Customer Reviews


23 Reviews
5 star:
 (14)
4 star:
 (7)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


23 of 23 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Absoluely Fantastic
This is a real must. It would be easy to pick out Ray Winstone as the star, but the whole cast are fantastic. Brilliantly written and directed, it may be in 4 episodes, but make sure you leave yourself the 3 1/2 hours needed because you won't be able to turn it off.
Published on 3 Jun 2007 by Bram

versus
0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Not good.
the dvd kept stopping / freezing.
I was able to watch the first 2 episodes eventually….see what happens with the rest.
Very disappointing . Although my first such product and I order quite a lot of books and films.
Published 6 months ago by tony eggs


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

23 of 23 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Absoluely Fantastic, 3 Jun 2007
By 
This review is from: Births, Marriages And Deaths [DVD] (DVD)
This is a real must. It would be easy to pick out Ray Winstone as the star, but the whole cast are fantastic. Brilliantly written and directed, it may be in 4 episodes, but make sure you leave yourself the 3 1/2 hours needed because you won't be able to turn it off.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


27 of 28 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Winstone at his very best, 14 July 2001
If you missed this series when the BBC in their 'wisdom' decided to show it on BBC2, make sure you see this video. This is spellbinding stuff - superbly written and acted - with particularly strong performances in my opinion from Ray Winstone and Phil Davis. It will keep you hooked until the very end.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


16 of 17 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars "'MONKEY' - I ain't avin it!", 12 Mar 2004
By 
A. Webber "alweb99" (Behind you) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Worth buying for this line alone, a superb series with Ray Winstone trying just a little too hard to be liked by his old mates. You end up feeling for sorry for him, even though you shouldn't
One of the best bits of recent UK telly that seemed to be overlooked at the time, Wonderful.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


14 of 15 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Fantastic!!!!!!!!, 10 Sep 2001
By A Customer
One of the best TV dramas in a long time. It makes you both laugh and cry whilst having you on the edge of your seat at all times. Tony Grounds the writer is a name to watch out for!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


12 of 13 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A Gem, 22 Nov 2005
By 
J. Williams - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Superb stuff. A wonderful ensemble piece that ends in the manner of a classic tragedy (complete with costumes). However, the quality of the print takes a nose-dive towards the end of episode 3, when the picture goes haywire. Seriously annoying. Still, it's only a few quid, so I recommend you invest in a copy.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


10 of 11 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars fine british drama, 27 Feb 2008
By 
A. Goss (UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Births, Marriages And Deaths [DVD] (DVD)
A superb little-known drama about the lives of three friends. Not like most UK dramas on TV these days, BMADs is hard-hitting at times, but with a great sense of humour that makes all four episodes on this DVD well worth watching right to the brilliant end.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 9 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Refreshing, 8 Sep 2008
This review is from: Births, Marriages And Deaths [DVD] (DVD)
Excellent performances from the three central characters, good script & a slightly oddball theme make this a hugely entertaining piece of viewing.

It's more a short story with 3 main constituent parts but they all blend easily together to make the whole thing work smoothly.

One of Ray Winstone's best parts & one that he tackles with relish - the story of his relationship with his wife is hilarious & sad in equal parts as it unfolds.

Well worth the money & then some!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


13 of 15 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellant Comedy/Drama, 15 Mar 2000
By A Customer
Ray Winstone is superb in this brillant dark comedy & drama from the BBC. A excellant storyline has you absorbed until the end. All 200 Mins
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


18 of 24 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Ray Winstone Births Marriages and deaths., 9 Dec 2005
A series of real events with three friends from school now all married but the bond is still there between the 3 friends, untill events start happening in their lives that will see the bond starting to break and ray winstones is hated by his friends and wife , at the end i felt so sorry for ray winstone
that i was left abit empty.
Oustanding performance from ray Winstone yet again.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Absolutely brilliant, 5 Jan 2011
This review is from: Births, Marriages And Deaths [DVD] (DVD)
Once again, something I missed on TV and it is absolutely top notch and full of rich dark humour. Every time i recall it I chuckle involuntarily.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Births, Marriages And Deaths [DVD]
Births, Marriages And Deaths [DVD] by Adrian Shergold (DVD - 2007)
14.98
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews