Customer Reviews


154 Reviews
5 star:
 (118)
4 star:
 (17)
3 star:
 (7)
2 star:
 (5)
1 star:
 (7)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


54 of 55 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars All that heaven allows...and Bowling
I've read that comedy is the most difficult genre to get right and probably the most difficult acting job to get laughs from, but watching The Big Lebowski, the Coens and every one of the actors involved make it all look so easy. This film's full of artists at the top of their game.
TBL's got everything, character acting, over the top character-vignettes, (see John...
Published on 5 Sep 2005

versus
3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars 5 star film but a 3 star blu-ray
'The Big Lebowski' has to be one of my favourite flicks but this is a disappointing and underwhelming Blu Ray presentation. Colour is good but the picture just looks soft in HD - either the result of an uprez, grain reduction software, or latter generation source master. I know not all movies are designed to be ultra sharp and shiny, Transformers style etc. However for a...
Published 7 months ago by mr_madiba


‹ Previous | 1 216 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

54 of 55 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars All that heaven allows...and Bowling, 5 Sep 2005
By A Customer
I've read that comedy is the most difficult genre to get right and probably the most difficult acting job to get laughs from, but watching The Big Lebowski, the Coens and every one of the actors involved make it all look so easy. This film's full of artists at the top of their game.
TBL's got everything, character acting, over the top character-vignettes, (see John Turturro's purple-clad bowling saviour), slapstick (John Goodman's turn as a homicidal ex-vietnam-obsessed marine who's other obsessions include bowling and his ex Cynthia's religion to which he's converted and doggedly won't now give up), terrific set pieces, mistaken identity, long-lost children, dreadful corny porn, mad feminists, its central character's steadily increasing confusion, and the most bewildering, triumphant and frequent use of the word f**k with its derivations, since Kevin Smith first put fingers to word-processor in New Jersey. Don't let the profanity put you off. Just treat those words as coughs or verbal shuffles as the characters strain to think their way out of the particular 'fine mess' they've found themselves in at that point in the film.
Make no mistake, this is a really clever piece of writing that you won't be able to take-in properly in just one viewing or even two, and with each viewing it just gets better. Clever ideas, combine with clever language and even situation comedy.
In the situation comedy stakes, check out the Dude trying to explain to the police why he's worried about a brief case that had been in his POS car, both just stolen, and his and Goodman's furiously inept attempts to interrogate the boy who stole the car while the adolescent's father lies prostrate in an iron lung that's gassing away in the background. After respectfully complimenting the father's TV writing they then proceed to scream at the young offender: one of the most obtuse, dense, zoned-out, morons I've ever seen on screen...if the camera'd held his face any longer, we'd have seen a line of dribble try to escape and then run for it, from the side of his mouth.
Its situations seem absolutely ridiculous, but what happens during them emerges directly from the characters, so everything works, everything. How often can this be said about movies we've seen? Even those with Bowling in them?
While I realise that TBL suits a certain sense of humour and that many won't see the merits in its succulent details that I've come to love, just watch it with an open mind, in one long sitting and then watch it again.
Yeah, I think its brilliant, but that's just like my opinion ...Man.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 9 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars This aggression will not stand, man., 11 Mar 2012
By 
The Coen brothers `The Big Lebowski' is a bona-fide modern cult classic, a slacker epic that benefits from colourful charcterisation, a host of brilliant performances, superb casting and one of the most quotable scripts in movie history. Set during the time of the first Gulf War, the excellent Jeff Bridges plays Jeffrey `The Dude' Lebowski, an ageing, unemployed pot smoking slacker with a penchant for white Russians, who becomes embroiled in a kidnapping case after his identity is mistaken for that of a local millionaire with the same name, a man whose missing wife owes money to Pornographers. The reluctant and very lazy Dude is tasked by his namesake to act as a courier to hand off the ransom money to her captors, but is really only interested in compensation from the men who urinated on his living-room rug or going bowling with his friends Walter (John Goodman), a Jewish convert war veteran obsessed with Vietnam, and the placid Donny (Steve Buscemi), who is always several steps behind the conversation. All three actors are superb and the (F-word strewn) banter and rapport between them is often so genuine that you feel as if you are eavesdropping in on their conversation from the next lane. Indeed, all of the central performances are pitch perfect, but the minor characters are equally as good, particularly John Turtoro as fellow bowler Jesus Quintana, a Hispanic, purple jump-suit clad egomaniac and Phillip Seymour Hoffman as the millionaire Lebowski's decorous personal assistant.

The dude is ultimately an unwilling hero, a man whose focus is on minding his own business and his own problems. At a time when bombs are flying and everyone is running about in a frenzy, all the Dude wants is to take it easy. The blackly comic, sometimes odd-ball but always sharply witty and bitingly clever scenarios that make up TBL may seem like a bit of a disjointed mess on first viewing but is actually a meticulously staged string of events which reflect the Dudes increasing confusion and frustration and his desire to return to the simple life. This is undoubtedly a film that gets better and better with each repeat viewing and those who have criticised the film for a meandering plot and a lack of coherent storytelling may have completely missed the point.

The blu-ray edition is nicely presented in a digibook case with a 24 page booklet and contains a DVD and digital copy. The transfer to blu-ray is not perfect, but still a significant improvement on DVD quality and will certainly satisfy fans of the movie. Colours are bright, particularly with respect to those scenes that take place within the bowling alley, but are sharp and lifelike. Fine details are presented with great clarity for the most part, though the night-time scenes seem a little too soft and gritty. Although this is very much a dialogue driven movie, background sound effects are much better defined with the DTS-HD Master Audio 5.1 Track. There are a host of extras for fans to get their teeth into, with about 90 minutes of featurettes and an interactive map of the locations in the film.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


26 of 27 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars World's finest comedy and the Coen's best work, 10 Mar 2007
By 
O. Parker "opark_77" (Bristol, UK) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (REAL NAME)   
This review is from: The Big Lebowski (Special Edition) [DVD] (DVD)
The Big Lebowski is hilarious. There are few films that have made me laugh so much on first viewing. There are no other films that have made me laugh so much more on repeat viewings.

The film starts with a rambling narrative that sets the tone for the labyrinthine but secondary plot. The mystery that underpins the film is cleverly constructed and lends a familiar Coen Brother's noir edge. This in itself would make for a good movie. However, the script is populated with engaging, believable, flawed, quirky and laugh out loud funny characters who take centre stage. The characters elevate the film to comedic greatness.

John Goodman's portrayal of Walter has always stood out for me. The character is so stupid, self absorbed and self assured and he is put in a series of ridiculous situations that bring out the worst in him to comic effect. Jeff Bridge's role as the Dude remains my favourite performance of his and he seems so natural in the part. The combination of The Dude's consummately laid back attitude and Walter's military informed approach makes for a fine pairing. The film builds it's own in-jokes slowly and carefully with characters repeating phrases they have heard and I think this mechanism is partly to credit for the film's immense re-watch value. The Coen Brother's have made several fantastic films but this remains my favourite.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 9 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars the big lebowski, 16 Dec 2003
By A Customer
The Coen brothers ("Fargo") have done it again. Mixing in Leninist philosphy, mistaken identity, crazy characters, a kidnapping plot, and a deep love of bowling, they have unleashed upon an unsuspecting world the many glories of "The Big Lebowski". Two mobsters break into the apartment of Jeff Lebowski in the errant belief that they are accosting a millionaire - not the laid-back, unemployed, stuck in the '70s Jeff Lebowski who calls himself Dude. Through a complex kidnapping plot, the Dude and his budy are swept up in a hilarious Coenesque comedy/thriller of extortion, double-cross, deception, embezzlement, sex and dope.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars the dude just wanted his rug back, 2 Nov 2004
By 
A. Hoskins "A" (UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
I cannot praise theis film highly enough. I'll start by saying that this is probably the film I have watched more than any other. It is filled with short self-contained and beautifully shot scenes which taken as seperate events are in themselves works of genius but when strung together into the amazingly convoluted and detailed plot are made even greater. One of the greatest and most powerful works of art I have ever seen in any medium.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


16 of 17 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Absolute comic brilliance, Dude, 3 Jan 2006
By 
Daniel Jolley "darkgenius" (Shelby, North Carolina USA) - See all my reviews
(HALL OF FAME REVIEWER)    (TOP 500 REVIEWER)    (REAL NAME)   
The Big Lebowski is a work of comic genius; it's one of the funniest movies I've ever seen. Jeff Bridges is hilarious as "the Dude," a pretty simple guy whose life goes all kinds of topsy-turvy after he's mistaken for someone else with the same name – Jeffrey Lebowski. John Goodman is hilarious as his best friend Walter Sobchak, a boisterous Vietnam vet with a quick temper and a pathological need to jump in and take decisive action all the time, and Steve Buscemi is his usual entertaining self as the only reasonably sane person in the entire film. The Big Lebowski is really all about dialogue and delivery. The script is just wickedly funny from start to finish, but it is Bridges' laid-back delivery that really makes the comic engine go, with all kinds of help from John Goodman.
The Dude comes home one night, only to find himself thrown face-down in the toilet and otherwise accosted by two chaps demanding money to pay off his wife's debts. He finally manages to convince the guys that he is not the Jeffrey Lebowski they are looking for – but not before one of the jokers gives his rug a golden shower. The Dude is not at all happy about this, as "that rug really tied the room together." After consulting with his bowling partners (the Dude spends a lot of time bowling), he decides to find the other, obviously rich Lebowski and ask him to reimburse him for the rug. Soon thereafter, the Big Lebowski calls him in and asks him to serve as the courier for a money drop to some guys who kidnapped his pretty young wife Bunny (Tara Reid). That's when all the trouble really starts. The Dude's soon mixed up with all sorts of crazy people (including a gang of nihilists), while Walter manages to get him deeper and deeper into a lot of trouble he never wanted in the first place. There are indeed lots of strands in the Dude's head as the whole story takes a series of odd twists and turns, each of them funnier than the last. And he's got to get ready for the big semifinals of bowling league play, to boot – Walter is very, very dedicated to the bowling league games. It's almost impossible to give a good overview of the plot, and I wouldn't want to do so anyway, as you really have to experience it all for yourself.
You've got to love the Dude. He's just a lazy slacker who wanted his good, clean rug back, and then all this crazy stuff happened to him. Rest easy, though, knowing that "the Dude abides." Sometimes, that's about all you can do in this crazy world. I should mention that the film more than earns its R rating for profanity, as about every third word anyone says is a curse word – so if that kind of thing bothers you, you may be "out of your element" here. I am quite confident, though, that most viewers will laugh themselves silly watching this movie and will want to keep on watching it over and over again. The Coen Brothers hit a grand slam with this one.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The greatest film of our time, 18 May 2003
I was introduced to this film by a friend about 3 years ago and since then I must have viewed it 50 or 60 times. The Big Lebowski is one of those rare gems that you can watch again and again and you laugh at the same jokes just as much as you did the first time you watched it.
The performances in this film are quite astounding, particularly from Jeff Bridges and John Goodman. But I think the show stealer is John Turetto as 'Jesus' and even though he speaks only 10 or 11 lines during the whole film, even one of them is a classic.
The cinematography is also brilliant. Before watching this film, I found it hard to imagine bowling being portrayed as a glamourous sport, but from the opening sequences alone, I was drawn into the Dude's world that circles around the sport.
This is definitely not a film to watch with your mum for two reasons. Firstly, the language isn't really appropriate for her, and secondly, she would never understand what was going on. But that's part of the joy of The Big Lebowski. It isn't necessary to follow every little bit of the plot, just sit back and enjoy the brilliant dialogue and fantastic performances by the great actors on display.
The Coen Brothers' finest work, even including Fargo...
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars This agression will not stand!, 3 Nov 2004
This film is one of the best (if slightly obscure) films you could ever hope to see. I could not put into words enough reasons to watch this, but on the basis of this movie I happily start every night out with a white russian. Also if you want to see the best musical score in your life, watch this film, please, it will improve your life!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The Dude Abides, 13 Oct 2008
By 
Stucumber "Stucumber" (N. Wales) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)   
I was going to try to write a fair and balanced review, free from hyperbole and gushing praise for this film. The problem is I love this film. A lot. I'm wearing my Dude t-shirt as I write. So I'll dispense with any attempt to create a critical and objective response.

How to describe The Big Lebowski? Well, it's a comedy mixed with a Marlowe-esque detective story. One seen through a fug of weed smoke and set to a soundtrack of Creedence Clearwater Revival. The main character, an ageing hippy, called Jeff Lebowski who goes by the name of The Dude doesn't want much in life; smoke some weed, listen to some Creedence and bowl some, has his life take an unexpected and complicated turn when a Chinaman pees on his rug.

I can't begin to cover everything this film has and I've re-written this review to try and do it justice. I can't do that either. It's just a wonderful mix of great characters, everyone gives a star turn, Jeff Bridges in particular (though John Turtorro as 'the Jesus' in a purple jumpsuit will stick with me forever).

Still my favourite film after ten years, it makes me grin like a fool when I think of it even now. "That rug, man, it really tied the room together." :)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars aww man what a cool drama Dude, 26 Aug 2008
By 
Jeff Bridges (The fabulous baker boys) stars as the Dude Lebowski, who is mistaken for another Lebowski, which ultimately leaves his rug ruined.

Taking this up with the Big Lebowski, the Dude is sent on a mission to recover his kidnapped wife.

The Big Lebowski is one of the Coen brother's finest creations by being different, funny and entertaining all the way through with smart direction and acting.

You will have never seen anything like this before as Jeff Bridges gives an unbelievable performance as The Dude, an unemployed bum who likes white Russians and bowling who seeks a very bizarre retribution in his ruined rug.

The ideology of the rug and the whole obsessive nature behind it is very funny, as is Bridges in a very weird character, which is loveable for being so hip, and relaxed.

Though his character can be extremely rude and annoying, John Goodman (Roseanne) plays Walter extremely well and makes an interesting paring alongside the Dude.

The plot is excellent and very consistent. Very character driven, The Big Lebowski packs in plenty of laughs along the way with some breathtaking twists and turns and strong ideologies to keep it entertaining.

One particular factor which helped the film along, was the beautifully directed bowling scene fantasies, so bizarre and unique that the film is a must watch just for these couple of moments of pure genius. They are so out of place in the film, so wacky that it is pure amazement. Forget J.D's fantasies in Scrubs, we have the funniest and wackiest fantasies right here in a completely twisting and turning storyline.

Come the end of the film, you may have lost your way a bit as to what happens with all the money dealings and who all the characters were and so forth, but you will definitely not mind watching again, as you will have seen the most coolest Dude in the history of cinema in a very finely directed comedy drama.

8.5/10
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 216 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

The Big Lebowski (Special Edition) [DVD]
5.00
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews