Customer Reviews


101 Reviews
5 star:
 (87)
4 star:
 (11)
3 star:
 (3)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


52 of 55 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars those brilliant, unsentimental days...
Sure, we're all agreed that 'Genesis' is a high water mark for the series, but I think what distinguishes it is its profound atmosphere of unease, which in turn is established by the unsparing, unsentimental and convincing presentation of cruelty. Both impart a grim urgency that is absolutely lacking in contemporary television. Davros is frightening, as he should be. The...
Published on 27 Jun 2006 by Graeme Testes

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars Son desperately wanted to see the old episodes but they ...
Son desperately wanted to see the old episodes but they do seem so dated to the young generation which was only to be expected.
Published 1 month ago by Shaz


‹ Previous | 19 10 11 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars "Heil Kaleds, I'm home!", 7 Oct 2008
This review is from: Doctor Who: Genesis of the Daleks [DVD] [1975] (DVD)
Genesis is of course the story of how the Daleks were created. It shouldn't disappoint because although there are some silly ideas in it e.g., at war for 1,000 years the Thals have only just thought of launching a big missile at the Kaleds, it has been made with such energy and panache that you can't help but be entertained.
Naturally there is a bit of padding at 6 episodes long, but you will rarely find it dragging.
Uncle Tom is in commanding form, being ready to switch off Davros' life support (and Tom plays it like he means it) 1 minute, & debating philosophically the next. He tries to divert Davros from his destructive course but his voice tells us he doesn't think it's going to work. there is some lovely underplayed emotion as he believes his companions dead.
Lis Sladen and Ian marter are a great team for Tom and it works now to have Sarah almost order the Doctor to destroy the Daleks.
There is a marvellous villain in Michael Wisher's Davros, still the best one even though Terry Molloy & Julian Bleach have given him a run for his money. Many of the most chilling moments originate with him. there are subtleties that make his later ranting all the more effective.
A terrific Goebbels like sidekick in Peter Miles' Nyder. A dreadfully creepy man.
Allo Allo fans should watch out for a young Lt Gruber and General Von Klinkerhoffen!
Direction is good, shooting the Daleks from unusual angles and this couples well with very moody lighting. Bags of atmosphere that was criticised at the time for its grimness.
The downside inevitably includes some effects which have not stood the test of time e.g. some giant clams and I was never convinced even at 9 years old by having Uncle Tom attacked by boiled cabbage at the end of part 5! Minor quibbles.

The extras are marvellous with full blooded documentaries on both the Daleks' history and the making of the story. On the making of, naughty Uncle Tom gets bored and pretends his ex-wife has rung but he still has good stories as they all do. Peter Miles and Guy Siner have some interesting observations on the Baker acting style. Archive footage of the late Michael Wisher is included giving his welcome memories. There is an annoying Teach Yourself Dalek in 6 easy lesson and the back lighting for John Scott martin turns his hair into orange candy floss!Great stuff all the same.
On the Dalek history a mixture of people including some superfans talk us through the Dalek story.
Yes there's a Tommentary and he gets a lot of people to play with Lis, Peter Miles etc. and memories of Michael Wisher & Ian Marter abound. Fines stuff but not quite as bonkers as normal.
Great package for a classic story! For all fans.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The Best, 5 April 2006
This review is from: Doctor Who: Genesis of the Daleks [DVD] [1975] (DVD)
Watch this anyone who is a new convert to the recent incarnation of the series!! Proves that Mr Ecclestone & Co arnt anywhere near the quality or status of their predesessors, well maybe with the exception of the 'McCoy Years'.
This is awsome , one of the all time top ten stories asking moral questions as well as the scientific angles on time that these days arnt paid to much attention too.. Believable Sci-Fi is always the most emotional and hard hitting... T.Bakers crowning glory performance and gave him the proper credibility as J.Pertwees successor!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 14 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars The Tardis, 1 May 2006
By 
M. G. Hatfield "trekle5" (North Wales UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Doctor Who: Genesis of the Daleks [DVD] [1975] (DVD)
Dr.Who is the cult series which has returned to the small screens after 20 years away talking as a original series fan I must say the new series is also brillant but this DVD is for lovers of the classics a young Tom Baker plays the famous Doctor he has two assitants travelling with him.

The Doctor and his fellow travellers are transported to Skaro the birthplace of the best aliens of robots ever created The Daleks these classic enemy of The Doctor have faced the ninth doctor but viewers get to see how they were created in this six part story I think this six parter may have been better if they put it back into one long episode and not the way it is.

The Doctor stuggles with his mortally but finally does as he was told to do he tries to make Darvos to make the Daleks a force for good and evil and death.

But Darvos is mad and will not change his machine but no I ruin the ending.

This two disc pack is for every fan of the original series if you are a fan of the classic comdey Allo' Allo' Guy Siner (Ravon) appear in the episodes.

This time when this was on TV between 8th March-12th April 1975 you may like to buy another Dr.Who if you have young fan or just let them watch the new series on TV.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 19 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars One of the Best Dalek Stories, 2 Mar 2006
By 
J. J. Dangermond (Portland, OR USA) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Doctor Who: Genesis of the Daleks [DVD] [1975] (DVD)
I found this 6 episode very compelling back in 1978 because it was one of the really serious stories from Season 12. Genesis was also the very first Dalek story that I saw, and being in the US, I didn't see any others except for Destiny of the Daleks until 1985.
Michael Wisher was brilliant as Davros, the being behind the creation of the Daleks. Like today's hisory of mayhem, you see exactly what motivated him to create such war machines and the fact that Dalek was an annogram for Kaled. The drama, which was reminiscent of Hitler's bunkers, is gripping and horrifying at the same time.
I recommend this highly.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 12 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars 'Classic' Doctor Who at its best, 11 Feb 2006
By A Customer
This review is from: Doctor Who: Genesis of the Daleks [DVD] [1975] (DVD)
The trouble with 'old' Doctor Who, is that it generally struggles to stand up against the new series. The production values are obviously lower, as are the budgets, and quite often - lets be honest about this - it really shows. Where many of the old series stories do match the new ones is in the storytelling, and Genesis of the Daleks is a prime example - perhaps even the best example of this.

Lets start with the lighting. 1970's and 80's Doctor Who was frequently garishly lit, in such a way that any sense of atmosphere was rendered cheap and almost non-existent, and this, arguably above every other measure, contributes to establishing whether a story dates or not. Genesis of the Daleks is remarkable in the respect that the lighting is sombre, subdued and displaying such self-restraint that there is a palpable sense of gloom and desperation in the predicament in which the Doctor and his assistants find themselves.

In common with the original series' other great 'classic', The Caves of Androzani, this story places the Doctor in the middle of two battling forces. When the Doctor, Sarah and Harry arrive on Skaro, they do so in amongst bursting landmines and have to navigate detonating shells and gunfire in order to simply get captured by the Kaled scientists. And this leads the Doctor to the bunker, where, almost voyeuristically, he is witness to the event that the Time Lords have sent him to prevent - the birth of the Daleks.

At the heart of this chilling scenario is Davros. In later years, he became portrayed simply as an 'evil genius' - in Genesis of the Daleks we see a much more nuanced, subtle portrayal. Michael Wisher's performance is absolutely astonishing. Acting with his facial gestures and eyes concealed, and only able to move his right hand, he gives Davros a complexity that was unique to this set of episodes. Genius - yes - what he has created is visionary and imaginative. Evil - perhaps.

But perhaps he is just flawed in his determination to use his batallions of Daleks to help avenge his own paralysis - caused by the rival Thals blowing up his laboratory. His confrontation set-piece with the Doctor explores this motivation in an adult and articulate way. He's certainly a skillful politician - his wily manouvreings and cunning double-crossing make him a formidable force to be reckoned with.

Its not perfect - Sarah's fall from the rocket rig, thrillingly captured in freeze-frame at the end of part two, has a particularly weak resolution in the following episode. The proximity of the Thal and Kaled cities make the premise of a lengthy war without victors implausible. But when it works, it works spectacularly well. Some of the dialogue is among the best ever written in 'classic' Doctor Who - The Doctor's 'have I that right...?'speech, Davros betraying his own people to the Thals: 'I've tried, time and again I've tried', and Davros pondering the acquisition of power that would 'set him up amongst the Gods - yes, I WOULD do it...' - its all pretty stirring stuff at times.

Many people's recollections of Doctor Who before the arrival of Christopher Eccleston was of a slightly tacky and silly space programme for kids. It frequently was like that, but Genesis of the Daleks is a definite exception to the rule. The clear but intelligent Nazi allegory is vividly depicted and the performances and direction are all measured and highly effective.

This is a supreme example of the old series of Doctor Who - menacing, atmospheric, chilling and psychologically quite scary. Casual viewers looking for one example of the old series to have on DVD could do much worse than this.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 9 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Simply the Best, Tom Baker at his finest, 14 April 2006
This review is from: Doctor Who: Genesis of the Daleks [DVD] [1975] (DVD)
Simply amazing, the best Dr Who story of all time. Great package , 2 discs chocked full of goodies. A little disappointing with some of the extra's on disc 2, but this release is highly recommended.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 13 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Not the best Doctor Who ever, but still a good watch, 18 April 2009
This review is from: Doctor Who: Genesis of the Daleks [DVD] [1975] (DVD)
I had high expectations for this after reading all the rave reviews, and I'm sorry to say that for me, it didn't live up to the hype. Don't get me wrong, the script is fantastic, as is Tom Baker as always. It's still a great piece of Doctor Who history, and should be in every completist's collection, but I don't think it's up there with other episodes such as City of Death, Curse of Fenric or Robots of Death.

Of course, this is all subjective, and every fan has his or her favorite and will no doubt disagree with mine. I think the idea of the Daleks is great, it's the Daleks themselves which turns me off - I think they're a very flawed choice of 'baddie' - maybe this is why the Genesis of Daleks didn't really do it for me.

For anyone reading this review prior to buying it, don't let me put you off - there are far more favorable reviews on here, and if you're a big fan of the Daleks too, then this will be right up your street too.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars davros, 16 April 2009
By 
Mrs. D. Wilson (UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Doctor Who: Genesis of the Daleks [DVD] [1975] (DVD)
i never knew davros at first when i was ten but when i brought reveleation of the daleks i hated davros but now ive seen this one he is really good i think all the way its set out is amazing must buy
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 11 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The greatest dalek story ever..., 26 Feb 2006
This review is from: Doctor Who: Genesis of the Daleks [DVD] [1975] (DVD)
One of the greatest story ever told in the Doctor Who series, in this we finally meet the creator of the daleks and we find out the whole reasoning for why they were created. This DVD is a must-buy if you ever want to know more about the daleks and their creator.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 37 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Classic Who, 28 Feb 2006
By 
James Cameron "Artist / Filmmaker / Nerd" (a world of my own) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Doctor Who: Genesis of the Daleks [DVD] [1975] (DVD)
Without a doubt the best Darleks story since they first appeared back in Hartnell's 2nd story - This is a landmark in dr. who. A very serious and dark story in which Tom Baker's doctor is send back in time to stop the Darleks from ever being created, yet when faced with the change, the moral issue strikes the doctor.
This story introduces one of the more intersting villians of the series in the form of Davros, the creator of th darleks.
The dvd is a 2 disc set with the story presented in beautiful remastered quality on disc 1 and a whole host of interesting and involving specials on disc 2. One of the best releases to date and so far, the best of 2006.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 19 10 11 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Doctor Who: Genesis of the Daleks [DVD] [1975]
6.50
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews