Customer Reviews


6 Reviews
5 star:
 (5)
4 star:    (0)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


14 of 14 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars HomoSapien: Silver Anniversary
It's hard to believe that this album is 25 years old. The songs still sound remarkably fresh: fantastically funky, superbly melodic and irresistibly danceable. In the early 1980s Pete Shelley - still suffixed at the time with the soubriquet 'ex-Buzzcock' - was exploring avenues that would not be navigated by other writers and producers until the end of the decade. In fact...
Published on 19 April 2006 by L. Parkin

versus
1 of 3 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Glam rock with a linn drum
Awful!!
This a computerized and jangly guitar version of glam rock, its just awful, and its about as homosexual as a cowboy supper, minus the sausages!
Martin rushent, wonderful composer musician, its hard to know the intention with this one.
I like electronic music, but this is fart city, thank goodness the human league came along and showed us all how to...
Published 6 months ago by Leon and Susan


Most Helpful First | Newest First

14 of 14 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars HomoSapien: Silver Anniversary, 19 April 2006
By 
L. Parkin (Manchester, England) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Homosapien (Audio CD)
It's hard to believe that this album is 25 years old. The songs still sound remarkably fresh: fantastically funky, superbly melodic and irresistibly danceable. In the early 1980s Pete Shelley - still suffixed at the time with the soubriquet 'ex-Buzzcock' - was exploring avenues that would not be navigated by other writers and producers until the end of the decade. In fact he had been experimenting with electronic music years earlier, when the rest of us were still polishing our platforms. He is, therefore, the Godfather of British dance music.

All the usual Shelleyan themes are pored over here: broken hearts, broken promises, remorse, regret and self-doubt - but the high-energy tunes and foot-stirring rhythms prevent the descent into Morrisseyan navel-gazing. Lyrically this oeuvre runs the gamut from the deep ('I've been thinking: do we really have a soul?') to the saucy, to the light-hearted (anyone who can rhyme 'polar bears' with 'affairs' - delivered in a broad Lancastrian accent - deserves a medal in anyone's book.)

The high-brow cultural references add a touch of grown-up class, and - well, what's a few 1980s-style handclaps, between friends?

The cherry on this album's cake - despite the many fine tunes, and generous bonus tracks contained herein - is still HomoSapien, with its rumbling bass, coruscating guitar and heartrending lyric: 'And the world is so wrong that I hope that we'll be strong enough/For we are on our own, and the only thing known is our love.'

A quarter of a century on, Mr Shelley is still writing, and some of his best work is available for the first time on CD. The world can't be that wrong.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 9 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Buzzcocks meet the Human League, 15 Sep 2006
This review is from: Homosapien (Audio CD)
This album sounded outlandish when it first appeared; we revered the

Buzzcocks, and loved their witty sing-along punk pop, and were totally

amazed when Pete Shelley released what at first hearing appeared to be

simple synth pop. But he brought the wit, catchy melody, and bitter-sweet

charm that made the Buzzcocks so special to this solo album. Its hard --

really hard -- to understand why this wasn't huge when it was released,

particularly the title song, Homosapien. It's irresistable, surging along at

90 miles an hour -- you just have to go with it. Perhaps the campness

put off the punters? Who knows. In any case, this is strongly

recommended. (Oh, and I love the cover, with its state of the art

Commodore PET computer in the background... SO 1981!)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A Thing of Beauty....., 24 April 2006
By 
M. Edwards "mre_chalfont" (Bucks UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Homosapien (Audio CD)
Urgent, lovelorn and sparkling, only begins to describe what is essentially a unique album particularly given the date it was penned. Almost clairvoyant in it's combination of Pet Shop Boys-esque synth melody/"Pink Floyd meets New Wave" guitars. A little like a punk angels first foray into music heaven. I've been waiting for decades for this on CD and with the extras that only enhance the past glory reflections on listening, this becomes reborn anew and very welcome too. Perhaps Pete will have another go in between tours of the fabulous Buzzcocks revival, got to be tempting eh Pete?....:)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Homo Shelley, 28 Sep 2009
By 
D. J. H. Thorn "davethorn13" (Hull, UK) - See all my reviews
(TOP 1000 REVIEWER)    (VINE VOICE)    (REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Homosapien (Audio CD)
It's hard to imagine who would have been interested in this album other than Buzzcocks fans, and therefore no surprise that its sales were modest, given that Shelley leapt from guitar punk into synth-dominated, dance-oriented tunes. It's as if passing through 1980 required a complete musical makeover. After the brilliant title track, the signs are unpromising. The abrupt change in production techniques involved a level of polish that effectively rendered a lot of music sterile, as did ham-fisted drum programming. The second and third tracks consequently bear the characteristics of an artist going through the motions. After this, however, the album doesn't waste a track. 'Keats Song' has a lovely melody and is one of the stand out tracks.

What lifts the album generally, however, is Shelley's musical personality. He always was a bundle of nervous energy, and though the instruments are different, his songwriting remains intact. Titles like 'I Don't Know What Love Is' and 'Guess I Must Have Been In Love With Myself' are typical Shelley and it's easy to imagine The Buzzcocks performing most of these songs for their superb A Different Kind Of Tension (Special Edition) album. 'Pusher Man' is perhaps the odd track out, Shelley's attempt at aggression being somewhat comical. 'Just One Of Those Affairs' is spot on, however, and, like several tracks, features one of Shelley's memorable trademark guitar lines. The line, 'Don't mind the cat/He licks his paws and purrs' is a gem.

The bonuses are not really essential, but for all its occasional flaws, 'Homo Sapien' is buried treasure.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars A lesser-known gem, 16 Mar 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Homosapien (Audio CD)
I'd never even heard of this album until recently, when a DJ in the pub played the title track. It's instantly recognisable as Pete Shelley's voice, but the songs are broader in scope - and dare I say it, more interesting because of the synths and drum machines. Would thoroughly recommend this album to anyone, especially people who love late 70s / early 80s music.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 3 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Glam rock with a linn drum, 6 Jan 2014
This review is from: Homosapien (Audio CD)
Awful!!
This a computerized and jangly guitar version of glam rock, its just awful, and its about as homosexual as a cowboy supper, minus the sausages!
Martin rushent, wonderful composer musician, its hard to know the intention with this one.
I like electronic music, but this is fart city, thank goodness the human league came along and showed us all how to do it properly with rushents help.
I wonder if pete was a bit constipated during this one,
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Homosapien
Homosapien by Pete Shelley (Audio CD - 2006)
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews