Customer Reviews


 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


41 of 43 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Spectacular Blu Ray
One of my favorite films. I've been watching this movie since i was a kid and must have seen it a hundred times, but never like this. A Stunning transfer on to blu ray, It's sharp and crisp, the colours are stunning as technicolor should be, its like watching the film for the first time again. You can see so much detail, things you may not of noticed in previous...
Published on 30 Jan. 2012 by Alice in Wonderland

versus
52 of 56 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars 2 Disc edition is from a very bad print. Avoid.
I bought the 2 Disc edition because Cleopatra (Special Edition) [DVD] [1963] was unavailable at the time. This 2 Disc edition is most definitely not from a restored print, or even a good quality print. It looks *horrible*. The picture ranges from soft and smeared through very noisy to pebble dashed. The less noisy parts are terribly soft and smeared, with a...
Published on 6 April 2011 by Julian Hughes


‹ Previous | 15 6 723 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

5.0 out of 5 stars In a single word: Spectacular!, 10 Jun. 2015
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Cleopatra [DVD] [1963] (Special Edition) (DVD)
There are so many spectacular elements at play in the Special Edition, negative opinions of Hollywood schmaltz will immediately be forgotten. Consider this set a film buffs dream!
The spectacular transfer, both sight and sound wise. Gorgeous to behold such details and rich colors!
The spectacular (!!!!!!!!!) real life effects, created the old fashion way. Modern day CGI pales by comparison.
The spectacular commentary by Martin Landau (and colleagues), in lush, soft-spoken voice, alone worth double the price of admission. Listening to these amazing reflections will bear repeating.
The spectacular (now legendary) 2 hour documentary, a shorter featurette, and assorted promotions, all of ultra fascinating interest.
And if that doesn't wet your whistle, gazing at Taylor, Harrison, Burton and a whole lot of familiar character faces will absolutely tickle your memory bank.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars A Sumptuous Spectacle!, 21 Jun. 2014
By 
David Lusher (London England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Cleopatra [DVD] [1963] (Special Edition) (DVD)
Hollywood blockbusters don't get any bigger than this. A sumptuous spectacle from start to finish with a great cast and the smouldering chemistry between Burton and Taylor who became lovers during filming. Both are excellent as Antony and Cleopatra. Rex Harrison makes for an excellent Julius Caesar and his relationship with Cleopatra is also well portrayed by both. The sets are stunning, the costumes extravagant, the grandeur of Cleopatra's entry into Rome is worth the price of admission alone. This film and the making of it is legendary and this boxed set does it justice. And bear in mind that this was all crafted before CGI. This is an awesome production and the film has been restored to its original 4 hours length as premiered in 1963. The DVD widescreen print is crystal clear with Dolby 5.1 sound. A must for any film buff and highly recommended.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 10 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The Cleo that we all know and love, 8 April 2007
By 
bernie "xyzzy" (Arlington, Texas) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: Cleopatra [DVD] [1963] (Special Edition) (DVD)
Cleo's have come and gone. There have been many films and books depicting Cleo as she really was to great melodramatic Cleo. Three other popular Cleo's were the Claudette Colbert (1934), Vivien Leigh (1945), and Leonor Varela (1999). There were many more variations between those years.

The one Cleo that will always stand out and lets not forget Mark, is the one staring Elizabeth Taylor and Richard Burton (1963). I was old enough to enjoy it on the big screen. Rex Harrison made a good Caesar; watch him have a similar attitude in "The Honey Pot" (1967).

Enough time, thought, and money have been put into this production that I am bound to overlook a few of the most important items about this film. The movie is more than just the actors are. The characters are very well portrayed. The set and costumes are dazzling. They really showed up in the scene when Cleopatra enterd Rome. And the navel battle was spectacular.

Every one is going to have a favorite Cleo and find flaws in the others. However this Cleo will always the one others are gauged by.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Cleopatra: A classic film featuring a classic actress, 19 July 2011
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Cleopatra [DVD] [1963] (DVD)
From when I was but a child I was in awe of 'Cleopatra'...This role was tailored perfectly for Elizabeth Taylor. Rex Harrison and Richard Burton do splendidly too. As old as I am, the film has aged very well. The acting, sets, and costumes do not look that dated...
This film leaves you wanting to learn more about this all famous, super-star queen. Even in serious study, this film is often cited as a footnote. There are so few depictions of Cleopatra, this film often ranks amongst histories other representations of her from down the ages.
Would today's 12-18 year olds like it...? I reckon they would. This is a film all the family would enjoy, or a classic to sit and enjoy on your own on a Sunday afternoon. Also, I would recommend buying it ,rather than renting, as it is a classic one will want to watch again and again..
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Queen of the Nile., 15 Feb. 2013
By 
Phil C (Nuneaton, Warwickshire) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Most DVDs have extra "making of" discs which are mostly rubbish, but that's not the case with "Cleopatra"; It gives you the historical background of the various and numerous problems which dogged the production and led to spiralling multi-million dollar expenses. Then there was the notorious affair between Liz and Richard which meant that the production was all about them on screen and off as well.
What we're left with is a glorious monument to human folly (in ancient and modern times) tempered with great acting performances, scriptwriting and amazing set designs which revel in their own luxury with not a pixel of CGI in sight - this three disc presentation lets you appreciate everything that made this film great just that little bit more.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Superb Spectacle--Suoerb value., 24 Dec. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Cleopatra [DVD] [1963] (DVD)
This has to be the spectacle to end all spectacles. Knowing the vast problems that beset this movie,and the real life drama that was being played out whilst this film was being made,adds a tremendous dimension to the finished product.
For sheer entertainment value,this film has it all. A fabulous cast;a veritable feast for the eye;an outstanding musical score,who could possibly ask for more!!! There is simply no way today that a film such as this could be made. The cost would bankrupt any studio. My advice is get this restored DVD while you can,and just sit back and wallow in an unbridled joy and delight as History becomes alive with real characters... And incidentally,the price of this DVD on the Amazon website is unbelieveably inexpensive!!!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The only cleopatra for me., 11 Aug. 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Elizabeth Taylor, you would think this historical character was especially written for her,and the love of her life Richard Burton, what a speaking voice that man had. Good slice of history told hollywood style. Highly recommend.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Better than remembered, 28 Jan. 2014
By 
Mr O (Sydney Australia) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I had not seen Cleopatra in many years. Hell, many decades. And I had forgotten that it is much better than its reputation would have you believe when you dispense with all media stories associated with Taylor and Burton at the time. I enjoyed very much the extra that put all that into prespective and killed off some of the myths. The acting is very credible as is the script and I had also forgotten the intricacies of the historical facts, as much as we can know them now. Fanatastic production values if only a bit camp. Enjoyed the re-viewing of this movie very much. High quality restoration as well on blu-ray. Well worth viewing.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Gorgeous, 18 Jun. 2011
By 
Martin Corley - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
I saw this film with my sister a couple of times on TV, so I bought the 3 Disc edition on eBay and the quality was amazing. I was too young to appreciate it when I was young, but now i do. The film itself needs no review, because it is wonderful and Elizabetn taylor was brilliant actress. I was deeply shocked and sad when i heard of her death. That day I took out this movie and sometimes cried when she was on-screen. She wasn't taken sirously as an actress because of her beauty, but she was one of the best. This DVD also has lots of special features to kepp you entertained for hours. You won't regret it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Simply amazing!, 20 May 2012
By 
Mr. M. A. Ward "Yorkie101" (York, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Cleopatra [DVD] [1963] (Special Edition) (DVD)
what an amazing film! so detailed, so magnificent. It's quite easy to see how this is one of the most expensive films ever made, look at how many extras there are! the costumes, sets etc! im not sure how this was a loss as i thought it was a great film, it may not have been 100% historically accurate, e.g. Cleopatra's entrace into the Roman Forum when no foreign rulers were actually allowed to cross Rome's boundary and the arch they pass through wasn't built for another 300 years after Cleopatra's time. still an amazing film and id recommend it to anyone.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 15 6 723 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Cleopatra [DVD] [1963] (Special Edition)
Cleopatra [DVD] [1963] (Special Edition) by Joseph L. Mankiewicz (DVD - 2006)
£29.95
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews