Customer Reviews

14
3.9 out of 5 stars
5 star
5
4 star
3
3 star
6
2 star
0
1 star
0
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
on 16 October 2010
I have to say that I really enjoyed the second annual New Years Revolution, where every single match was a pleasure to watch and I didn't even get bored of the matches that were on the match card.

Match of the night for me had to be the elimination chamber match for the WWE Championship which involved John Cena vs Shawn Michaels vs Kurt Angle vs Carlito vs Chris Masters vs Kane. This match delivered excitement where nearly every competitor had a taste of the brutal elimination chamber, Shawn Michaels was one of the six competitors who felt the wrath of the chamber. It was good to see John Cena pick up the victory to retain his WWE championship, but that was about to change when Edge cashed in his money in the bank briefcase. We had another WWE championship match where Edge got what he earned and that was the WWE championship, which he put straight around his waist. So overall a good elimination chamber match with a shock of the first ever cashing in of money in the bank. *****

Other Matches I liked
1. Big Show Vs Triple H ****
2. Trish Stratus vs Mickie James *****
3. Ric Flair vs Edge ****

Overall this was an enjoyable PPV, which made me really happy, when I bought the PPV yesterday and have seen the elimination chamber match at least twice already, a must buy for any WWE fan.
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoSending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again
Report abuse
VINE VOICEon 16 December 2013
Overall, New Years Revolution is a very good WWE PPV. You have a good mix of match-ups and storylines, a pumped up crowd and some great writing; this is marred a little by a slightly underwhelming main event. However, the night is full of exciting developments, entertaining matches, and great performances all round for the wrestlers, so really a strong event to start the year on.

INTERCONTINENTAL TITLE:
Rick Flair vs Edge

Flair was reaching the point where he could no longer perform in-ring in 2005, but he shows that he still has fight left in him here. A good back-and-forth contest with some nice variety and a believable ending. Nothing special, but solid nonetheless. ***

WOMEN'S TITLE:
Trish Stratus vs Mickey James

This represents another development in the most thought out womens' storyline in years, so going into it the crowd is unusually excited, as was I. Both women are accomplished wrestlers, and put on a great match here. The storyline goes on to even bigger and better things, but was certainly bolstered by this strong performance. ***1/2

Jerry "the King" Lawler vs Gregory Helms:

Unlike Flair earlier in the evening, Jerry is definitely past it. And as much as I like him on commentary, and as a person, I can't enjoy the match. The typical youth vs experience cliche is wheeled out here, even if Helms is practically a veteran himself by 2006. Disappointing. *1/2

Triple H vs Big Show

I'm not normally a fan of Triple H or Big Show, but they put on a real exhibition here. Big show has a broken hand in a cast, which means he's effectively taking a weapon into the match. This angle is well played upon and fleshed out, and really elevates the match. Selling is some of the best I've seen from both sides. A very entertaining match. ****

Shelton Benjamin vs Viscera

Shelton comes out with his mother, who was insulted by Viscera early in the night. And you certainly won't forget she's there, as she's constantly shouting out to "her boy". Thankfully, this is better executed than it sounds, and leads to a number of amusing quips from King (who has returned to commentary after his match). Unfortunately, the action itself is dull. **1/2

GAUNTLET BRA & PANTIES MATCH:

This is here to get the audience into a jolly mood so that the elimination chamber can have maximum impact, and is executed well to this effect. Equal parts sexy and humour are used, which is entertaining, but not really wrestling. *1/2

ELIMINATION CHAMBER MATCH FOR THE WWE TITLE:
John Cena vs Shawn Michaels vs Carlito vs Chris Masters vs Kurt Angle vs Kane

Masters and Carlito have a plan going into this: team up and take out everyone else. And this idea is well developed and plays out very believably. Carlito is most impressive here, taking most of the heavy bumps and maintaining a quick pace, and Angle is also on stellar form. Unfortunately, the match overall is paced too slowly for me, and I don't feel the chamber was used to it's full potential. That said, there are a number of surprises in everything from the eliminations to the moves used to the aftermath. And it s these twists and turns that make the match worth watching. Great story, underwhelming action. ***1/2

In the extras, you get a few interviews, but that's it. I still don't understand why they don't just stick the dark matches in here - which on this DVD would mean Chavo Guerrero vs Gene Snitsky. So the extras aren't worth buying the DVD for, but the event is. There are some great matches on the card, and some excellent writing too, which make this a solid buy for any WWE fan.
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoSending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again
Report abuse
on 28 July 2010
Back when WWE was good and before it alienated it's fanbase, it gave us Pay Per Views such as this one - the excellent New Year's Revolution 2006.

To open the night, we had Edge (with Lita) vs. Ric Flair for the Intercontinental Championship.
Excellent match with a couple of funny moments from The Nature Boy. Lita receives the figure-four leglock and there's a fair bit of bloodshed. Great opener. 7.5/10

Next up, we had Trish Stratus vs the lovely Mickie James for the Women's Championship.
I'll admit that I'm a huge Mickie James fan and any match with Mickie in is a real treat. This one is no exception. 7.5/10

Next, Gregory Helms vs Jerry 'The King' Lawler.
Not much to say about this one. Standard wrestling match. Nothing special. 4/10

HHH vs The Big Show.
Great match. Some really excellent moments. Not sure if Big Show's hand was broken for real or not but there are some really painful looking moments as well as plenty of memorable ones. 8.0/10

Shelton Benjamin (with his 'Momma') vs Viscera
Good match. Some funny moments with Shelton's 'Mum'. Entertaining and some good wrestling. 7/10

Womens Bra and Panties Gautlet Match
This was Torrie Wilson vs Maria vs Candice Michelle vs Victoria vs Ashley. They're basically pulling each others clothes off. Features an appearance from Mae Young which I am keen to forget. Other than that I can't really complain about it. The match did what it had to. 5/10

Finally, we get to the WWE Championship Elimination Chamber Match.
This was the kiddies champion John Cena vs Kurt Angle vs Shawn Michaels vs Carlito vs Chris Masters vs Kane. Good elimination chamber match. One of the best I'd say. Some great moments and a fair bit of bloodshed. There's a surprise to come after the match and one I was happy to cheer about. 10/10

For me this is an excellent addition to my collection and for any WWE fan.
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoSending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again
Report abuse
New years revolution 2006 is a decent enough event with some matches better than others,some that were poor,some not so but as a whole was rather uneven when it came to quality and a first pay per view of a new year should really stomp us all down,shouldnt it?
The event opened with ric flair versus edge,this wasnt that great,mainly because edge was a bit too good for flair and flair was his own worst enemy in being distracted by lita far too much,it ended up with the ring turning red as flair got busted open badly but as openers go this was somewhat one sided.
The WWE womans championship was contested next as trish fought her number one fan at this point mickie james,this wasnt that bad,some innovative moves and a good pace meaning that this was a ladies match i may even watch again.
Jerry the king fought gregory helms next in a match that was pretty good in truth and was in no way a squash match,the match was long enough as well and they took their moment and made a decent match,for too long the king has been in matches that last a few seconds so this was refreshing in that respect.
Next up was a pretty poor match and it actually features triple h which is never expected,it was triple h versus the big show who was nursing a broken hand,kayfabe,but i aint sure on that though,this match started ok but then got very boring, as big show resorted to countless headbutts which meant we all got bored,it had a decent ending but for me it was too little too late hey.
Next up was an unscheduled match and it showed,there was no hype,no real justification for it,only to kill time and it was the very definition of filler,a truly terrible match,shelton benjamin fought viscera in a match that was largely dominated with the camera focusing on sheltons overbearing momma shouting instructions at the top of her voice which annoyed me,the commentary team sounded a bit humilated during this and trust me when i say that this wont be something i revisit anytime soon hey.
There was a bra and panties gauntlet match next that was beyond the beyonds of crapsville,this was so bad that i dont want to waste much time talking about it ,needless to say mae young gets involved and she is about 80 and this is just bad taste gone wrong,stinking.
Next up was the main event,if you will,an elimination chamber was the enviroment and the WWE championship was on the line,we had the champ john cena along with shawn michaels,kane,chris masters,carlito and kurt angle,this contest was physical as shawn bled like a stuck pig throughout,there was a great display by carlito,who enjoyed himself in there,chris masters had a great night as well,towards the end there was the odd cheap pin but i found this an engaging,sometimes engrossing match and we had a winner and then we were all meant to go home,but wait a second,we had one last match,again unscheduled,edge who had the money in the bank opportunity for close to 9 months at thsi point came out and wanted a title shot against a tired winner and off we went and a great ending to a fairly mixed event,3 stars and thats me being kind.
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoSending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again
Report abuse
on 9 July 2012
Flair vs Edge for the IC title was good to watch but mainly for the ending.

Trish vs Mickie for the Women's title was a good match, a longer match than what the Divas usually get. They both showed their skills in the ring and the crowd seemed to be into it.

Lawler vs Helms was a match that was a bit let down because Lawler is old so he can't move like he used to.

Triple H vs Big Show was a good match in which Show has a bad hand but still put on a good show.

Shelton Benjamin vs Viscera was one of those last minute matches after Shelton's Momma had a run in with Viscera. The highlight of this match was the interference from Momma. It's a shame to see someone talented like Shelton getting reduced to these type of matches too.

Maria vs Candice vs Torrie vs Victoria vs Ashley was a Bra and Panties Gauntlet match. This match was simply for the fans' pleasure and to make them laugh after an appearance from Mae Young and Fabulous Moolah. Victoria was made to look a fool, such a shame.

Cena vs Masters vs Carlito vs Angle vs Michaels vs Kane wasn't the greatest Elimination Chamber. Predictable because Cena won as usual. But the ending was worth it as Edge cashed in his Money in the Bank contract.
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoSending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again
Report abuse
19 of 24 people found the following review helpful
on 12 April 2006
WWE Intercontinental Championship Match

Ric Flair vs Edge

Good match to kick off the show , but there was nothing really new here. A bit short, but the ending was brutal. 6/10

WWE Womens Championship Match

Trish Stratus vs Mickie James

Very good title match. Some great counters and technical wrestling thrown in. 7/10

Gregory Helms vs Jerry 'The King' Lawler

They were given more time than I thought they would, but there wasn't really much here. It was your average television match with a weak ending. 5/10

Triple H vs The Big Show

Decent match and very well booked. Possibly one of the Big Show's best one on one matches. 7/10

Shelton Benjamin w/ His Momma vs Viscera

This match was poor. Shelton did his best to try and carry Viscera, but this match is very forgettable. 4/10

Womens Bra and Panties Gautlet Match- Torrie Wilson vs Ashley vs Maria vs Candice Michelle vs Victoria

No wrestling here, just hot women (apart from Mae Young. 3/10

WWE Championship Elimination Chamnber Match- John Cena vs Kurt Angle vs Shawn Michaels vs Carlito vs Chris Masters vs Kane

Probably the worst Elimination Chamber match in the WWE, but the match was still decent. This had blood, decent action and shock value. Pretty good stuff. 7/10

WWE Championship Match

John Cena vs Edge

A 2 minute squash really, but it was booked well. I wasn't expecting this so there was good shock value. It also ended Cena's long title reign. 5/10 (for booking and the end result)

Overall,an o.k. pay per view, but nothing special. It was better than last years New Years Revolution, but thats not really saying a lot.
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoSending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again
Report abuse
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
on 18 November 2013
John cena fan and was very pleased to get this dvd. Would recommend this seller to anyone else if they are looking for this kind of dvd
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoSending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again
Report abuse
0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
on 4 July 2007
Before i give you my review on this dvd i would first like to say how much it annoys me when i am gonna by a wwe dvd and i look at the reviews and someone tells you who wins and what happens which is supid for someone who doesn't know what happened, so for any other reviewers out their, please don't give the results in your review because it sucks if you do.

O.k., the first ppv of the year and one that is expected to be a thriller but most of the matches were not actually that good.
the intercontinental title match between Ric Flair(c)and Edge with lita sucked
the match between jerry lawler and
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoSending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again
Report abuse
0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
on 13 March 2008
Intercontinental Title Match
Ric Flair vs Edge 6/10

Women's Title Match
Trish Stratus vs Mickie James 4/10

Jerry "The King" Lawler vs Gregory Helms 2/10

Triple H vs Big Show 7/10

Shelton Benjamin vs Viscera 1/10

Bra and Panties Gauntlet Match
Ashley vs Victoria vs Maria vs Torrie Wilson vs Candice Michelle vs Mae Young 5/10

WWE Title Elimination Chamber Match
John Cena vs Chris Masters vs Carlito vs Shawn Michaels vs Kane vs Kurt Angle 8/10

A Special Extra Match 7/10
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoSending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again
Report abuse
1 of 3 people found the following review helpful
1. Intercontinental Championship.

Rick Flair(c) vs Edge

Edge is defenetly one of the best, and cuold of beaten Rick flair easly but insted he chose to save his girlfriend Lita. Rick Flair will think twice before he puts his hands on Lit again. Match 3/5 Aftermatch 5/5

2. Woman's Championship

Trish Stratus(c) vs Mickie James

Great woman's wrestling match, I would have liked to have seen a victory by submission tho. But Still great match.5/5

3. Triple H vs Big Show

Excelent match Triple H is one of the greatest Wrestlers of all time, he really knows how to pic apart someone with an ingury. Big Show should have taped out, then he would't of had to be PEDEGREED!!! 5/5

4.Gauntlet Bra and panties match.

The wwe divs is what makes Raw so much better than any other brand in the wrestling world. This match has some HOT divas, but it would have been better with a bit more submissions. 4/5

5.Shelton Benjamin vs Viscera.

This match was not even on the card, but Viscera started hitting on Shelton's "Mama" so they ended up having a match. I think Shelton Benjamin is to underestemated in wwe. He should go for the wwe title.3/5

6.WWE Campionship (Elimination Chamber).

Micheals vs Angle vs Cena vs Kane vs Marsters vs Carlito.

Not really a very good Elimination Chamber match, but anything with Kurt Angle in, you will be entertained. 3/5

7.WWE Championship.

Edge vs John Cena.

Not much of a match, just John Cena getting the hell beaten out of him by Edge, and then Edge winning the title off him. Edge is one of the best in the bissnes, and he prooved that on this night. 5/5
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoSending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again
Report abuse
     
 
Customers who viewed this item also viewed
WWE - Unforgiven 2006 [DVD]
WWE - Unforgiven 2006 [DVD] by Wwe (DVD - 2008)
£13.90

WWE - No Way Out 2006 [DVD]
WWE - No Way Out 2006 [DVD] by Kurt Angle (DVD - 2006)
£8.60

 
     

Send us feedback

How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you?
Let us know here.