Customer Reviews


9 Reviews
5 star:
 (6)
4 star:
 (1)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The Hits Keep Collecting
A timely mass of EMI hits, with Kim proving once again what a wonderful and terribly underrated goldmine of quality she had at her disposal. Seemingly all the hits are here, but no-there's always something 'Missing' as Kim might say and 'Ego', 'House Of Salome', 'Falling Out' and 'Stay Awhile' are the singles not on here. And while 'Love Blonde' is it's usual nastily...
Published on 13 Jan. 2009 by ScottPaul ScottPaul

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars Mediocre
Kim Wilde had some great hits - Kids In America, You Keep Me Hangin' On . 4-Letter Word, You Came among them - but she suffered from having her Dad and brother write many of her hits. They sound tired, unoriginal - there's just no sparkle to the songs, which show up the reediness of her voice. If she'd struck out and brought in fresh writers and producers, her career...
Published 11 months ago by JB


Most Helpful First | Newest First

4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The Hits Keep Collecting, 13 Jan. 2009
This review is from: The Hits Collection (Audio CD)
A timely mass of EMI hits, with Kim proving once again what a wonderful and terribly underrated goldmine of quality she had at her disposal. Seemingly all the hits are here, but no-there's always something 'Missing' as Kim might say and 'Ego', 'House Of Salome', 'Falling Out' and 'Stay Awhile' are the singles not on here. And while 'Love Blonde' is it's usual nastily edited self, there is a lengthier version present. Also so is a longer 'Dancing In The Dark'-which really should have been on the album and the release instead so perfect does it sound and who wants anyone this briliant at only 3 minutes a 'time'. Lovely to have all the early b-sides on CD, some for first 'time' ever, but the real closer of the deal is the long-awaited Japan and French only release 'Bitter Is Better- a perfect, acidic proof that the hot girl likes a bad boy. The title alone is brilliance and the song only conforms to its expectantly impeccable standard with conceivable ease. Sadly not as clear or expertly mastered as they could be nor as loud (does brilliant b-side 'Back Street Driver' fade too quickly?) but this certainly measures up to its kind price-until her first 3 albums arrive in shops remastered with these bonus tracks and maybe more, which is apparently happening this March, but don't hold me to that.

However what we most crushingly need now is ALL the MCA singles, albums, b-sides and non-album singles remastered too, not least the astounding 'Turn It On' from 1985 John Hughes film 'Weird Science' and the full-length 'Lovers On A Beach' that couples the "12 of 1st MCA single release 'The Second Time'. Hopefully this is all imminent, and it should be, but this is a great way to fill in your Kim Wilde gaps. As a man said before and I will say it for 'The Second Time', "just go for it!"
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Good collection of Kim's early work, 20 Mar. 2006
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Hits Collection (Audio CD)
This CD is a must-have. Not only does it contain all the hits from Kim's years with RAK records (1981 - 1983) but it contains B-sides and the very rare (& fantastic) song 'Bitter is Better' which has never been released outside of Japan before. The CD is a bargain and is worth the price alone for Bitter is Better, however for your money you also get all her early biggest hits from 'Kids in America' through to 'Dancing in The Dark' & two original 12" versions thrown in too. Also the artwork is a lot more superior to previous 'Kim Wilde Collection' CDs. Fancy buying it? Then...'Just Go For it'!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars The early years!, 28 April 2013
By 
Amazon Customer (England) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: The Hits Collection (Audio CD)
I've always liked some of Kim Wilde's early material on the EMI label. This compilation covers exclusively those first years (1981-1983) and contains all of the hits that everyone knows: 'Kids In America', 'Chequered Love', 'Water On The Glass', 'Child Come Away' and 'Cambodia', the last two being haunting tracks and my personal favourites. All her early singles are here, as well as their B sides, all in chronological order. There's even a track called 'Bitter Is Better' (good song) which had never been released in the UK until this CD.

If you enjoy Kim's early work - this album is perfect!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Mediocre, 8 April 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Hits Collection (Audio CD)
Kim Wilde had some great hits - Kids In America, You Keep Me Hangin' On . 4-Letter Word, You Came among them - but she suffered from having her Dad and brother write many of her hits. They sound tired, unoriginal - there's just no sparkle to the songs, which show up the reediness of her voice. If she'd struck out and brought in fresh writers and producers, her career would have lasted a lot longer. But she didn't - and this is the result. Avoid at all costs.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Superb collection from EMI!!!!!!!!!!!!!, 29 April 2006
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Hits Collection (Audio CD)
This album has surpassed all other Hits collections by EMI. Containing all of Kim releases whilst she was signed to RAK records aswell as all the B sides, it is a true 80's album. Although I own all of Kims early singles on vynal, hearing the B sides on compact disc has made me listen to them in a different light, most of them I think could have been as singles in their own right. This album also contains the rare 'Bitter Is Better', a Japanese only release from 1982 and 2 superb remixes, a MUST HAVE for and 80's fan.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Glad I Bought It, 4 Dec. 2013
By 
Scoobytooby (Carmarthenshire) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Hits Collection (Audio CD)
I was never a massive Kim Wilde fan back in the 80s. Quite liked 'Cambodia' and 'You Came' at the time, but wasn't too fussed about the rest. But I have to say this is a really good album. The vocals and arrangement are so much better than I remember them being in the 80s and it was quite nice to go back in time for a while at least.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars KIM, 31 Jan. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Hits Collection (Audio CD)
UN ALBUM CHE CONTIENE TUTTI I SINGOLI DI MAGGIOR SUCCESSO DELLA CANTANTE E CHE DIRE ALTRO CHI NON CONOSCE QUESTA SPLENDIDA RAGAZZA ALBUM CONSIGLIATO
IL ROBY
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Memories of a golden age, 7 Nov. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Hits Collection (Audio CD)
Great tracks - some of them new to me - take me back to another era - not lost their flavour down the years.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Three Stars, 15 Jan. 2015
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Hits Collection (Audio CD)
Ok
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

The Hits Collection
The Hits Collection by Kim Wilde (Audio CD - 2006)
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews