Customer Reviews


12 Reviews
5 star:
 (6)
4 star:
 (4)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


11 of 11 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars You can lose your head in the clouds
This movie is based on a British TV series The Trollenberg Terror.

A mysterious cloud is occupying the mountain. People are mysteriously disappearing or at least their heads are detaching. Alan Brooks (Forest Tucker) has seen this happen before and is familiar with the phenomenon so he is sent to investigate. Also, Sarah Pilgrim (Jennifer Jayne) a psychic in a...
Published on 4 Aug 2011 by bernie

versus
17 of 20 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars A treat for Jennifer Jayne fans
This film is real nostalgic nonesense and a treat for fans of the great British scary B movie era. I loved it for it's atmosphere and very un-special effects enhanced by black and white, and as for Jennifer Jayne - as stunning a brunette as she was a blonde in the William Tell series of the late 50's. Enjoy it for the early horror that it is - because modern horror it...
Published on 18 Feb 2008 by S. Worner


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

11 of 11 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars You can lose your head in the clouds, 4 Aug 2011
By 
bernie "xyzzy" (Arlington, Texas) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)   
This review is from: The Trollenberg Terror [DVD] (DVD)
This movie is based on a British TV series The Trollenberg Terror.

A mysterious cloud is occupying the mountain. People are mysteriously disappearing or at least their heads are detaching. Alan Brooks (Forest Tucker) has seen this happen before and is familiar with the phenomenon so he is sent to investigate. Also, Sarah Pilgrim (Jennifer Jayne) a psychic in a sister act is compelled to go there; if you do not keep your EYE on her, she has a tendency to wander off in a trance.

There is something funny about one of the disappearing villagers that suddenly returns.

It looks like the only hope for the town's people is to head for the lab at the top of the sky lift as it has thick concrete walls. The lab is equipped the standard 50's SCI/FI equipment. Yet your future is cloudy (radioactive cloudy). When confronted by a mysterious eye will you freeze in your tracks or do you have a tentacle to be lifted by the experience.

Do not watch this movie if you are in a cabin.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Splendid Horror, 15 Jan 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Trollenberg Terror [DVD] (DVD)
In my youth, I never managed to get past half way through this horror/SciFi film on TV. It was a bit like those who watched as children Doctor Who from behind the settee! However, once the monster is seen, then it becomes just becomes fun in the same way that the old Doctor Who films have become classic. So, my childhood fears are dissipated 50 years later and it is great that this old film has been released recently on DVD. Whatever the age, and even given graphics and monsters a generation back from what can be produced now, the film is splendid for the tenseness and it it is gripping through to the end. A splendid watch for those with a bit of a yen for horror films of times gone past.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Golden Oldie Classic Worth a View, 12 Feb 2013
By 
E. A. Redfearn "eredfearn2" (Middlesbrough) - See all my reviews
(TOP 1000 REVIEWER)    (VINE VOICE)    (REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Trollenberg Terror [DVD] (DVD)
I have no memory of the television series being shown during the 1950s when this was the era of BBCs Quatermass. So, it was good to seize the opportunity of watching the film version which, although dated, is very entertaining, especially for movie buffs like myself who get a lot of enjoyment watching these oldie B-Movies from those far off days.

Forrest Tucker stars as a Scientific Investigator Alan Brooks who is sent for to investigate some mysterious deaths in the Alps. Along the way, he meets two lovely ladies (lucky man!) played by Jennifer Jayne (William Tell) and Janet Munro (The Day The Earth Caught Fire) who both end up staying in the same village. One of them is a psychic, and apparantly has some connection with the mysterious happenings on the mountain overlooking the village where a strange cloud can be observed.

That is basically the storyline really. Oldie TV and Movie fans will recognise many of the actors from those far off days, Warren Mitchell; Laurence Payne; Andrew Faulds and Colin Douglas. Produced by Robert S Baker and Monty Berman who went on to produce many popular TV series, with a script by Jimmy Sangster who also wrote many fine scripts for Hammer films, including Quatermass Experiment. Special effects look a little amateurish, but its the dated effects which provide these films with much charm.

Picture quality is rather good bearing in mind the film's age, with mono sound. There are no extras to speak off, nevertheless it is a fine purchase, especially for sci-fi fans.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


15 of 16 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars The Trollenburg Terror, 14 Jan 2010
By 
thewatcher (Gloucestershire) - See all my reviews
This review is from: The Trollenberg Terror [DVD] (DVD)
I am a fan of these old black and white sc-fi films. This was serialised by the BBC many years ago. I missed it or was not allowed to watch it then. So I watched the film much later and enjoyed it. Yes the monsters are a bit naff! But I think the tension is built well. It has all the usual stuff, female interest, child threatened by the monster and saved by the hero.

However if you do not expect too much from your films and enjoy the "B" movie sc-fi. Then this is for you.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars TERROR, 30 July 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Trollenberg Terror [DVD] (DVD)
GREAT CLASSIC FROM THE 50'S. YOU WILL BE SHOCKED ON WHAT THE CREATURES LOOK LIKE. TERRIFIC ACTING, TOP NOTCH LOCATIONS. ONLY THE PEOPLE FROM THE 50'S CAN PRODUCE THESE TYPE. SPEND THE MONEY, IT'S WORTH IT. I HAD SEEN FORREST TUCKER IN CHICAGO IN A LOCATION I WAS WORKING, HE IS A BIG MAN, AND ONE HELL OF A PERSON. GO AHEAD BUY THIS DVD, YOU WILL NOT BE SORRY.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


17 of 20 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars A treat for Jennifer Jayne fans, 18 Feb 2008
By 
S. Worner "fivetrax" (UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: The Trollenberg Terror [DVD] (DVD)
This film is real nostalgic nonesense and a treat for fans of the great British scary B movie era. I loved it for it's atmosphere and very un-special effects enhanced by black and white, and as for Jennifer Jayne - as stunning a brunette as she was a blonde in the William Tell series of the late 50's. Enjoy it for the early horror that it is - because modern horror it aint! Great stuff!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Nostalgia, 6 Feb 2013
By 
Mrs. Carole Thompson (north hykeham, lincolnshire, england) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Trollenberg Terror [DVD] (DVD)
My friend remembered this film from 1958 and recalled being frightened as an 11year old... So we laughed and enjoyed this, for what it is.... We were not disappointed just very amused by it.... No terror for 11year olds now.. ;)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars One to watch., 19 July 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Trollenberg Terror [DVD] (DVD)
If classic British Sci-Fi is your thing then this is one you will not want to miss. Rarely shown on television, it is a minor masterpiece of the era.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Nice little horror film, 14 Jun 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Trollenberg Terror [DVD] (DVD)
The film is a prime example for a B-movie (or C, D?), which is not that bad, as one may suggest in the first place. It creates a nice atmosphere, somewhat typical for its time of production regarding aliens and radioactivity and so on. The tricks are quite good and serve the overall purpose. Even, when the "monster" appears it looks not that funny as people claim. Of course, if you think about it, its hilarious :). But nevertheless, it is quite impressively animated. Wonder, how the did it.

The DVD contains the film in good quality to an price that seems ok for such a film and thus can be recommended even for giving the film a try...even if it afterwards fails the promises.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 9 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars The Trollenberg Terror, 10 Sep 2010
By 
Alan Reeve (UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Trollenberg Terror [DVD] (DVD)
This is a very old film. When my wife was a child she watched the first few episodes of this film which had been serialised for Television, but it was deemed too frightening for her to watch any more. She has spent all her adult life wondering how the story ended. She now knows! It is very old technology (in black and white) and the realism leaves much to be desired compared with modern filming methods. But we enjoyed it, and it could still be deemed rather frightening for very young children, although today it is classed as PG.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

The Trollenberg Terror [DVD]
The Trollenberg Terror [DVD] by Quentin Lawrence (DVD - 2006)
9.62
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews