Customer Reviews


24 Reviews
5 star:
 (21)
4 star:
 (3)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 
‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

10 of 11 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Magnificent!, 21 Feb 2007
By 
Nicholas Crombie "Flying Doctor" (United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This watch is astounding. When you first open the box, the size is daunting. The solid steel bracelet is clearly well made and solid steel - it feels like precision engineering. The orange face is clear, bright and vivid in colour. The luminous points contrast with the background and as you lift it up, the second hand starts to sweep in a smooth arc across the dial.

I was worried that it would never be wearable due to its size, but as soon as I put it on my wrist, it became a part of my arm. The offset winder (4 o'clock position) does not dig into my hand as many others do, the clasp is solid and feels very secure, the luminous points glow for well over 12 hours and are certainly usable all night and the weight is so well spread with the large strap that after an hour or so, you don't notice it on your arm.

The movement is good but not great - on my morning commute I always check it to the BBC 'pips' at 8am and it seems to gain about 5 seconds a day at the moment - I've had it a month now.

Lastly, the glass face is set in about 1mm below the bezel, which protects it from damage.

Overall, if you need a solid, no messing watch which makes a bit of a statement about your lifestyle, buy it!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Classic divers watch, incredibly good price from this seller, 30 Oct 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Seiko Men's Orange Monster SKX781K3 Black Rubber Automatic Watch with Orange Dial (Watch)
The Seiko monster is a true divers watch with quality that puts many higher status brands to shame. The accuracy and reserve power is stunning for the price.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars The Second Hand Problem, 16 Sep 2011
By 
iwannabeme (Carnoustie, Scotland) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Seiko Men's Orange Monster SKX781K3 Black Rubber Automatic Watch with Orange Dial (Watch)
I endorse the other reviews. Great watch for your , far cheaper & just as well manufactured as other makes 10 times the price, but it has one problem that
I haven't seen mentioned in other reviews.
FYI the second hand will not stop when the crown is pulled out to set the time. Research online indicates this is a feature of the watch & not a fault.
Just thought everyone should be aware of this issue.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


10 of 11 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars "Monster" value for money!, 19 Jan 2012
By 
Purple Ferret "TPW" (Harrogate UK) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)   
This review is from: Seiko Men's Orange Monster SKX781K3 Black Rubber Automatic Watch with Orange Dial (Watch)
The Seiko SKX781 (or "Orange Monster") has been around, along with its stable mate the SKX779 (Black Monster), for about ten years now, and in that time has become something of legend among certain circles. It is intended as an affordable automatic diver's watch, and internet research will demonstrate that it regularly appears in "top ten diver's watches for less than 250" listings.

What's the attraction then? - Let's start by saying that this is quite a big and heavy lump of stainless steel to carry on your wrist. Build quality is generally agreed to be good, and you certainly get the impression that this watch will be with you for a few years to come. The aesthetics are slightly different from the myriad of "Rolex Submariner lookalikes" available in this price range - Whilst the "black monster" is probably more conventional in it's appearance, the "Orange monster" is rarer in the European market and slightly harder (although not difficult) to track down. I understand that the orange face provides better visibility if you are using it underwater, if I'm honest I haven't been diving for a few years now, either way the orange certainly stands out from the crowd.

The uni direction lapsed time bezel is unusual in that it sits within the casing of the watch. It has a brushed finish with markings etched into it, and deep knurls to assist easy rotation when wet or wearing gloves. As with other Seikos I own, the bezel has a firm positive movement with 120 clicks per full rotation.

The heart of the watch is the "Seiko 7S26" 21 jewel automatic movement used in a few other similar models. It's a tried and tested movement, and whilst not as refined as those used in Swiss watches for ten or twenty times the price, its a rugged and reliable, if slightly bulky movement which is generally good for +/- 15 to 30 seconds a day. On this note, an automatic movement will never be as accurate as an electronic quartz one, but they are often favoured for diver's watches as the lack of need to replace any battery means that you don't have to constantly pay to have the seals renewed each time. Personally I prefer them anyway - there's something about an entirely mechanical set up in the same way that steam trains and classic cars appeal to many. The only downside of course is that because the power is provided by the motion of a small rotor inside the watch, which uses the motion of the wearer's wrist to wind itself up, if you don't wear it - it will stop. Typically, and in common with most automatics, this watch will give around a 40 hour power reserve from "full".

The watch is available on a bracelet or a rubber strap. Personally I'd pay the extra for the bracelet every time. It really is a good one, which receives acclaim in most reviews of this watch. It's comfortable, quiet, and compares very favourably with the bracelet on a couple of Omega watches I have, that cost several times the price.

Possibly the most striking feature of this watch is the lume. The markings are Seiko's "lumibrite", and the quality is outstanding. It is another feature which most reviewers are very impressed with, and easily the best of any watch I own (and there's a few). I think I can say with a degree of certainty that you will not find better lume at anywhere near this price range anywhere else... and possibly not at all!

In summary : A awful lot of watch for the money. A bit unconventional in many ways, and possibly not to everyone's taste in appearance... but it looks far better in the flesh than in photos I think. It is really well built, represents great value for money, is a bit of a legend in certain circles, and I would recommend it as a worthwhile investment for anyone wanting to spend less than 250 on a quality automatic diver that should last them many years to come.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Amazing Monster, 9 Jun 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Seiko Men's Orange Monster SKX781K3 Black Rubber Automatic Watch with Orange Dial (Watch)
Fantastic watch! it's extremley accurate mine is off by one second per day! Yes, you heard! ONE second! Not even my Omega Planet Ocean is capable to achive this kind of accuracy. Highly recommended.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great looks & durability from Seiko, 18 May 2014
By 
This review is from: Seiko Men's Orange Monster SKX781K3 Black Rubber Automatic Watch with Orange Dial (Watch)
This watch is great - bought it to replace a Lorus that broke after 10 years. Initally tried a Seiko Kinetic with a stainless steel bracelet, but ultimately wanted something that was durable for everything - from everyday wear, swimming etc, with an easy strap. This watch has it all - if I dive again, this watch will also be with me. Would highly recommend getting watch if you're after a great timepiece that's tough as well as looking good
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars seiko mens orange monster, 30 April 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Seiko Men's Orange Monster SKX781K3 Black Rubber Automatic Watch with Orange Dial (Watch)
the first watch did not work and had to be sent back and there\ was a delay and
a bit of a shop andpoor service but the next watch came and the birthday present was a big sccess
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Orabge beauty, 18 Oct 2011
This review is from: Seiko Men's Orange Monster SKX781K3 Black Rubber Automatic Watch with Orange Dial (Watch)
I love this watch its solid and feels and looks very expensive. The rubber strap is chunky and solid. Only down side no instructions came with it and the box is so poor i threw it away as it does not reflect the watch at all. Shame as i brought it as a gift, don't let this put you off a fantastic watch that stands out for the right reasons.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Seiko Orange Monster, 20 July 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Seiko Men's Orange Monster SKX781K3 Black Rubber Automatic Watch with Orange Dial (Watch)
The picture does not do this watch justice! The quality of this watch is amazing you will only really understand when you have it in your hands. If you are considering this watch then do yourself a favour and buy it, I did loads of research online before deciding on the orange monster and I really believe you won't be able to get a better quality automatic dive watch for the same price! Delivery from the supplier was great and was well packaged, the only very slight negative for me was the standard strap as just wasn't my taste but once you get a NATO on it it then looks even better!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 9 July 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Seiko Men's Orange Monster SKX781K3 Black Rubber Automatic Watch with Orange Dial (Watch)
I couldn't had been better!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Only search this product's reviews