Customer Reviews


16 Reviews
5 star:
 (13)
4 star:
 (1)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


54 of 58 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars One in a Million
This album is absolutely great value for money, you get a 41 track CD of the session in '56 completely uncut, and then ANOTHER CD with a further 32 tracks of some of the 4 artist's best Sun Records.

This is especially a great buy for Elvis Presley fans as he is clearly the ring leader in the famous jam-session, as he sings in every song many of which he sings...
Published on 22 April 2006 by Mr Hollywood

versus
25 of 26 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars The Half Pence Dolly Mixture Release
Ok, so what's wrong with this release?
The sleeve notes are inaccurate, for example Charlie Hodge's presence is postulated as a possibility, however Elvis didn't meet Charlie until they were both in the army some time later.
The running order is wrong.
But what about the bonus CD?
This stuff is really cheaply available elsewhere, I recently bought a cd...
Published on 20 May 2008 by Eddie Singleton


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

25 of 26 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars The Half Pence Dolly Mixture Release, 20 May 2008
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: 50th Anniversary (Audio CD)
Ok, so what's wrong with this release?
The sleeve notes are inaccurate, for example Charlie Hodge's presence is postulated as a possibility, however Elvis didn't meet Charlie until they were both in the army some time later.
The running order is wrong.
But what about the bonus CD?
This stuff is really cheaply available elsewhere, I recently bought a cd box set of sun release at a co op for £2.
What should I buy instead?
The Sony BMG Complete "Million Dollar Quartet" (with correct running order, excellent photos and sleeve notes and fantastic sound) for around the same price and a good Sun compilation.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


54 of 58 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars One in a Million, 22 April 2006
By 
Mr Hollywood (Hollywood UK) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)   
This review is from: 50th Anniversary (Audio CD)
This album is absolutely great value for money, you get a 41 track CD of the session in '56 completely uncut, and then ANOTHER CD with a further 32 tracks of some of the 4 artist's best Sun Records.

This is especially a great buy for Elvis Presley fans as he is clearly the ring leader in the famous jam-session, as he sings in every song many of which he sings on his own as the other 3 play instrumental roles.

The first thing that hit me about the session CD of this great album was teh outstanding quality. Considering this was recorded on tape 50 years ago it sounds perfect, excusing the occassional quieting voice as the artists presumabley leave the mics pick-up range.

Despite some reports I can confirm that Johnny Cash does indeed sing and play during this recording - confirmed in his autobiography, and how quickly they each pick up each song is a tribute to their outstanding talent.

It's one of those albums that made me pick up my acoustic guitar to play along to because you really get into it. It's great value for money and absorbing to listen to them enjoying music. It's real music, and these men were the pioneers.

Highly reccommended.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Too many experts spoil the plot, 8 May 2011
This review is from: 50th Anniversary (Audio CD)
Ever since this came out on vinyl we had the doubters and revisionists.We have "sleeve note inaccuracies" yet does it matter whether Charlie Hodge or Feathers maybe he knew him pre Army who knows.We also have the rather absurd assumption that Col.Parker would have objected but this session was neither intended for release and had been reported and photographed for the local paper who also came up with the name.Then we have the theory that "Johnny Cash had gone shopping" yet he's in the photo and could always have picked up a guitar.
The most amazing thing though about the Million Dollar Quartet is that Jerry Lee Lewis had only just cut his first single Crazy Arms yet is in his own words "the last man standing"
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Historical Gold Dust, 10 Feb. 2011
By 
G. J. Tomkins (UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: 50th Anniversary (Audio CD)
The current West End top musical of the same name was inspired by this. Another title might have been The Secret Sun Session because as far as all participants are concerned it was a pure jam session. We have to thank the sound engineer who had the caution to slyly flip the Record button for this. Forget silly Dolly Mixture comment - this is the best value version with the bonus 1950s CD track of the four stars but sans the Xmas stuff, no loss I say.

It's so great to hear the pure sounds of these talents, including mistakes (catch new boy Jerry Lee gently correcting Elvis's lyrical error on track 5). Here Elvis comes across a real person as never elsewhere, laughing and joshing with the guys - yet always with the ingrained southern politeness, calling people Sir and his girlfriend Ma'am. Jerry Lee meets Elvis here - at the goodbye track you hear him say "Nice to meet you". Yet they harmonise like an established duo, a remarkable sign of both their greatness. Incidently, they both made a proper studio session with backing later on but I imagine that never officially saw light of day thanks to copyright barriers - and just imagine what Tom Parker would have done if he had known about this recording! I can't actually make out Johnny Cash's voice, I think he might have been a bit overawed by the talent around him.

Sound quality, now cleaned since it became legal, has made great improvement. Only Jerry Lee's vocal on Track 36 is off.

Altogether a CD no popular music fan should miss.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars memphis, the million dollar quartet and the class of 55, 22 Jun. 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: 50th Anniversary (Audio CD)
having just come back from memphis where we went to the sun studios it is great to have both of these cds to listen to bringing back memories of the great music of that time, the cover showing that now famous picture of elvis,jerry,carl ,and jonny is brilliant as well as having a booklet inside telling you all about the session really good value.the class of 55 also has roy orbison
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Great CD, 31 Oct. 2014
By 
Mr. J. G. Malone (Canvey Island Essex) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: 50th Anniversary (Audio CD)
Fantastick cd. At the same time 4 legendry music stars in the Famous Sun studios just jamming. Elvis, Jerry Lee Lewis,Carl Perkins and Johnny Cash. Listen to them all live.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Elvis & co, 6 Jan. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: 50th Anniversary (Audio CD)
I saw the original poster in Sun Studios 14 years ago
and was so pleased to have the oportunity to buy this cd
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars brilliant CD, 29 Dec. 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: 50th Anniversary (Audio CD)
Brilliant CD which was bought as a present and well received by an avid Elvis and Rock and roll fan.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 17 Oct. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: 50th Anniversary (Audio CD)
EXCELLENT PRODUCT. SUPER FAST DELIVERY. RECOMMEND THIS SUPER SELLER.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 19 Aug. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: 50th Anniversary (Audio CD)
Excellent album for fans of Presley,Cash,Lewis and Perkins
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

50th Anniversary
50th Anniversary by The Million Dollar Quartet (Audio CD - 2008)
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews