Customer Reviews


26 Reviews
5 star:
 (11)
4 star:
 (11)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:
 (2)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


8 of 8 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Raking in the plaudits
This album caught me a little off guard. I brought it on a whim and now I have had it for a couple of months. Just recently the penny dropped, and I now get it. There is a certain quality that surrounds this band that I like. Sounding a bit like the Clash and the Jam in the sense that there is a anti-establishment streak in them which certainly has endeared them to...
Published on 20 Oct. 2005 by M. Speller

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars Nothing special; you've heard better and you've heard worse.
Run of the mill indie stuff. Nothing special; you've heard better and you've heard worse.
Published 7 months ago by Mr. Stuart Holloway


Most Helpful First | Newest First

3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Very Very Good Album, 23 Aug. 2006
By 
S. Johnson "spamsam_est1990" (Leicester) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Capture / Release (Audio CD)
The album starts with a cracking song 'Strasbourg' which is one of the best on the album. Very listenable and i just can't wait to play it again which, in a way, is a bad thing because i'll get bored of it quickly!

Definately worth buying...

Great album. Better than any indie pretenders like the Kaiser Chiefs and I just want to say quicly that you can't take advice from anyone who thinks that Franz Ferdinand are a indie band as that's insulting.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars More of the same please, 13 Jan. 2011
By 
This review is from: Capture / Release (Audio CD)
Capture/Release is a fun shouty post punk/garage album. All the songs are decent, with 'Strasbourg' being not only the stand out track but a good song in it's own right.

If you like the genre, and bands like Arctic Monkeys and The Jam this is worth a listen.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 10 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Very good, 20 Aug. 2005
By A Customer
This review is from: Capture / Release (Audio CD)
This isn't groundbreaking by any stretch of the imagination - sounds like Franz Ferdinand, Bloc Party and The Strokes thrown into a melting pot - but they are good songwriters with an ear for a great melody and a memorable hook. Strasbourg's a very lively opener, and the chorus to Retreat is an utter belter. 22 Grand Job, Open Book, Terror and Work Work Work (Pub Club Sleep) are also short sharp blasts of post punk mayhem, with killer hooks. A bit of variation in style and pace from the breakneck disco-punk style wouldn't have gone amiss though.
Maybe it might ring true that if you live outside of London (or indeed, the other big cities of Britain) you might not appreciate this album as much, and you might think we have enough Razorlights and Libertines clones telling the rest of England of the experience of living in London. If you can get past the well trodden Cockney regionalist path, and the lack of originality, then this album is a real gem. This album was produced by Paul Epworth, who has overseen the brilliant Maximo Park debut album (a serious must have album) and Bloc Party's Silent Alarm.
Maybe lacking that bit of individual style to garner the same sort of hype generated around bands like the Kaiser Chiefs and Hard Fi, but definitely worth a listen, and more or less worth the very high rating of 9 out 10 dished out by the NME. Music to get hammered and pull mingers by.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars BUY ELSEWHERE, 30 Dec. 2012
This review is from: Capture / Release (Audio CD)
This album is a mustttttt have!!!!! But I recently brought it for £1 in poundland.. with the same 'extra tracks'!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Good but not Great, 6 April 2006
This review is from: Capture / Release (Audio CD)
I'd been hearing good things about The Rakes so I thought "what the hey" and just bought the CD without thinking twice. When I listened to it though, I wasn't bowled away by it. Yes, the guitars are sharp and the lyrics witty but they just don't sound... all that different to the other indie bands that have already made an appearance in the last few years.
Don't get me wrong, it's a good album (hence the four stars up there!) but I was expecting to completely fall in love with it, and I haven't. Perhaps it's my fault for having high expectations...?
Anyhoo, I didn't mean to sound this negative when I started typing! For me, there are no tracks that stand out completely because they're all as good as each other. Which is good, by the way, just not outstanding. I would advise you to buy this album, just don't expect too much from it!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Nothing special; you've heard better and you've heard worse., 25 Aug. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Capture / Release (Audio CD)
Run of the mill indie stuff. Nothing special; you've heard better and you've heard worse.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars brilliant, 25 May 2006
By 
E. Baker - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Capture / Release (Audio CD)
I bought this album because my friend recommended it to me, i really didn't think it was anything special at first. However, i gave it a couple of listens and there is nothing not to like about this album, the vocals may at first seem dull, but once you really listen to this album every song comes alive. In my opinion The Rakes are one of the best bands to emerge from 2005/6. If you liked this then also buy The Young Knives.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 5 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Mainly filler, 17 Nov. 2005
By 
This review is from: Capture / Release (Audio CD)
After the excellent singles 'Strasbourg', 'Retreat' and 'Work Work Work', I was looking forward to this album. Unfortunately those are the only good tracks on it. Debut single (recently re-released) '22 Grand Job' is OK, but the rest is very disappointing. Worth getting only if you haven't already bought the singles.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great album, 20 Feb. 2007
By 
Paul O'brien "Paulo77" (london, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Capture / Release (Audio CD)
This album opens with three brilliant tracks in 'Strasbourg', 'Retreat' and my favourite '22 grand job'. Full of energy and witty lyrics it does tend to tail of a little in the second half of the album but then redeems itself at the end with 'Work, work, work' and 'All too human'. Definitely buy it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars basil faulty meets ian curtis...strange but true!, 15 Aug. 2005
This review is from: Capture / Release (Audio CD)
After hearing Retreat I instantly fell in love with The Rakes... They are now officially my new favourite band. Okay that does change on a monthly basis these days, but as far exciting new bands go, The Rakes are superb. I saw them at Edinburgh liquid rooms a few weeks ago, they were amazing. Considering I only knew a couple of songs they really grabbed me by the crown jewels and didn't let go for the full set... After buying the album this morning and listening to it continuously I can say that yes they do deserve a 5 star rating. As for the lead singer, he is sooooooooooooo funny. It actually is a cross between the king of comedy Basil Faulty and the king of crazy dancing Ian Curtis combined which make this front man someone you cant take your eyes of. So get the album and definitely go and see The Rakes, you wont regret it. Farewell.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Capture / Release
Capture / Release by The Rakes (Audio CD - 2006)
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews