Customer Reviews


 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


132 of 137 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars great fun for everyone
i finally agreed to let my son have a DS for educational purposes (i knew i would cave in at some point and this was a very handy excuse). We bought the Brain Trainer and the Big brain academy at the same time. Both games are great but the Big Brain academy attracts the children straight away.

The bright colours and pictures sucker them into learning without...
Published on 16 July 2006 by R. Thorn

versus
32 of 34 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars A nice brain training game, but if you want the real deal stick with Dr Kawashima on this one
Since the Ds has become one of the fastest selling game systems ever developers have gotton crazy over this "Casual gaming" malarky and started creating games for the casual gamers who play games for less than 15 minutes at a time. With brain training games no exception to this new movement.

Well the tasks are more colurful and easier on the eye than the...
Published on 10 Sept. 2007 by James Petford


‹ Previous | 1 2 311 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

48 of 55 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars good, but not great, 13 July 2006
This review is from: Big Brain Academy (Nintendo DS) (Video Game)
Like the title says this game is good but not great. There are 15 mini games on it in which you test your ability to: Think, Analyse, compute, memorise and identify. Sadly, there are only 15 mini-games (3 for each category.) As you could imagine this therefore brings the playability of it down. Don't get me wrong though, it is a great game and worth £15 because the games on there are fun and you are constantly attempting to better yourself. The only problem is it get's old quite quick, so if you do get it don't overplay one day, you'll just be sick of it the next day.

Overall, i'd say that this is a good game but there are not enough games to it, so instead of this i would say go for brain training.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great fun - recommended, 4 Aug. 2009
By 
Pendleton Girl (Buckfastleigh, Devon, UK) - See all my reviews
= Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Big Brain Academy (Nintendo DS) (Video Game)
I am playing both this and Dr Kawashima's Brain Training games and I like them both for different reasons. Dr K's game is more 'professional' looking and has the brain age grading system, but I find Big Brain Academy is more fun to play, and as a result I tend to play it more frequently - at least once a day whereas with Dr K I will skip a few days here and there. With Big Brain Academy, the colourful presentation of the test is stimulating in itself, as are the cartoon-like characters used in the game with a touch of humour (note how when playing the game where you have to draw a line to make the animals meet up, romance sometimes blossoms!)

As a previous reviewer said, the game may look easy but it isn't, especially the further you go in the round, and the ticking countdown adds to the pressure! The highest mark I've managed so far is a 'B' - I want an 'A'!!!! I think most young people would enjoy playing this one more than Brain Training, although both are very good indeed. Recommended.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Big Brain Academy - its okay., 15 Aug. 2012
= Fun:3.0 out of 5 stars 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Big Brain Academy (Nintendo DS) (Video Game)
I bought this game second hand off Amazon so it did not come with any manual and the cartridge itself was very tatty, with the sticker mostly scratched off. However the game works fine. It is not as sleek as the original Brain Trainers, and for some reason the appearance of the little character of the Professor is to me, not a pleasant one. The games themselves are moderately fun but this has not gripped me the way other games I have bought are, it will pass 15 mins or so but no matter how awfully I do or how far my "brain weight" is away from the norm, it tells me I am doing great. Very odd. This game just has not appealed to me since receiving it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Simple, Easy Fun!, 31 Oct. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Big Brain Academy (Nintendo DS) (Video Game)
Big Brain academy was first released on DS years ago and entertained many people by being a simplier - yet more fun - version of Dr Kawashima's brain training. This one is suitable for kids and sets tasks to the player such as remembering sounds, figuring out a simple water and pipe puzzle, or computing some hard maths. This game is fun and easy to play - and even challenging for both adults and children alike.

The graphical features come in child-like illustrations and I think this is what put most adults off; let me say, that when this was first released, I imported it from Japan and had a ball. My nieces and nephews loved playing this game. I even brought the English version a few weeks ago from Amazon as the game is great fun to play and I had unfortunately lost my previous version.
The game features 5 sections - such as compute (mental problems) and memorise (memory puzzles) - and you are rated in these sections by 'weight' (bare with me).. these weights are then added together to give you a total weight and grade on your brain and its performance. You are then graded on this weight - and given a shiny medal to show off on your profile. Sme fo the problems to solve for platinum medals are also hard!

This sounds ever-so-familiar with the likes of the 'training' series and Kawashima's games on DS, but I have always preferred this version. Even as an adult, I still haven't gotten all of the platinum medals, and the game is good for a quick 10 minute blast - when on short commutes or even (sorry!) on the toilet.

This game was great on release and is great now, ad for the price, you can't really go wrong! If you enjoy taxing brain games, and if you have children to join the ride - I would recommend this as its fun, cheap and simple to play.

Good stuff!

4****
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars professor wormy's academy on the go, 8 Jan. 2008
By 
Su (England) - See all my reviews
(TOP 100 REVIEWER)   
= Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Big Brain Academy (Nintendo DS) (Video Game)
I thought this was going to be childish, especially when I saw the cartoon worms on the case and on the opening screen, but I was wrong. Some of these training puzzles are really difficult. It is one of a plethora of "brain" games that were released after the success of Brain Training.

You start by registering as a student in Professor Wormy's Academy (his name is Dr Lobe, but he's been called "Wormy" that long it seems wrong to call him "Lobe").

Once registered with the Wormy Academy you can choose to play "practice" games or you can throw yourself into the "test" to see what score you get. Wormy recommends starting with a test so that you can see how "big your brain is" and then watch it grow (or decrease) over time.

The "Practice" takes place over 5 areas of brain activity, each area has 3 types of "training" which are divided into easy, normal and hard.

* Analyze
- missing link - join the dots
- cube game - count the blocks
- animal lines - match the pattern

* Compute
- coin-parison - which group of coins is the largest
- add agency - touch 2 groups that equal the top total
- written maths - read the question and enter the answer

* Identify
- shadow shift - match the image with the moving shadow
- get in shape - use the shapes to build the image
- matchmaker - find the pairs

* Memorise
- sound bites - replicate the sounds by touching the correct symbols
- flash memory - memorise the numbers and symbols
- memo-random - memorise images

* Think
- heavy weight - which weighs the most
- path finder - using one connection help an animal meet its friend
- bone yard - feed the dog a treat

As you play you qualify for medals from bronze for the lowest ranking, through silver to gold for a score over 250g. It is the awarding of achievement medals along with improvement in the test, which keeps people playing.

The "Test" selects one "game" from each of the 5 main areas and, starting with the easiest moves up and down the scale of difficulty depending on if you get the answer right or wrong. At the end of the 5th test area Wormy will give you your brain weight total, then grade and finally what "job" that grade is associated with.

This "job" allocation can cause some laughter - a C grade can be equated to Sherlock Holmes and a C+ is given as a Michelangelo, whereas a B+ is a road sweeper, and so on. To be honest the job selection seems to be somewhat random.

The "verses" section is great fun. This is one of the games were you only need one cartridge for 2 or more people to play. You can download a temporary file to your friends who are in the same room as you and play against each other to see who scores the most.

Scoring on all sections of the game (single play, testing, and verses) all score on a mixture of accuracy and speed.

The game allows you up to 4 profiles so you can use one cartridge between a family or you can have multiple profiles for your self.

I like mixing things up and playing the games from hard to easy rather than easy to hard. The objective is to fill the spider's web and it is not an easy thing to do, but trying is fun.

If I could have added one more thing it would have been a relaxed play mode; something which wasn't against the clock, but that's just me.

Big Brain Academy has a great selection of games; and they are games which I have returned to over again since I first received it. Thoroughly enjoyable and recommended to anyone who likes puzzle games and the likes of Brain Training.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Good but not as good as the Brain Training games., 27 May 2009
= Fun:3.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Big Brain Academy (Nintendo DS) (Video Game)
Big Brain Academy trains your brain with 5 different categories which are think, memorize, analyze, compute and identify. It seems to be aimed more for children then the Brain Training games with it's simpler tasks and cartoon characters. If you have the two Brain Training games and want some more of the same type of thing then yes it's worth buying.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars good game to keep the brain going, 17 April 2012
= Fun:4.0 out of 5 stars 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Big Brain Academy (Nintendo DS) (Video Game)
as in a previous review, i get bored easily, so not too addictive. good though, graphics not brilliant but god enough. thinking it would be easy i gave it a go, but does get harder,which was quite surprising. giving you five choice of expertise,
identify,memorize etc, there is an easy,normal and hard level. good to keep the brain going each day,.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Big Brain Academy, 4 Sept. 2012
= Fun:4.0 out of 5 stars 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Big Brain Academy (Nintendo DS) (Video Game)
Bought this for my 8 year old son. Wasn't sure what to expect. Very pleased with it - arrived quickly and in good condition (even though 2nd hand). We have all enjoyed it as a family - our son is trying to beat his mum and dad and almost succeeding! Recommend this as a different DS game from the usual.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Challenging and fun, 3 Jan. 2008
= Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Big Brain Academy (Nintendo DS) (Video Game)
I have this game as well as Brain Training (first one), and would say that overall, this game is more challenging and probably the better out of the two.

After getting gold medals in every catagory, I then discovered that there's a platinem metal to be won too, which restarted the challenge again, and after 3 months, I'm still enjoying it!

The "test" is much harder than on braintraining (I got aged 20 on my first attempt of braintraining and found it far too easy, with nothing to benchmark and improve on), and it requires you to perform well in all 5 categories. After weeks of getting C+ and B-, I've finally got an A, although I believe there might be an A+ too, so I'm still trying.

The only downside is that after a test, it doesn't show you individual scores in each category, so you don't know how close this was to your practice score.

I would recommend this to anyone who finds the first braintraining game too easy.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great for kids and adults - win medals as you improve, 15 Dec. 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Big Brain Academy (Nintendo DS) (Video Game)
What a fab ds game for the kids and parents to participate together to win medals, different levels for the kids to work their way through...helps with shapes, money, memory weight etc. improve on your brain score, it's fun to try.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 311 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Big Brain Academy (Nintendo DS)
Big Brain Academy (Nintendo DS) by Nintendo (Nintendo DS)
£7.79
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews