Customer Reviews


58 Reviews
5 star:
 (45)
4 star:
 (9)
3 star:
 (3)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


13 of 13 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A good introduction to David Essex
What a career David has had and this CD contains his unique songs that have sustained a near on forty year career.
Rock on is such a great timeless song that never ages and always sounds fresh. The follow-up Lamplight, which David still sings in concerts today is here and remains a concert favorite. The "America" single was released just before the no 1 hit "Gonna...
Published on 31 May 2011 by Harry Faversham

versus
10 of 12 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Good but with one problem
Very good CD, but why didn't they include the original 1978 hit version of 'Oh What a Circus'? The version here is a much more recent version (made for 'Evita') and sounds nowhere near as good as the original.
Published on 11 Sept. 2007 by Robert


‹ Previous | 1 26 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

13 of 13 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A good introduction to David Essex, 31 May 2011
By 
This review is from: David Essex - Greatest Hits (Audio CD)
What a career David has had and this CD contains his unique songs that have sustained a near on forty year career.
Rock on is such a great timeless song that never ages and always sounds fresh. The follow-up Lamplight, which David still sings in concerts today is here and remains a concert favorite. The "America" single was released just before the no 1 hit "Gonna make you a star" I always thought "America" was a haunting interesting track. The Stardust track from the film of the same name stands up well and is sang with real emotion. I think we all know "Hold me Close" another number 1 hit."City Lights" is another classic and you instantly know it is David Essex song as this guy is a total individual.
The great thing about this CD is it moves fully through his singing career and also contains "Its Gonna Be Alright" from the "Wonderful" album, which is also worth buying. Well Done David - Rock On!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A great album chosen by the man himself, 9 Oct. 2010
This review is from: David Essex - Greatest Hits (Audio CD)
This CD was bought for a friends birthday - he was extremely pleased as it had all his favourites on - his first trip in the car, he took it with him, put it in the CD player and it's still there!!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars 'HE 'ROCKED' THE SEVENTIES AND EIGHTIES 'POP' SCENE', 16 May 2014
By 
rbmusicman (U.K) - See all my reviews
(TOP 100 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: David Essex - Greatest Hits (Audio CD)
'David Essex' in the 70's and early 80's was probably what I would describe
as the 'ideal-pop-star' he had it all, a great pop-voice obvious-good looks and
that cheeky-smile.
Born 'David Albert Cook' started his show-biz career back in 63' signing for the
'Fontana-Label' which didn't really take-off for him, he then went on tour for a
couple of years with a group calling themselves 'David Essex and Mood Indigo'
I guess his big-break was in 71' when he took the lead role In the stage show
'Godspell'
However his aim to break onto the U.K pop-scene came to fruition in '1973' when
'Rock On' charted at number '3' (it was also a Top10 hit abroad including the U.S
and Australia) he was on his way.
'David' penned many of his Chart Songs, between 1973 and 1983 achieving
fifteen Top 30 Hits in the U.K ten of which were in fact Top 10 entries two of those
peaking at the very top of the pile, those being - 'Gonna Make You A Star' (1974)
and 'Hold Me Close' (1975)
The album has all the memorable Hits on-board, among some of them being -
'Stardust' 'Rolling Stone' 'If I Could' (maybe my favourite of 'David's' though it
only peaked at number '13' in 75') 'Oh What A Circus' 'Silver Dream Machine'
and 'A Winter's Tale' just a sample of the memories on board, he of course did
have several lower order Chart entries in addition to his fifteen Top 30 successes.
Down the years 'David' of course has had several acting roles, in recent times of
course he had a spell in 'Eastenders' as 'Eddie Moon'
'David Essex' certainly a talent.....This album is a great reminder of his Chart era,
(though I do own other material of his) I would say, if you just wanted one reminder
of his music, this would be a great choice.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Good 79 minutes, 26 Jan. 2013
By 
S. C. Trump "stevect" (Upminster, Essex) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: David Essex - Greatest Hits (Audio CD)
You couldn't cram much more onto a cd than the amount of music on offer here. David Essex music featured on and off in my early life when I was unaware that David's producer Jeff Wayne would go on to produce the timeless 'War of the Worlds' album in 1978. I didn't even know that Jeff Wayne was David's producer until after WOTW. 'Rock On' came out when I had just finished primary school. It was top ten both here and in the USA, but it was the only US hit for David. What an intro and production! The two number one hits 'Gonna make you a star' and 'Hold me close' featured in my younger years at secondary school. Then came Evita, Silver Dream Racer and the early eighties songs such as 'Me and my girl (nightclubbing)' and Mike Batt's wonderful 'A winter's tale' that was out when an early long term relationship of mine ended badly, so has slightly bittersweet memories. Onwards and upwards came later hits. Listening to this cd fresh, it has some songs I was unfamiliar with such as 'Heart on my sleeve' and 'Picture this sky' which well deserve a place on this compilation. I do like 'Cool out tonight' and 'Coming home' - both chart hits and featured prominently on Top Of the Pops at the time, but there's no space for them here.

In summary, a very satisfying collection. No sleeve notes however which is a shame.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


10 of 12 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Good but with one problem, 11 Sept. 2007
By 
Robert (St. Neots, Cambs, ENGLAND United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
This review is from: David Essex - Greatest Hits (Audio CD)
Very good CD, but why didn't they include the original 1978 hit version of 'Oh What a Circus'? The version here is a much more recent version (made for 'Evita') and sounds nowhere near as good as the original.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars A teenager again, 20 April 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: David Essex - Greatest Hits (Audio CD)
I listened to David Essex when I was a teenager growing up in the 1970's.
When I heard Hold Me Close and Lamplight I was 14 again!
I too would have preferred the original 'Oh What a Circus' -but this track was still acceptable
Some well known and some not so familiar tracks on this CD- an enjoyable way of turning the clock back and an enjoyable listen in the car or while doing the housework.
Bargain price and quick delivery- so treat yourself!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars absolute golden david, 31 Jan. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: David Essex - Greatest Hits (Audio CD)
as a lover of the seventies music scene,i am always looking out for good original recordings of the stars of that era.cos there is so many rerecordings by the stars past their best,you cant always be sure of getting a decent recording.glad to say that this album is david at his absolute peak,every song is a original recording with all his hits in the playlist.very worthy of the title "very best of".
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Still Great Listening, 12 Jan. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: David Essex - Greatest Hits (Audio CD)
I bought this CD mainly because of one track. "A Winter's Tale" is one of my favourite songs to listen to leading up to Christmas and I love watching the music video on youtube with David Essex and the Border Collie in a winter landscape.
I was listening to the other songs yesterday and realized how good they were and why they were so popular back then. This is a very enjoyable CD.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Bought for one particular song, 2 Jun. 2013
By 
Pam Page (Staffordshire_UK) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: David Essex - Greatest Hits (Audio CD)
I love the "Winter's Tale" - especially as we have had such a harsh winter this year. My friend wanted a DVD of all the snow we've had - piled high in this area - amazing scenes. He wanted to send a DVD to Australia where members of his family have never seen snow! And that song was perfect as background to the astounding pictures.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


10 of 13 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars David Essex Greatest Hits, 18 Mar. 2006
By A Customer
This review is from: David Essex - Greatest Hits (Audio CD)
Fantastic. More than just a nostalgic album as it has two of his recent songs on it, which the true fans love to hear.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 26 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

David Essex - Greatest Hits
David Essex - Greatest Hits by David Essex (Audio CD - 2006)
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews