Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop All Amazon Fashion Summer Savings Up to 25% Off Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Oasis Learn more Shop now Learn more

Customer Reviews

4.8 out of 5 stars145
4.8 out of 5 stars
Format: Audio CD|Change
Price:£3.96+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 3 April 2006
I like this album - not her best, but a definite maturing sound. Makes me look forward to the next album. Dear Mr President is one of the best tracks I've heard in a long time - some great lyrics in there. Sends chills up my spine, things like 'What kind of father would take his own daughter's rights away, what kind of father would hate his daughter if she was gay'. Brilliant.
0Comment|3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 9 April 2006
Having kicked her career off as the first white R&B artist to get signed to L.A. Reid and Babyface's LaFace label, P!nk has long since shown her true colours since her R&B-laden debut was followed up with 2001's 12 million+ selling "M!ssundaztood" and 2003's critically acclaimed "Try This" where she collaborated with Rancid mainman Tim Armstrong. Never sticking to one particular style or genre, "I'm Not Dead" sees her back on the top of her game fusing pop, rock and R&B. Kick starting the album with the light pop-reggae beats of "Stupid Girls", P!nk mocks "porno paparazzi girls" like Paris Hilton whilst she meanwhile flaunts her own bling on glam rock dance anthem "Cuz I Can". Collaborating with former Britney Spears hit maker Max Martin results in the rather foul-mouthed f**k you pop-rock gem of "U + Ur Hand" with more punch than American Idol winner Kelly Clarkson could ever feign, as well as the more subtle and meaningful musings of "Who Knew". The Indigo Girls duet, "Dear Mr. President" moves into more provocative and politically conscious song-writing, whereas the rousing piano balladry of "Nobody Knows" shows P!nk is still misunderstood whilst showcasing her rarely heard powerhouse vocals. "Runaway", an up-tempo pop-rock number, and the poignant orchestral backed "Conversations With My 13 Year Old Self" touch upon similar themes of teen angst, whilst R&B even gets a look in with her own melancholy reflection on materialism in "I Got Money Now". The album's highlight, "Long Way To Happy", is perhaps P!nk's best song to date with lyrical allusions of abuse accompanied by emotive vocals and haunting guitar and piano driven power chords. Sassy, assertive and hook-filled, P!nk's fourth and finest album is the perfect example of her eclecticism.
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 3 April 2006
Back in 2001 Pink showed the world she was special, she was more than just that fiesty RnB sassy songstress who had pocketloads of attitude. She smashed all expectations by bringing us M!ssundaztood, an album that made everyone realise she was far more than anyone could have thought. Then in 2003 she gave us 'Try This' an album that enabled to further explore her inner rock chick, an album that sadly disappointed the mainstream due to poor single choices.
Now, three years after her last release Pink returns with 'I'm Not Dead', an album packed with hits and bound to see her resume her M!ssundaztood success.
The initial concern for this album was the fact that Pink was the original pop/rock chick, after M!ssundaztood we had many followers thrust upon us, Christina Aguilera, Ashlee Simpson, Kelly Clarkson, all with varying success - so how can Pink return five years after her biggest album and still sound fresh and interesting and different to all the others, is it possible?
Yes it is! With a combination of pop, rock, dance, folk, electric she has made an album that no one else could have made. It had dancefloor fillers (see the rocky 'U + Ur Hand' and 'Cuz I Can'), emotional ballards (see Nobody Knows), heartfelt stadium rock songs (see I'm Not Dead and Long Way To Happy), an 80's vibe (see Leave Me Alone (I'm Lonely)), folk (see Dear Mr President and The One That Got Away - where she musters her inner Janis Joplin) and electro (see bonus track Fingers, a combination of Britney's Toxic and something, anything, from the foul-mouthed Peaches).
This album is full of hits and deserves to be a massive, worldwide success. Her voice is better than ever and her lyrics are emotionally more mature, with songs that have genuine, very real meanings and messages. Pink is growing into the finest flower in the pop industry.
It's true, Pink's not dead and thank God for that!
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 3 January 2007
Wow!

This album is truly fantastic, each and every song has grown on me since the first listen. The album includes her singles, the brilliant 'Stupid Girls' and the very heartfelt 'Nobody Knows'.

There are no filler songs on this album, each one is crafted perfectly, covering real life issues and more of lifes up and downs.

It's a perfect listen for any woman or teenage girl who is in any mood. When you're happy and when you're sad this is a great album to listen to.

Congratulations Pink, another fantastic album!!!
0Comment|2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 1 April 2006
This album is breathtaking, from a few tracks I have heard on the internet I would recommend this to everyone.
Some highlights include "Dear Mr. President", Pink's open letter to George W. Bush, a soulful acoustic number.
"Nobody Knows" is Pink's "Mariah-Moment", when she climbs those notes beautifully.
The song "I'm Not Dead" beautifully works Pink's trademark rocky sound with a much more gentle touch.
However, it isn't all easy listening, there are some brilliant feel-good numbers like "U + Ur Hand", the next single, and "Stupid Girls", the most controversial we've seen Pink go so far.
"Who Knew" is another must-listen, Pink tackles the reality of friendship with rock vibes and more gentle parts. Brilliant!
Overall, this record is a little more personal and soulful than previous works. Pink is back, and after such a hectic year of marriage, recording this record and shooting a movie, she is definetly letting the world know she's not dead...
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 2 January 2009
Like woah!, Just Woah! This girl is , like so , like, just rockin' an stuff. I just, like love the way she, is , like shouting on the front of the album, I like totally saw her being, like , really feisty and I thought that is sooo me, I'm like so there and stuff and then I just, like got my mom and said I wanna be cool like that, can I have some, like money to buy that Pink album and she punched me to the ground and snapped my spine with her foot.
0Comment|2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 15 July 2007
Amazingly I only bought this album because there was a special offer on buy two get one free and I vaguely knew the name from seeing a link to "Dear Mr President" quite by chance on U Tube. It sat on my desk unopended for a few weeks and then I opened it just to hear that one song. Then another. Then another. WOW!! I have been listening to it one and off for a month and I'm still not bored which is why I've just decided to buy the other three albums to bring my collection up to date.

The music is rocky R&B, Pink's voice belies her photos - she looks like a devil and sings like an angel - and the lyrics are amongst the best of any I've heard from the "younger generation"! (I'm er 44).

So many reviewers have said something along the lines of "Buy this CD you won't regret it" and it's true, you really really won't regret it; it's excellent - I say so, my kids say so, their trendy mates say so and even my old fogey colleagues at work say so. Go on, buy it!
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 6 October 2006
This is without doubt the finest album pink has made and its a complete joy to listen to, so good in fact that I went to wembley arena to watch the live show and all I can say is that it was probably the best night of my life, if you are thinking of buying this cd then go ahead you won't regret if for a moment brilliance in action, and a beautiful person to boot!!!!!!
0Comment|2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 12 March 2007
This is a really good CD! The lyrics are catchy, the songs are all different, and some are quite emotional. I really recommend this.
0Comment|3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 3 April 2006
I own all Pinks albums, i love this one more than any of the others based on the fact that i loved every song from the first play, which is a rarity. The songs are varied as ever, rocky, mellow, the same old for pink throwing in different kinda songs to make one brilliantly different album. The lyrics are as ever first class either hilarious, emotionally heart breaking, or making a brilliant statement. I'm not usually a fan of political songs but dear mr president is a brilliant song very simple but very touching and I love it. Overall if you are thinking of getting this album you should i'm really impressed and have listened to it three times already and only got it today seriously pink fans and non pink fans should own this album due to its lyrical genius!!
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Send us feedback

How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you?
Let us know here.

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)