Customer Reviews


63 Reviews
5 star:
 (53)
4 star:
 (2)
3 star:
 (3)
2 star:
 (2)
1 star:
 (3)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


15 of 17 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A Both Talented and Interesting Collaboration
Urban Myth club offer us something different in this sublime and moving album. They are not a band as such, more a collaboration of talented musicians, singers and a fine producer. The music contained within album is the fruit of almost three years of work. Year's of hard graft on an album does not necessarily guarantee an excellent piece of work however when you add...
Published on 29 Sep 2008 by Finn

versus
16 of 20 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Chewing gum for the ears.
I'm almost as curious to see if I can get away with submitting a 3 star review for this album as I was to hear it, having seen 5 star reviews across the board. Maybe a crack squad from the UMC E team will hunt me down and destroy me, for going out on a limb?

This is perfectly acceptable background music; the kind of album that people who don't buy albums will...
Published on 10 July 2008 by grope4lunar


‹ Previous | 1 27 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

15 of 17 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A Both Talented and Interesting Collaboration, 29 Sep 2008
This review is from: Helium (Audio CD)
Urban Myth club offer us something different in this sublime and moving album. They are not a band as such, more a collaboration of talented musicians, singers and a fine producer. The music contained within album is the fruit of almost three years of work. Year's of hard graft on an album does not necessarily guarantee an excellent piece of work however when you add into the equation someone like Stephen Barton a Hollywood film composer who work on `Gladiator', and `Narnia' among others, things seem to fall into place. Though the album could easily been sectioned away as a "chill-out" or "down tempo" it floats graceful over all the pitfalls of these genre's. The phrase "chill-out music" seems put off music lover's mainly due to the churned out drivel that seems the fill a substantial amount of album with "chill-out" in the title. "Helium" on the hand is not mere background noise, it comes with the weight of a excellent film score and manages to stay as accessible as other similar bands such as Morcheeba or Portishead.

The Album starts with a short an sweet instrumental piece which allows "Urban Myth Club" to flex thier musical muscles and let the listener know just how well produced and musically flawless this album shall be. It also sets the scene for the single of the album "Feel It" which comes right after, this track effortlessly achieves both accessibility and manages to stay credible and interesting. As the album progresses the beautiful vocals of Clare Szembek who is prominent in 'Feel it' take more of a back seat and the music takes over. This is by no means a bad thing, compositionally the music is fantastic. Track three to eight seem float past with song structures so intelligent they could probably beat you at scrabble. My highlight of the album however is track nine "So Beautiful" both music and vocal's seem to flawlessly compliment each other in a passage that leads through sounds that tease with our emotions. The album wraps up with 4 tracks that revert to the more musical driven aspects of middle keeping the down tempo vibe going throughout.

Surely "Helium" can't be a perfect, flawless album? Well no there are of course some snags such as the lyrics leaving a little to be desired and it perhaps it loses a bit of momentum towards the end. In conclusion however I believed you'd have to go a long way to find a British down-tempo group coming anywhere near this standard. As with their first gig (Glastonbury) they have punch above there weight and I think its only a matter of time before they are in and amongst the biggest names of "electronica".

Best Tracks- So Beautiful, Moon and the Night
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars best downtempo album, 25 Nov 2012
By 
D. L. Gourgey (London) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Helium (Audio CD)
this album poses a flawless mix of orchestral plains, soft female vocals and chilled out beats. The latest Urban Myth Club album captures the imagination, transporting the listener to their relaxed world. A must have album for any music fan. The perfect end to a long week at work.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A must have, 28 Jan 2011
This review is from: Helium (Audio CD)
Great album, a must have, heard that they are releasing another album called 'Open Up'coming out soon,i'm waiting on it because Helium was fantastic.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Definition of Perfection, 24 Jan 2011
This review is from: Helium (Audio CD)
Ever wanted to get away from those thoughts that overload your mind? Ever picured yourself on a roadtrip, driving down on a long clear road? This album is that sort of album; it makes you feel free, like you're on a different world, to make those down thoughts disappear for a while. While you're lying on your bed in the summer, or late at night, the bass and rhythms will definately chill you out and make you feel good about yourself, like you can do anything and be ready for anything. "I feel it" and "Breathe"... take a listen to them. Relaxing, chilled, down-tempo, addictive, free... this is the best album you'll be proud to own.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Relaxing, soothing and chilled, 28 July 2010
By 
Mark P. (British Isles) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Helium (Audio CD)
Not too sure what I was expecting from this - all the other reviews make it sound good, but the descriptions of "down-tempo" and comparisons with Morcheeba, Radiohead, etc. kind of threw me.

I've had it playing through a few times now - both on a big stereo, and through headphones on an iPod - and I'm blown away; it's great! The music swirls in gentle waves and crescendo without ever seeming to get too fast and dancy, or loud. The breathy vocals complement the music perfectly, and don't dominate the songs - almost like another instrument; I can't really judge the lyrics though for this reason.

Big thumbs up!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Urban Myth Club Helium Review, 10 Jun 2010
By 
Oliver Mercer (England UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Helium (Audio CD)
Absolutely love this album by Urban Myth Club; really nice chilled out downtempo music that takes away the stresses of everyday life, great to stick on after a hard day at work! I really recommend this album, the production on this record is fantastic. My favourite tracks have to be Calling and Breath, they're so uplifting. Seriously, buy this album!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Pure, chilld-out bliss, 13 May 2010
By 
K. A. Sargan (UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Helium (Audio CD)
This album made me want to lie down on my back, close my eyes and drift away. Every track is blissful, from the opening 'E=umc2' to the closing fade of 'Cloud 9'. The opening notes of 'I Feel It' prepare you for what is set to be an emotional journey. It is lyrically moving and the vocals only enrich the musical experience. The same can be said of 'Sanctuary'. 'Atlantic' dark tones hint at something deeper and more sinister underlying the upbeat preconceptions of chill-out. 'Helium' is an album to defy preconceptions on more than one level. It is tear-jerking at times, upbeat at others, and always holds the ability to take you soaring, above earthly problems and into some blissful other realm.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Wow!, 19 Aug 2009
This review is from: Helium (Audio CD)
What can I add to what has already been written? Simply, this is essential listening. It's a kind of a Zero7-meet-Air-in-space. It's that good. Just buy it!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Excellent!, 26 Nov 2012
This review is from: Helium (Audio CD)
This is the kind of album that you can listen to any time, any place and in any mood!
It takes you on a journey and tells a different story every time. I love this album and would recommend it to anyone.
Urban Myth Club and already getting big and their next album is sure to be just as sweet.
Listen out for them at festivals next summer! Anyone can enjoy their music, whatever age, gender, lifestyle, it's just an all round banging album!
Get your ears around it now! :)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars simply brilliant, 30 Jan 2011
This review is from: Helium (Audio CD)
i have a large chillout collection but i must say this stands out above the crowd. i was really impressed with the variety and intelligence of the compositions. a great deal of thought has gone into this moody and entrancing albumn. its simply a must have for any "chillout" fan.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 27 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Helium
Helium by Urban Myth Club (Audio CD - 2009)
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews