Customer Reviews


166 Reviews
5 star:
 (89)
4 star:
 (40)
3 star:
 (13)
2 star:
 (13)
1 star:
 (11)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


16 of 17 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Simply, a gorgeous film
I watched this film after being amazed by the brilliant Hero. From what I heard I was expecting the same attention to detail, brilliant soundtrack and astounding choreography seen in Hero. I was not disappointed. The story could have easily been followed without the subtitles however the film was so masterfully shot that it kept me captivated to the last scene.
The...
Published on 27 July 2005

versus
19 of 22 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Awful blu-ray transfer.
The movie is wonderful, of course, but this is about the blu-ray. This is probably the worst blu-ray transfer I have ever seen. Lack of detail, faded colors, and those horizontal light and dark lines that made me stop watching after 10 minutes. For the time being, I stick with the DVD version, and sincerely advise not to bother to see this particular blu-ray version.
Published on 23 July 2009 by Francisco Josť Poyato Ariza


‹ Previous | 1 217 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

16 of 17 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Simply, a gorgeous film, 27 July 2005
By A Customer
I watched this film after being amazed by the brilliant Hero. From what I heard I was expecting the same attention to detail, brilliant soundtrack and astounding choreography seen in Hero. I was not disappointed. The story could have easily been followed without the subtitles however the film was so masterfully shot that it kept me captivated to the last scene.
The plot follows a captain in the army who is sent in undercover to discover the whereabouts of a rebel group called the house of flying daggers, who rob from the rich to give to the poor. His job is to befriend a suspected member of the house of flying daggers and she will hopefully lead him to their base. The girl is question is a blind girl, who performs at the local entertainment house (played by Ziyi Zhang) The captain at first is true to his mission and wins the girls affection but as the story develops and situations change. He realises his true feeling for the girl, and her for him but an old lover reveals himself and complicates matters, when the girl decides on who she wants to be with, all allegiances break down and there is one final battle in the name of love.
This is truly one of the most beautiful films I have ever had the pleasure to watch, the photography of the scenes, the light, the colour were perfect, a warm glow of pleasure spread through me as I watched some of the scenes. They were also helped by an exceptionally well-chosen and balanced soundtrack, with one song in particular staying through the film most of the way. The visual affect were fantastic and if you didn't know better you may feel like throwing a few knives around at home to see if the might move around objects. Unlike a lot of high action Hollywood films you could really see and tell what was happening in the fight scenes, which were all bar the last drawn-out, fight-to-the-death, spectacular. The film focuses mainly on character development and astonishing scene work rather than plot, as the story itself is frankly very simple with a few twists involved. However, if you enjoy watching films just for the sheer beauty of them, watch this film and you shan't be disappointed.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


14 of 15 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Beautifully shot, if lacking a little plot, 29 July 2005
By 
M. Gardner "Afro Matt" (Somerset, England) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (REAL NAME)   
This is a beautifully crafted film. The cinematography and the theatrical orchestration is wonderful. The scenery is never less than outstanding and the fights scenes move like ballet with swords. The plot, however, is somewhat lacking, with some large questions left unanswered at the end of the film. However, the romantic love triangle does provide a certain other dimension to the film even if it is not explored as well as it could be. That aside, this is a visual masterpiece, and if you just let yourself be taken away by the lovingly crafted visuals and serene music you'll find here an enjoyable couple of hours.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


13 of 14 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Beware the falling bamboo leaves, 1 May 2005
By 
Amanda Richards "Hotpurplekoolaid" (ECD, Guyana) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (REAL NAME)   
The only similarity between this movie and "Crouching Tiger, Hidden Dragon", is the breathtaking choreography of the aerial combat amongst the bamboo trees. Indeed, the best sequences in "House of Flying Daggers" begin with some quietly and gracefully pirouetting bamboo leaves, falling dramatically towards the lush green forest floor.
Totally different from "Hero" plot wise, the vivid use of color, light and fabric ties the two together, bringing Chinese action movies to an artistic level never before seen on a big or small screen.
Ziyi Zhang as Mei, the blind bombshell, illuminates every frame she's in, proving her capability to carry a major movie on her slim shoulders. Her supporting male leads Takeshi Kaneshiro (Jin) and Andy Lau (Leo) have to work double time just to keep up.
Jin and Leo are Government officers, who are trying to track down the elusive underground rebel group of the title. They suspect that Mei, a blind call girl, can lead them to the rebels' hideout, and decide to use the age old plan of deception and seduction. Handsome ladies man Jin gets the plum assignment of gaining Mei's confidence, and from here, the movie turns unexpectedly into a tempestuous love story, the plot twisting this way and that under the power of love.
There are certainly less fight scenes than "Hero", the love scenes are awkward to say the least, and the movie slows considerably in places, but the combination of Ziyi Zhang, the scenic shots and the sword, bamboo and knife play make it an extremely worthwhile way to spend 119 minutes.
Amanda Richards
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Beauty of the natural scenery of China meets love and lust, 23 Jun 2005
By A Customer
The film was shot amazingly: I must first say that I was so impressed by the colour set up; the trees in the woods, the bamboo, the fields - it almost had a sense of England in the autumn. The storyline was brilliant, although a little confusing and full of twists - it all fell in place with a perfectly suited ending. The dancing in the beginning was choreographed to the effect of historical China so well that whilst watching the film you almost feel you are there with them due to the sound as well. The idea of making the film gives you a great insight into historical China during the late 1800's early 1900's - because the storyline of the film is of many examples of what truly happened in China in those days. Many rivalries between gangs and families went on. The martial arts - as well - choreographed in the film were not surreal - it was actually possible. Walking up trees, flying in the air from tree to tree and so on were examples of how China were so amazing at fighting and being one with the elements enabling them to achieve such impossible tasks.
What can I say, I was stunned and have a deep love of historical China and their martial arts. Watch crouching tiger, hidden dragon - then this film and you will not just enjoy it but possibly find yourself as well.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Amazing, 29 April 2005
By 
I believe that this film really has some of the most incredible filming and use of colour I have ever seen. As a fan of this type of movie I have seen other films, such as Hero that use colour very well, but this one is simply amazing. The story line is perfectly complimented by this use of colour, sounds (to work with the blind character) and the skill of the actors involved. Over all an excellent film (even though I've only really ranted about the use of varying colour!), although I believe you have to be a real fan of these types of movies to truly realise the skill and craftsmanship that has gone into this film, but a good watch for all.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Brilliant!!!!!, 7 April 2005
Ive never really been into martial arts films before, but i thought id give this one a go and i was amazed. The whole artistry of the film was great, briiliant acting, dance and fight sequences! If youve seen hero and liked that then please watch this it is so much better! The story is a wonderful mix of romance and rivalry (not your typical hollywood rubbish though!) with some interesting twists thoughout. A must for anyone who loves martial arts films with a bit of art!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


11 of 12 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A great package, 14 Oct 2005
By 
Michael K (London, England) - See all my reviews
I won't spend time going over aspects of this film (see the many DVD reviews for that), but what kind of package is offered for this UMD?
Unfortunately there have been some UMD films (most notably Akira) which have disappointed due to poor transfer or complete lack of extra features.
This releases rises far above this - the picture quality is absolutely superb - a testament to the UMD and PSP screen quality; if ever there was a way to convince sceptics about the PSP's suitability a portable film device this is it!
But in addition to the film (which is one of my favourite Eastern releases of recent years) there is a very well made documentary about the making of this film (unfortunately this is presented in 4:3 aspect ratio - yet the picture clarity is still as good as the main feature).
I hope this UMD release will be the first of many more that won't treat PSP owners as the poor DVD cousin of the film world. I've got a long train journey to make later on this month - and this will keep me occupied on it!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


18 of 20 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Poetry in motion..., 7 May 2006
This review is from: House Of Flying Daggers (Special Edition) [DVD] (DVD)
"House of Flying Daggers" brings you a wonderful tale you can delight in, and the opportunity to watch a movie where the use of color is so impressive that it is almost surreal, poetry in motion. Notwithstanding that, I think that you probably won't like this film unless you are prepared to suspend your disbelief at least for 119 minutes, the duration of this movie. Personally, I did exactly that, and I don't regret it at all :)

The story is set in 859 AD, when a corrupt dynasty held power in China. There is an organization called "House of Flying Daggers" that is trying to change things, but the government won't allow that. Two officers, Jin (Takeshi Kaneshiro) and Leo (Andy Lau) are ordered to stop the rebels, and so they devise a plan to infiltrate the "House of Flying Daggers". They capture Mei (Zhang Ziyi), the blind daughter of the previous leader of the revolt, who had been posing as a courtesan. Jin rescues Mei from the jail, and tries to convince her that he would like to join the rebels, when in truth his objective is to destroy the "House of Flying Daggers". But even if everything started as a plan, will Jin be able to remember Leo's advice, "Don't fall in love for real"?.

I want to point out that I thoroughly enjoyed this movie. The story was great, with enough twists to keep you entertained, and plenty of outstanding fighting scenes. Chinese director Zhang Yimou made such a great use of the elements at his disposition (great actors + inspiration + music + choreography + use of colors) that many sequences seem directly out of a dream, and the spectator feels as if he were bearing witness to a real story that happened a long time ago. In a word, the results are impressive... Watch "House of Flying Daggers", and decide whether you share my opinion :)

Belen Alcat
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


10 of 11 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A landmark in Eastern cinema, 28 Feb 2006
The House of Flying Daggers is set in 829 AD. Its is a time where the current 'Tang' Dynasty government is corrupt and a rebellion raises up to topple their regime. However, the story soon turns to the two main characters (Mei and Jin) as they travel to find the rebels base. There are many twists and turns in this story which keep you on the edge of your seat, never knowing what will happen next.
Not only is the story intrigueing, the setting of the film are visually beautiful, along with the perfectly chereographed fight scenes and amazing special effects its a pleasure to watch and truly some of the most magnificent fight scenes ever are produced.
The film however is in Chinese, which is not such a bad thing because it adds to the authenticity of the time and there is not a great amount of dialogue, which means you are not sat reading the subtitles instead keeping up with the actual film.
The film takes another turn to be a three way love story, with the climax being a brilliant battle between the two warriors fighting for a womens love.
Overall an outstanding film, with something for everyone in it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


36 of 41 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars This is how to make a film, 1 Mar 2005
If you were disappointed a little with Hero, dont let that put you off this movie. I feel Zhang Yimou learnt a lot from Hero, and with House Of Flying Daggers has got to grips with exactly how to make this kind of film.
The 3 main actors are amazing. Just watching Zang Zhiyi perform her dance at the beginning of the film is beauty personified. Total grace yet sudden amazing movements showing hints of her deadly hidden abilities.
Andy Lau, one of my favourite actors, is on top form once again. Starting of as the cool calm senior policeman, then gradually revealing a more darker side as the plot changes.
And Takashi Kaneshiro is perfect as the younger officer, eager to do the job, kind of cocky (not in an annoying Hollywood way though) and like any man unable to resist falling for the gorgeous Zhiyi.
Theres a few little twists, most of which people will say "well that was obvious" but it doesnt matter. This is a truly beautiful film, amazing acting, great fight scenes and ends the only way a Hong Kong movie of this genre could.
I like to compare films to give people some idea what to expect, but I cant really compare this to anything else. It is a martial arts, love story, thriller. Theres a bit of everything in there and for me it all works well.
I went with my girlfriend to see this and she loved it, and was crying when we came out, so theres something in there to keep anyone interested. Unless you enjoy movies like Armageddon, Pearl Harbour and Independence day, I'd suggest giving this a go.
Ive been into Oriental movies now for about a year, the best piece of advise I can give is if its your first experience, persevere with the subtitles. When these films are dubbed you lose 90% of the films emotion and integrity.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 217 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

House Of Flying Daggers  (Special Edition)  [DVD]
£9.99
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews