Customer Reviews


54 Reviews
5 star:
 (37)
4 star:
 (11)
3 star:
 (3)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:
 (2)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


21 of 21 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Another in a long line of Dickens adaptions
This was the latest in a recent trend for the filming of Dickens novels (followed in 1958 by 'A Tale of Two Cities'). It followed hot on the heels of Brian Desmond Hurst's superior 'Scrooge' the previous year. 'The Pickwick Papers' is probarbly on a par with Cavalcanti's 'Nicholas Nickleby' released in 1947 i.e. not as good as the others but still with some merit...
Published on 27 Jan. 2002 by ChrissyJJ

versus
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars OOps
The disc is flawed so some sections will not play. The film itself is a joy. harmless fun - which Dr Johnson said was the greatest compliment he could pay to any entertainment.
Published 16 months ago by Mr. David Titley


‹ Previous | 1 2 36 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great cast, 14 Dec. 2013
By 
Bill Egan Ac (Canberra, ACT Australia) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Pickwick Papers [1952] [DVD] (DVD)
A wonderful adaptation of Pickwick Papers with a great cast of British character actors, many in cameo roles, all brilliant = Dickens would have loved it!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Pickwick dvd, 7 Feb. 2013
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Pickwick Papers [1952] [DVD] (DVD)
This is a smashing! Old fashioned humour and a lovely pace of acting that just flows along with ease. Lost in time watching it, and loved that feeling!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Terrific film, 15 Feb. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Wonderful film with James Hayter perfect in the role of Pickwick.

Superbly entertaing timeless classic. Great supporting cast, especially Nigel Patrick.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Pick this Every Time!, 20 Jan. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Its great to see my favourite author and his wonderful stories brought to life in colour! This is a classic comedy/Real world tale told as only Dickens can! I have of course the black & white version, but as a collector of Dickens Classics I just had to have this one as well. If you have never watched any Dickens films ( you must be in the minority ) start with this one! Great viewing !
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 11 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Pickwick Papers dvd, 4 Feb. 2009
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Pickwick Papers [1952] [DVD] (DVD)
The Pickwick Papers
A delightful movie, but still with all Dickens politics and life comments..this production is true to the story written by my favourite author.
Perfect for a winter afternoon with hot choc, watch it laugh and know how fortunate we are to live in the 21c.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Great film and central performance from James Hayter..., 8 Nov. 2012
By 
C. FULLER (Brixham, United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (TOP 50 REVIEWER)    (REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I am not sure if the colour adds to the story or acting but it is interesting to see how the process has colourised the original black & white print. The opening titles appear to be black & white and have the colourised print joined on to it. I suspect the colourised version was American but the write up on the box does not say. The opening sound improves once the colour print starts and is quite clear and a reasonable level. The picture likewise is clear but the colourised process does have a drop back to black & white on some bits for second/s. All told worth watching and a good story so worth the price. I will however keep my original black & white copy.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent highly amusing film., 21 Jan. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Pickwick Papers [1952] [DVD] (DVD)
This is an enchanting film. Excellent character portrayals from all involved. The dialogue and old style way of addressing people makes the film highly amusing. A good old fashioned family film. Highly recommended.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars picky, 15 Nov. 2014
By 
R. Poole "baby boomer" (london uk) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Full of old famous English actors and actress's (blink and you might miss some) very good adaption the colour was obviously added later which makes it look rather faded which is why it just gets 3 stars
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars A Dickens of a good film., 17 Nov. 2014
By 
Michael Daley "Big Mick" (Barking,England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Pickwick Papers [1952] [DVD] (DVD)
One of the first films that I saw as a boy and I still rate it as one of my favourites. James Hayter couldn't be bettered as Mr.Pickwick.
Arguably the best working of Dickens on film.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Uplifting....., 26 Sept. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Pickwick Papers [1952] [DVD] (DVD)
If you are familiar with Dickens then this is probably his most light-hearted story/novel with some wonderful characters. The DVD, the acting and the production do it justice!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 36 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

The Pickwick Papers [1952] [DVD]
The Pickwick Papers [1952] [DVD] by Noel Langley (DVD - 2006)
£11.65
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews