Customer Reviews


79 Reviews
5 star:
 (50)
4 star:
 (18)
3 star:
 (6)
2 star:
 (3)
1 star:
 (2)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


8 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A Crackingly Good Rock Album
This Australian band's first album has all the hallmarks of a 1970s classic rock album. That is not a criticism but a compliment. What is more, if this album had been issued in the 1970s then it would in all probability been a great success, because it's that good. It's got guitar, organ, good vocals and is best heard loud. The songs are well crafted and...
Published on 25 Feb. 2006 by David Lusher

versus
7 of 10 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Too Much Hype
This is a good album but Wolfmother have had way too much hype & certainly aren't the saviours of Rock n Roll.

Let's start with the good points. The album's packed with raw energy which will make you want to crank the volume & ROCK. There are some really storming riffs & the high vocals really cut through & compliment the music beautifully. The production is...
Published on 15 Nov. 2006 by James N. R. Goad


‹ Previous | 1 2 38 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Massively refreshing, 13 Sept. 2007
By 
S. Wilkins (UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Wolfmother (Audio CD)
Buy it, put it on, turn it up and rock!! I bought this album after listening to just one track - Woman. It was a bit of a gamble but "WOW" did it pay off!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Cliches a go go, 26 Aug. 2006
By 
This review is from: Wolfmother (Audio CD)
It's not original, it's not progressive, but it does do one thing...ROCK!!!

I'm not generally one for cliches but this album makes me want to drive faster, throw my TV out the window and turn the amp all the way up to eleven!!!

It's loud, high tempo, unadulterated rock, which is what any good rock album should be. Instantly accessible to most but with crescendo's building throughout various songs (particularly White Unicorn), it does exactly what a great rock album should do, make you want to play it louder.

I can't wait to see these guys live.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


12 of 14 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars This is so retro, that you should be playing pong whilst you listen to this album, 1 Dec. 2006
This review is from: Wolfmother (Audio CD)
Oz rock trio Wolfmother are not original, they don't progress rock music in any way shape or forms.

But when every other rock band out there is trying to be supper serious and searching for new ways to rock, which is not a bad thing, but when a band like rock band comes out and just gives the public some meat and potatoes rock music, you cant help but like it.

"Woman", "Joker And The Thieve" wouldn't be out of place on any Black Sabbath record, the lead singer of the band, dose his best Ozzy Osborne impersonation on the aforementioned tracks.

Wolfmother wear their influences thinly on their sleeves, so much so that it borders on copyright infringement, but this is a record that wasn't designed to be taken overly serious, so it best not to, enjoy this record in the way it was designed to listen to, that beings no frills, brainless yet tremendously fun rock music.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Buy this album..., 7 Jan. 2006
By 
Gigs (Christchurch, Dorset United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Wolfmother (Audio CD)
A bit of sublimenal in your face advertising for the best rock record in a long while. Think Led zep, Early Sabbath and Deep Purple all mixed into a big pot and given a little extra.
From start to finish a balls out classic.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Into another dimension, 26 Mar. 2007
By 
E. A Solinas "ea_solinas" (MD USA) - See all my reviews
(HALL OF FAME REVIEWER)    (TOP 500 REVIEWER)    (REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Wolfmother (Audio CD)
New Aussie band Wolfmother are on the rise right now, with their retro hard-rock blend that is equal parts Black Sabbath and Led Zeppelin. Maybe a bit of Deep Purple thrown in for good measure. With influences like that, this band has a lot to live up to.

But in their self-titled debut album, Wolfmother proves that they are more than the sum of their influences. Their hard rock is murky, raw, and energetic, the sort of thing you can dance or mosh to, and their slower songs are still sharp and wild around the edges. This is definitely one for the fans of good rock'n'roll.

It opens with an earsplitting yell, and if you're not expecting it, it's sure to make you sit up and listen. It's followed by a crunchy, murky mass of hard rock with an otherworldly edge. After getting lost in the desert, "I had to write something down/And I found myself alone, and then I let go of everything/Into another DI-MEN-SION!" frontman Andrew Stockdale hollers.

Things steady out in the songs that follow, with Wolfmother exploring different kinds of hard rock. Yes, every kind I can think of. They dip into everything from steady bass grinds to hard psychedelica to catchy fuzz. And as they explore different sounds and styles, they manage to keep the same rough, wild edge in every song.

Wolfmother even dabble in quieter music in "Mind's Eye," a panoramic rock number with stretches of quiet, almost pretty music, and the closer almost sounds like a folk song at times. This band is in great form in these songs, which show the complexity of their music, but it sounds like the musicians are barely restraining themselves.

There's something almost larger-than-life about Wolfmother's sound, with their wild lyrics and wilder musical skills. That quality is the sign of a really good rock band. They have energy, they have skill, and while their skill leans on that whole Zeppelin/Sabbath sound, they sound fresh.

They also sound loud. These guys sound like they're testing the waters at times, which is the one drawback of "Wolfmother." But even in their weaker moments, they show that they have musical expertise in murky bass, sizzling guitar, and some wicked percussion.

Stockdale's voice is one that takes getting used to. At first he sounds thin and a bit nasal, and his vocalizing is kind of melodramatic. But as the album goes on, his voice will start to grow on you. He can really belt out those songs ("WITCH... CRAAAFT!"), but he can also sing in a more restrained manner. "If you listen to the sound within your mind/you may find the answer glowing in the tide..."

In their rough, raw debut albun, Wolfmother demonstrates that it deserves all the attention it's getting in the rock press. It's "colossal!"
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Wolfmother, 3 Feb. 2006
This review is from: Wolfmother (Audio CD)
Well i was introduced to the single by my friend and immediatley bought it on vinyl. I bought the album on its release and if your sitting hear reading this then your a fool!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!
Go buy this it's the best rock album since sabbath! really its that good! rejoice in the true form of rock at is best!!!!!!!!!!!!!!
Enjoy!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Wave your freak flag high!, 21 Jan. 2006
This review is from: Wolfmother (Audio CD)
If you dig Hendrix, Ozzy's Sabbath, Blue Cheer, Grand Funk, Mark II Deep Purple, Zepp, James Gang, Groundhogs or more obscure outfits like Leafhound and May Blitz then this Aussie power-trio's stunning debut could be the one you've been looking over your shoulder for! An out and out winner that delivers from start to finish. Opening track "Colossal", "Woman", "Dimension" (could easily be mistaken for a missing track from the Black Sabbath - S/T sessions - I kid you not!) and "Witchcraft" with it's Jethro Tull-esque flute are instant repeat play favourites. If you bought the earlier S/T EP and are worried that some of the tracks are duplicated on the album fear not these are re-recorded versions which somehow manage to add to the already impressive early recordings! Call it retro, call it stoner, call it whatever - this is just great solid rock'n'roll - the kind that Zepp made sound so easy!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Outstanding, 15 May 2006
This review is from: Wolfmother (Audio CD)
This album is a great rock album, i personally loved it on the first listen, it's got the retro feel which to me is cool, and the band are doing what they want to do musically, like any type of music if you like it you like it, if you don't then perhaps try something else. This band indeed in my opinion have their own edge to their music and it's nice and makes a change to hear this type of rock.

My opinion is if you like a bit of rock or black sabbath,led zep & vertigo label stuff or your taste is flexibe and goes right across the board (like mine) then do yourself a favour and buy this album as i think you will like it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Back To The Roots Of Rock, 9 Aug. 2009
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Wolfmother (Audio CD)
As a middle-aged fan of Led Zep, Black Sabbath, Uriah Heep, Hawkwind & many other rock bands that originated in the late 60s/early 70s, it's great to hear some youngsters paying homage to those great bands and coming up with an album which, if I didn't know any better, was some re-released obscure album from that same era.

This is a good album but not quite a classic album. As other reviewers have said, it's a bit repetitive in places (but then again, so were some of the great heavy psych/prog albums of the 70s) and the fusion of Robert Plant-type vocals with heavy & bassy early Sabbath type instrumentation doesn't "quite" gel with an old duffer like me. But then again, I paid less than a fiver for it on Amazon Marketplace and it's definitely worth that.

If you're a "hip young thing" reading this review, then definitely give it a spin and, if you like it, go and check out some early Sabbath and Zeppelin as well so you can understand the music your dad was listening to (and hopefully still is).

In a time when it's cool once again to listen to rock music, there's a wealth of new bands playing classic rock music and lots of good music to listen to - and alongside Black Stone Cherry, Wolfmother stand out from the rest of the crowd as two new bands who understand how to make good, loud and not taking itself too seriously rock music.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Gem of an album, 29 Dec. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Wolfmother (Audio CD)
After sifting though 100's of albums on here looking for something new I came across this. I have heard of the band, but can't recall hearing any of their stuff. It normally takes me 5-6 plays to get into a new album, but I was loving this by the second play! The negative comments on here are quite unfair, I think should you judge each album on it's own merit, regardless of the hype of the band or image. It has lovely guitar riffs and melodies. Their sound can be described as Supergrass meets The White Stripes meets The Darkness. Brilliant.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 38 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Wolfmother
Wolfmother by Wolfmother (Audio CD - 2006)
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews