Customer Reviews


32 Reviews
5 star:
 (20)
4 star:
 (7)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:
 (2)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Improvement on the previous design
This is the updated mount for the Garmin 705, which looks like it should address the weaknesses of the previous design. Specifically, the locking tab has been beefed up a bit and everything is just more solid-feeling.
Published on 15 Jun. 2011 by Amazon Customer

versus
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Garmin 705 mount
Does what it says, mounts your edge 705 to the bars.
These mounts are a necessary evil as you must use them to hold the Garmin on your bike.
They are however absolutely useless. and don't last 5 minutes.
Thank goodness Garmin had the good sense to re-design these for the 800 series.
Published 14 months ago by Trevor Kelly


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Improvement on the previous design, 15 Jun. 2011
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Garmin Handlebar/Bike Mount for Garmin Edge 705/605/205/305 (Electronics)
This is the updated mount for the Garmin 705, which looks like it should address the weaknesses of the previous design. Specifically, the locking tab has been beefed up a bit and everything is just more solid-feeling.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Better than the orignal mount, 25 July 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Garmin Handlebar/Bike Mount for Garmin Edge 705/605/205/305 (Electronics)
Purchased for a second bike, so I can easily swap the Garmin over without having to remove the bracket as well.
The retaining clip for the GPS is far better than the one that came in the original packing.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Garmin 705 mount, 23 Dec. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Garmin Handlebar/Bike Mount for Garmin Edge 705/605/205/305 (Electronics)
Does what it says, mounts your edge 705 to the bars.
These mounts are a necessary evil as you must use them to hold the Garmin on your bike.
They are however absolutely useless. and don't last 5 minutes.
Thank goodness Garmin had the good sense to re-design these for the 800 series.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Better than previous design, 23 Sept. 2010
By 
Mr. David Hanley "dch59" (Swindon England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Garmin Handlebar/Bike Mount for Garmin Edge 705/605/205/305 (Electronics)
Had to replace one of my original Garmin bike mounts after the plastic lever used to release the unit from the mount broke off.
The original mount was always a very tight fit and needed quite a bit of pressure to both connect and dis-connect with the Garmin unit. I always had to give it a little extra push to make sure that the locking tab had fully engaged with the Garmin 705.
This new design has a little more tolerance built in to it, and the unit goes on and off a lot easier, but is still a snug fit. Hardly any pressure is needed to slide the unit in place with the locking tab and it slides off with ease too.
Much better design from Garmin now that it's just the one piece, and no need for the seperate adaptor for either handlebar or stem fitting, but still very pricey for a simple lump of plastic even at Amazon's bargain price.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Garmin Edge cycle mount, 19 Nov. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Garmin Handlebar/Bike Mount for Garmin Edge 705/605/205/305 (Electronics)
I purchased this in order to attach to a second bike. The quality I found to be inferior to that of the original one i purchased for my first bike, in that the tab release broke off in a matter of weeks. Whereas with my original mount the tab lasted a couple of years before breaking. I still use it as it still holds the Edge in place, just not locked in place. It is easy enough to attach to the stem and holds the Edge unit away from the headset. I have found lately that over rough ground the unit can turn itself off. I don't know if this is due to either a faulty unit or that the shock on the unit having attached it to the stem is too much for it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Garmin Edge 205 mount., 13 May 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Garmin Handlebar/Bike Mount for Garmin Edge 705/605/205/305 (Electronics)
My original mount broke but this replacement was identical to the one supplied by Garmin so it was no problem to assemble and holds the 205 securely. Very pleased, it does the job.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Garmin edge 705 replacement bracket review, 14 July 2010
This review is from: Garmin Handlebar/Bike Mount for Garmin Edge 705/605/205/305 (Electronics)
Had my garmin mounted on my bike for about a year before noticing the original bracket become loose. Nothing could be done to fix as it was actually broken. This was just down to a flawed design really. But with the new bracket there are few parts to it so less chance of things breaking. Also the unit is much sturdier which is always good. I actually think the mount angle is a lot better because i can view the garmin fairly easily while im standing on the pedals. All round im very impressed by it so far, and would recommend it to you - if only garmin got the design right in the first place.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars No problems after two years use, 17 July 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Garmin Handlebar/Bike Mount for Garmin Edge 705/605/205/305 (Electronics)
It holds my Garmin edge securely enough. It raises the garmin high enough so that it it is higher than the stem end plate, so I don't think there should ever be a problem with your stem length being to short for a garmin (I only mention this because someone raised this to me a possible problem).
The plastics are of good quality and it does feel unbreakable. So why only 4 stars? Simply that the use of cable ties means that you need one per bike....perhaps my own fault for having so many bikes!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars very reliable, 8 Oct. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
garmin stuff is great. fits extremely well and not had an issue. would never buy anything else. keep it up
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Better than the original, 26 April 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Garmin Handlebar/Bike Mount for Garmin Edge 705/605/205/305 (Electronics)
I bought my Garmin 2nd hand & the mounts it came with seemed 'plasticky' & brittle, but that could just be down to age. The new one seems more robust & was simple to fit. Pricey though, hence only 4 stars.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Only search this product's reviews