Customer Reviews


17 Reviews
5 star:
 (14)
4 star:
 (2)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


44 of 44 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Live performances rule...
It was about time that Stereophonics released a live album. After a successful 2005 with their latest album, and a heavy, tour-intensive year, it should have been expected that they would release a complete live show on CD. In a way, it's good that they waited till now, because this album contains some of their best material.
Although live tracks have been...
Published on 15 Mar 2006 by Mr. J. WARE

versus
4 of 25 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Once a pub band, always a pub band
Kelly Jones has a great voice and past albums have shown what a class song writer and arranger he is. I really looked forward to this as a huge fan and was impressed when I saw them twice on the tour but this album, like LSVO was a huge let down.
Put it like this. This album and Kelly's current typical valley's 'inverted snobbery' attitude is similar to turning up at...
Published on 3 April 2006


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

44 of 44 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Live performances rule..., 15 Mar 2006
By 
Mr. J. WARE "wolvieware" (London) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Live From Dakota (Audio CD)
It was about time that Stereophonics released a live album. After a successful 2005 with their latest album, and a heavy, tour-intensive year, it should have been expected that they would release a complete live show on CD. In a way, it's good that they waited till now, because this album contains some of their best material.
Although live tracks have been released as B-sides on their singles, this album gives you the whole Stereophonics concert experience, and the band are on form.
After getting a preview listen of the album thanks to a friend in the business, I can tell you that I have never heard the band so energeticised or talkative. The album doesn't cut out the band's banter with the crowd, and Kelly Jones reveals himself to be a funny guy. And I'll be first in line to buy a copy when it's released.
The band are on fire, revelling in their latest hits like Superman, and Pedalpusher, while waiting till the fianle to show off their greatest work, Dakota.
But the old stuff also gets equal billing here, with Bartender and the Thief and A Thousand Trees really rocking the house. Although disc two does slow the tempo down a bit with I'm Alright, and a sneak preview of their new work in the form of Jayne.
This two disc set is sublime, and endlessly listenable. Without a doubt, Stereophonics have hit their stride in the last year, and really are the best thing in music at the moment.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


15 of 15 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Live From Dakota, 29 Mar 2006
This review is from: Live From Dakota (Audio CD)
The essence of music is hearing it live, being there in the raw and stripped down, honest environment to hear the songs you heard on the radio played like they were meant to be.
A live performance is always an interesting and engaging experience, the familiar becomes unfamiliar, the sound takes on a very different form and the CD you have in your car just doesn't do what you just heard justice.
Of course this only counts if the band are great live, and it's safe to say Stereophonics are one of the best live acts in the business. They are a band with experience on the road, touring from the early stages of their career and not stopping since, they have the talent to produce immense performances in front of the biggest, and smallest of crowds, without ever disappointing.
I have had the fortune of seeing each of the bands albums toured and always wanted the live experience repeated, that feeling, that sound and those songs, so I could re-live it over and over. It has been a long time coming, the rumour mill started back in 2001 after the release of JEEP, now it's here, the 'Live' album.
It is always difficult to capture the essence of a live performance, it never lives up to the memory, but I'm glad to say Live from Dakota is a flawless representation of the Stereophonics live experience. Noise spills out in raptures, drums cascade out of the speakers and Kelly Jones' vocals resonate in the ear drums more than ever, close your eyes and you're in the crowd.
From the opening track Superman, taken from the bands return to form album Language. Sex. Violence. Other? the album cracks on at a steady pace covering the wide range of material written by front man Kelly Jones back in 97 up to the present day, ending on the superb single Dakota.
Along with recent releases sounding better than the album ever could, there is 'meat and two veg' rock and roll served up in the form of early classics, Thousand Trees, Local Boy and B-Side, Carrot Cake and Wine, and boy does it taste good. Stereophonics have faltered with previous releases, JEEP and You Gotta Go There to Come Back, but track choices from both albums sit perfectly in the repertoire showcased on this album.
The timing of this album is perfect, Kelly Jones has finally harnessed his voice to his full potential and his guitarmanship is never short of impressive, not sharp as a tack, but loose and rocking. The installation of Javier Weyler on drums adds potency and a new found energy, with Richard Jones on bass providing cool only bass players can.
Live From Dakota succeeds in providing fans with a live experience that you only get from a gig, this album is less a prequel to a best of, and more a snapshot of a band at their best. If you are looking to buy an album, forget the latest indie band because you can't do better than this.
Stereophonics have always sounded at their best live, with stripped down and dirty guitars, drums and a bass, and not forgetting Jones' roaring vocals, they are a rock and roll band, and rock and roll is best served live.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent live album, 10 Dec 2006
This review is from: Live From Dakota (Audio CD)
When you first listen to the album, you are confronted with an awesome introductory track of 'Superman' that is arguably better than their studio version. Throughout the live album you hear there best songs performed live to a fantastic level.

A must for Phonics fans, and for any music lover - especially those who understand and appreciate excellent live performances. It is excellent value for money and comes on two discs - brilliant.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Stereophonics Live Album A Must Buy!, 22 July 2009
This review is from: Live From Dakota (Audio CD)
"Live From Dakota" is a fantastic album. From the choice of songs right down to the actual performance. The guys are in great form and the recording itself is superb. If you have ever seen the band live, this album will transport you back to that gig all over again! If you haven't seen them live....well, you are in for a treat. If you only ever buy one Stereophonics album, make it this one.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Stereophonics Live from Dakota, 27 Mar 2009
By 
Sandra Ellis "toon fan" (Newcastle upon Tyne) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Live From Dakota (Audio CD)
I didn't know much about this band until a friend gave me a ticket to see them in Newcastle last December - someone else dropped out through illness. They absolutely blew me away and are fantastic to see live. Hence I love this album. I have bought all their other CDs but there is something about listening to them live that I just love. Stick this on your Ipod and it makes going to work that much easier!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Top CD from The Stereophonics, 11 July 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Live From Dakota (Audio CD)
Brilliant Cd just what I expected from the Stereophonics
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars One for the wife., 20 May 2014
By 
John Crooks (Northern Ireland) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Live From Dakota (Audio CD)
I can't say much about the phonics as they are my wife's favourite band, and I only know a few of their songs and my one personal favourite is A Thousand Trees. I got this CD after it got tickets as and anniversary present last year (2013) for her to see them live for the first time and in a proper concert hall. Any other gigs where from other low key bar and club gigs with other known artists. It was worth every penny and she enjoyed every single bit of it and me too I must say. So got this for her as a wee reminder of the concert and nearly the same set list of songs played and a great live CD, but was told to give the Phonics a 5 Star rating, well she is the boss she says, its a hard life for hubby's to please the wife.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Top Album, 6 Jan 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Live From Dakota (Audio CD)
Another great album from Stereophonics showing just how good they are at live performing. I've been lucky enough to see them perform live on 6 occasions and this album is as close as it gets
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars It was very good, 27 Nov 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Live From Dakota (Audio CD)
Love Sterophonics -- the Live CD Album was just excellent choice to have made. Am gald I was able to purhase the CD.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Stereophonics album review, 2 July 2013
By 
J. Richards "J.Richards" (Tipperary Eire) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Live From Dakota (Audio CD)
Top album the stereophonics at there best one of the best live acts around if you are a fan of these boys then this is a must album.
Jean Richards
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Live From Dakota
Live From Dakota by Stereophonics (Audio CD - 2006)
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews