last mission is quite a toughie - it is meant to be - and this shows that just because it is a PSP title it does not have to be a walk in the park, but it is a superb game, one worth buying.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


17 of 19 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Not San Andreas, but not bad., 23 July 2006
By 
Mr. A. Mcgregor "Alex" (Devon, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
= Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Grand Theft Auto: Liberty City Stories (PS2) (Video Game)
It's very hard to rate game that's part of a series, without comparing it to the others in the series. LCS has a smaller map, fewer missions, fewer vehicles, fewer features, and a worse story than San Andreas. In fact, it doesn't even come close. BUT, comparing the game to any other similar title, it does better in almost all those categories- it's certainly better than the Godfather. Bottom line, this is a budget game. If you havn't got San Andreas, get that. If you have got San Andreas and can lower your expectations bit, get this. If you want another big GTA title, this isn't it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars 'I like you Tony, you have big balls- like a bull.', 19 Feb 2008
= Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Grand Theft Auto: Liberty City Stories (PS2) (Video Game)
I really enjoyed GTA III and GTA Vice City. Didn't enjoy San Andreas all that much- there's two things you can do in GTA- Steal and ride vehciles and kill people with a weapon of choice. Most of the missions in San Andreas I had alread done in GTA III and GTA Vice City, and it was getting kind of boring. Furthermore, I really like, and find hysterical the way GTA parodies America, but the black ghetto culture scenario in San Andreas was just depressing... anyway I completed this game in 3 days, being pretty much a walkthrough after playing the previous games. The one thing that makes this game worth buying is the stories, comical dialgoue, and hysterical radio shows.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Just More Of The Same, 29 Nov 2007
= Fun:3.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Grand Theft Auto: Liberty City Stories (PS2) (Video Game)
Overall, Grand Theft Auto Liberty City Stories (PS2) is an addictive game with many great moments of gaming action whether it be racing cars over cliffs and up ramps or completing criminal missions, but on the whole it just isn't original enough. It's a game that just carries on the series filling a void until something huge comes along. The graphics are basic and at times appalling mixing with a very sluggish feel. There is a high replayability factor with the side missions such as finding all the hidden packages and hidden jumps, plus the extra hours and hours of gameplay, but the removal of the multiplayer options and online features is shocking enough. At least it's still highly playable. Fans of the series will love this without question and I found myself wanting to carry on playing despite all the faults. It's worth a try at least but I expected more. Let's just hope GTA IV offers something at least more substantial.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Solid GTA Fare, 24 Mar 2011
By 
= Fun:4.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Grand Theft Auto: Liberty City Stories (PS2) (Video Game)
I must admit that I really enjoyed GTA: LCS, it was just a lot of fun. Yes the graphics are grainy, dull and generally piss poor but the gameplay is hugely rewarding and very addictive. Most importantly the missions are set at just the right level, always challenging but never so difficult as to drive you up the wall with frustration. Even I (with a little help from the internet) managed 100% completion which is first for me with a game from the GTA series.

There are a few negatives, the story is dull and predictable (but aren't they all? if you want a good story buy a book!), the music disappointingly poor (so unusual for a GTA game) and there are a few missions that are just so dull (100 taxi fares? WHY!).

But overall this is a solid, fun and challenging addition to the series and is recommended.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Liberty city stories. Pretty good., 1 Aug 2006
By 
David R. Popejoy (United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
= Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Grand Theft Auto: Liberty City Stories (PS2) (Video Game)
Ok yes, i agree that LCS is definately not as big or good as San Andreas, and it has less missions and so on but i think it is still a good game. I think the storlylike and the graphics are ok, and the mayhem is brilliant. Just random chaos is probably the best thing about any game, and it doesn't change in this one either.

I do think Rockstar are using Toni too much, they brought him back from Vice City and i would rather have someone new.

I would say this is the 2nd best game in the Grand Theft Auto series, with San Andreas being the best.But if you're bored of San Andreas and need a new game, this is the one.

So the bottom line is this is a good game. Not the best, but still very good.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars better than gta 3, 22 Feb 2008
By 
Mrs. J. A. Hudson "tvmadboy" (lancashire,england) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
= Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Grand Theft Auto: Liberty City Stories (PS2) (Video Game)
This game is one of my favorites. their is lots to do but not as much land as on san andreas. only critism is you can't go in the water.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 8 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Stories Best Left Untold, 13 May 2007
By 
W. Nash "Orec12" (UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
= Fun:1.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Grand Theft Auto: Liberty City Stories (PS2) (Video Game)
I bought this game a few months back. I have GTA 3, Vice City and San Andreas and was expecting this one to be similar to San Andreas as every title that follows usually gets improved. But not this time. Basically this game is absolutely "TERRIBLE". I was stunned to see the thing looked identicle to GTA 3, however that was released like 4 to 5 years ago.

The controls are rubbish, there is no manual aiming for the guns and the lock on is useless, when surrounded by enemy thugs you hit R1 and it will always lock on to some passer by instead. The driving in San Andreas can be worked to an almost art form, by utilising the different buttons and controls. In this the cars are like bumper cars, you just hit accelerate and reverse for all the good the handbrake and steering do you.

The Story is weak! I am sorry to all those who defend it but c'mon! Compared to Vice City and San Andreas, even GTA 3, the story is so dull and inconsequential. The stories in the others I mentioned really got you into it, you wanted to complete the game to see what happens next. Will he get revenge on catalina, will he find out who stole his drugs and will he finally get to kill big smoke! In Liberty City Stories the characters are so one dimensional with no real drive to them, when pondering what happens next you just think "who cares". They don't even really have big name voice overs like in VC and SA. It just feels cheap and nasty! Bit like being downgraded!

Music is also a big factor with GTA. The soundtrack to Vice City was even sold as a seperate cd box set and the music in San Andreas was the best ever. In LCS the music is just like the story, weak and dull with only a few songs you actually know or like. I found myself hating all the radio stations and switching the radio off completely. Even the jokes on the talk show stations sound tired and most are ripped off from San Andreas if you ask me.

Call me naieve if you wish, but I was expecting far more from this game and It did not deliver. It almost feels like an expansion pack for a PC game as apart from motorbikes it's almost identical to GTA 3. Overall the game is boring, cheap and you can't help but feel cheated. I leave this word of advice:

If you have GTA San Andreas, Vice City or both then just don't even waste your money. Just because it says Grand Theft Auto, in this circumstance just because it shares the fabled franchise name doesn't mean it's actually in the same league. A bit like Starship Troopers 2!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 25 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Grand Theft Auto: Liberty City Stories (PS2)
£9.64
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews