Customer Reviews


25 Reviews
5 star:
 (20)
4 star:
 (4)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


13 of 14 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars KT Does it again!
Been waiting in eager anticipation for the next creation from KT and she's done it again, a second great album. If you liked 'Eye to the Telescope' then you'll love this, some great tracks especially the opening 'Ashes' making harmony out of discord, and the soulful 'Gone to the Dogs'. The clear acousics and KT's special flair coupled with great songwriting and singing...
Published on 5 Oct 2006 by Dr. A. P. Bridge

versus
5 of 8 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Unfinished Business
I can't help feeling that undue pressure was exerted on KT to follow up her brilliant 2005 Telescope album, resulting in a collection of half baked ideas, out-takes and alternative versions. To be fair, KT's voice has never been better, and the first 4 songs are strong enough, but after that it's pretty weak - notepad sketches instead of fully conceived canvasses - and...
Published on 18 May 2007 by Huck Flynn


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

13 of 14 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars KT Does it again!, 5 Oct 2006
By 
Dr. A. P. Bridge "Boz" (Belfast) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Been waiting in eager anticipation for the next creation from KT and she's done it again, a second great album. If you liked 'Eye to the Telescope' then you'll love this, some great tracks especially the opening 'Ashes' making harmony out of discord, and the soulful 'Gone to the Dogs'. The clear acousics and KT's special flair coupled with great songwriting and singing make this another inspirational album. Whey Kool KT! There's some nice footage of the making of the album in someone's living room and a couple of live songs on the DVD.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


17 of 19 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Unplugged and lovely, 20 Nov 2006
By 
John Ault (Edinburgh, Scotland) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)   
This review is from: KT Tunstall's Acoustic Extravaganza (Digi Pack) (Audio CD)
This is a great CD/ DVD combination. Incidentally, I think that you'll have to order this "Digi Pack" version to get the DVD. The CD is a mixture of songs off KT's "Eye to the Telescope" and other songs from her back catalogue, but recorded in live unplugged session style. The DVD includes a making off documentary, which gives background to why the recording sounds so fresh - they basically set up and rehersed one day, and recorded the whole album the next. All is someone's front room. This gives versions of songs that are much better than on "Eye to the T", which always felt a bit forced and over-cooked to me.

Interesting historical note - "Acousic Extravaganza" was the name that KT gave to the music nights she used to run in Edinburgh, when she was on her way up. And this recording is a return to a more natural, intimate style. And it lets her real tallent with a softer guitar playing style and voice come through.

One final note - the "parental advisory" only applies (as far as I can tell) to the first track, where one should indeed be advised. From track two on this is my five year old son's favourite bedtime music of the moment.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars My Favourite, 14 Jun 2007
This review is from: Acoustic Extravaganza (Audio CD)
Since I bought Acoustic Extravaganza, I must have listened to it a million times. It's absolutely wonderful. I can sing along while driving, dance to it doing the housework and cry listening to Boo Hoo and Golden Age. And the acoustic version of Universe and You deserves another million listenings.

If you liked "Eye to the telescope" you'll love "acoustic extravaganza".
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


16 of 18 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Best CD I have heard in a couple of years, 8 Oct 2006
By 
J. Lyne (Forres, Morayshire United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (REAL NAME)   
I found this CD quite by accident as I was browsing in a local store, and from the very first bar of the very first track I have enjoyed the whole album.

The songs have an almost jazzy feel to them, crossed with a bit of country and a bit of rock. And they all have plenty of feel... You know that KT means what she sings! There is a fantastic atmosphere to the album too - recorded as it was in someone's front room - which if you close your eyes makes you feel as if you are in a small smoky club and the artists are with you. This also gives the instruments just enough of a raw edge so that you know that they are actually being played as opposed to a machine doing the hard work. But the record does not sound under-produced because of this.

My only slight gripe is that at the start of a couple of songs they have left the sounds of the musicians chatting and getting ready to start the song. It is only for a couple of seconds on one or two of the tracks, and I suppose it was supposed to make the album sound even more acoustic. It was not necessary and comes across to me as a little pretentious.

The DVD is OK - it gives you a 20 minute insight into how the album was recorded. Quite interesting, but I would have liked to see a little more of the actual recording in progress.

But I can recommend this album to any true music enthusiast and anyone who enjoys quality music recorded by real artists.

Buy it, you will not be dissapointed.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Accoustic Extravaganza, 24 Dec 2007
By 
R. O. Mullis "Rob M" (Herefordshire, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Acoustic Extravaganza (Audio CD)
This is a remarkable album; and also a good DVD. Wonderfully creative and sensitive writing - KT has got to be one of the best contemporary musicians and song writers around. You hear something new everytime you listen to this.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A must for fans, 31 Aug 2006
By 
R. A. Cooper "racooper" (Southampton, England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Nice 10-track acoustic CD (only Miniature Disasters and Universe & U repeated from Eye To The Telescope), plus a DVD with a 20-minute Making The Album documentary, live versions of Gone To The Dogs and Throw Me A Rope and some outtakes.

A must for fans and worth considering for anyone who'd like another record from KT Tunstall. The DVD is nice but it's really a watch-once thing.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 11 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Best album I've heard for ages - KT does it again!, 10 Nov 2006
Having been very impressed with KT Tunstall's debut album, Eye to the Telescope, I had high hopes for Acoustic Extravaganza - which were well easily surpassed.

You'll notice that "Miniature Disasters" and "Universe & U" also feature on this album, despite being on the first. The reason for this, according to the included DVD, is that it was originally only meant to be a recording session (as a filler between Eye to the Telescope and her next album - due Q2 2007) for some early before-she-was-famous songs and acoustic re-recordings, which was only to be available from the website. However, it quickly became an album due to the popularity and online demand. The only true new song is Ashes, with all others being B-sides and older songs, all re-done with an acoustic feel.

I've given a quick run-down of the 10 tracks:

01 - Ashes: My favourite track of the album with a fantastic melody and a relaxed but up-beat feel.

02 - Girl and the Ghost: Similar feel to Ashes and One Day. It's quite repetitive but very catchy.

03 - One Day: A moody and powerful track with strong double bass and vocals.

04 - Golden Age - Quite a slow and relaxed piece, which is a nice contrast to the first few more up-beat tracks.

05 - Boo Hoo: Get it free from the KT Tunstall official website and see what you think.

06 - Gone to the Dogs: Another slow track, quite similar to Heal Over from ETTT

07 - Change: A nice melody and typically acoustic track - very relaxing.

08 - Miniature Disasters: Although this was on her first album, the acoustic version is so much better with more percussion and a stronger beat.

09 - Universe & U: Virtually identical to the original `Eye to the Telescope' recording, just with less backing and stronger vocals.

10 - Throw me a Rope: A bit more Katie Melua than KT Tunstall unfortunately. A nice tune, but a bit bland for the final track.

It's unfortunate that Ashes includes 2 instances of swearing, which doesn't really add anything to the song, and also leads to the album being branded with "explicit lyrics."

Altogether, it's a fantastic album with plenty for everyone. It has a unique style and is definitely one of the best CDs I've heard for a long time!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Four Stars, 3 July 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Ok.its different
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars good, 6 Jun 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
brilliant album, it feels like she's singing with her heart and soul, perfect soundtrack for a sunny afternoon, highly recommended
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars KT doing what she does best. A great CD of a great entertainer, 26 Nov 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: KT Tunstall's Acoustic Extravaganza (Digi Pack) (Audio CD)
KT doing what she does best. A great CD of a great entertainer. Surely a must for all KT fans...
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

KT Tunstall's Acoustic Extravaganza (Digi Pack)
KT Tunstall's Acoustic Extravaganza (Digi Pack) by KT Tunstall (Audio CD - 2006)
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews