Customer Reviews


 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


19 of 19 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars An Unforgettable Film - when's Ice Age 2??
I saw Ice Age twice at the pics - and bought the video the day it came out (I'm a 35yr old female, so this isn't just for kids or male 'kidults'!). Ice Age is pure, simple entertainment from start to finish. The animation is sharp, vivid and exceptionally well done, with subtle emotions being conveyed perfectly. The pace of the film is spot on and there's no cringeworthy...
Published on 25 Oct. 2002

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars Nothing spectacular, but very good!
Ice Age wouldn't exactly set your screen ablaze with all the snow that fills up every pixel of the screen, but it warrants a watch for being an honest film.
The tale is kept rather too simple but the characterisation is heart-rending and adds a relative amount of depth. From your matter-of-factly-uncomplicated Manfred (Ray Romano's pert voiceover couldn't be better),...
Published on 2 Aug. 2004 by CultureDrinker


‹ Previous | 1 213 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

19 of 19 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars An Unforgettable Film - when's Ice Age 2??, 25 Oct. 2002
By A Customer
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Ice Age [VHS] [2002] (VHS Tape)
I saw Ice Age twice at the pics - and bought the video the day it came out (I'm a 35yr old female, so this isn't just for kids or male 'kidults'!). Ice Age is pure, simple entertainment from start to finish. The animation is sharp, vivid and exceptionally well done, with subtle emotions being conveyed perfectly. The pace of the film is spot on and there's no cringeworthy 'let's break into a song' moments. If you enjoyed the wit and quick one-liners of Shrek, or if you're simply a fan of lush computer generated animation - buy Ice Age, you won't be disappointed.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


68 of 71 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Marvellous fun for kids aged 3 - 103, 11 Sept. 2002
By 
Bryn (Shoreham by Sea, United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Ice Age [DVD] [2002] (DVD)
In the modern genre of computer animated kids films, this ranks among the very best. Unlike so many kids films, adults will enjoy every minute of this one - with or without the kids.
It's a simple story, of course - my 3 year old had no problems following the plot. But there are endless background funnies and asides for the grown ups that make this film a gem. Like Shrek, the heroes of this film are about as imperfect as they come. Much of the humour comes from the interactions of the 3 main characters, none of whom particularly want each other's company.
Lisping Sid (lishping shid) is hilarious throughout, and the squirrel who turns up between scenes will split your sides.
With none of the gushing sentimentality that Disney relentlessly pump out, this film is way out in front of other recent mediocrity, such as Dinosaur or - God help us - Jimmy Neutron. In my book, it even beats Monsters Inc for all round family entertainment.
This is the best kids film since Shrek and is a lot more entertaining than many recent adult titles.
Buy it - however old you are!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 9 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Ice age, 21 April 2004
By 
This special addition DVD has got to be one of the funniest family films Ihave seen in a long time. It encompasses entertainment for the wholefamily, characters that appeal to the kids, Jokes and play on words toentertain the adults, and graphics that amaze everyone. Especially onceyou have seen the extras where they explain how they did the specialeffects and how the story came about.This film is a must for anyone whoenjoyed films like toy story or monsters inc. Buy it you wont regret it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A beautiful film, 3 April 2007
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
A wonderful film that's both laugh-out-loud funny and incrediby touching. Without being twee or sugary, it tells the beautiful story an odd little disfunctional group that becomes a loving family, brilliantly demonstrating how the bonds of love and friendship and loyalty can help us get through anything.

It's a must-see for anyone, but can't help feeling it might be especially helpful to any of us who come from more 'unusual' families/backgrounds. In that respect, it reminds me of the equally wonderful Australian road movie Priscilla Queen of the Desert (don't laugh at that until you've watched them both). Both films share the same messages about how the families we 'make' can be just as important as the families we are born into.

Wonderful for children and adults, this is one of the best cartoons I've ever seen.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars I feel Blu, 9 April 2010
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Ice Age [Blu-ray] (Blu-ray)
What a marvelous addition to Blu Ray Ice Age certainly makes. The film itself is simply top notch with a well written story line and is brought back to life here on Blu Ray. The picture is very detailed in HD, but to be honest it was also very good on DVD as well. Its perhaps not the pristine quality of Toy Story when it comes to Blu Ray transfers, but never the less is still worthy of purchasing it on Blu Ray. Where I feel Ice Age really comes to life is with its soundtrack to which David Newman I must say as done an excellent job with the sound for this film. Which is here presented in DTS 5.1 HD Master. They have gone to town with this format and made excellent use of it, and its simply gorgeous and well detailed with superb balance all around it's 6 channels.

There's not much in the way of extras here, but there is a nice animated short of Scrat that's very funny. Ice Age is a truly fantastic animated film created by Blue Sky Studio's which is certainly in the same class a Pixar without a doubt. It well worthy of its 5 stars here, and a tremendous addition to my Blu Ray collection. I suggest you add it to your own, it will not fail to disappoint.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Pure Entertainment, 31 Dec. 2003
By 
Mo "f1mo" (London) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)   
This review is from: Ice Age [DVD] [2002] (DVD)
When I first went to watch this movie I was weary as it was not made by Disney, but then nor was Shrek, and I thoroughly enjoyed that too.
Ice Age is about a journey and adventure to return a human child to its tribe by a Sloth, Sabre Tooth Tiger and Mammoth. The personalities of these characters are so different which leads to firstly clashing and later becoming friends. There are plenty of great humour which adults will catch on immediately, but kids most likely will not. The antics these characters get up to and the journey makes this movie an enjoyable experience for both adults and kids.
The sounds and animation are crisp, and easily on par with Pixar. The extra features on the DVD features the Sloth commentating on cut-outs and extra scenes. The extra features are not Mammoth size, but enough to keep one entertained.
I highly recommend this movie for all ages, humorous, fun, and can be watched over and over. It's a movie for all ages.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Slick as hell, 9 Aug. 2005
By 
This review is from: Ice Age [DVD] [2002] (DVD)
Probably the best computer generated film thats not Pixar, Ice Age is full of quirky animal characters that are brillantly animated and voiced. A laughed my socks off at the crazy jokes and was dazzled with the bright living world the studio had created. Scrat has to be one of the best characters ever created. Highly recommended.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars 7 YEARS OLD BUT STILL LOOKING GOOD!!, 26 Jun. 2009
By 
Jason Thorne (England / Oxford) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Ice Age [Blu-ray] (Blu-ray)
If you want a good blu ray experience look no further than this childrens classic film which is brillant. The film is sheer brillance with laughs and a great story line which kept me and my two little girls glued to the TV screen. I have seen this on the old DVD version and comparing it to the DVD blu ray you would not believe the difference it is very impressive. I sure alot is down to the type of TV and player you run but if you are just starting out give this ago you will not be disappointed.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A classic made excellent by Blu Ray, 10 Mar. 2010
This review is from: Ice Age [Blu-ray] (Blu-ray)
This film is an "oldy" but goody when it comes to digital cartoons. The story is well known, funny, and a film that my wife and I have watched countless times since we got the blu ray. It is truly a classic which we have enjoyed owning, and is a huge step up from the DVD. We still laugh every time we watch the squirrel scenes.

The picture:

The 1080P shows some of the limitations of digital cartoons from that time. The quality is so good, you can see some of the flaws that the animators managed to cover up on the big screen and on DVD. On Blu-Ray, they are a bit easier to see. But this does not detract from the overall excellentness of this fine Blu-Ray. The picture is reference quality, and one you can use to show off your shiny new TV.

The sound:

Here is where the movie stands out for me. The DTS-HD MA track rocks the listener with well balanced surround channel usage, crystal clear dialogue, and super bass. Even in the high action scenes, the dialogue comes across unmuffled, clean and without distortion. The surround channels put you right in the middle of the action, and the bass will astound you. A reference sound track that will put the dollars you spent on your expensive home cinema to the test.

Overall:

An excellent film, and an awesome blu-ray. I cannot recommend this blu ray enough. Recommendation: buy it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars THE BEST KIDS FILM FOR ANYONE!, 31 July 2004
This review is from: Ice Age [DVD] [2002] (DVD)
When I first saw this movie at the cinema, I didn't really like it that much. BUt when I saw it the second time, I loved it!
It's so cool, funny, witty, clever, sad etc!!! It's jsut the best kids film ever!! It's so cool. Sid is wicked and really funnny! He's such a cool character! The film is a brilliant tale of friendship and has a great message of totally different animals coming together and become friends and sticking up for each other.
Basically, a sloth, a saber tooth tiger, a mammoth get together to help get a baby human back to it's family! A journey across all sorts of lands and weather, a brilliant film!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 213 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Ice Age [DVD]
Ice Age [DVD] by Carlos Saldanha (DVD - 2006)
£7.24
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews