Customer Reviews


26 Reviews
5 star:
 (11)
4 star:
 (8)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:
 (4)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


229 of 233 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Good, highly erotic film from Tinto.
Tinto Brass comes up with the goods yet again in this highly erotic drama about an ignored wife Marta who seeks sexual satisfaction elsewhere via alternative liaisons. She keeps a diary about the downturn in her relationship with husband Dario. The story line is much in keeping with previous outings: bored, ignored housewife Marta; husband Dario who keeps business to...
Published on 17 April 2006 by Augustus

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars In the usuall Tinto Brass mode
Was not very impressed, very shallow storey, but it has
some good camera work and interesting sets but overall
dissapointed
Published 16 months ago by quercus


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

229 of 233 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Good, highly erotic film from Tinto., 17 April 2006
This review is from: Monamour [DVD] (2005) (DVD)
Tinto Brass comes up with the goods yet again in this highly erotic drama about an ignored wife Marta who seeks sexual satisfaction elsewhere via alternative liaisons. She keeps a diary about the downturn in her relationship with husband Dario. The story line is much in keeping with previous outings: bored, ignored housewife Marta; husband Dario who keeps business to the forefront of his life. Marta seeks alternate liaisons with Leon, often in a risque fashion; she is influenced by her peers; husband finds and reads diary and gets angry; realises his errors and puts thing right at the end. All pretty standard stuff, but done at a good pace.

The part of Marta is played very sexually, the character rarely wearing panties during her dangerous liaisons. She wears split, bottom-revealing nightwear (a Tinto trademark), often so short as to be of no real use at all, and very open, revealing daywear.

Some of the sexual scenes are bordering almost on hard-core, either that or some very deceptively clever camera angles are used, but I would suggest the former in fact. Oral sex, albeit on a fake penis is visible as performed by Marta on Leon, and double penetration is suggested, but not seen. Several beaver shots of Marta are continuously and uninhibitedly shown throughout the film, as indeed the sex of the male characters as well and at the very end we do get to see actual penetration, either that or a very good facsimile of it.

All in all, this is by far the most erotic Tinto Brass film I have seen (except the uncut version of Caligula), and one which Tinto fans will surely wallow in. Highly erotic, but done with real sexual class and beautifully shot.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


13 of 13 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Very good!, 5 Nov 2011
By 
This review is from: Monamour [DVD] (2005) (DVD)
It's strange to read all those reviewers complaining about "lack of depth","silly plot","weak story",etc...in this and other T.Brass films.If you are looking for "depth" and "clever plot" - STAY AWAY FROM Tinto Brass movies at all and go to Ingmar Bergman,Luchino Visconti or Alfred Hitchkock (whom I personally like very much too!) instead.But if you want something that is totally different from "clever" erotica ("Emanuelle","Jamon,Jamon" and the like)of Just Jaeckin or Bigas Luna,really stupid flicks of Russ Meyer or perverse S/M escapades of Jess Franco or Walerian Borowczyk,then Brass is the best choice.It is this charm of a teenager's "silly" erotic phantasies and dreams in his best films that are SO ATTRACTIVE.It's a world of pagan love rites,sweet lust,peeping pleasures and secret phantasies, brought by the gifted director to the screen, that is totally devoid of any moral,religious or social conventions.To immerse into this strange,illogical,absurdly naive, but very sweet world sometimes is really a pure joy! No other film-maker does it better than Mr.Brass.AND IT HAS NOTHING TO DO WITH PORN! Even in the most explicit scenes!
This film,along with "The Key", "The Voyeur", "Miranda", "Paprika", "All Ladies Do It", "Cheeky" is one of his best and enjoyable efforts.Amazing,sweet stuff for a rainy autumn day.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


27 of 29 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Refreshingly different!, 21 Sep 2008
By 
Hedgehog (West Yorkshire, UK) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Monamour [DVD] (2005) (DVD)
I have to say this is a film with a slightly porno heart despite its arty pretensions, which themselves does the film credit, because, unlike the mass of American softcore nonsense out there that is bland and predictable there is something unique about the colours, imagery and ambience of any Tinto Brass film which helps you suspend your judgement for a while as you are transported by the story. The actress is beautiful in a summery, frivolous and carefree way. This is the perfect film to sit and watch with your girlfriend, feeling relaxed and sexy together.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Monamour DVD, 24 April 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Monamour [DVD] (2005) (DVD)
Excellent DVD. The only fault was that the subtitles were difficult to read as they were partly obscured because the film must have been in widescreen format.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


11 of 14 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars brass rubbings, 15 Feb 2010
By 
Mr. K. Hobbs "obzi" (london) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Monamour [DVD] (2005) (DVD)
This is the 6th or 7th Tinto Brass DVD i have purchased and it is one of the better one's, others i have bought before have had scenes cut from them, this one seems to be the full version and is shot in the usual Brass stlyle, with a great leading lady, i would recommend this to people wondering what all the fuss is about concerning Mr Brass
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Lively and funny, 13 Sep 2013
By 
Mme Jannis Valmin "FANNYYES" (Denmark / France) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Monamour [DVD] (2005) (DVD)
A very fine and well played film of a swell lady having fun in the wonderful city of Venice, and naughtily amoral.
jannis
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


42 of 55 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A very sexy film, 15 Nov 2006
By 
Sadler's Wells (Leeds. Yorkshire) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Monamour [DVD] (2005) (DVD)
The isn't any plot, but who cares. The leading lady has a fantastic figure which, thanks to Mr Brass, dominates the whole film.

Beautifully filmed, awash with eorticism. Buy straight away.

Enjoy.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars I like it and fantastic, 7 Jan 2011
This review is from: Monamour [DVD] (2005) (DVD)
Monamour is a fantastic film it makes you recall things that most women experience in their daily life. It gives some men experiece how to deal with work and home life. When I watched it it makes me if assertive when dealng with women.
Unlike Voyear, Ma mere, they are just like Private. although these have a bit sequence stories but to be honest I didn't enjoyed them like Monamour and Insatiable Diary of Sex.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars In the usuall Tinto Brass mode, 18 May 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Monamour [DVD] (2005) (DVD)
Was not very impressed, very shallow storey, but it has
some good camera work and interesting sets but overall
dissapointed
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


49 of 69 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars ARTISTIC PORN?, 12 Feb 2007
By 
Danny Norris "Brigadier" (Cambridge, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Monamour [DVD] (2005) (DVD)
Well thats what I thought I was buying anyway. Some French sub-titled films really are worth watching. Not this one! Very poor scripting, cheesy story line and the acting is akin to the Dawn & French version of Crossroads. Check out the length of the male member in the wood scene - is that a real one?!

Frankly my overall impression was that this was an upmarket version of the usual, 'below the table' cheap porn churned out from east europe, all in the name of deep and meaningful Art! No, not this time.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Monamour [DVD] (2005)
Monamour [DVD] (2005) by Tinto Brass (DVD - 2006)
£7.93
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews