Customer Reviews


108 Reviews
5 star:
 (53)
4 star:
 (32)
3 star:
 (16)
2 star:
 (4)
1 star:
 (3)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


17 of 18 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The tragedy of violence
As other reviewers have said, this is a profound and engaging film that appeals to both your head and heart. I won't repeat the plot, but it does a fine job of making both the Israelis and their targets human, fallible and empathetic. And in this lies the true tragedy of the middle east: that a man who can spent his time translating the Arabian Nights into Italian can...
Published on 10 April 2009 by Roman Clodia

versus
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Pretty good little movie
I liked it - not up there with truly great movies but worth a watch for all that.
The photography was excellent and the boy/man relationship well acted.
Franke Potente as usual gave a great performance - but then she always does.
Published on 25 Nov 2011 by Paul Morris


‹ Previous | 1 2 311 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Munich, 17 Oct 2009
By 
Bianca White "bianc93" (Gosport, Hampshire, UK) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Munich [DVD] (DVD)
In short, this is a bad part of our recent history, chronicled in an entertaining way. Such a feat isn't easy. A sovereign country sanctions a crew of assassins to go forth into 1970's Europe and eliminate the architects of the Munich Olympic massacre. It's impossible to know exactly how accurate the scenes are depicted. I personally find it difficult to believe that any assassins can afford to be quite so selective in their targets. The movie slightly bent credence by having these men jump through hoops in order not to harm innocent bystanders. That has an almost noble feel to it but in war - no matter what form it takes - they are morals that can't always be afforded.

However this is a good film. Kudos is added by the squad's brushes with certain faktions, security services and organised crime fraternities. The spirit of the age was caught well in the street scenes, the fashions and inevitaby the music. Most of all the political obsessions of that era - some of which persist tragically to this day - give a real believability to the story.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


13 of 15 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Dark and Disturbing, 14 Nov 2006
This review is from: Munich [DVD] (DVD)
Strong performances by the entire cast and I think casting Eric Bana as the main character was pure genius. Just looking at the external character without even looking on the inside it is sad to watch something so beautiful become so distorted and ugly. A dark, disturbing story about a time that I was to young to remember. I never want to see this film again as I found it so harrowing. War is an ugly business but when fuelled by revenge it destroys so many lives that you begin to question whether it is worth it; using religion to support your behaviour is sad and disturbing, which I feel is the lesson here: an eye for an eye, a tooth for a tooth will only leave this us eyeless and toothless. I would ask everyone to see this film because despite its dark historical story it is very applicable to the times we live in today.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


18 of 21 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Confucius was right, 25 April 2006
This review is from: Munich [DVD] (DVD)
When Confucius wrote "before you embark on a journey of revenge, first dig two graves" I wonder if he'd seen the script to Munich. Trite I know, but in this most recent of Steven Spielberg's offerings, the old Chinese proverb rings true. In this marvellously crafted tale we see a fictionalised account of the aftermath of the murder of eleven Israeli atheletes during the 1972 Munich Olympics. We see the response - Mossad sending a message to Black September. Avner (Eric Bana) hunts the surviving terrorists and Black September instigators of the atrocity, and along with his team suffers the consequences of the revenge message.

The production was located, propped and costumed magnificently - I truly believed that I was looking at the seventies, and it was so consistent across international locations.

If I had a criticism, it would be that the movie is too long, but that is just a personal opinion from someone who can't sit still for that amount of time. The DVD will mitigate this somewhat as I could at least hit pause and take a comfort break.

An excellent movie, not necessarily telling the tale like it actually happened, but thought provoking and replete with fine performances.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Unpleasantly good, and very thought-provoking., 18 Sep 2008
By 
This review is from: Munich [DVD] (DVD)
The killings in Munich are spread out through this film, bringing grim inevitability and helpless, sick fascination together as a sort of background. The main story is of the response to those, with increasing complexity as the straight line between "black and white", "good and evil", "us and them" and so on becomes more and more tangled and blurred. By following one character most of the time, it manages to be absorbingly personal. The contrast between the killers' world and the civilian world through which they move is heightened by the places they overlap. Parts of this sat in my mind and came back up with a new significance later, like Holland and what was said about it near the end. All the performances are great, but that of "Papa" particularly so.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Spielberg's revenge Movie..., 9 Sep 2006
This is set in the aftermath of the massacre of Israeli Olympic team at the 1972 Munich games, is based in fact and is told with a great deal of skill by Steven Spielberg.

Eric Bana (Troy) stars as the leader of a group of assassins assembled to exact the "eye for eye" policy of his government as the acts of revenge are carried out on the Palestinian "Black September" group, the wanton deaths spiral out of control in what turns out to be futile acts of vengeance.

As time goes on Eric Bana's character becomes more and more disillusioned with his mission, this production manages to keep the viewer on the edge of their seat without making the carnage on screen the only reason to watch, this is Spielberg's most mature and thoughtful movie since Schindler's List and lookout for Daniel Craig as one of the assassins in this superbly crafted film is highly recommended viewing.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


16 of 19 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A thoughtful and intense story of political violence., 7 Dec 2007
By 
This review is from: Munich [DVD] (DVD)
This is not, as the title suggests, a film which focusses on the terrorist attack which killed a large part of the Israeli team at the 1972 Olympic games. This event is featured only at the opening of the film, and later in short flashbacks. One member of the Olympic team is even played by his own son.

This is the semi-fictional story of an Israeli hit squad assembled to carry out revenge assassinations of targets across western Europe. The result is absorbing and convincing. Early 70's Israel and multiple European locations are recreated with glorious attention to detail; with accurate interiors, clothes and street scenes packed with period cars, lending the film and almost documentary feel at times.

The subject of assassination is treated with emotional realism too. The essentially civilised Israelis, all with 'normal' day jobs, although utterly convinced of their purpose find themselves increasingly traumatised by the murders they carry out, often against targets who appear quite harmless and decent, and frequently endangering the lives of innocent bystanders.

This is a film about the nature of political violence and its ultimate futility. There is a clear subtext which refers to the present-day post 9/11 situation and the 'war on terror'. This reveals itself, perhaps a little clumsily, in the closing shot of the film.

Overall, an excellent film, though with some weak spots. In particular, a sub-plot concerning a mysterious French mafia family, from which the agents buy information about their targets. This seems contrived and detracts from the otherwise successful realism of the rest of the story.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


15 of 18 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Quite simply, a masterpiece, 22 Aug 2006
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Munich [DVD] (DVD)
Having read the review by Ben Stewart stating that this DVD omits the violence that took place at the Munich Olympics in 1972 and then took the DVD off after watching it for 5 minutes, I can only advise Mr. Stewart to watch it again and stay with it for the full two and three quarter hours. Truly this is an absorbing thriller inspired by real events. It is also Steven Spielberg's finest film since "Schindler's List."

To those who accuse Spielberg of displaying unfair bias, I can only assume they haven't really understood the thrust of the story. Every story must have a viewpoint and Spielberg has told this story from the viewpoint of the "hit squad" assigned to

kill those responsible for the Munich massacre and the effect it has on their private lives. In this, he has succeeded magnificently.

The film, intelligently scripted, expertly directed and well acted, contains some of the most suspenseful sequences ever staged. But it's not purely an action film. It manages to cover the differing aspects of the Israeli-Palestinian conflict and finds fault on both sides. It also points to the profiteering that is so much a part of the business of assasination. It shows that even the most dedicated paid killers can have conscience qualms. I have never before seen a film that deals with these issues so touchingly and so brilliantly. Quite simply, this is a masterpiece that stands up to repeated viewings. I cannot recommend it highly enough.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Jury is still out on this Extra Judicial action thriller., 13 Jun 2009
This review is from: Munich [DVD] (DVD)
Part of a Cheap DVD's deal I was playing with Amazon to see what quality of films I could get for a nominal £20 for 5, this was the highest rated. I was already familiar with the plot having grown up with memories of being thrilled by Mark Spitz and Olga Korbut during the 1972 Olympics and that one horrible incident that shattered the innocence of the games.

I had watched and been thrilled by the cheesy "Sword of Gideon" and read of the ruthless exploits of Israel's secret agents in the 70's.

The good, Eric Bana is a fine actor, I had bought "Blackhawk Down" as part of the 5 film deal and he does a very competent job in both films. Daniel Craig, is still not "my Bond" (we all have one) but he is a cracking actor, very versatile and effective.

The bad, the assassinations were very tense and I still like being on Spielbergs tension rack like when in London where things don't go as planned, the hunt to the point that guns are cocked but cannot be used was good. However the pacing was somewhat too slow and just not compelling in parts. Not sure what to make of the dutch assasination as it could have been lifted out of "Sword of Gideon", the awkward bicycle pump guns and the unexpected responses of the intended victim to both being cornered and being shot (opposite in both films).

Overall though, this was a late night film for me (not a popcorn movie), to watch alone and get annoyed with parts and to enjoy other parts.

Surprisingly not the bestof my 5 film deal.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Mature Film Making, 4 Oct 2007
This review is from: Munich [DVD] (DVD)
I saw this film on the shelves of my local HMV, but avoided it for some time, thinking that it would be another bit of ignorant American 'might-is-right' Arab-bashing. How wrong I was.

In fact, this is an astonishing movie to come from someone who is a both a mainstream US film maker and Jewish in origin. Despite the emotive and policitally-sensitive nature of the subject (massacre of Israeli athletes by arab terrorists and the subsequent retribution meeted out by Israeli agents), the film is thoughtful, balanced and perhaps above all, intelligent. Mature film-making indeed.

While the film has depth; it's never dry. There are plenty of explosions, bucket-loads of bullets and enough taut, fine-wire tension to have you nibbling your nails off. It entertains like an action movie, but what's so refreshing for anyone with an IQ rating higher than their shoe size is that is informs and stimulates like a good polictical thriller too.

Photography is fine, with an excellent production design team that has recreated scenes with a hoard of period and locational detail. Wonderful if you actually lived through the 70s; your delight at seeing flared trousers or Rover V 8's will rapidly become everyone else's boredom.

Dialogue is crisp, with unexpected wit, delivered dead pan, so that you almost miss it. More sophisticated, almost French. Dark humour, powerful emotion and human characterisation (complete with fear, doubt and vulnerability) accompany the gritty action, giving it emotional form and depth rarely seen.

What we have is a genuinely-felt compassion for humanity; an exploration of the things we all have in common. Whether terrorist or government agent, what we all really want; home, family, a job or a country; these things are the same. In a sense we are all the same people, whether Jew, Arab or gentile. If one group attacks another it ends up, in the end by harming itself. Revenge is cyclical, never ending, and here, quite literally suicidal.

You might be thinking that the audience are in danger of sliding down a slippery slope into a vat of molten cheese; but no. Speilberg manages to convey his message without a trace of schmaltz, self-pity or weak liberal moralising. Having convincingly questioned the worth of taking an eye for an eye, the long shot of the twin towers in the closing frames, poses obvious, and uncomfortable question for American foreign policy. Yet it avoids being simplistic, heavy handed or corny.

In fact this is a brave, high quality and hugely enjoyable film and deserves far more accolades than garnered thus far. Its not pefect - possibly overlong for a start - but you just have to admire both the thought and courage that went into making it. For this reason alone it deserves the full 5 stars. Spielberg is a prodigeous film maker, but its hard not to think that here he has surpassed himself.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Great first half, slow second half, 2 July 2008
By 
D. Brusca (Derbyshire, England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Munich [DVD] (DVD)
The story of the Israeli response to the Munich Olympics massacre is a film of two halves. The first is a fascinating, detailed and thrilling, err, thriller! Part spy movie, part actioner it's thoroughly enthralling. The second half drags it down however, being overlong and devoid of the tension and pace of the first half. One thing I really liked was the art direction. You would be forgiven for thinking the film was actually made in the 70s as every little detail is soaked in authenticity. So, 5/5 for the first half, 3/5 for the second, 4/5 overall.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 311 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Munich  [DVD]
Munich [DVD] by Geoffrey Rush (DVD - 2006)
£2.72
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews