Shop now Shop now Shop now  Up to 50% Off Fashion  Shop all Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Shop now Shop now Shop now

Customer Reviews

4.5 out of 5 stars71
4.5 out of 5 stars
Format: Audio CD|Change
Price:£6.99+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 1 June 2006
After seeing Neil Sedaka twice in his recent UK tour and buying this CD I understand why Neil Sedaka is a living legend of music.

This music is simple, yet original. Every track can be listened to as background music, played to entertain, sung along to.

This CD is good because it contains not only all of the old classics that Neil is most famous for, such as Calendar Girl and Happy Birthday Sweet Sixteen, but new tracks, some of which have never been released before, all just as excellent as the oldies.

Neils voice is pitch perfect, just as in the 50's and 60's, pure and warming. All I can say is that if you are not a Neil Sedaka fan, buy this CD, and you soon will be.

As a musician myself, Neil is my idol and my inspiration.
0Comment|36 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 10 November 2009
For Sedaka fans, this album is a must. Double CD featuring all the 'oldies' as well as later classics such as"Laughter in the Rain" etc and the superb track "Going Nowhere" which is one of the reasons why I had to have this album. If you're a Sedaka fan, you won't be disappointed!
0Comment|13 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 19 April 2008
Contains re-recordings of some of the earlier material which might disappoint some buyers, this review is not ment to take away any of the genius that is Neil Sedaka
11 comment|20 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 25 October 2011
Fantastic double CD with all his hits. He just gets better and better and his opening track "You" on the first CD brings tears to my eyes whenever I hear it. A must for all Sedaka fans
11 comment|5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 26 October 2013
I love him this double album is great, full of niceities & spice, not the usual orchestrated *****, go on buy it listen & learn, dont be duped by media lies. aliboy
0Comment|5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
This disc contains all of Neil's early original RCA hit recordings from the early 1960s (and these are VERY good transcriptions of those hits) but then we get onto his 70s hits and suddenly we're not hearing "All the Hits" any more, we're hearing Neil re-doing those hits - and not doing them as well as the originals.

I have no problem with people re-recording their hits, but that fact should be right upfront there on the artwork. When it's not there is always the suspicion that the intention is to deceive unwary buyers- and so it is with this release. To most people outside the music industry there IS a difference between the original hit recording and something done later on; it's a shabby trick, one that they play because they know if it DID say "Neil's re-recordings of his 70s hits" upfront on the artwork the CD would sell far fewer copies.

Anyway, I'm off to look for the original 70s hits.
66 comments|10 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 28 December 2013
great music great artist good sing along music good background music a true showman well worth the money a great present to buy the wjfe
0Comment|5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 5 November 2010
This is a fantastic CD. It has brought back so many memories from way back. I have thoroughly enjoyed listening to it over and over.
0Comment|5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 11 April 2015
The music on some tracks sound as though it has been copied from a badly worn vinyl LP record. . I have only bothered to listen to a few tracks but Solitaire and Hungry years are really poor quality recordings.
0Comment|2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 6 April 2013
As a Neil Sedaka fan, I enjoyed this CD a lot, however... the 'live' version of Solitaire suffers from so much distortion in the second half of the song that it's practically unlistenable. It's quite surprising that it was ever allowed to be issued in this condition. Please note that the 30 second clip you can listen to on Amazon is from the first half of the song which is fine!!

One dodgy track out of 43 isn't a bad ratio though, just remember to press the 'skip' button when you get to Solitaire.
11 comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Customers also viewed these items


Send us feedback

How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you?
Let us know here.