Customer Reviews


8 Reviews
5 star:
 (4)
4 star:
 (1)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:
 (2)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


11 of 12 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Intelligent, funny and all round entertaining
First of all what a fantastic music score, so brilliant it made me dig out all my old Stevie Nicks and Fleetwood Mac albums - and I can very close to going Goth again for the first time in nearly 15 years!

Essentially the film is about two teenage misfits in small town USA who run off to New York to the 'Night of a 1000 Stevie's'. Where the girl intends to...
Published on 25 Sept. 2006 by Mr. James A. Newton

versus
0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars gypsy83
i was extremely disappointed with this movie i had waited ages to see it after reading great reviews. the script feels terribly juvenile, the acting horrendously over done. Clive, the gay character has very little to do in the movie. true the music is fantastic but that doesn't save a rather predictable vampy road movie. the one saving grace in this movie has to be the...
Published on 10 July 2012 by stefo


Most Helpful First | Newest First

11 of 12 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Intelligent, funny and all round entertaining, 25 Sept. 2006
By 
Mr. James A. Newton (London) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Gypsy 83 (DVD) (DVD)
First of all what a fantastic music score, so brilliant it made me dig out all my old Stevie Nicks and Fleetwood Mac albums - and I can very close to going Goth again for the first time in nearly 15 years!

Essentially the film is about two teenage misfits in small town USA who run off to New York to the 'Night of a 1000 Stevie's'. Where the girl intends to compete in the soundalike competition. On the way they make contact with a variety of other misfits that add some interesting twists to the overal storyline.

The film explores ideas of individuality very accurately - in my opinion. it seems to ask the questions about how far people conform and more importantly why they choose to do so. Neither does the film shy away from recognising that in some situations being different is a conformity in itself - keenly portrayed towards the end of the film during an exchange with two other young men attending the 'Night of 1000 Stevie's'. Importantly it looks at how this sort of non-conformity can be as harsh and excluding as general conformity.

I don't see this as a 'gay film', one of the characters happens to be gay and explores this and what it means to him during the film. What is really good is to see a gay young man not conforming to certain 'idealised' types so prevalent in gay cinema. Kett Turton who plays Clive is somewhat geekish and skinny and is much more represenative of young gay men than the toned, tanned, pretty boys we so often see (see my review of 'Like It Is').

My favourite scene of the film is Sara Rue's rendition of the Stevie Nicks' song 'Talk to Me'. This young woman has a fantastic voice and I hope both her and Kett do very well for themselves. A great film! I so wish British 'gay themed' cinema was as good as this.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great Little Movie, 13 Oct. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Gypsy 83 (DVD) (DVD)
Those of us that watch queer films on a regular basis will know that finding an American indie that is actually worth watching is extremely rare. I confess that I avoided this one for a long time, although I'm not really sure why - it was only when I realised it was from the writer of the rather charming Edge of Seventeen that I decided to give it a look (although I expected to turn it off long before the end).

This is rather darker than Edge of Seventeen, but has a similar charm. The film relies completely on the chemistry of the two leads, played by Sara Rue and Kett Turton. The script might be deeper than many queer film offerings, but it would have fallen flat without these two wonderful performances. The story, basically a road trip to a Stevie Nicks tribute, is simply there upon which to attach a study of these two quirky but likeable characters and their strange, yet loving, relationship with each other. My description really doesn't sound remotely appealing, but this is well worth sitting down and watching - and it has to be said that it's rather nice to see a film with gay lead character that doesn't rely on gratuitous nudity at every opportunity. Clearly the writer and director were aware that LGBT audiences can be attracted by an intelligent script, decent direction and superb acting as well.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Love the DVD, Do buy it a sit is rare! cant buy it in uk at normal shops!, 3 Mar. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Gypsy 83 (DVD) (DVD)
Film captures how things use to be on the goth scene of many years ago. I first saw this dvd in the U.S. when the girlfriend at the time hired it out from a video store. the main actress is still acting last time l checked and but you would not reconise her. the film is great but be warned. if you are narrow minded about curtains things such as if you have issues towards Gays, then its best not to watch the film. but if you are like me, straight and open minded. you will enjoy the film more.. I also like the fact that there is a old skool Pontiac Trans Am car (same as smokey and the bandits car). anyway. go and buy it and enjoy it. especially if you are either a goth or a x goth or in to alternative music like the cure or stevie nicks!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars cool and gentle, 1 May 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Gypsy 83 (DVD) (DVD)
Saw this film when it came out, was trying to remember what it was called to get it on DVD, glad I found it. A great road trip film about dealing with the difficult parts of life and using the strength to help guide you to follow your dreams. I think its up there with some of the best brat pack films of the 1980's
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars gypsy83, 10 July 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Gypsy 83 (DVD) (DVD)
i was extremely disappointed with this movie i had waited ages to see it after reading great reviews. the script feels terribly juvenile, the acting horrendously over done. Clive, the gay character has very little to do in the movie. true the music is fantastic but that doesn't save a rather predictable vampy road movie. the one saving grace in this movie has to be the all too short cameo by Karen black. playing a faded alcoholic never has been singer she steals the movie for the ten minutes she is on screen. perhaps if she had joined them on their trip to new York the movie would have been more interesting. in fact scrap that the movie should have been solely about Bambi ( Karen black's character.)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 4 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars gipsy 83, 11 July 2009
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Gypsy 83 (DVD) (DVD)
I give for this movie 4 stars out of 5 because the story line is challenging, is well shot and the acting is not bad although it was not challenging. I would recommend but not strongly.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2.0 out of 5 stars Two Stars, 22 Jan. 2015
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Gypsy 83 (DVD) (DVD)
okay
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 2 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars A Film with Less Than Meets The Eye., 1 July 2010
By 
Tony Heyes (Greater Manchester UK) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Gypsy 83 (DVD) (DVD)
"Drole de Felix" is a French film about a young man who sets off in search of his long-lost father. It is a well made and very amusing film and I was expecting something similar from "Gypsy 83", a film about a young woman in search of her long-lost mother. I was bitterly disappointed. The film has the bones of a good plot but was poorly executed with poverty-stricken dialogue, foul language, longeurs and less than convincing acting. It was boring, self-indulgent and badly written. Its only redeeming features were the quality of the filming and the attractive male leads.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Gypsy 83 (DVD)
Gypsy 83 (DVD) by Todd Stephens (DVD - 2009)
£4.29
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews