Customer Reviews


15 Reviews
5 star:
 (7)
4 star:
 (4)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Massive album - Best tunes since I was at the club...
I went to the Hacienda nearly every Friday night from 1989 to 1991 and it was massive. I bought this album dubiously and played it today on a four hour drive from Prague to Berlin. It is without a shadow of doubt the best album I ever bought. The tunes are all right from that era when Chicago house hit the shores of Manchester and everyone was coming back from Ibiza high...
Published on 30 May 2009 by Bradley Mitton

versus
18 of 21 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars ok, but not quite the same.
I looked and laughed at this when I saw it. If you've been there, you'd know, the thing was, any track on any night could have been a classic. There's a few on here that were played every night, but a lot of these tracks are just club classics. But I saw it was mixed by hooky, so bought it. It's brought back a few memories, not all from the hac, also from quadrant park,...
Published on 27 May 2006 by N. Flack


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Massive album - Best tunes since I was at the club..., 30 May 2009
By 
Bradley Mitton "Brad" (Berlin) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: The Hašienda Classics: World Are You Ready For Manchester! (Audio CD)
I went to the Hacienda nearly every Friday night from 1989 to 1991 and it was massive. I bought this album dubiously and played it today on a four hour drive from Prague to Berlin. It is without a shadow of doubt the best album I ever bought. The tunes are all right from that era when Chicago house hit the shores of Manchester and everyone was coming back from Ibiza high as kites wanting more of that kind of music in our clubs. This album has everything and I was in shock listeining to it. Probably the greatest drive of my life today, wish it was Friday night in 1990 again. Anyone who experienced tha Hacienda should get this album, you will not regret it...
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


10 of 11 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Simply classic!!!, 28 Mar 2006
This review is from: The Hašienda Classics: World Are You Ready For Manchester! (Audio CD)
What more can be said about The Hacienda (and Factory Records) that hasn't already been written? Well, pretty much nothing, so why not leave it up to the music to do the talking for once...and then some. This album sums up everything that was great about dance music back in the day and ebues the euphoric feelings created by this music and some other extra-curricular activities that made "Newsweek" magazine vote The Hacienda "Most Important Cultural Space 1990". The legends are many, the myths just as plentiful, but when it all came down to it, it was the magic of Messrs Park, Pickering, Haslam et al that really gave The Hacienda it's fame. The first club to really cotton on to the new and exciting sounds coming out of Chicago and Detroit back in 1986, The Hacienda was at the forefront of the house revolutuion. Funky beats, accompanied by equally funky piano breaks, this was truly groundbreaking. I only experienced FAC 51 in it's death throes in 1997 but studied it at length for my History dissertation at University interviewing over 200 people. My ex-girlfriend and many of her friends were there in it's hey-day and all of them to a man talk about The Hac with a passion and fondness that's rare in this day and age. I own many DJ mixes live from The Hac and so this was just an addition to my Manchester collection. However, I implore you to check this out whether a newcomer to the dawn of house music or whether you're a seasoned collector...hey it's worth it for the case and sleeve notes alone! If you are new (which surely, can't be many of you) then you will find a treat in store. All I can do is quote from a well known film about Manchester "This is where it starts. You notice, they're not applauding a band, but the medium. The DJ and music. This is the beatification of the beat. This is where even the white man starts dancing. Welcome to Manchester!!!"
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


13 of 15 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Tonight we're gonna party like its 1989..., 28 Mar 2006
By 
T. Robinson - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: The Hašienda Classics: World Are You Ready For Manchester! (Audio CD)
As soon as it starts you know this is a cut above your average 'Rave Anthems' compilation. It begins with the nasal Mancunian drawl of the late great Rob Gretton; New Order's manager and the man who decided that "The Hašienda Must be Built"...as the sound of the infamous bassbins, thumping in the distance down Whitworth Street grows louder and louder...
Rather than ask a superstar DJ, the tracks are selected by New Order's bass-Viking Peter Hook. His approach is to include the cuts he enjoyed as a punter in his own club, so pretty much avoids the more esoteric stuff in favour of 3 discs of solid dancefloor favourites of the late 80s/early 90s. So expect loads of Italio piano breaks, handclaps, 303 Basslines and that reverbed, thumping bass kick. (Note that although the tracks are mixed or segued together they are pretty much played in their entirety)
You'll find a lot of these cuts naggingly familiar and its surprising how many Haš tunes became crossover chart hits too (music snobs beware...this includes Black Box 'Ride On Time'!), indeed had Factory cashed in at the time with a series of compilations like this the Haš might not have been the financial black hole that producer Martin Hannett eludes to at the start of disc 3.
To be fair some of these tracks haven't aged so well, but the likes of Gerald's 'Voodoo Ray' or Inner City's 'Good Life' still send shivers down the spine and tracks like Sterling Void's 'Its Alright' make me think that in years to come the original 12"s will be changing hands for megabucks like Northern Soul tunes do today.
You don't have to be a former 24 Hour Party Person on a nostalgia kick to enjoy this. If you're just interested in the history of the Hašienda, Factory Records or the Manchester music scene, or you just love the original Acid House sound this is essential listening. You'd be hard pressed to find a better overview of the music scene of the day than this.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


18 of 21 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars ok, but not quite the same., 27 May 2006
By 
N. Flack (warrington) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: The Hašienda Classics: World Are You Ready For Manchester! (Audio CD)
I looked and laughed at this when I saw it. If you've been there, you'd know, the thing was, any track on any night could have been a classic. There's a few on here that were played every night, but a lot of these tracks are just club classics. But I saw it was mixed by hooky, so bought it. It's brought back a few memories, not all from the hac, also from quadrant park, shelleys etc. But there's a couple on here that take me back to swaying under the balcony on a friday night. not quite eclectic enough for a true representation of the hac. Mixing isn't great, but it never was, I've heard Pickering mix tracks and it sounded like he was falling down the stairs at the back of the booth, but when the music was that good, it never mattered.

If you've been there, you'll enjoy it, if you never experienced it, you may love it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars MAD4IT, 28 Mar 2011
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Hašienda Classics: World Are You Ready For Manchester! (Audio CD)
Of course it doesnt cover the whole spectrum of what we heard at the Hac over the years, but jeez, that would be one helluva huge album.. But this Album delivers, overall excellent choice of tunes with some absolute belters, found myself only at odds with one or two on each disc, but this is very subjective and purely down to personal taste. I'm not going to review every single track because these tunes are well known by the people in the scene back then or have become legends in their own right and are well known. For anybody younger who wants a fantastic snapshot of the scene then, this album could not be more highly recommended. If you are buying to mix CDJ or MP3, then this represents a fantastic smash n' grab of some of classic tunes and classic samples in one package, but some tracks (not all) are mixed into the next, but nothing elaborate, theres just some 'overlap' on a few, so can be overcome with software. If you wanted entirely separate tracks, you wont be disappointed, but you will have to edit with software. From my perspective for 1 album that gives 'a lick of the Hac', i score almost exclusively 5 stars and 4 stars with only a small number of 2s and 3s.. This represents very good tune selection and great value for money in one package... buy it now and get ur buddies round for a big mash up, you wont be disappointed.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 10 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Top Collection of the classics, 21 April 2006
By 
Mr. M. Challand "Markycee" (London) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: The Hašienda Classics: World Are You Ready For Manchester! (Audio CD)
Anyone who was there in 89/90's should get this. I have bought a few old skool compilation CD's and they always contain several belters, but a lot of "not so good" tracks. This triple CD has most of the key tracks of the day and certainly brings back some great memories. Mixing is on the subtle side, but then again this is more of a straight forward compilation than a full on mix CD. Back in the day, you would have given right arm, to get a tape with all this on!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars remonising, 12 April 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Hašienda Classics: World Are You Ready For Manchester! (Audio CD)
was ok bought back few memories from a while ago though doesnt seem almost twenty five years ago worth trip down memory lane though.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Great tunes, 7 Aug 2012
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Hašienda Classics: World Are You Ready For Manchester! (Audio CD)
Two of the three CDs are great with ace tunes and well mixed / thought out. The Tony Wilson CD whilst also having great tunes is just thrown together and has no flow to it...surely 'Know How' and 'It Takes Two' should have been mixed and 'Come Together' and 'Belfast' should have been at the end not in the middle, as an example.

If you can let things like that go, then it's worth getting as there are good house tunes galore on this.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 6 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A great era, though not entirely 'Hacienda' style, 17 April 2006
By 
Picard (USS Enterprise) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)    (VINE VOICE)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Hašienda Classics: World Are You Ready For Manchester! (Audio CD)
The story behind Tha Hacienda is quite sad, considering it played such a huge role in creating the Madchester scene, and the development of the 80's/90's club music. For starters, the club was stranded in debt when it was first opened, and struggled to make money. It was only during the late 80's and early 90's that it was the scene to go to, and thats were all the good memories come from. The club closed voluntarily around 1997, after much drug use and crime that surrounded the club, and a death or two..
Hooksy said "The wierd thing about The Hacienda is that it has alot painful memories, as well as good ones". And quite right he was too. The small book that comes with this album has a sad to end to it - the final page has 20 small CCTV photos, all ordered in a square, that shows New Years Eve, from the pictures of it opening, to the final closing, with an image of the shutters down.
Its credit to the 3 dj's who mixed this album. The songs all reflect the good times that was the late 80's and 90's period, and although the sound system was bad (the music bounced off all the walls) it was still an incredible place, with its industrial theme. Cd1 and 2 are my favourite cd's, that have some great rhtyhms, and a good variety of sounds, from the rap lyrics of 'Don't Scandalize Mine', to the beautiful feel good sounds of Papua New Guinea. Ride On Time just had to be here as well!
The mixing is kept simple, and suits the album, as its not over-produced. I think Cd2 didn't have the same impact, apart from the 1st 2 songs which are fantastic (especially Good Life). But the best tracks include the likes of Pacific State, Berry, Weekend, Space Face, Ruined in a day... the list goes on.
Besides this, its easy to point that the music inside The Hacienda itself was alot more varied than this tracklist. New Order, Happy Mondays, Oasis, Joy Division, all bands that played their, and even though these wern't the dance acts that we see on the album, why were they left out? The introduction of rock/indie music played a big role in the club, and during the early days it was the main theme of the club. A true representation would have alot more variety - check out the cd "24 hour party people".
So, while the club left with the unfortunate scenes of drugs and violence, many of the good memories live on in this excellent quality album, presented in not just your ordinary 'classics' album case, but with a good, chunky and superb quality case that matches the pride of the club. A real classic in itself!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


11 of 17 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Hašienda Classics - An outstanding anthology of a seminal club, 18 April 2006
This review is from: The Hašienda Classics: World Are You Ready For Manchester! (Audio CD)
I've been waiting quite a while for a great, concise compilation of older house music to hit the shops. For me, there's far too many cheap, tacky and unworthy mixes that are churned out in gaudy packaging which contain mainly filler with the odd great song.

Thankfully, this has filled the gap in some style. This 3 CD set really encapsulates the time when the Haš was THE place to go in the UK. Every single track chosen are worthy entries, with not one tune which you'd class as 'filler'.

The collection begins with CD 1, and the early days of the Haš with classic 80's house tunes from the likes of 808 State, K-Klass and Mr Lee, seemlessly flowing into each other, like a family reunion. CD 2 joins in on the fun with some more early to mid-80's gems but interspersed with some of the indier side of things like Primal Scream and Happy Mondays. CD 3 begins with the hard house stomper, Sub Sub's "Space Face" before ending on the emotional "You Got The Love" by Candi Station, which sort of leaves it all on a sad note, probably for the best considering the sad death of the Hašienda.

The most remarkable quality about this anthology is how it dates well with current music. Drop ANY of these tunes in a house club now and you'll literally see the place explode, such is the power of it. I had the fortune to go to the Hašienda in the later years, once in 1995 and again just before it closed its doors for good, and there was always an amazing aurora around the place. I've never been old enough to see the magic of what the Wigan casino was like in its pomp and prime but that was the closest I could have imagined it to be.

This compilation is like the greatest Northern Soul compilation for the modern era. If you cannot like it, you simply have no soul.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Only search this product's reviews