Customer Reviews


28 Reviews
5 star:
 (21)
4 star:
 (3)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:
 (3)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


12 of 12 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A brilliant piece of commedy not to be missed!
After watching the first series, I couldn't wait for the second and haven't been at all disapointed with the quality of writing by Caroline Aherne. The Royle family is a brilliant portrayal of family life and is hilarious, I couldn't stop laughing. This series is a must have buy and is the sort of comedy that can be watched time and time again. All I can say is...
Published on 29 Oct 2000

versus
2.0 out of 5 stars very poor
got video on time.but quality very poor.keeps on flashing.
my son not very happy with it.will have to look for another one
Published 13 months ago by Debbie Edge


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

12 of 12 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A brilliant piece of commedy not to be missed!, 29 Oct 2000
By A Customer
After watching the first series, I couldn't wait for the second and haven't been at all disapointed with the quality of writing by Caroline Aherne. The Royle family is a brilliant portrayal of family life and is hilarious, I couldn't stop laughing. This series is a must have buy and is the sort of comedy that can be watched time and time again. All I can say is BRILLIANT!!!!!!!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars One of the funniest and smartest comedies in years, 28 Aug 2003
By 
Aaron Gatt Floridia (Houston, TX United States) - See all my reviews
I have not seen a comedy series this well cast and this well performed in a long time. Every single one of the actors portrays develops their character brilliantly ,each with different quirks and different personalities. Jim's one liners are wickedly funny and Dave's look of absolute dumbness is fantastic. You'll find yourself chuckling and for once we have a comedy not dubbed with fake laughter in the background.
The humour is honest and biting, coming very close to truth at times. You are drawn into the living room of this dysfunctional
family and can associate with their arguements and commentaries.
I thought that the scene in the second episode where Barbara looks on amazed at her daughter when she tells her that she will not be having chips for tea every single day just about sums up the family.
A brilliant piece of comedy that everyone should own.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Fantastically Funny!!!!, 9 Mar 2004
I recently bought the first series, along with the others on DVD, after a T.V 'top 20' style programme reviewed it.
Fabulously funny the action (or in-action) takes place in the Royal family living room-occasionally venturing into the kitchen!!! The comedy comes from the predictability of the charactors but also the way they occasionally suprise you too!
The comedy is down to earth as well as the charactors.
I have to say, I found alot in common between my own family and the'Royals'-which made it even funnier!!
A classic and lots of laughs!!!!
Not to be missed!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A COMIC MASTERPIECE!, 29 Sep 2000
By 
ianphillips@uk.dreamcast.com (BOLTON, LANCASHIRE, ENGLAND) - See all my reviews
Caroline Aherne is nothing short of a genius when it comes to comedy. This is by far one of the best comedies to grace our screens in many years. The excellent cast that also includes Craig Cash, Sue Johnston, Ralf Little, Ricky Tomlinson and Liz Smith, helps this frighteningly realistic series the classic comedy masterpiece that it is. Such odd and disfunctional behaviour hits a nerve in all of us when we watch some of the characters identifiable extreme habbits.. The scripts flow with wit and gritty realism. A real breath of fresh air. A masterpiece and a deserved winner of the many awards it has won to date. A CLASSIC! HIGHLY RECOMMENDED!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars A right Royle laugh!, 16 July 2006
By 
KAT "tatethegr8" (Kettering Northants) - See all my reviews
I absoloutly love this comedy. I can't believe you are actually sitting at home watching someone on TV sitting at home watching their TV! At first I thought "A family watching TV! How boring!" but how wrong was I? It just goes to show that you really never should judge a book by its cover. I loved this and own all 3 series and was estatic when I leared Caroline is writing a Christmas Special. The best thing about this is that everyone knows a family like the Royles. I screamed with laughter over Denises "Mam - tell him!" because thats all my sister and I used to say to our mum when our dad wound us up!

I love the fact that the Royle's reperesent a normal family, OK so they're scruffy, lazy and some of their habits are filthy but the dialogue, casting and comic timing from all the characters is spot on. My dad has even adopted some of Jim's catchraphes (Not "My Axxx" by the way). I absoloutly love the banter between Nanna and Jim and anyone who doesn't laugh at this classic comedy needs to get a sense of humour. What other comedies reperesent ordinary family life so well?

Caroline Ahearn and Craig Cash (Dave and Denise) are great writers and I think Caroline is sorely underated as a writer and actress. The woman is a genius. I demand she be knighted at once!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Witty, poignant, well crafted, funny masterful entertainment, 6 Aug 2000
By A Customer
This show has all the best of British comedy. Great acting, wonderful characters, real-life feel, NO canned laughter and it's a delight to watch time and time and time again.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Theres a bit of the royles in each of us, 26 July 2000
By A Customer
The royle family is the one of the best comedies in the world, and this video is the best thing i have brought for a long time. The only other comedy that comes close to this is Only Fools And Horses, the best quote on the video is. Get your coat on barbra, Why are you taking me out?, No i'm turning the fire off. If you looking at this review now then buy this video you will not regret it
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Great Comedy, 15 Dec 2007
I never watched the series on tv when it first came out but got curious years later. The storylines are great. A just about non functional family who's lives revolve around absolutely nothing except the tedious conversations they have with themselves. The only thing which seriously lets this DVD down is the absolute low quality of the transfer. It was made in 1998 and maybe someone at the time came up with the idea of using recycled vhs tape to make a tv series. The DVD has just been released over in the USA and customers on Amazon.com are echoing the DVD quality as well. 5/5 for storylines, 2/5 for DVD quality.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars The Royle Family, 26 July 2009
This review is from: The Royle Family: The Complete First Series [DVD] (DVD)
This is an English sitcom DVD of a somewhat different nature to the other sitcom episodes I have seen, but if you accept the sometimes weird text then it has episodes I find funny. The life of a man on the dole and his family mostly taking place in front ot the house altar, the TV, is often put to the extreme I find, but still there are situations of good humour and perhaps they are not all far off how life is spent in some families.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Great British comedy!, 21 Jan 2005
The Royle Family is such a great British comedy! I've seen them all so many times but I keep laughing each time I do see them! I think everyone knows a family like the Royles! Although Jims jokes aren't all that funny, you can't help laughing at him. The Royle Family is a lot different to other British comedies which makes it even better.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

The Royle Family: The Complete First Series [DVD]
£4.69
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews