Customer Reviews


 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


13 of 13 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Never leave home without it.
So, i bought this a few weeks back. One of the guys i work with had one and i liked the idea of it's practicality so i came and picked one up from Amazon.

First off...let me say that this is quite possibly the most convenient thing i've ever bought. In the first few days i had it, i ended up using it a LOT more than i thought. Need to cut something? Use the...
Published on 29 Aug. 2009 by Mr Hahn

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars I think the Suspension is better, easier and quicker to use and half the ...
Not really a big fan of the design of this one, I think the Suspension is better, easier and quicker to use and half the price, although this one is much lighter and comes with a good case. It's a bit slow having to shift the pliers mechanism down to be able to open and access any of the other tools. But it still gets the job done, just not as efficient as other...
Published 10 months ago by integer22


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

13 of 13 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Never leave home without it., 29 Aug. 2009
By 
This review is from: Gerber Diesel Multi-Plier - Black (Sports)
So, i bought this a few weeks back. One of the guys i work with had one and i liked the idea of it's practicality so i came and picked one up from Amazon.

First off...let me say that this is quite possibly the most convenient thing i've ever bought. In the first few days i had it, i ended up using it a LOT more than i thought. Need to cut something? Use the (extremely sharp!) tanto blade. Need to fix something? Screwdrivers. Thirsty? Bottle opener. The list goes on.

The tool itself comes with a handy belt sheath. The sheath itself doesn't have clips or anything. You actually have to LOOP your belt thru it, making the possibility of losing the tool a LOT more remote.

Initial views: At first, the powdered coating makes opening the tool relatively hard. But after the initial overcoating has worn off, it slides open without any hassle. The trick is to grip the 2 buttons on the side, and flick it down so the main tool's sliding out from the pliers head. All the tools and blades lock into place, making use a LOT safer. Deployment time's a little higher than normal, but that's to be expected from a multi plier that has the tools INSIDE the handles. You CAN minimise the profile of the tool though by, say, deploying a blade/screwdriver and then sliding the pliers head back into the handle, making it a bit easier to manipulate when working in tight spaces or trying to unscrew components with no real headroom.

I can't speak for EVERY tool purchased, but the black coating wore off on mine rather quickly. It's not silver, but it looks like i've had it for about 5 years instead of 5 weeks. Still works just as well so no complaints....but it's not 100% black any more.

All in all, this is definitely something worth picking up. I'm not that much of a handyman, but my multi plier's definitely paid for itself in convenience and usefulness so far.

If you have the money, you'll probably want to go leatherman... Personally, there's no point. This does everything it says on the tin, and it does it perfectly.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great little tool, 10 May 2011
This review is from: Gerber Diesel Multi-Plier - Black (Sports)
Picked one of these up after using a friend's one on a boating holiday. Very useful for the little jobs you end up doing around the house, pliers are a good size and sturdy - should handle most things from removing nails to amateur dentistry, tools in the handle are the usual fare of screw drivers, mini saw etc. Best thing about it is being able to just flick out the pliers with a quick motion - they are usually a bit stiff at first but practice and you'll soon get the hang of it. Adds a nice touch of "flair" to any DIY work where you'll be having an audience, although most people just like this because they can open it one handed. Either way, it's a decent feature.
Only complaint (as mentioned by other reviewers) is that the black paint does tend to come off, but when I have finished even the most menial job and my hands are covered in black I can make out it was far harder than it really was and hopefully wangle a nice cuppa out of it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


10 of 11 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars TipTop, 14 Mar. 2009
By 
R. Meacock - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Gerber Diesel Multi-Plier - Black (Sports)
This is my second Gerber after losing my 600 series.It is an absolute joy and i use it every single day. It is extremely well designed and made, plus if you manage to not lose it than the lifetime guarantee will make shore it will outlast you. The fact you can open it with one hand unlike the butterfly style leather man's is very handy (being up ladders etc). The extra screwdriver bits are a good addition. shop around tho, i got mine cheaper away from amazon.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars cant fault it, 4 Dec. 2010
This review is from: Gerber Diesel Multi-Plier - Black (Sports)
I would recomend the gerber diesel to anyone, i never take it off, and like them so much have bought one for my dad and brother
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Rugged and useful, 28 Oct. 2014
By 
H. Eaton (Milton Keynes, Bucks, GB) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Gerber Diesel Multi-Plier - Black (Sports)
Brilliant to have all the tools I could need on my person throughout the day, feels rugged and weighty like it'll last.
It comes oiled though I needed to add a little extra to help with the one handed flick opening of the pliers.

Downside to this design is the tools are on the inside, making it a bit more of a chore to use than many Leatherman brand offerings, if this doesn't bother you then this is a great tool to have.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars My 2nd Diesel, 18 Feb. 2015
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Gerber Diesel Multi-Plier - Black (Sports)
Bought one in 2010
gifted to a friend 2014
.. shopped for a new multitool,... and now 2015 own a 2nd diesel.
Main competition is the Leatherman Wave (Arguably the best tool but if inc bit driver set is double the price, bordering on jewlery grade tool price, gerber bit addaptor also allows use of widely available real bits and not the semi 2-dimensional.)

Primary tool is the plyer so is VERY fast access. (highpoint of the diesel)
Secondary tools are inside the handles. (Slow!)
Knife/saw point inwards causeing opposite handle to obstruct (good for safty but limits use)
Knife is somewhat diff to sharpen being a straight blade but the point edge gives many utility uses.
Very rust resistant, never seen a rust spot in the many years of use.

Recommend pouch.. 9mm magazine molle Osprey
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Brilliant bit of kit, 20 May 2015
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Gerber Diesel Multi-Plier - Black (Sports)
Awesome tool!!

So much so, I bought 2!!
(Well, I lent the first to my sister and she lost it!! Ordered a new one, and the original turned up...typical, eh?!)

The black coating does wear off - but in my opinion only serves to make it look cooler!
As well as looking cool, it's a very well built tool and will handle a lot of abuse. I'm a sailor - and won't be caught on deck without one (okay, it'll struggle cutting through mooring lines - but it was never designed to do that).

I've used most tools on it - sometimes in preference over the proper tools.
Unfortunately, it doesn't make a decent brew (but the file does make for a good swizzle stick)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Good all rounder..., 10 Sept. 2009
By 
Rizzo "Rizzo" (London, United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Gerber Diesel Multi-Plier - Black (Sports)
A hefty toolkit with everything you need. However, it's quite heavy and when in your pocket, you WILL feel it. However, it's strong design, weight etc makes it a tough device as well as reliable. It comes a little stiff at the joints when you get it, so I reccomend a quick squirt of some lubricant to sort things out.

It's a great tool!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars great product, 20 Jun. 2015
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Gerber Diesel Multi-Plier - Black (Sports)
Great multi tool, looks great, blade is sharp as hell and doesn't blunt easily. I use this camping and about the garden as I love the saw blade on this, and it's always at the top of the tool box for easy access.

The mechanism for the one handed operation was stiff on buying, but a little 3-in-1 oil and repeatedly flicking it open fixed that, it now slides out smoothly. I imagine using that at the top of a ladder would be really handy, though I would say that ease of use when it comes to opening blades goes to the Leatherman Wave.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars I think the Suspension is better, easier and quicker to use and half the ..., 26 Sept. 2014
This review is from: Gerber Diesel Multi-Plier - Black (Sports)
Not really a big fan of the design of this one, I think the Suspension is better, easier and quicker to use and half the price, although this one is much lighter and comes with a good case. It's a bit slow having to shift the pliers mechanism down to be able to open and access any of the other tools. But it still gets the job done, just not as efficient as other multi-tools I've used.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Gerber  Diesel Multi-Plier - Black
£56.42
Usually dispatched within 2 to 3 days
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews