Customer Reviews


12 Reviews
5 star:
 (5)
4 star:
 (5)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


10 of 10 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Let's knife!
Feeling a bit flush, I rushed out and bought this title on it's day of release. I'll admit I'm a 2000AD reader, so I'm more than familiar with the character, and I reckon that gives me the right to be even more critical in my opinion of the game.

The good news is that I think Rebellion have done a bang up job of bringing Rogue and his bio-chipped buddies to...
Published on 24 April 2006 by Martin Little

versus
9 of 9 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Very good, but...
It still could have been so much better. Cut scenes, graphics and the thought that has gone into the game are excellent and clearly evident, but it is far too short, too console and definitely not hard enough. Dredd vs Death suffered from all three of these and whilst if you play that again it isn't as bad as everyone said, RT is a vast improvement.

The...
Published on 6 May 2006 by Halo572


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

10 of 10 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Let's knife!, 24 April 2006
By 
Martin Little (Stockton-on-tees, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
= Fun:4.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Rogue Trooper (PC DVD) (Computer Game)
Feeling a bit flush, I rushed out and bought this title on it's day of release. I'll admit I'm a 2000AD reader, so I'm more than familiar with the character, and I reckon that gives me the right to be even more critical in my opinion of the game.

The good news is that I think Rebellion have done a bang up job of bringing Rogue and his bio-chipped buddies to the

computer screen.

For anyone not familiar with the title, you take on the role of Rogue - a vat grown super soldier, bred for combat in

the warzone of Nu Earth. Immune to all the toxins in the air, with heightened strength, senses and highly skilled in all

methods of combat, Rogue (and all his pals) are the (bright blue) weapon of choice for the Souther forces battling the

evil Norts for control of the planet. Just point your G.I (Genetic Infantry) soldier in the direction of the bad guys

and he'll wipe the floor with them. That is until the Quartz Zone massacre - which is where the game begins.

Betrayed by a General on their own side relaying their strike information to the Norts, the G.I's are all shot down, with

only Rogue escaping. Fortunately Rogue manages to be on scene for the deaths of three of his colleagues - Helm, Bagman

and Gunnar. Cutting out their bio-chips (storing all their memories and personalities), he installs them in his gun,

backpack and helmet, giving them a second chance of life and being able to assist you with their talents as you

progress through the game, hunting down the traitor General.

But enough of the back story, what's the game like? It's a third person shooter, which you can play stealthily, all-out

guns blazing, or however you want. The controls are very intuitive, taking on the usual WASD system, right clicking

to activate the scope on your rifle, and other well established key presses/controls as found in other games. So you

can pick it up and play without any need for a tutorial (although the first mission will guide you through controlling

Rogue and his functions). Taking advantage of your bio-chipped kit's talents is a matter of two simple clicks. These

talents include setting up Gunnar as a sentry gun, so he'll distract/kill any enemies whilst you do other stuff, using

Helm to project a hologram of yourself to distract/lure out enemies, and using Bagman to manufacture items/ammo from the

salvaged bodies of the folks you kill. Bagman's talents allow you to add additional firepower to Gunnar as he'll

produce shotgun shells, sammy rockets, beam lasers and all kinds of stuff which add a bit of flavour to the game.

At various points you're able to take control of vehicles/cannons which provide a refreshing break to the running around. Chasing the traitor General in his helicopter on one level and another defending a train against Nort attacks turns the game into something more like a Virtual Cop style rail shooter, which is also a welcome change.

Dispatching enemies is fun, you can go the stealth route, sneaking up and stabbing them, the straight forward

headshot/gunning down, lob a grenade or two, place micro-mines to booby trap areas, set them on fire by blowing up

nearby fuel tanks/vehicles, or rupture their chem-suits airtanks with a bullet and watch them panic before the tank

explodes taking them with it.

The enemy AI is also impressive. You won't find Norts running into your bullets in wave after wave like lemmings,

they'll take cover, react to noise and generally try to keep themselves alive.

Graphically it's nice, starting off with basic wartorn desert type affairs (plenty of rocks, bunkers and the like),

moving on to military complexes, cities, a huge crashed spaceship (which is very well done, lots of nice lighting

effects and a real sense of scale) and other locales. The characters/machinery are all nicely crafted, and really

reference the original source material - fanboys will love it! Rogue's movement is also well animated, from leaping

over barriers to poking his head round corners, and there's an occassional cut scene which progresses the story.

Sound is good, plenty of budda-budda's and booms!, with the voice actors for the characters doing their job without

getting too repetitive (Gunnar shouting comments like "You want some?!?" when in sentry mode are quite amusing).

I've read comments that moan about clipping problems and things like that but I've not encoutered anything too

distracting myself. I've seen Rogue's arm disappear inside a wall when he's playing out a standard animation

(e.g screwing a silencer onto his rifle), but not had any problems with being shot through walls, falling through

objects or anything as severe as that. The camera views are good, not at all getting lost in walls/scenery and Rogue

fades to transparent if he's too much "in your face". There's also a lot of reviews that reference the Judge Dredd

game, but I think it's wrong to compare the two. The only connection is the fact they're both based on 2000AD characters and were both produced by Rebellion. Dredd had it's faults, and was quite roughly treated on the review front I thought -

I've got it, and quite like it - but don't let your opinion of it prejudice you against trying out Rogue Trooper.

Rebellion seem to have learnt a lot in the 3 or more years since Dredd hit the shelves and it shows.

It's very faithful to the source material (you'll be hearing the Norts shouting "Stak!" and Rogue telling his bio-chips

to "Synth out" - and you get a cameo by Venus!), an entertaining play that keeps you wanting to progress and I thoroughly recommend it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 9 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Very good, but..., 6 May 2006
= Fun:4.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Rogue Trooper (PC DVD) (Computer Game)
It still could have been so much better. Cut scenes, graphics and the thought that has gone into the game are excellent and clearly evident, but it is far too short, too console and definitely not hard enough. Dredd vs Death suffered from all three of these and whilst if you play that again it isn't as bad as everyone said, RT is a vast improvement.

The biggest change is the FPS perspective has been dropped in favour of a Tomb Raider third person view and this works very well, the addition of a climb ability allows you to move around the landscape much more freely than in a FPS game.

The difficulty levels are very disappointing, I gave up on normal early on and went to hard, completed that with no trouble and then massacre seems the same as hard but with half the life bar available. I want a challenge, not a one man army walk over. Having Bagman manufacture all of your ammo from salvage is also a great game mechanic but you never really have a supply problem because of this, adding further to the ease of the game.

Innovations like Gunnar on autofire and a hologram decoy from Helm just don't seem to work, if you do use them it just slows the flow of the game down. The extra weapons of a shotgun, mortar and beam weapon just seem to have been added to pad out the weapons available, but I managed quite well enough with just the standard rifle, grenades and sammies, not even considering using anything else. The beam waepon is in all truth embarrassing and doesn't belong at all.

The multiplay will go the way of DvsD, 'withdrawn at request of vendor' on Gamespy, as Rebellion have gone for the same repetitive and short lived niche mission type play again instead of all out war as with BF2, FarCry, etc. It's also only 4 player co-op vs bots, another console ported limitation and it compares badly with a 64 player BF2 map. GI's vs Norts or Southers vs Norts would have been so much better, especially with driveable vehicles. Halo did it years ago, why not RT?

If like me you've grown up with Rogue for the last 25 years then it's a 4 star game, Rogue lives and hopefully he'll be back in a better game in the future which sorely needs to be aimed at a more discerning and sophisticated PC market rather than the joypad brigade. If not, it's a 3 star. Get it it's good, but it won't mean as much to you as it does to those who first read the stories of the Quartz Zone massacre back in 1981.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


28 of 29 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Play first, then review., 11 April 2006
By A Customer
This review is from: Rogue Trooper (PC DVD) (Computer Game)
With a story developed by Rogue Trooper's current writer and long-time 2000ad contributor Gordon Rennie, and vehicles, costumes, uniforms and weaponry taken directly from the strip itself, this game's visual and storytelling pedigree are beyond reproach. Utilising a third-person view, the play mechanics are more akin to Tomb Raider: Legend than the first-person Dredd vs Death (which was universally decried as decidedly average by the gaming press, and required too much concentration for casual gamers more used to Dead or Alive: Beach Volleyball, or Halo). More of an arcade experience than DvsD, but if you've played the game based on Marvel's The Punisher, you'll have a good idea what to expect.
A shame more games based on comics weren't given the same development and care as applied here, as the likes of Daredevil or Hulk could learn a thing or two.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


25 of 26 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Not awful, but not great, either., 21 May 2006
By 
Davywavy2 - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)   
= Fun:3.0 out of 5 stars 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Rogue Trooper (PC DVD) (Computer Game)
I read the first issue of 2000ad when my brother bought it when I was 5. I started buying it for myself in 1981 and immediately my favourite characters were DR & Quinch, Judge Dredd, Strontium Dog and Rogue Trooper. I remember the enticipation every Saturday morning when my copy would be delivered with the papers.
When the Judge Dredd game came out a couple of years ago I played the demo and made the wise decision not to buy the game, but with the release of Rogue Trooper I couldn't help myself and splashed out twenty five sovs.
And...?
It's okay.
It's not the stinker Judge Dredd was, but it's not going to win game of the year.
The graphics are somewhat dated - it looks like the Quake 3 engine and, in the wake of Quake 4, Half Life 2 and Far Cry, it just looks a bit old. If the gameplay was good enough (like Jedi Academy) this can be overlooked but sadly that's not the case. There are some great little tweaks and innovations - your backpack (Bagman) can make you ammo, you can use your rifle (gunnar) as a senty gun and so forth, but there aren't any moments when the game grabs you and drags you in like in the aforementioned classics. As it is, you just run through the levels shooting the bad guys and nicking their stuff, much like many other games.
There's a huge backstory and history around the character, but the depth which the established comic character has is lacking, and at no point does the player really feel that they're actually involved in an all-or-nothing future war. If anything, it feels more like an episode of Splinter Cell with more gunplay and slightly worse animation. There are neither the hordes of troops you'd expect, nor the insanity of war so well drawn in the comic.
I might be sounding negative, but it's really not all bad. A fan of the comic character will get a lot out of it, but I'm not sure someone who doesn't know the background will as the backstory is only very loosely sketched.
Like I say. Not great, and not awful. Just very ho-hum. If Rogue Trooper had appeared on the shelves two years ago, it would have been hailed as a classic. As it is, it feels dated and surpassed by other games of the last twelve to eighteen months.
Another missed opportunity by the developers, and I can only hope that the promised Stronium Dog game delivers a corker.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A huge leap forward from Rebellion, 24 April 2006
By 
S. Burge "Pyroxian" (London, England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
= Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Rogue Trooper (PC DVD) (Computer Game)
I bought this on the day of release, and after playing it over the weekend it is a huge leap forward from some of Rebellion's more recent games. The AI can be a bit ropey at times, but I have really enjoyed my adventures on Nu-Earth.

The game offers you quite a bit of freedom in how you tackle the levels, you can go in with all guns blazing, or you can use your equipment to scout ahead and plan your tactics. You pick up salvage from defeated enemies and then use this to build new equipment for yourself, suited to what style of gameplay you prefer.

The game also offers co-operative play, but instead of letting you play through the main story-line, it offers you seven seperate missions ranging from a 'get to the exit' to 'defend the wounded GI for 5 minutes', which are great fun.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 9 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars well thats informmative !!, 18 April 2006
= Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Rogue Trooper (PC DVD) (Computer Game)
Having ACTUALLY played the game I feel in a pretty decent position to write a review!!Maybe that should be a rule !

Rebellion have really pulled it together for the big blue guy.I'm happy to say that fans of the comic wont be dissapointed, whilst people just interested in a decent shooter should defintely look beyond the brand!

Its a great game with many good features but i have to say i'm loving the co-op 4 player online

So fans of 2000AD you can breathe a little easier
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Rogue Trooper a Success!, 23 April 2006
By 
Michael Jones (Leicester, England) - See all my reviews
= Fun:4.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Rogue Trooper (PC DVD) (Computer Game)
After Judge Dredd I was very worried that this would also be a flop. However they have learnt from there mistakes and produced a very good game.

There are some wonderful options especialy with Bagman making equipment for you from the salvage found. I highly recommend playing this game.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Love the 3rd person camera, 26 Jun. 2007
By 
Fat man (in the toilet) - See all my reviews
= Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Rogue Trooper (PC DVD) (Computer Game)
From reading my title you know i like 3rd person view.

But it is backed by an interesting game story, fabulous weapons like the shotgun and explosives like mini mine which you can throw about 10 of them at once.

Another good point is the way you can put your dead team-mates into your gun, which helps you aim and it can be deployed to provide cover for you, helmet, so you can open otherwiswe in-accesabile doors and backpack, which can collect salvage from dead bodies and make into upgrades which you can buy, weapons, ammuniton or medi-packs.

The only fault i have is that when i was on the last level it didn't seem like it was the last level and as i played it i thought i was going to play a few more afterwards.

Overall a must-buy game!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Rogue Trooper rocks, 19 Feb. 2007
= Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Rogue Trooper (PC DVD) (Computer Game)
There was alot of thought put into this game i have to say. From the detailed backgrounds, to the characters. Very faithful to the orginal comics, to a dot surprisingly. Hardcore fans of the comics will love this game. A vast improvement on Eidos' Judge Dredd release and far more playable.

Highly recommended to any 2000AD, Rogue Trooper or Judge Dredd fans out there.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Rogue Trooper Game Review, 2 May 2006
By 
M. Larsen (UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
= Fun:4.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Rogue Trooper (PC DVD) (Computer Game)
A great game. This one will satisfy newcomers and fans of the comic alike. There is enough in the gameplay to draw in the uninitiated and plenty for the initiated to remember, compare and enjoy. The environment although not ground breaking in terms of graphics or detail, is sensational in terms of the atmosphere it generates, particularly the sfx. The game has really captured not only the gritty destitute polluted environment, but also managed to include enough touches consistent with the original strip to make the 2000ad fan feel at home, and constantly remember certain stories, characters, and weapons etc... The controls are akin to many a 3rd person shooter, can occasionally be fiddly when trying to turn round in a tight spot, but the depth of the story and character far outweigh any recently devised Halo type incarnation. The stories depth adds satisfaction to the tactical touches introduced to the game, Helm's Holographic decoy function and the autonomous sentry function of "gunnar" add an enjoyable and satisfying dimension. This game certainly stands up on its own, but even though it doesn't completely mirror the barren and lifeless environments that I remember Rogue storming around being a rock hard loner in (although I think it could have been quite difficult to create a game with one other character per chapter), it will be even more satisfying to Tharg's minions. A real tonic for those disappointed by Judge Dread Vs Death from the same label. In summary, lots of big guns, huge explosions, loads of different things to kill in various ways, absorbing environment and story. Fantastic sound reasonable graphics, standard controls and loads of geeky 2000ad artwork and file goodies to unlock. Only unknown is how big the game is as have only had it for 4 days.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Rogue Trooper (PC DVD)
Rogue Trooper (PC DVD) by Eidos (Windows)
£4.97
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews