Customer Reviews


31 Reviews
5 star:
 (25)
4 star:
 (6)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 
‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

93 of 95 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars This is exactly what Roger Moore fans should add to their DVD shelf !, 6 Aug. 2008
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Saint - The Complete Colour Series (14 Disc Box Set) [DVD] (DVD)
Having been an ardent fan of Sir Roger Moore for nearly a decade, getting this DVD box was an exciting experience!

In my country, Sir Roger Moore is almost always remembered as James Bond due to the fact that very few of his other films are available and only a handful of big Roger Moore fans know this THE SAINT.

Thanks to the development of the Internet, we Asians living in the Far East can have access to what, for a long time, have been available only to those living in English speaking countries, and now that I've watched some of the many episodes included in this box , I can say that I really made a wise purchase.

I can strongly recommend this product for the below reasons:

1:The quality of the images is excellent, I mean they are beautifully re-mastered and the generous reduction on this excellent DVD box was also so attractive.

2:Sir Roger Moore as Simon Templar is very reminiscent of James Bond and it tells very well why, Ian Flemings, author of 007 wanted him to portray the role he created.

3:THE SAINT, in any form, DVD or video is not available in my country Japan and the possession of this legendary TV drama series often works as a excellent conversation starter especially when I meet British or American people of certain generations.

The only disappointing point is that each episode does not come with English subtitles. As a non-native speaker of English, omission of English subtitles forbids me full comprehension of audio materials.

In conclusion, my review may not be helpful as I wrote this from a Asian(non-native English speaker)'s point of view.

All I wish you to understand is that this is what you must have if you want to enjoy one of the treasures your culture(English speaking countries) has produced.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


107 of 110 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Show the modern rubbish how it's done, Simon!, 27 July 2006
By 
Mr P. D. Kinnear "Paul Kinnear" (Wirral, Cheshire United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Saint - The Complete Colour Series (14 Disc Box Set) [DVD] (DVD)
Anybody who cares to read my other reviews will notice that I'm a BIG fan of "old" television. It isn't "nostalgia" (These programmes were repeats when even I saw them the first time) and it's not a case of "rose-tinted spectacles" (I have the shows right here to watch now) - I just love how much more interest there was in telling a good story and how the main objective was for the audience to have fun. I can think of nothing on television now that delivers in the way the 'classics' did - Literally nothing. Sad, isn't it?

Here we have my favourite ITC series - Roger Moore's mere presence in something automatically elevates that film or show to "watchable" status, in my opinion. His charisma, warmth and wit shine through any role he adopts and the SAINT is no exception. His interpretation of SIMON TEMPLER is different to the character of the novels, but for me he will always be the definitve SAINT. Stories range from intruiging to insane (The infamous HOUSE ON DRAGON'S ROCK does perhaps go too far in concept but is still, ultimately, fun!) but even the most outlandish instalments have you glued to the adventures of a genuine hero fighting for what's right. Add to that some of the most beautiful female guests to tangle with the SAINT (Kate O'Mara, Veronica Carlson, Anette Andre and Pauline Monroe are my favourtie "Saint girls") and this series becomes a delight!

To be honest, I do prefer the black and white stories - The monochrome adds to the atmosphere and that period was also more reliant on the actual stories of Leslie Charteris. Still, it was perfectly logical for NETWORK to release the colour episodes first as most casual buyers consider black & white productions worthless (How silly!). Initially, this set seems expensive, but don't forget that you're getting 47 episodes as well as two feature film compilations (And if you do think this is too expensive, wait until the black & white box set comes out, especially to those of us who bought the CARLTON set!) - Also, these episodes have a high "rewatchability" factor so you'll probably find yourself dipping into this set quite often.

The extras are as impressive as we've come to expect from NETWORK - There are commentaries for several episodes from members of the crew, with Roger Moore chipping in now and then (Although his words appear to have been recorded seperately), original trailers for every single episode (A great idea) and a witty 45 minute documentary looking at various aspects of the show (including less than favourable comments from Leslie Charteris himself) - This documentary could actually have been longer and that's the only complaint I can bring against this set. The packaging is beautiful, the presentation a delight (Even the Network logo adopts a "halo" when the DVD starts up) and it's clear that the staff at NETWORK love the subject as much as I do. With my CHAMPIONS boxset in the post (Can't wait!) this really is a golden age for collectors of classic television and I really recommend this set.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


37 of 38 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars about time too!, 22 July 2006
By 
Mr. A. E. Ward Davies (Canterbury , England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Saint - The Complete Colour Series (14 Disc Box Set) [DVD] (DVD)
i never thought i would see the day when all the colour episodes of my favourite cult programme "the saint" would be released on one d.v.d collection. the extras are pretty impressive as well, including an informative documentary on the making of the colour series.

by the time the programme made the transition to colour in 1966, things were changing; the plots were slightly more involved and fanciful(which i don't think is a bad idea), roger moore was begin to produce and direct some of them but also there was more location filming. i think all this helped the series considerably and also proved itself adaptable at change.

i'm certain most of the episodes here, have hardly been shown on t.v. only a handful were released on video back in the 90s, so you had to be grateful for what was available. gladly, this has all changed. the quailty of the picture and sound have been improved immensely.also included, are two collective booklets detailing the making of each episode and information about its star roger moore.at the end of one of these, is information and photographs concerning upcoming releases of other cult programmes.

hopefully, this release will be the first of two; the complete series of the black and white episodes should be released in a boxset just like this one, within a couple of months. i can't wait. with the colour series comprising 47 programmes and the black and white comprising 71 programmes, that would make for a lot of viewing.

the price is expensive at £100, but worth the grief to treasure these colour instalments. enjoy!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars You must be the famous Simon Templar..., 26 Feb. 2010
This review is from: The Saint - The Complete Colour Series (14 Disc Box Set) [DVD] (DVD)
The 47 episodes contained in the COMPLETE COLOUR SERIES take an awful lot of commitment of your time to get through (though obviously not nearly as much the further 71 featured in the COMPLETE MONOCHROME SERIES box) and as to whether you can really be bothered to will rather depend on quite how much you love the series.

THE SAINT is one of those rather frustrating series that can be both a little bit brilliant and a little bit awful at the same time but is always at the very least entertaining and when it's good, it's very good indeed. Of course, it dates from simpler times, so the storytelling is usually pretty straightforward as it comes from the days before ongoing story arcs became so popular in television action dramas, so every story is pretty self-contained and can stand alone if you're just in the mood for (just under) an hour of thrills and adventure, but of course this means that every episode has to stand or fall on its individual merits and some are obviously better than others.

The ITC stable gave us many fine action/adventure series of a type no longer really made for modern audiences, but THE SAINT was pretty much the pick of the bunch. Of course, certain aspects of the show have seriously dated. The roles of women and foreigners are fairly typical of that era and may grate to modern sensibilities, and the world of the rich and wealthy that Mr Templar breezes through is probably lost forever (if it ever really existed at all). There is the occasional tendency towards the smug or the glib, but overall there's a real sense of charm if you look for it.

The production is all on film and despite a lot of it being studio based there's a fair amount of location work too, although the extensive use of stock footage to represent the foreign locations does have to be glossed over in order to enjoy the stories fully, but, if you approach these episodes with an open mind, you'll find a lot to enjoy here.

Roger Moore can be a very underrated actor, but he was almost born to play Simon Templar, and, as the other actors who have tried to follow in his footsteps have shown, nailed it completely, and played it absolutely pitch perfect, despite being quite far removed from the character in the books. Anyone who might have an attempt at playing Templar nowadays should really just try and be Roger Moore because, like Patrick MacNee as John Steed, it's just perfect casting that really can't be bettered. (Mr Moore, of course, also owns a part share in the colour series, having been one of the co-producers back in the day).

There's a whole galaxy of guest stars forming pretty much a cross section of the cream of British acting talent from the 1960s, including some of the most iconic actors and actresses there have ever been, sometimes in very early roles. Occasionally they turn up again playing different roles a mere handful of episodes apart. Anyone who was anyone back than, it seems, appeared in THE SAINT.

Extras include a lengthy documentary, commentaries on some key episodes and the cinema release versions of certain stories, as well as other bits and pieces in a rather exhaustive and well produced release.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars This Knight Is Templar....Simon Templar., 5 Jun. 2010
By 
Armchair Pundit "Armchair Pundit." (Durham City, England) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)   
This review is from: The Saint - The Complete Colour Series (14 Disc Box Set) [DVD] (DVD)
In Days of Yore the original Knights Templar rode White chargers, to rescue Ladies in distress.
But this 1960's incarnation was called Simon Templar and drove instead, a White sports car. (Volvo P1800)
Most of the stories are thriller based, and not as surreal as The Avengers, or The Prisoner.
But that should not put people off what is shown, as Roger Moore does it so smoothly, and with such charm that you can't help but like the character.
Looking on the, "family friendly" side there is no excessive violence, nor unnecessary rude bits.
(Not that I mind rude bits.)
Overall opinion; a show which can be watched with the whole family.
~~~~
Trivia:~ The Producers originally approached Jaguar to use one of their cars,(the E-type Jaguar.)
But they turned them down so they approached Volvo, who jumped at the chance.
So it became the Volvo P1800 that symbolized, The Saint's car.
Most of the early episodes are based on stories written by Saint creator Leslie Charteris, the later ones by the individual episode writer.
This is a very good purchase for everyone who likes, "family friendly" thrillers.
The show ran for a total of 118 episodes,71 monochrome and 47 colour. 1962-1969.
There are two things in life of which I'm certain, Connery will always be Bond, and Moore will always be Templar, now cue halo and theme music.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The Saint in Colour, 2 Jun. 2011
By 
Marcia "marcia" (england) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (TOP 100 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: The Saint - The Complete Colour Series (14 Disc Box Set) [DVD] (DVD)
This is a good release of the colour episodes of the classic ITC series The Saint. This DVD set contains all the colour episodes. These episodes continue the adventures of Simon Templar made famous in the earlier, and superior, black and white episodes. These colour episodes are not as good as the black and white ones, but they are excellent. They are also the better known episodes because of the fact that they do occasionally get repeated on TV. This is because of the fact that they are in colour.
The saint is Simon Templar. (ST being his initials) He is a wealthy bachelor who travels the world helping people in distress or need. He uses a business card with the logo of a matchstick man with halo on it. He drives a Volvo car with the licence plate ST1. Generally he mixes with the rich and elite and always gets involved in fighting crime. He has a reputation as the man to go to for help. He is handsome and suave. He is calm and cool as he tackles blackmail, sophisticated robbery or rescuing people. Templar is always a hit with the ladies.
There is the regular character of Inspector Claude Teal (Ivor Dean) who is a sort of friendly rival to Templar.
The Saint had originally been created by Leslie Charteris in a series of books during the 1920s. Also the character had been popular on radio and the Cinema with the movies starring George Sanders.
Roger Moore starred in the original black and white series that was very close to the original books. Here he continues his role in colour with stories entirely created by the scriptwriters.
There are some changes from the original series. Simon Templar no longer talks directly to us the viewer at the beginning of each episode. Instead he narrates over the beginning action. Also the theme music by Edwin Astley is the same tune but a different arrangement. The music is excellent once again and the whole production and feel of the show is very entertaining and interesting.

This set concludes all of the episodes of the most popular version of the Saint. In my opinion it cannot be done any better. And to date it has not been. In 1978, the series was revived as Return of the Saint, starring Ian Ogilvy as Templar. Moore never played the role again after 1969. The "Return of the Saint" was a good series too and it was produced by the same producer and company. And then in 1989 there was a further short lived version starring Simon Dutton. Also there was the 1997 film The Saint, starring Val Kilmer as Templar. None of these were as successful or as good as the Roger Moore series.

This is one of the best series from ITC and it is really entertaining. The series has style and originality despite being nearly fifty years old. It is highly recommended.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The Saint is Roger Moore, 9 Jun. 2009
By 
K. A. Collier "Kate" (Yorkshire UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: The Saint - The Complete Colour Series (14 Disc Box Set) [DVD] (DVD)
I decided to buy the colour DVD's of The Saint,already having the black & white collection. Having my favourite in colour is even better. The Saint brings back memories of my younger days,I loved it and now own both sets to watch whenever I like. It is a brilliant set, well worth buying.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars When I hear the name..."The Saint"...I always think of Roger Moore., 23 Oct. 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Saint - The Complete Colour Series (14 Disc Box Set) [DVD] (DVD)
We are watching the series now and enjoying the various episodes. The older series writers seemed to make a better effort to take an authors' books and turn it into a good TV show.

Roger Moore is the Saint. Have seen George Sanders and others in this role, but "The Saint" will always be Roger Moore.

This is the color set and with the various episodes taking place in several countries you get to see most of the famous places in each country in living color while enjoying the plot and action. Also, they seem to keep the same police officers in the various countries so it is fun to watch them try to out wit the Saint. The Saint is usually saving someone or playing cat & mouse with the police, the bad guys or both.

If you liked Roger Moore as James Bond, you will love him as "The Saint."
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


36 of 40 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A Saint to Treasure, 31 Mar. 2006
This review is from: The Saint - The Complete Colour Series (14 Disc Box Set) [DVD] (DVD)
Network have a reputation for releasing high quality product that doesn't quite qualify as top notch due to one or two problems. And so it is with this release.
47 episodes of Roger Moore as Simon Templar are great fun to watch and a wonderful reminder of the sort of escapist fantasy that you can't find in the schedules nowadays, but what makes this release is one of the extras.
The Saint Steps In...to Color is a fine piece on the making of these episodes. Excellently put together I take my hat off to who ever thought of getting Ian Ogilvy to narrate it--his vocal talents are wonderfully flippant and perfect for the job. A delightful 40 minute programme it is great to see on screen some of the people who made the show and nice not to see any self-proclaimed 'fan' experts who only know what they've read on the internet. Wonderful stuff and I hope there will be another one on the next box set.
As for the other extras...all of it's interesting except for the commentaries. Sure the people doing the commentaries are good, and there's no irritating moderator, but this is where Network's problem is. It sounds like the commentaries were recorded on my old cassete tape player...
But don't let that put you off. This is an excellent box set, Network obviously care about their product and it shows.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great show, great buy!, 8 July 2011
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Saint - The Complete Colour Series (14 Disc Box Set) [DVD] (DVD)
Before he was James Bond, Roger Moore (Sir Roger Moore) was Simon Templar, the Saint, and he was the apotheosis of the dashing, do-gooding, crime-solving adventure seeker created by Leslie Charteris and featured in a long-running series of pulp detective stories and in a B-movie series in the late '30's starring George Sanders. Roger Moore, after honing his acting skills and developing his poised, debonair persona in several TV series, was ideally cast as the Saint and he made the most of his part. Looking back five decades, has there even been a more handsome, charming, or heroic actor on television? The series began at the beginning of the '60's in black and white and was one of the more polished productions to come out of England and to be aired in America, first in syndication, then on network. This set presents all of the later, color episodes and they look stunning. The shows were handsomely produced and were set in a variety of glamorous locales. To be sure, the stories are light entertainment, but are always fun to watch -- a hero who can handle anything that comes his way, some action, suspense, mystery, beautiful sets and scenery, a fight or two and pretty girls, do you need more? And this set, very moderately priced, is a great buy.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

The Saint - The Complete Colour Series (14 Disc Box Set) [DVD]
£66.33
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews