Customer Reviews


95 Reviews
5 star:
 (89)
4 star:
 (5)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


134 of 134 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A classic from the past
I bought this because of the fond memories I had of this in the past, it used to occupy that slot at the end of children's TV and the news and my childhood memories didn't let me down.

Ivor the engine reflects another age, a golden age, when choirs sang, visited the seaside for a day out and ate fish and chips. In some ways it is timeless, my three year old...
Published on 1 April 2007 by Crazy Seahorse

versus
1 of 27 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars An apparent waste of money.
A very nice package but the DVD will NOT run in our 2 DVD players. It will just about run in a 7 year laptop but that gives no enjoyment. The other PCs -No!
So I have a DVD that doesn't satisfy and certainly can't be shown to grandchildren. Reminds me of the time when Gt Britain had its own variation on the pan European TV system
Published on 1 Feb 2010 by Edward


‹ Previous | 1 210 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

134 of 134 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A classic from the past, 1 April 2007
By 
Crazy Seahorse "Crazy Seahorse" (Cambridge) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)   
This review is from: Ivor The Engine: All The Colour Episodes Ever Made [DVD] (DVD)
I bought this because of the fond memories I had of this in the past, it used to occupy that slot at the end of children's TV and the news and my childhood memories didn't let me down.

Ivor the engine reflects another age, a golden age, when choirs sang, visited the seaside for a day out and ate fish and chips. In some ways it is timeless, my three year old daughter loves it and has spent many a happy hour watching, it's quite long and already a favourite for long car journeys.

The animation is pretty basic, but the stories are strong and for the price you will struggle to find a better way to relive a different age or introduce yourself and your children to the magic of dragons and steam engines. It also gives your children something to watch, which is something other than a thinly veiled attempt to sell merchandising.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


56 of 56 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Outstanding, 9 May 2008
By 
DLS (North Wales, UK) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Ivor The Engine: All The Colour Episodes Ever Made [DVD] (DVD)
My son (aged five) loves this - as do his parents and grandparents! Lots of great storylines with humour that will please children and sophisticated adults. Totally unsuitable for those of limited attention span who prefer short, shallow stories with flashy GGI animation.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


36 of 36 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Completely Wonderful!, 12 Sep 2008
By 
This review is from: Ivor The Engine: All The Colour Episodes Ever Made [DVD] (DVD)
My 4-year-old now has an imaginary Ivor that goes everywhere with her (even to school). She's started calling me 'Jones' and Idris is always getting into trouble around the house!

This has caught my daughter's imagination like none of the modern children's programmes and it's lovely to share a part of my own childhood with my daughter.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


20 of 20 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Warm, nostalgic, but still wonderful, 26 Jun 2009
By 
ds (Whitby, UK) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)   
This review is from: Ivor The Engine: All The Colour Episodes Ever Made [DVD] (DVD)
Childhood has a funny habit of playing tricks on the adult mind. Mars Bars and Wagon Wheels were always bigger, it never rained in the summer holidays and the TV was so much better. As one gets older of course, the realisation dawns that summers were not constantly bathed in sun (except maybe 1976) and that the sweets weren't as big as you recalled (and even smaller now).

Some things don't change, however, and this is one of them. The DVD contains the 24 colour episodes that Oliver Postgate's Smallfilms made in the 1970's and were shown on the BBC, usually around 5.30 just before the news in the spot The Magic Roundabout had on occasion. There aren't any extras, or the original black and white episodes. To be honest there is no need for them.

The animation is simple (some might even say rather primitive and simplistic) and others yet may blanch at the rather stereotypical view of the Welsh, but they shouldn't because each character is imbued with warmth and real fondness (even the slightly pompous Dai Station is shown to have softer side from time to time) and each story is a beautifully drawn and affectionate little vignette looking back to a time that has long past and perhaps never really existed at all. The stories are accompanied mostly by the sound of Postgate's own melifluous narration, though other voices do creep in on occasion. The episodes range in length from the more usual 5 minutes to around 20 for some of the longer ones.

Step back a little though, and beneath the cuddly exterior is a faint hint of gentle subversion. The subtext is always about the value of community and friends, and supporting the underdog against authority. Some examples of these ideas include the episode where the railway is to be sold, or when Idris the dragon arrives in Llaniog. Best of all is the brief pen portrait of Jones allowing a fox to escape some noticeably chinless hunters. Postgate introduces this idea of standing up for the underdog and of maintaining a type of kind decency all through his work and Ivor the Engine does it very well.

The other little trick childhood plays is that you always think there are more than the 24 episodes collected here. Postgate made a habit of this too. But no matter, the episodes are delightful little pieces of art and it's nice to have them collected in one place. The fact that they are priced so low makes this an utter steal of a purchase.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


11 of 11 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars IVOR THE ENGINE, 24 April 2009
By 
P. Neville (Fleet Hampshire) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Ivor The Engine: All The Colour Episodes Ever Made [DVD] (DVD)
The reason i brought ivor the engine was my dad liked it. Sadly dad passed away before i got it. He liked the music. We watched it on tv when i was a kid it will bring back happy memeries of my time with him & i've like real stream trains.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars charming, 6 Aug 2009
By 
This review is from: Ivor The Engine: All The Colour Episodes Ever Made [DVD] (DVD)
I bought this for my 3 year old, and he completely loves it. Though it is a lot more 'basic' than a lot of animation on kid's tv, the programs are lovely and engaging, and it's a good example of how it is the story and the atmosphere that carry children's interest, not flashy animation. I can't recommend it highly enough.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Ivor the Engine - the Complete Ivor the engine, 13 Aug 2008
By 
P. Round (West Midlands) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Ivor The Engine: All The Colour Episodes Ever Made [DVD] (DVD)
I always loved Ivor the engine as a child and brought this for my 4yr old son who is mad about trains, and even through he has been brought up on the fantastic animation we have today he has thoroughly enjoyed this DVD, At over 2hrs long it has kept him quiet and he has loved it, he hasnt watched a Thomas The Tank Engine Dvd for weeks now. The Best 5 I ever spent.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A Children's Classic, 23 May 2009
By 
C. lines (Suffolk) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Ivor The Engine: All The Colour Episodes Ever Made [DVD] (DVD)
You don't have to be welsh to apprieciate this wonderful DVD of Ivor the Engine by the imitable Oliver Postgate set in the mountains of Wales. Children's DVD's do not come any better. It will bring your lost childhood flooding back to you with its innocent stories of dragons and trips to the sea. It knocks contemporary children's DVD's into a hat, with its gentleness and good english. It also feeds the child's imagination..... Mind you, never mind children, the adults will love it!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars "BRILLIANT" welcome back ivor..!!, 17 Nov 2008
By 
K. S. Bullock (spain) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Ivor The Engine: All The Colour Episodes Ever Made [DVD] (DVD)
i bought this for my 2 year old son who likes thomas ,pingu,fireman sam etc, he loves it and watches it over and over, he is mesmorised by its simplicity, the music cardboard cut outyness and niceness of it all is also pleasant for my wife and i too as its the only thing we can listen to for 2 hours and stay sane, it really is good and a shame there arent any more, i am sure anyone who buys it will be delighted.one of the best value items here.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars great!, 22 Feb 2010
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Ivor The Engine: All The Colour Episodes Ever Made [DVD] (DVD)
My train mad son loves it and at under three quid it's a bargain. Plus it's a great alternative to Thomas the Tank Engine when you can't bear another episode!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 210 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Ivor The Engine: All The Colour Episodes Ever Made [DVD]
5.20
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews