Customer Reviews


261 Reviews
5 star:
 (103)
4 star:
 (88)
3 star:
 (44)
2 star:
 (15)
1 star:
 (11)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


74 of 75 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Addictive, accessible and great value
A very addictive experience and one that anybody who can read and count will enjoy. It's less unique now then it was a year ago because of the glut of similar titles inspired by it's success. But the original Brain Training still stands tall as one of the best games on the market today.
Through short daily activities and personal performance statistics Brain Training...
Published on 15 Nov. 2007 by Amazon Customer

versus
72 of 78 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Gets a little tedious
This is fun for about 3 or 4 weeks. Then it gets to be tedious on account of:

1. Dr Kawashima repeating his little "jokes" and tips ad nauseum.

2. As stated by previous reviewers, there is difficulty in the device recognising the word "Blue" or sometimes "Four" which skews the results. Instead of "Four" I shouted another similar sounding four letter...
Published on 6 Sept. 2006 by Ahmed E Cohen


‹ Previous | 1 227 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

74 of 75 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Addictive, accessible and great value, 15 Nov. 2007
= Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Dr Kawashima's Brain Training: How Old Is Your Brain (Nintendo DS) (Video Game)
A very addictive experience and one that anybody who can read and count will enjoy. It's less unique now then it was a year ago because of the glut of similar titles inspired by it's success. But the original Brain Training still stands tall as one of the best games on the market today.
Through short daily activities and personal performance statistics Brain Training soon has you hooked. As you improve you unlock new games which give more variety to play.
The game really comes alive with 2 or more players. There's no wifi multiplayer, but players have their own files in the game which automatically compares performance stats and pictures. Perfect for a competitive family!
My only criticism is that you can get bored with the games after a month or so. But having said that, most full price games I've bought have only hooked me for about a month and loose a bit of sparkle after that so at the budget price that Brain Training retails for you can't really loose.
This is one of the only games that has instantly grabbed everyone I've have ever shown it to, right across the age range. Every family with a DS in the house should get a copy and this game is one of the reasons to own a DS in the first place.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


122 of 126 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Surprisingly entertaining, 22 Jun. 2006
By 
Henry Stanley "henryaj" (United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
= Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Dr Kawashima's Brain Training: How Old Is Your Brain (Nintendo DS) (Video Game)
I must admit, having heard about Brain Age (the US title of Brain Training) some time ago, I wasn't immediately interested. It seemed to me to be nothing more than a 'mini-game'; something frivolous and not to be taken seriously, all the more so when you notice it is priced at a lower point than other DS games.

However, suspending disbelief I purchased a copy to play with on my new DS Lite and was stunned at how good it is. Firstly, you must have your 'Brain Age' calculated, which involves completing a Stroop Test -- that is, coloured words appear and you must speak their colour into the microphone. Sounds easy? You'd think so, but it really isn't. When the word "Red" written in blue comes up, you have to say "blue". Surprisingly tricky. The voice recognition works almost-perfectly, slightly hiccupping on the word 'blue', but working very well other than that.

After that, you must perform small daily tasks that constitute your 'brain training'; tasks such as Calculations x 20 in which a series of small mental arithmetic puzzles appear on screen and you must work them out and write the answer on the touch-screen, which is then transcribed for you. Again, quite boring-sounding, but doing it against the clock -- and against your previous record -- is more fun than you might think. And the handwriting recognition works a charm too.

Other functions include the built-in Sudoku, not particularly well-integrated with the 'brain age' daily training (it forms more a separate add-on game) but still very worthwhile nevertheless. I found it far easier to use than doing a sudoku on paper, not least because you can easily write in miniature 'suggestions' in the corners of blank squares and delete them later on.

All-in-all, this is an excellent game to add to anyone's DS. It's charming, easy to pick up; you can play it with friends or family (it can link up with up to sixteen other DS units with just one game card) or just do a sudoku on your own. And -- more amazing than any of these things -- it makes maths fun! Scary stuff.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


143 of 148 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars The cure for being dumb, 25 Nov. 2006
= Fun:4.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Dr Kawashima's Brain Training: How Old Is Your Brain (Nintendo DS) (Video Game)
I decided not to rush with my review of "Brain Age: Train your brain in minutes a day!" A lot of media outlets did a cursory look at the game, threw up a review, and moved on to a new one. We did something a little different here at U-Wire, we took a test subject, me, and put the game to work. Do the tests really improve your "Brain Age?" Do you have noticeable improvements in mental functions from using the game? How many syllables are in the phrase, "Thank you Mario, but the Princess is in another castle?"

In 1994, Rykta Kawashima wrote a book entitled, "Train Your Brain: 60 Days to a better brain." The book met with some success in Japan, and garnered the attention of Nintendo, who reportedly was looking for an educational title to release with the DS. In the game, a polygon version of Kawashima guides you as you do your daily training or play Sudoku. The doctor is an interesting MC of sorts that livens up the game with Yoda like advice after each exercise. You can also get him to glare at you or laugh out loud by talking into the DS's microphone. And if you missed some of Kawashima's saint like advice, each tidbit is saved in the options menu for later viewing.

At first I thought "Brain Age" would be a burden to add to my day-to-day activities. The thought of having to play a game every day for a possible pay-off was not appealing. But now I can't go a day without picking it up and doing some training. And that is the beauty of "Brain Age." It doesn't require a time commitment, and you can pick how much time you want to spend playing it. This game also has you covered both ways, if you like instant gratification, you can try to top the best record in an exercise, or if you stick with it for the long haul, you can chart your progress on graphs and open up new features such as Triangle Math, Voice Calculations, and Time Lapse.

I do have some complaints about "Brain Age" that would normally prevent me from purchasing a game like this. During the Stroop Test and Voice Calculation, despite you saying the correct word, the system's microphone does not always hear you. This is frustrating if you're highly competitive and don't like to get wrong answers for something you did right. If you have poor handwriting, sometimes the game will record something you entered as wrong, or not record it at all, which is very damaging when all of your activities are timed. I can't tell you how many times I've wanted to toss my DS during Word Memory, when I tried to enter words but the system wouldn't understand my handwriting.

These annoyances can be over come. You can skip word memory by holding select at the "Brain Age" test menu, and if you limit the noise around you and speak clearly, the system is more likely to record the correct answer when you speak. I would suggest sticking with "Brain Age." I've noticed an improvement in my handwriting since using "Brain Age," and I've observed my brain age drop from seventy to a twenty-three over one month of training. While some scientists have issued reports attempting to disprove Kawashima's studies, I believe that regular use of Brain Age has kept me sharp over what has been a lazy summer vacation. For example, I've always been horrible with telling people how many syllabus were in a phrase, but now I nail that specific exercise every time after a month of training. While geared for non-gaming adults, Brain Age is great fun and engaging for everyone despite some of its flaws. If you're looking for a gift for your family, or a going back to school present, "Brain Age" comes highly recommended
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


11 of 11 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars An amazingly addictive game..., 1 Jan. 2007
By 
D. Martin "DpMDpMDpM" (Sheffield, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
= Fun:4.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Dr Kawashima's Brain Training: How Old Is Your Brain (Nintendo DS) (Video Game)
I bought this for my girlfriend for Christmas - not to indicate she's a bit thick, not at all - but I figured she'd love a Nintendo DS really and figured that two games would be perfect for her - the Nintendogs and this.

I must say that this is the one she likes the best so far - she's 27 (nearly 28) and has been going in to the game every single day to see if she's improving. She's obviously getting used to the DS at the same time, but her brain age is currently sitting around 30 (so she's got a bit of work to do) - although she has been as low as 24 one day. The game can hold data for a number of people and one of the best things is that it allows you to compare and contrast your brain age (and a variety of other little surprises) with the other contestants... like how you all drew a Koala from memory.

The games themselves can be quite challenging - there are little tricks to doing well at some of them, like head count. She is amazing at the Calculations x 20 and Calculations x 100 regularly getting a Flying Speed result. There is a good split between memory, mathematical, logical and verbal testing... I must say I find it amazing that such a little DS like this can quite ably recognise several voices and styles of handwriting. The game is totally responsive and the only snag is the chattiness of the host.

Linking this up to another DS will open up new areas of possibility I am sure... and that's where we'll be heading soon. Oh, before I forget - the extra Sudoku games are a real bonus - amazing fun working your way through these - I must've been one of the few people in the country who hadn't played Sudoku before - now I'm hooked, thanks to this game.

Annoyances... few really... but I would like to be able to have another go at doing my brain age rather than being limited to once per day. It is quite obviously the case that sometimes I've not gone into the game in the right frame of mind and have ended up with a brain age of 47! Most embarrassing!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


11 of 11 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Entertaining, interesting and useful, 2 July 2006
By 
= Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Dr Kawashima's Brain Training: How Old Is Your Brain (Nintendo DS) (Video Game)
This 'game' has been very well thought out and makes the process of "improving your brain age" a lot more fun than it first sounds. It keeps track of your progress via a profile (the game can handle several profiles, so different members of the family can use it without interfering with each others records) and rewards you for doing your 'training' daily by giving you a stamp for each day. You can track your progress over the days via graphs and statistics.

The activities themselves adjust to your skill level so they're never boring. Activities that sound like they may be tedious (such as doing 100 calculations!) pass quickly enough, and the more fun activities make up for them. Like any game, you find yourself wanting to beat your best score and that's a real motivator. Progress in the games unlocks new games and possibilities, and this happens at about the right rate.

The sudoku is a nice addition. There are a large number of puzzles of several levels to complete. I would suggest that if you like sudoku then this title is worth it for this function alone.

Multiplayer looks like it would be fun but I have not had a chance to try this yet. The game also supports download play if you have DS-owning friends who don't own it.

The only minor criticism I have is that sometimes the game doesn't recognise what you write correctly, which is frustrating when it thinks you've got an answer wrong! However, with a small amount of practice you can get the hang of what it expects to see (although I find 8's a it tricky sometimes). You just need to write everything as large as possible and that usually works.

All in all this title should have a long life and is well worth the asking price.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


59 of 62 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Really good, 30 Jan. 2007
By 
N. Briscoe (UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
= Fun:4.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Dr Kawashima's Brain Training: How Old Is Your Brain (Nintendo DS) (Video Game)
I got this a few weeks back and can honestly say I never thought Id enjoy doing sums and stuff but I really do. Its fun to try and beat your own scores and make new records. The suduko bit is great aswell (I only learnt suduko when I got this, have never bothered before). The only annoying bit is that sometimes the microphone doesnt pick your voice up properly in the bit where you have to say the colours of the words- this lead to my brain age being about 53!!!

Apart from that though, its really good. And I have speeded up loads in answering the sums since I got it. You get to draw pictures aswell which is quite fun.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 8 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Does it make you smarter? I dont know, but it sure is fun, 10 July 2006
= Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Dr Kawashima's Brain Training: How Old Is Your Brain (Nintendo DS) (Video Game)
Dr.Kawashima's brain training is a very unique 'game' although it is more like a edition of pocket puzzler than a game, basically the Dr asks you maths questions, puzzles and thinking games etc. and at the end depending on how well you did he will tell you the age of your brain. Although the target is 20 the first time i played it was 60, Cripes! After a while i whittled it down to a respectable 27. Even though you can only do the age check once a day there are always the quick training puzzles and 'sudoku' (that game Carol Vordaman always goes on about) which will keep you occupied for a while. Overall i would say this game is a good deal for the budget price of £16, if you think you will like this game, go for it. You hardly have anything to lose
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Superb competitive fun, 28 Jun. 2006
By 
a.k. (London, UK) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)   
= Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Dr Kawashima's Brain Training: How Old Is Your Brain (Nintendo DS) (Video Game)
Let Dr Kawashima become your personal brain tutor! This is such a fun and addictive title, the premise is that with 'training' you can improve your brain's performance, this is indicated in-game by how old your brain is, with 20 being the goal. You are scored on how fast you complete tests which include basic arithmetic, observational skills, speed reading and memory tasks. The more training you complete the more tests you unlock, Dr Kawashima likes you to train each day and becomes upset if he doesn't see you.

Once you're familiar with the tests you can check your brain age, although the test where you have to speak the colour of words (e.g. the word 'red' in yellow text) is flawed as the speech recognition doesn't seem to like 'blue'. I'd recommend skipping the test by telling the Dr. that you're not in an environment where you can speak.

There's also Sudoku challenges, which seems a bit of a bolt-on but it's there for whoever enjoys them.

The game really picks up if you have multiple people playing it, each with their own profile. The competitive element comes to life with league tables on each test, there's also the 'picture gallery', where you have to draw an object e.g. a fire extinguisher, with your efforts displayed alongside those of the other players, it's more fun than it sounds!

This is an excellent value title with lasting appeal.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Great brain exercise for adults, but not so great for kids, 6 Oct. 2007
= Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Dr Kawashima's Brain Training: How Old Is Your Brain (Nintendo DS) (Video Game)
The game consists of mostly mental maths and reading activities.
It's good and addictive in that if you are competitive you will play this regularly to keep your brain age down.

The voice recognition is an interesting feature but not always accurate.
The handwriting recognition is better but frustratingly usually lets you when speed is of the essence.

I assumed that the training programs would vary depending on age but unfortunately this was not the case. The reading aloud program contained words like 'punctiliously' and this was a bit much for my 6 year old.

It's a shame the game is labelled as 3+. Although if your child has the ability it is great for the speed maths, I would give this game a age 10+ rating since it would be much more suitable for older kids. Although some aspects can be done by younger kids, it is not a game for them to enjoy fully.

Overall an interesting fun way for adults to exercise their brains!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


38 of 40 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Stunning Fun & Development, 22 Aug. 2006
By 
= Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Dr Kawashima's Brain Training: How Old Is Your Brain (Nintendo DS) (Video Game)
I bought this as my grandchildren had them, with Mario and Dr. Kaw ... Brain Training. It helps "use it or lose it, brain maintenance for us oldies - 55 plus..." and believe me it is terrific not just the daily training but also SUDOKO is actually great fun this way (from a once cynic!!!) Provides hours of endless fun, every night, and still I am not at the top of the all the software facilities ... Ideal on long journeys or boring TV evenings
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 227 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Dr Kawashima's Brain Training: How Old Is Your Brain (Nintendo DS)
£8.49
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews