Customer Reviews


7 Reviews
5 star:
 (4)
4 star:
 (2)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


21 of 21 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Fantastic - something for everyone
This is one of my favourite CDs and everytime I listen to it I fall in love with a different track. Jim Tomlinson and Stacey Kent never fail to please and the choice of title "The Lyric" is a useful way to describe Jim's brilliant sax playing. Stacey's timing and pace remain impeccable.

Corcovado has never sounded so beautiful - the perfect track to listen to...
Published on 1 July 2006 by Mr. Jason Eden

versus
2 of 8 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Predictable and derivative
Oh dear - more of the same from Jim Tomlinson. Don't get me wrong, he's a talented sax player of the old school, but why buy albums from a guy who sets out to sound so much like Stan Getz when you can better albums from the original artist?

Tomlinson and wife Stacey Kent have eased themselves into a comfortable role of churning out this easy listening kind of...
Published on 17 Oct 2009 by Jl Adcock


Most Helpful First | Newest First

21 of 21 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Fantastic - something for everyone, 1 July 2006
By 
Mr. Jason Eden (London, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: The Lyric (Audio CD)
This is one of my favourite CDs and everytime I listen to it I fall in love with a different track. Jim Tomlinson and Stacey Kent never fail to please and the choice of title "The Lyric" is a useful way to describe Jim's brilliant sax playing. Stacey's timing and pace remain impeccable.

Corcovado has never sounded so beautiful - the perfect track to listen to when lounging on your sofa very late on a summers night with a cooling breeze coming through your windows.

If you don't get a lump in your throat when Stacey sings "What are you doing the rest of your life" then....you need to listen to it again.

For more upbeat, singalong tracks, go for "Cockeyed Optimist" and "My heart belongs to Daddy".

Listen to this album and enjoy this album.....and then go and see Stacey and Jim perform live and you'll know why they sell out!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


25 of 26 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars The Lyric - a lyrical treat for your ears., 18 Mar 2006
By 
J. D. Naylor "jazzfan" (England) - See all my reviews
(TOP 1000 REVIEWER)    (REAL NAME)   
This review is from: The Lyric (Audio CD)
This is a highly enjoyable laid back album with the husbnad and wife team of Jim Tomlinson and Stacey Kent taking centre stage here.With this album Tomlinson and his band do more than just provide backing music for Stacey's vocals with Tomlinson playing some mellow Getz like tenor solos and David Newton contributing a few nice swinging piano solos.Kent doesn't possess the most powerfull of voices but,as always,puts what she has to the best possible use here using that sweet natured swinging style to great effect.The main focus i guess is on the Bossa Nova style tracks which were made so popular by Getz and get the smooth mellow treatment on this album also.For good measure there are some standards like "Stardust" and "If i were a bell" to add some variety.All in all this is a really pleasant and enjoyable album and am looking forward to seeing this band performing this material live.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Chill-out jazz, 1 Mar 2009
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Lyric (Audio CD)
If you want to listen to music that makes you want to relax and enjoy, then this is the cd for you. Jim Tomlinson's sweet sax and Stacey Kent's gorgeous cool voice give new songs and classics a fresh, crisp treatment. Just listen to Stacey's melting interpretation of the classic "What are you doing the rest of your life" and you realise why she is one of the top female jazz singers around.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars perfect, 13 Sep 2007
This review is from: The Lyric (Audio CD)
Quite simply, this album is perfect. Stacey has a lovely light voice which isnt at all intrusive, but has the ability to stop and make you listen. I bought this album for myself, listened to it and have now been buying it for other people.

If you are a fan of Stacey or Jim, this album is a must!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Jim tomlinson & Stacey kent - The lyric, 2 Oct 2010
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Lyric (Audio CD)
Superb Jazz album - have had this in my car for over 12 months and play it all the time. Especially love " If I were a Bell" and " Cockeyed Optimist" - Stacey has such a wonderful voice.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars FANTASTIC CD, 3 Mar 2009
By 
I. Oakes (KENT) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: The Lyric (Audio CD)
This is a marvellous CD and I received it promptly from the seller. An excellent service and very satisfied.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 8 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Predictable and derivative, 17 Oct 2009
By 
Jl Adcock "John Adcock" (Ashtead UK) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (TOP 1000 REVIEWER)    (REAL NAME)   
This review is from: The Lyric (Audio CD)
Oh dear - more of the same from Jim Tomlinson. Don't get me wrong, he's a talented sax player of the old school, but why buy albums from a guy who sets out to sound so much like Stan Getz when you can better albums from the original artist?

Tomlinson and wife Stacey Kent have eased themselves into a comfortable role of churning out this easy listening kind of jazz that will please loads of us - but it just doesn't go anywhere. There are only so many saccharine ballads you can listen to at a time - and if you've got one Jim Tomlinson album -with "guest" Stacey Kent, or any one of her own albums - then you've pretty much got them all.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

The Lyric
The Lyric by Jim Tomlinson featuring Stacey Kent (Audio CD - 2006)
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews