Customer Reviews


99 Reviews
5 star:
 (45)
4 star:
 (35)
3 star:
 (15)
2 star:
 (2)
1 star:
 (2)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


131 of 135 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars great fun for everyone
i finally agreed to let my son have a DS for educational purposes (i knew i would cave in at some point and this was a very handy excuse). We bought the Brain Trainer and the Big brain academy at the same time. Both games are great but the Big Brain academy attracts the children straight away.

The bright colours and pictures sucker them into learning without...
Published on 16 July 2006 by R. Thorn

versus
32 of 34 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars A nice brain training game, but if you want the real deal stick with Dr Kawashima on this one
Since the Ds has become one of the fastest selling game systems ever developers have gotton crazy over this "Casual gaming" malarky and started creating games for the casual gamers who play games for less than 15 minutes at a time. With brain training games no exception to this new movement.

Well the tasks are more colurful and easier on the eye than the...
Published on 10 Sep 2007 by James Petford


‹ Previous | 1 210 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

131 of 135 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars great fun for everyone, 16 July 2006
By 
R. Thorn (Belgium) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
= Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Big Brain Academy (Nintendo DS) (Video Game)
i finally agreed to let my son have a DS for educational purposes (i knew i would cave in at some point and this was a very handy excuse). We bought the Brain Trainer and the Big brain academy at the same time. Both games are great but the Big Brain academy attracts the children straight away.

The bright colours and pictures sucker them into learning without them realising it and suddenly they are very eager to find out who has the heaviest brain amongst friends and family. As a parent you can see them improving every time they use it and they take pride in every gram of brain weight. An added bonus for us was that it is multi-lingual, so my son can practice in both of his languages and also in the French that he is learning at school.

But its not just for the children. We bought the DS and the first day of our holidays and by the end of it we were all hooked! A great buy that the children will love to try and beat you at.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


126 of 131 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars More fun than you'd think., 12 Sep 2006
By 
kingg (London, UK) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)   
= Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Big Brain Academy (Nintendo DS) (Video Game)
I greatly enjoyed Brain Training for the DS but was concerned that this would be more of the same. I've had it on import for a few months now and it is truly a great game. It's a lot more fun and less serious than Brain Training. You are spurred on to play more and more to get bronze, silver and gold medals (you can then try for the extremely-hard-to-get platinum medals). This is not a game you'd play for hours on end like New Super Mario Bros. or Castlevania, it is for short bursts of play when you get the urge to test your brain or beat your friends/family.

Multiplayer is just brilliant - a real laugh playing with just 2 or 3 people - it can only be better with up to 8!

Seriously, if I could only have one game for the DS, it would be Big Brain Academy.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


175 of 184 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Very enjoyable, 14 Aug 2006
= Fun:4.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Big Brain Academy (Nintendo DS) (Video Game)
I disagree with the previous reviewer who thinks that this game is more suitable for under 10s and not for adults. I recently bought a DS to take on holiday with a group of mates (all in our twenties and thirties) and this game proved to be a massive winner with everyone. There are five categories (think, identify, memorise, calculate and analyse) and each category has three individual and varied challange games. The games are good because they don't only rely on mathematics but require a variety of skills and an all round intelligence is required togain a good overall score. The games may appear simple at first but get deceptively tricky as you get deeper into the game and the time limit makes even the coolest heads panic. Getting a top score requires patience, practice and no little skill and getting a good score allows significant bragging rights to fellow gamers. Getting a poor score can be humiliating and lead to a burning need to play again and prove to everyone that you're not as stupid as the game implies.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


24 of 25 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars addictive for adults or kids, 1 Nov 2007
= Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Big Brain Academy (Nintendo DS) (Video Game)
I got my DS as a treat for my hols & really fancied the puzzles rather than midless gaming.
It stores several peoples scores so you can share it with family members or mates & see who is the "brainiest" amoung you...its quite addictive & competition can soon break out as everyone wants to increase their score. I definitely wouldnt say its easy to complete & after a few goes you will have "completed it all"...I have played with this an awful lot & getting gold medals in the different categories is no mean feet....its very interesting to see how different each persons brain works...some of the tasks i am brilliant at & some i just cant do properly no matter how hard i train!
this is great fun for adults & children alike...definitely i would recommend it
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


50 of 53 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Classic Nintendo DS Game, 3 May 2007
By 
J. Drawmer (Rotherham, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
= Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Big Brain Academy (Nintendo DS) (Video Game)
Fun, addictive and it does actually train your brain!

This game isn't about easy or hard, puzzles or adventures, you're simply training your brain. Classic IQ test style with different activities to test different aspects of your brain - and you'd be surprised how addictive it is to beat your previous!

The use of the touchscreen is brilliant; using the top screen usually as a guide to what to do on the touchscreen, pressing correct answers or drawing lines in correct places.

Firstly you can select from 1 of 4 game profiles. This is the only negative i would put against this game, as I've already found the want for more, and having to delete a friends profile to start up another - but don't let that put you off... Having selected your profile you can dive straight into a test, or practise at the 5 different sections being tested (identify, think, memorize, analyse and compute)... There are 3 completely different activities per section that, when you come to do a test, are selected at random.

When you're attempting a test, you will have 60 seconds to complete as many as mini-tests within a section as possible; and the difficulty of the mini-test gradually increases as you get more correct.

Having completed all 5 sections, you will then be presented with a weight for your brain, calculated from your performance in all 5 sections; a grade, and a profession to compare your brain to.

This is a great game, and you'll soon be performing hundreds of test after one another, just hoping for that game you know you can perform at, to peak your score that little bit more!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


32 of 34 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars A nice brain training game, but if you want the real deal stick with Dr Kawashima on this one, 10 Sep 2007
By 
James Petford (Stourbridge) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (REAL NAME)   
= Fun:3.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Big Brain Academy (Nintendo DS) (Video Game)
Since the Ds has become one of the fastest selling game systems ever developers have gotton crazy over this "Casual gaming" malarky and started creating games for the casual gamers who play games for less than 15 minutes at a time. With brain training games no exception to this new movement.

Well the tasks are more colurful and easier on the eye than the Dr.Kawashima counterparts but not as well executed. If you want some proper brain starting games, then get the Dr's games as they are superior in most respects.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


55 of 59 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Big Brain Academy - buy this for Christmas, 9 Dec 2006
= Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Big Brain Academy (Nintendo DS) (Video Game)
Excellent fun for all the family, my daughter (8 years old) got this for her birthday... I caught my wife sneeking it off to play in bed, my son (3 years old) can do some of the easier puzzles. The sounds and graphics (although simple) will be ringing in your ears way after Christmas. Watch out though, if you close it down in the middle of the game you can lose all the users' statistics (as my son did!). Great fun - buy it now!!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


38 of 41 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The Best of all the Brain Training Games, 23 May 2007
By 
Jastan (Gravesend, Kent) - See all my reviews
= Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Big Brain Academy (Nintendo DS) (Video Game)
If you had to buy just one of this ever increasing genre, then I can definatly recommend this game over all the others. Why..???

1. Despite many people saying it has 'childish graphics', the game does boast 15 different challenges (under 5 catagories). And within these, 3 levels of difficulty. Thus giving you 45 training sessions when in practice mode (achieving bronze, silver, gold and even platinum medals depending on how high (brain weight) you score).

2. You are tested in each of the 5 cataories to give you your final brain weight plus a grade.

3. Best of all is the multiplayer (single card as well!) mode, where up to 4 players can download and challenge each other to see who has the heaviest brain.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


74 of 82 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Great Potential but Not Enough Games, 29 Nov 2006
= Fun:4.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Big Brain Academy (Nintendo DS) (Video Game)
Big Brain Academy for the Nintendo DS is a lot like Brain Age. It's a collection of puzzles designed to test and stimulate your intellect.

While we enjoy Brain Age, it has numerous issues. You only get 'scored' on each game once a day. The number of games is REALLY limited and many of them can get maxed out within weeks of playing. How much fun is it to get straight 5s on Head Count hard, with no chance of ever improving? I was really happy, then, when Big Brain Academy came along. While it still doesn't have nearly as many games in it as it should have, at least it has a wider selection.

In Big Brain Academy, you're not fighting for a low brain age (which I always found to be an EXTREMELY questionable goal). Insead, you're working towards a "big" brain which is much better. There are puzzles split up into five areas - thinking, memorizing, analyzing, computing and identifying. Each area has 3 games, with multiple difficulty levels. So that's 15 games total. You're already far ahead of Brain Age with that quantity, plus the difficulty levels too.

You can practice as much as you want, aiming for a gold medal in each game at each difficulty level. As you go, you fill up a 'brain graph' - a pentagon that shows which areas you're best at. When you're ready, you do the actual test.

The test randomly chooses a game from each of the 5 areas and sets you at them. It's on a timer, so you do as well as you can within that time limit. At the end, your total brain weight is calculated. This isn't of course "real" - it is more a general scale to show how well you're doing. It also gives you a "type" of brain you have based on what you did well in. Someone who does really well in computing is called a "calculator" - while someone who's great at memorizing and thinking is a "museum curator".

The puzzles are simple but fun. They're the type of puzzles that young kids would enjoy but that adults would find entertaining as well. Traditional things such as memory games, box counting, shape recognition and more are the norm here.

Just like Brain Age, this game shares the problem of INCESSANT CHATTER from the "helper". You have to go paging through numerous completely meaningless messages to get through some areas. They really need to get a handle on that for future releases.

I'm still baffled why they can't have 6 games per area, instead of 3. At least this is a huge step up from Brain Age in that area, but still, there should really be far more games included in the set. It would really help to make this an excellent game, instead of a fun game that has a limited lifetime of enjoyability.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


28 of 31 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Love it, 9 April 2007
By 
C. A. Parker "Chris Parker" (Manchester, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
= Fun:4.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Big Brain Academy (Nintendo DS) (Video Game)
I got a DS lite of my stepson as payment for an IOU. It came with Tombraider which I tried but struggled with the touch screen. However this is a whole different ball game. Its easy to get into, addictive, fun and the touchscreen adds to the game as opposed to hindering it. Even my 70 year mum found it addictive, and she is as technically illiterate as they come. The kids who say its easy must be whizkids as I have only managed a C grade so far.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 210 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Big Brain Academy (Nintendo DS)
Big Brain Academy (Nintendo DS) by Nintendo (Nintendo DS)
£8.10
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews