Customer Reviews


15 Reviews
5 star:
 (12)
4 star:
 (2)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


9 of 10 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars THE ELVIS PRESLEY REVOLUTION !
The year 1956 is when the music world was turned upside down. The dreary black and white world became exciting colour. And a 21 year old American embarked on his legendary road from rags to iconic stardom and universal popularity.

1956 was the defining year for Elvis Presley - and for Rock'n'Roll.

The effect Elvis Presley had on the world is deep...
Published on 16 Mar 2012 by tommyboo

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars Not Remastered - but great story
I owned this on VHS back in Kuwait.
A friend borrowed it and never seen again.
This is a great snapshot of Elvis at the cusp of his breakthrough, the year he became a legend (although for my money the SUN Elvis will always be the best)
Narrated by Levon Helm, it is full of rare TV appearances on the Ed Sullivan Show and Steve Allen.
My beef is that it...
Published 1 month ago by Topperking99


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

9 of 10 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars THE ELVIS PRESLEY REVOLUTION !, 16 Mar 2012
This review is from: Elvis '56 [DVD] (DVD)
The year 1956 is when the music world was turned upside down. The dreary black and white world became exciting colour. And a 21 year old American embarked on his legendary road from rags to iconic stardom and universal popularity.

1956 was the defining year for Elvis Presley - and for Rock'n'Roll.

The effect Elvis Presley had on the world is deep and undeniable. He literally changed our music culture and everything that goes with it. Unless you were around when it happened or are a fan, it may be a little difficult today to grasp this reality. But this DVD goes a long way to visually explain it all.

The documentary was made in 1987 but the performances are all from 1956, and so you should not expect 5.1 surround or even stereo sound. It is very well narrated in a 'southern' style as it graphically takes you on that journey when Elvis Presley became a household name almost overnight through sheer raw talent.

Snippets from his early television performances are here, from the Dorsey Brothers, Steve Allen, and Milton Berle shows to the final Ed Sullivan appearances. Elvis unleashes his devastating unprecedented style onto shocked American television audiences to mixed reactions. What looks like tame body movements today translated to suggestive out and out sexual behaviour back in 1956!

Shake Rattle and Roll, Heartbreak Hotel, Money Honey, Love Me, and Hound Dog are performed almost demonically! He looked possessed! Such were his feelings for the rythym and blues he was performing. Some of these songs were old recordings by earlier bluesmen but suddenly it was like pouring petrol over a naked flame. They brought out the beast in an otherwise very shy and polite young man and it looked like Elvis was plugged into an electric socket. This resulted in anger and protestation from adult America, whilst awe and ecstasy emanated from their children.

Elvis belonged to the teenagers. Suddenly they had a hero of their own. The teenagers won through and the rest is history.

Highly recommended.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars This is exactly why he will always be special, 18 July 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Elvis '56 [DVD] (DVD)
I never properly understood the excitement of his performances before I saw this. I thought it was just the music and what was going on in people's heads. It wasn't - it was him.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Elvis as was !, 22 Jan 2013
By 
Mr. Roger D. Mc Ilroy (Northern Ireland) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Elvis '56 [DVD] (DVD)
Excellent dvd, showing a lot of shows that wer'nt available in the uk at the time..One of the songs on this dvd was actually banned by the bbc radio. Happy memories of the KING..
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars EVERY HOME SHOULD OWN ONE, 11 Aug 2012
This review is from: Elvis '56 [DVD] (DVD)
Weather you are a new fan or one from way back this dvd is a must have.This footage shows elvis at his greatest as a young man.If you want to see why elvis was loved by the teenagers and hated(and feared)by americas iddle classes,then look no further than the performance of HOUND DOG on the milton berle show.Its all there, the sneer,the gyrations and the sexual innuendo.The dvd finishes with a couple of tracks from january 1957 on the ed sullivan show from the waist up!!Elvis would make only two more tv appearances in his short life.BUY IT IT'S BRILL.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars elvis still the one and only. The King., 17 Jun 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Elvis '56 [DVD] (DVD)
Bought the D.V.D. for my wife, she was so impressed with it we bought two more for family and friends.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Piece of musical history, 13 Jun 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Elvis '56 [DVD] (DVD)
This dvd is worth buying if you have an interest in ELVIS at the start of his time as the rock & roll King.I bought this item thinking it was a new released item but i found i already have it on the different label but i will keep this one because its a great cover photo.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Not Remastered - but great story, 27 May 2014
By 
Topperking99 (Millbrook, Torpoint Cornwall) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Elvis '56 [DVD] (DVD)
I owned this on VHS back in Kuwait.
A friend borrowed it and never seen again.
This is a great snapshot of Elvis at the cusp of his breakthrough, the year he became a legend (although for my money the SUN Elvis will always be the best)
Narrated by Levon Helm, it is full of rare TV appearances on the Ed Sullivan Show and Steve Allen.
My beef is that it is not remastered at all, no subtitles either.
And they changed the first song from American Trilogy to My Way (not sure why!)

Get if you can for the rare footage.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Great, 26 May 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Elvis '56 [DVD] (DVD)
This was purchased as gift and the recipient was more than pleased.
This is a great dvd, Highly recommend to all those Elvis fans!!!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars elvis'56, 9 May 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Elvis '56 [DVD] (DVD)
I mean what can I say it is elvis that's a good enough explanation on its own, love it, love it, love it, go on get it and you wont be able to stop smiling and moving to the old hits just brilliant
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Elvis '56 (DVD), 16 Feb 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Elvis '56 [DVD] (DVD)
This Programme Features an entire hour of rare footage and Performances, captured during the amazing Year when Elvis Presley became not only a Star, but the most influential Artist of all time. I love it. The DVD was in a very good shape.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Elvis '56 [DVD]
Elvis '56 [DVD] by Elvis Presley (DVD - 2006)
5.81
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews