Customer Reviews


10 Reviews
5 star:
 (6)
4 star:
 (3)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


8 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A revelation
This is a great game. My expectations were quite low, having suffered through the frustrating (though good to look at, and with some good ideas) Dredd game from a couple of years ago, but in every respect, Rogue Trooper is as good a game as you will find for the X-Box, at least in my dilettantish experience.

Nu-Earth is brought to life with charm and wit. The...
Published on 8 Aug 2006 by Amazon Customer

versus
2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Maybe I'm wrong -
I purchased this game after briefly scanning through the previous reviews and, all in all, it sounded not necessarily groundbreaking but interesting enough to be worth picking up. Now I go back over the reviews after completing the game in only 4 days - I know what you are thinking - way to much gametime to not be a sadcase - but in reality I only plaid in hour blocks so...
Published on 10 Mar 2007 by SuperDave


Most Helpful First | Newest First

8 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A revelation, 8 Aug 2006
= Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Rogue Trooper (Xbox) (Video Game)
This is a great game. My expectations were quite low, having suffered through the frustrating (though good to look at, and with some good ideas) Dredd game from a couple of years ago, but in every respect, Rogue Trooper is as good a game as you will find for the X-Box, at least in my dilettantish experience.

Nu-Earth is brought to life with charm and wit. The Nort voices are fantastic. The way the GI chips are integral to the gameplay is very pleasing indeed. It's great to look at, and the action is as dynamic and satisfying as Halo.

People feared it would be a short game, but this has proved not to be the case. Also, it's ripe for replaying, being such a rich experience.

I would love to see them do the same for Strontium Dog, Robohunter, Slaine, Nemesis or any of the other classic stories.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Rogue Rules, 20 May 2006
= Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Rogue Trooper (Xbox) (Video Game)
I've loved the Rogue Trooper comics since I was a kid, here I am knocking on thirty and I finally get a chance to actually romp around Nu Earth fragging Norts. Although there is little new here from an FPS point of view there are a few little tricks. Being able to lay traps and such with your equipment gives the game options, there is always more than one way to achieve your objective. The levels are visually very good, they really seem to bring the essence of the conflict on Nu Earth to life, just as I remember from the comics. It's a good game even if your not a fan. It moves along fast enough, looks good and plays well, the control system is intuitive and quick to pick up. All in all a very enjoyable and competent first person shooter - but if you've always had a soft spot for the original boy in blue then this is well worth a look.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Rogue Trooper X Box, 5 Jun 2006
By 
Mr. R. W. Fenwick "Borcha" (Gateshead ,England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
= Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Rogue Trooper (Xbox) (Video Game)
I usually don't play third person action games as I hate the way the camera can suddenly lose contact with reality ( usuallyin the middle of a firefight).However I was really impressed with not only this but the handling of the game in general.I had read the stories as a kid so was familiar with the concepts and was pleased to see Rebellion had incorporated Tthe G.I. chips in a way that enhanced and varied thee gameplay.I would definatley recommend this game as there is scope for replayability. All in all EXCELLENT!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


10 of 11 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Rogue Trooper - GI (in this case, Gaming Immaculacy), 22 April 2006
By 
S. Williams - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
= Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Rogue Trooper (Xbox) (Video Game)
I got this game today and was a little bit apprehentious, and rightly so considering the TRIPE that the world of games-based-on-2000AD-characters has produced, but the thankfully the trend is discontinued with this release. Infact, if you didnt know it was based on a comic book, then - from playing the game itself - you might not have guessed it. Sure, the premise is a bit "out there" (an army of genetically engineered soldiers bred to survive in the poisonous atmosphere of nu-earth, with blue skin, and one of them goes rogue with the personalities of his fallen comrades stored in data cards on his helmet, gun and backpack) but what the game does is take the time to CREATE the Rogue Trooper universe, as oppose to sinply tell a story from it. Rogue Trooper starts off from the beginning and shows how certain things about the "star" of the game came to be, which does make it feel standalone. Infact, i dont recall even seeing the famous "2000AD" logo anywhere in the game as of yet.

The game is a third-person shooter with a bit of stealth mixed in, and has some unique features to itself gameplay that set it apart from some otherg ames of the same genres. When i said that each bio chip contains the data of a GI (Genetic Infantry), it also contains their skills, and throughout the game you'll use these to help your own cause. For example, Gunner (who, surprisingly, is your gun), can be set down and activated to shoot on sight of an enemy - this can be used in two ways, to help you fight off a particularly out-numbered assault, or to cause a distraction while you go off somewhere else (such as, in an early level, Gunner lays down a distracting wall of fire drawing everyone into one place to investigate, allowing you to blow up the control panel of the lift so that no more backup can be sent). Another useful distraction is via Helm (who, once again shockingly resides on your Helmet) who can create a hologram of Rogue Trooper to distract the enemy. All in all maybe not unique features in a game themselves, but used to make fit in to the "Rogue Trooper" world extremely convincingly.

I'm barely into the game at this moment, only an hour and a half or so, but i already can tell that it's a winner. The main enemies that the game throws at you show a little intelligence but prove not to be too difficult on the beginner modes, instead favouring strength in numbers and a tactical advantage - you cant go out all guns blazing against more than maybe 2 or 3, which is where the stealth comes into play. It's just a fun experience.

As i said, i'm not that far into the game and at this point the only thing that could let it down is a short playing time. The multiplayer modes look alright (from a quick glance) with XBox Live and voice chat supported.

While i think fans of the 2000AD comic strip will enjoy it a bit more, i dont see why somebody who's never heard of it (or wondered why a futurist comic didnt change its name 6 years ago) wont enjoy it. I dont think it will ever be considered a classic, but it's certainly different and i give it... 4 stars.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Maybe I'm wrong -, 10 Mar 2007
= Fun:4.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Rogue Trooper (Xbox) (Video Game)
I purchased this game after briefly scanning through the previous reviews and, all in all, it sounded not necessarily groundbreaking but interesting enough to be worth picking up. Now I go back over the reviews after completing the game in only 4 days - I know what you are thinking - way to much gametime to not be a sadcase - but in reality I only plaid in hour blocks so it doesn't surprise me that most of the glowing reviews are from guys who are only 2-3 levels in.

This game is kinda cool but not what I as a dedicated Xboxer was expecting - though I was locked into the gameplay I had to keep looking at my console to make sure it hadn't actually turned into a PS2 - the graphics are pure PS2 - the gameplay is pure PS2 and the length of the game is most certainly PS2 - and to be honest if that was what I was looking for I would own a PS2.

Fun to play, but I am probably gonna trade it and hope the next choice has more to it - if you liked Starwars Battlefront 1&2 (which I did and still do) you will like this game but I reckon it is gonna irk you at how much more could have been done with it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Welcome to his world, 5 Feb 2007
= Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Rogue Trooper (Xbox) (Video Game)
Immersion is what makes this game so great. The universe of Rogue Trooper, based on the 2000ad character, is a bizarre and intricate one. You play a genetically engineered soldier who can breathe the poison air of a distant planet that has been made into a war zone. Rogue Trooper has been betrayed by one of his own and is the only one of his platoon left alive. I say alive but the personalities of his dead comrades have been stored onto microchips, microchips that have been installed into Rogue's helmet, backpack and gun. These disembodied souls are Rogue's only companions and they advise you through the game.

It is through the realization of this unique universe that the game manages to avoid most of the genres clichés. The way you create your own ammo and medicine is very different from the way Half-Life (and all the games that copied it) leaves ammo lying about. Different tactics can be used to take out soldiers in different ways. While the combat isn't as ingenious as Halo you know that the way someone else might play the game wouldn't necessarily mirror your own efforts.

The graphics are decent but not stunning, and the music is just right. But Rogue Trooper is so fresh and enjoyable you'll forgive it not having that really finished polish.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Rogue Trooper: Worthly of playing and in your Xbox collection, 25 April 2014
By 
M Thompson - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Rogue Trooper (Xbox) (Video Game)
Third person shooters are slowly but surely becoming one of my favorite genres. With fantastic games like Freedom Fighters, Ghost Recon Advanced Warfighter, and of course The Punisher, they are a force to be reckoned with now days. As there are great third person shooters, sadly there are also some flat out horrible ones, one such game being the True Crime series in general. Alas though, another great third person shooter has come out of the darkness, and its name is Rogue Trooper.

Rogue Trooper takes place on a world called Nu-Earth. Once a beautiful and arguably the best place to live in the Galaxy, now has become a war town planet, with air filled with poisonous gasses and materials. The war is against two rival forces, the Norts, and well, the GI's basically since they are doing all the fighting, but they work for the Southers. The GI's are blue, genetically made, war machines. Unfortunately, your one of the last ones alive, seeing as how a General on your side tricked the GI's into a trap where they all died except you.

Thankfully, you were able to save three other GI's, by taking out their biochips in their heads, and inserting them into your gun, helmet, and back pack. So now the four of you are out to find the traitor General, and stop an entire Nord army on your own. While the story itself is original enough, I couldn't help but feel the cliques throughout it. But none the less the story will defiantly keep you interested for a while, and you will certainly like the characters and what the have to say throughout the game. The only problem was the length of the game, it felt entirely too short, and ended so abruptly that it left me wanting a lot more.

But even though the game is shorter than I would have liked, the fantastic game play will keep you hooked as long as you play it. I admit the controls are a pain to get used to and you will more than likely be pressing a few wrong buttons, especially if you're used to other games controls like GRAW, but once you master them they will become second nature. With so many different ways of killing your enemy, then what's not to like about it.

With a huge variety of weapons in the game, which includes everything from an assault rifle, to a sniper, to a beam weapon to even an EMP launcher, then you will never be without something to shoot. The different things you can do with your weapons also made it wonderful. Let's say you have to hack a computer console using Helm, the GI in your helmet, but you need some extra firepower. Place down Gunner, the GI in your gun, and have him post as a sentry while you take up point somewhere else with your pistol, and lay down the enemy's while Helm gets the job done. Or you can just make a hologram of yourself, and use it as a decoy for a while.

Unfortunately you will plow through ammo like there's no tomorrow in this game. Which is where the GI in your backpack comes in by using materials and parts you pick up on the battlefield, he can make ammo, perform upgrades, and even create new weapons for you, which is all great, but in the middle of the battle it was annoying to have to stop and buy ammo constantly.

But every GI needs someone to talk to during battle, which is something that your three comrades do a lot. They are always filled with tidbits of info or just simple little things to say, which added to the games fun, always hearing these three, supposed to be dead soldiers talk. The voice acting is great in Rogue Trooper, not the best I've ever heard, but still good enough to make the game a lot more interesting. The voices really do match the personalities of the characters especially with the GI's in your equipment.

Music wise, well Rogue Trooper was kind of generic if you ask me, didn't really impress me, and didn't really set up the intense scenes for me. The action in the game did all that. Sound wise, Rogue Trooper was pretty good, the sounds matched the guns, and the heavy foot steps of the GI and the Nords was nice. Vehicles all had a realistic sound to them, and it was impressive all around.

What made me kind of sad though were the graphics. It may be from playing the 360 everyday to go back to Xbox graphics, or it may just be lack of effort, but Rogue Trooper is not a graphical stand out at all. The character models lacked life, the environments were blocky and not very detailed, weapons and vehicles didn't really look amazing. They were decent, but in this late in the Xbox life, and with so many other games coming out now with amazing graphics, these were just very disappointing.

Rogue Trooper was probably one of the last games I'll be playing on my original Xbox, but at least it went out on a good note with Rogue Trooper. While the graphics lacked seriously, and the music wasn't the best I've heard in a video game, the game play was phenomenal, if not a little hard to master, and the story was compelling. It's a decent buy if you're still looking for titles for the box.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars a definitive homage to Rogue trooper of 2000A.D. fame ...fantastic, 25 Mar 2013
By 
J. Spennewyn "boxer lady" (cambridge, uk) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)    (REAL NAME)   
= Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Rogue Trooper (Xbox) (Video Game)
I still pop this game on my 360 console & am blown away by it's exceptional quality in terms of storyline, fluidity of graphics & gameplay.
Simple & lot's of fun.

These days it's essentially a collectors item for die hard 2000AD readers from where the Rogue character originates, & boy have the developers done a terrific job!

Old now, but it is so well observed, i'm essentially in geek heaven.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Absolute classic., 3 Dec 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Rogue Trooper (Xbox) (Video Game)
Got this back in the day, being a huge fan of the comics. It was one of the first games that made stealth enjoyable to me and I got a real thrill from how brilliantly it captured the character and the world of Nu-Earth.

Replaying it now it still holds up brilliantly and that thrill is still there. A great game, and a real classic.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 30 July 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Rogue Trooper (Xbox) (Video Game)
LOVED PLAYING IT
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Rogue Trooper (Xbox)
Rogue Trooper (Xbox) by Eidos (Xbox)
29.95
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews