Customer Reviews


9 Reviews
5 star:
 (8)
4 star:    (0)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


10 of 10 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Perfect!
Jericho's name alludes to THE classic Scotland Yard detective, Gideon. Gideon's Way was the best cop show on British television before the Sweeney. The main reason was the exellent writing and the great characters. Jericho picks these high standards up and develops them further by giving the series a dark touch. Also in terms of cinematography Jericho looks more like...
Published on 28 April 2008 by TKr

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars Interesting but unspectacular
This is a cop show with some retro charm. Nevertheless the plots are not particularly different from other cop shows.
Published 6 months ago by Dr J. Scott


Most Helpful First | Newest First

10 of 10 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Perfect!, 28 April 2008
This review is from: Jericho [DVD] (DVD)
Jericho's name alludes to THE classic Scotland Yard detective, Gideon. Gideon's Way was the best cop show on British television before the Sweeney. The main reason was the exellent writing and the great characters. Jericho picks these high standards up and develops them further by giving the series a dark touch. Also in terms of cinematography Jericho looks more like neo-noir than TV. So all in all it's a very classy production. Robert Lindsay proves to be not only one of the best actors of his generation but in the UK. He does high brow and entertainment with the same ease and elegance. After about 10 minutes you don't evcen remember that there ever was a series called My family. His Jericho is dark and brooding. The other great performance in this series comes from Peter Bowles. We know him as suave man about town from many TV productions but here he gives the performance of a life time as dark, menacing crime lord. Perfect!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars An underated show, 28 Dec 2011
This review is from: Jericho [DVD] (DVD)
I bought the DVDs last week and started (and actually finished) them this week-end. Why, why, oh why and how can a show of that quality be cut after only 4 episodes ? The scripts were marvelous, intelligent and funny at the same time; the rendition of the 1958 London actually made me sorry not to have been born sooner; and the casting... well, what can I say ? Although being a fan of Robert Lindsay, I must say that he managed to surprise me with his subtle and restrained interpretation (so far from his usual - though delighting - loony style) of Jericho. The trio he made with David Troughton and Ciaràn McMenamin was just so funny to watch. Not to mention the actresses, even if their role could have been a bit more developped for my taste (especially the Penny character).

I also very much liked the dark atmosphere, very close to the "série noire" so dear to detectives and cop stories of the 40's and 50's. No clinical (and cynical) approach like they nowadays do (CSI being the best example as far as I'm concerned) but a sort of jazzy, despaired, ambivalent surrounding, with characters being neither black or white but rather shades of gray.

I certainly did not regret buying the DVDs (I did not see the show on tv)... just really sorry they decided to stop when things were starting to get really interesting.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars foggy london, 23 Mar 2011
By 
D. M. Hampson (Girne North Cyprus) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Jericho [DVD] (DVD)
A crackingly good watch brings back memories of the fifties Robert Lindsey is excelent as jericho an honest copper in an age of corruption in the Met. Its a pity they didnt make more as the series leaves you wanting to watch more.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars WHY DID THEY STOP AT FOUR?, 27 Aug 2009
This review is from: Jericho [DVD] (DVD)
This series of four episodes stopped entirely too soon - there should have been twenty more. You see the characters develop, watch the chemistry among the cast form a bond and ...then it's over. It would have made a great series. It still could...
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Is there a 2nd series??, 5 Feb 2009
This review is from: Jericho [DVD] (DVD)
What a brilliant series. Love the 1950's atmosphere, it makes a great night in on those cold winter evenings. The stories are intriguing and hold their own against any other crime series, Robert Lindsay is amazing.

Has there been a 2nd series made and, if so when do we expect it to be released on DVD??
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Interesting but unspectacular, 23 May 2014
By 
Dr J. Scott "Scientist" (Santa Rosa, CA United States) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Jericho [DVD] (DVD)
This is a cop show with some retro charm. Nevertheless the plots are not particularly different from other cop shows.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Great series, 16 Dec 2011
By 
P. James (Malton, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Jericho [DVD] (DVD)
I loved this series when on TV and not disappointed at the reviewing.I wished more series had been made and surprised it is not repeated on TV more often. If you like period crime dramas like George Gently/Foyles War I'm sure you will enjoy this one.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


12 of 17 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars JERICHO ROCKS!!!, 13 May 2006
By 
This review is from: Jericho [DVD] (DVD)
As soon as I saw the trailer for Jericho last year, I knew I wanted to watch it, then when I found out Robert Lindsay was in it, I REALLY wanted to watch it. I thought that this programme was the best detective series yet because it is so different seeing Robert Lindsay play a different character other than My Family's Ben Harper, (even though he has been in a lot other programmes i.e: ''Hornblower'' and the absolutely hilarious ''Citizen Smith) I was a bit disappointed when they only made four episodes, but each one is two hours long so that's good. I'd recommend this DVD to anyone who LOVES detective series.

EPISODES:
1) A Pair Of Ragged Claws
2) The Killing Of Johnny Swan
3) To Murder And Create
4) The Hollow Men
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars a must have!!, 21 May 2006
This review is from: Jericho [DVD] (DVD)
If you like detectives like : Maigret, sherlock holmes(with J.Brett), Foyle's war, Poirot and Jack the ripper movies, you'll problably like this too.

It's situated in the 50's and takes you back in time to the jazz music, neon lights, wet streets and old gangster cars.

I really recommend it to anyone who likes the tast of the old days.

Buy it, it's perfect!

Holland
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Jericho [DVD]
Jericho [DVD] by robert lindsay (DVD - 2006)
£15.99
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews