Customer Reviews


315 Reviews
5 star:
 (168)
4 star:
 (49)
3 star:
 (33)
2 star:
 (28)
1 star:
 (37)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


10 of 11 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars From genius to B-movie madness, loved it.
Some people complain about the packaging, I liked it, there's a bit of thought gone into making a fold out Empire State Building case to hold these 4 discs. It's not particularly sturdy but it's not designed to be left open.
There's enough been written about the original movie over the years, it's been one of my favourite movies for ages, I still love the stop-motion...
Published on 7 Mar 2011 by I. R. Kerr

versus
46 of 52 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Gypped by the Gorilla
I can't help shake the feeling we're getting the raw end of the deal this side of the Atlantic when it comes to King Kong. Over in the US the original King Kong has been finally released to DVD with a multitude of brand new extras, documentaries, recreated lost sequences - plus it's original sequel (Son of Kong) and belated follow-up from the same...
Published on 2 Dec 2005 by Leealike


‹ Previous | 1 232 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

10 of 11 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars From genius to B-movie madness, loved it., 7 Mar 2011
By 
I. R. Kerr (Lancashire) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)    (VINE VOICE)    (REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Some people complain about the packaging, I liked it, there's a bit of thought gone into making a fold out Empire State Building case to hold these 4 discs. It's not particularly sturdy but it's not designed to be left open.
There's enough been written about the original movie over the years, it's been one of my favourite movies for ages, I still love the stop-motion effects after all these years. The Kong v Tyrannosaurus scene is a good precursor of the Godzilla movie.
The black and white King Kong disc runs for just under 1hr 36 mins, the colourised version is slightly longer 1hr 40 mins, the scenes where Kong eats his way through the natives looks great in colour, as does the train scene. Years later Godzilla had a similar dislike for that form of transport.
Like a previous reviewer I bought this set mainly for the 2 Toho movies. King Kong vs Godzilla is a classic monster romp with two prehistoric enemies ape & dinosaur return to their stomping ground Japan to battle it out. Godzilla following his natural homing instincts whilst Kong is taken there courtesy of a pharmaceutical company as a marketing gimmick. It is cheesy but it is good fun and the fight between our two titans is unintentionally hilarious, not forgetting Kong fighting a large Octopus as it attacks a village.
King Kong Escapes is a camp classic, international criminal Dr Who is hired by an unnanmed Asian country to help mine Element X from the North Pole. At first using his robot Kong then when that succumbs to the radiation he captures the original Kong. The climactic fight between robot and ape on top of Tokyo Tower is terrific. Female lead Linda Miller was a model living in Japan at the time, she looks great but apparently her voice was dubbed which is odd as it sort of grates after a while. Maybe her own voice would have been better after all?
For the price I paid I have no complaints, this is a great collection, as for comments that it is not complete, it is never touted as the complete Kong collection. Son of Kong would have been a nice addition but I'm more than happy with this gem.
Just one minor niggle, it's odd that the 2 Toho discs are wrongly named, King Kong Escapes has King Kong Vs Godzilla on it and vice versa. Other than that, spot on.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


46 of 52 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Gypped by the Gorilla, 2 Dec 2005
I can't help shake the feeling we're getting the raw end of the deal this side of the Atlantic when it comes to King Kong. Over in the US the original King Kong has been finally released to DVD with a multitude of brand new extras, documentaries, recreated lost sequences - plus it's original sequel (Son of Kong) and belated follow-up from the same production team (Mighty Joe Young). The spectacular collectors set even includes a reproduction of the original programme from the film's premiere in 1933.
Here in the UK we get a rather shabbily designed box set with two of the fun but practically unrelated 1960s TOHO produced man-in-a-gorilla-suit Kong movies from Japan and - horror of horrors - the colourised version of the original film. We also get a 12 year old documentary which first saw the light of day on the 80th anniversary VHS release.
Yup, bit of a raw deal...
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


42 of 48 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Wow. Just wow!, 16 Mar 2009
By 
R. Jones "rebeld0g" (UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I'm sure that by now most of you know the story or have seen the film so I'll concentrate this purely on the quality of the Blu-Ray experience. King Kong is a magnificent movie made so much better by this stunning high-def release. The picture quality is breathtaking at times, especially some of the long distance shots across the rich jungle and the city scenes.It's just gorgeous to watch from end to end. The audio is also amazing, every bit as glorious as you want it to be.

The special features are pretty cool, particularly the way they are embedded into the main feature and are accessed by context-sensitive icons that can be switched on or off at will. I didn't notice much new in there, just a new way of watching them really, but it's great to see them again and really brill to see them so cleverly presented.

Oh, and you get both versions of the movie, the original theatre version and the special edition. Both look and sound utterly remarkable.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars King Kong - Far too long!, 30 Sep 2008
As a great admirer of Jackson's Lord of the Rings, I came to this with high expectation. In the end I wish Jackson had just done a straight remake of the original. The Fay Wray King Kong was perfectly directed - just the right length to sustain the material. Jackson obviously loves the piece but kills it with kindness. The special effects are superb, but there are too many times when he asks us to not only suspend disbelief but take our brains out. I mean, Naomi, having been hurled around by dinasaurs and the ape, can then take to her heels and run like a gazelle. Is this Superwoman? In the end Jackson over-eggs the pudding and the whole thing is a sodden mess.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 9 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Skull Island -- the tropical destination that's big on wildlife!, 22 Dec 2008
This review is from: King Kong [DVD] (DVD)
Peter Jackson's labour of love is a spectacular, if overlong, remake of the movie that filled him with wonder as a small boy and inspired him to become a film maker. He may play fast and loose with the viewer's ability to suspend disbelief, giving us, as he does, indestructible people who are impossibly lucky when avoiding being trampled and can strafe their entire surroundings with machine-gun fire and only hit the monsters, but this is OK because it's part of the film's glorious sense of fun. And there may be plenty of ripe dialogue and facial contortion but Jackson puts so much heart into his production that this is perfectly in keeping with the tone of the work. Jackson has made a thrilling homage to the original Hollywood blockbuster, while successfully maintaining the emotional core of the plot. Self-indulgent it may be but it's all the better for that.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars An excellent remake that captures the spirit of the original, 12 April 2006
By 
Andrew Naunton "Movie buff" (Swansea) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
So often remakes of classic movies do not work, but this film pulls of the achievement of capturing the heart and themes of the original story, whilst infusing the action with impact and a certain comic realism.

If there is one stand out performance of the movie it is Andy Serkis' rendition of Kong. Whilst it takes a long while for him to arrive, when he does he unleashes the most blisteringly powerful roar ever seen in a film. But the real achievement here lies in making Kong a believable and engaging character; communicating raw aggression and vulnerability at equal ends of the spectrum.

If the film has any weaknesses it may be perhaps in some of the supporting characters. Jack Black's movie director character is perhaps the most engaging and stimulating. Some of the other supporting cast provide some laughs but ultimately provide a backdrop for the main course which is inevitably the character of Kong himself.

In conclusion Peter Jackson's King Kong is a welcome addition to anyone's dvd library. I found it to be atmospheric, suspenseful and in places emotive and thought provoking. A thoroughly deserved 5 stars.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Impressive stuff., 6 July 2014
King Kong is a good film but falls just short of being a masterpiece.. My biggest criticism is the casting/acting. Jack Black is a abysmal actor. He never looks comfortable and I can see why people say he is too immature for the role as Dunham. Also for a Oscar winning actor Adrien Brody is quite dull. Fortunately Naomi Watts isn't just a pretty face and is a very talented actress.

Dispite the fact that most of the film is very entertaining I do feel that I could have been shortened. It doesn't have the emotional depth of Fellowship of the Rings to justify the length. it takes 51 minutes for them to arrive at Skull Island and just over the hour make to see the beast, too long! On to the positives, Kong looks fantastic and is a landmark in CGI. Also Skull island and New Youk look fantastic and feel very real. The ending with him on top the Empire state building is cinema at it's finest. However the CGI for the dinosaur chase scene was way over the top and not very realistic.

To conclude King Kong is at his best when he himself is on screen. When we aren't distracted by poor acting or over the top CGI. Defiantly worth a watch.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


19 of 22 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars all NEW extras, 29 Mar 2007
By 
P. D. gray "ChaplinFan" (England) - See all my reviews
(TOP 1000 REVIEWER)   
Just thought I'd do a short review to stress that all the extras on this set are BRAND NEW for this release and arn't a duplication of the stuff on the 2-Disk release. In fact, if you want the whole lot you'll have to buy the 2-Disk release, this set and the Peter Jackson diarys but its recommended for film students and anyone interested in how a film production works because never before has there been such an indepth look at a film is made, from its conception to final release and lots more besides. Also theres loads of fascinating info about how the film was planned to be made BEFORE Lord of the Rings but fell through thanks to another studio making Mighty Joe Young, the original ideas Jackson had for the first Kong film were so different to the one he eventually made and its amazing to hear all about it.

Also theres a featurette all about the homages to the original Kong movie which are present in the remake, did you know that Jackson owns props from the original film and dotted them about the set on his movie, watch the featurette and see what they are!

Personally I liked the new Kong film and think it got a quiet reception merely because it was, understandably, overshadowed still by the Lord Of The Rings films, its a most enjoyable romp and although theres not a great deal of footage added to this directors cut, the scenes that are added are really good and theres loads of additional scenes to watch in the extras which werent included in the directors cut, so basically this dvd has loads of extra footage...but Jackson decided to stick most in with the extras instead of pad the film out too much.

Its a very nice set and whilst I agree with another reviewers comments that the packaging isnt as nice as the Lord Of The RIngs special editions, the Disk contents are just as good and the box, inlays have lovely artwork..still head and shoulders above many special editions!

Kong is STILL King!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 9 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars King Kong on Blu Ray, 28 Dec 2010
This is my first Blu Ray disc, played with the LG LE475300 (47" Full HD 1080p, LED TV 100Hz) with an LG Blu Ray Network player, via HDMI and using an optical lead via the TV to an older Toshiba DVD 5.1 player and surround system. The level of detail is awesome for the film - it truly is stunning and I believe does high definition justice. There are some scenes where the film crew and captain are out looking for Ann, they are on makeshift tree branches as boats, as they glide on the river the detail is brilliant. Also, scenes where the crew are walking through the jungle and the daylight is coming through, there is realism to the detail, it looks fantastic!! Vivid bright colours, good definition of darks especially on King Kong, so Id give this 5 stars. Although I cant really comment on the sound as I've hooked the film up to a theatre system and its not coming directly through the blu ray player, it still sounds good. Go out and get it!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


80 of 94 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Better than expected...., 15 Mar 2006
I must admit, when I saw this at the cinema I wasn't what you would call excited... In fact we only saw Kong as the film we went to see was not on!
But I was sooo wrong. I was absolutely blown away from start to finish. It is beautifully directed and shot and I love Jack Black in this film. Naomi Watts was perfect in her role, she has the doey eyed look of a female in distress down to a tee.
I know some people must be thinking "It's just another re-make" and I thought that at first but honestly, this is a moving, exciting and thrilling re-make. Most probably the best re-make I have ever seen. Three hours flew by and I wanted the film to go on....
Peter Jackson shows his strengths in this feature and I hope he carries on making pictures as truly wonderful as this.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 232 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

King Kong [UMD Mini for PSP]
King Kong [UMD Mini for PSP] by Peter Jackson (UMD Mini for PSP - 2006)
Used & New from: £0.01
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews